Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drop weight quickly

• 24-03-2009 3:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭

okay so i know not the ideal way to lose but i need to lose at least 26lbs to get my bmi under 30 by end of april, am going to start lipotrim tomorrow but i want to exercise as well, would an 2 x 30mins cardio everyday be enough.

i will do weights but i need to drop the weight quickly.

thanks for any help, and i do realise it is not the ideal but it has to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

sfhawke7w wrote: »
    okay so i know not the ideal way to lose but i need to lose at least 26lbs to get my bmi under 30 by end of april, am going to start lipotrim tomorrow but i want to exercise as well, would an 2 x 30mins cardio everyday be enough.

thanks for any help, and i do realise it is not the ideal but it has to be done.

Joining the Guards?

Don't start Lipotrim, at least spend 3/4 weeks doing it properly, then in the last two weeks do the Lipotrim thing and cut all liquids and get every bit of hair and skin off your body :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭sfhawke7w

have been trying but cant get into losing weight! yes the guards! have very little body hair so other than shaving me head bald that wont save me much.

would doing 30mins cardio in monring and 30 mins in the evening everyday help? am 5mins from gym and can go in before work and after.

have been trying but cant get into losing weight! yes the guards! have very little body hair so other than shaving me head bald that wont save me much.

would doing 30mins cardio in monring and 30 mins in the evening everyday help? am 5mins from gym and can go in before work and after.

Do cardio on an empty stomach in the morning and during the day and only eat lean meat, fish and vegetables.

Lift weights in the evening.

Doing Lipotrim for two weeks before the weighing, along with dehydrating yourself will get you almost as good results as doing it for the entire time but without the malnutrition. :P If you do the Lipotrim for the whole time you'll have nothing to give in the gym and will get less benefit in terms of weightloss from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

do the guards really measure using BMI?

thats ridiculous...

one of my goals is to be classified "obese" on the BMI:p

Anyway, you havent mentioned anything about your diet, that should be your starting point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

okay so i know not the ideal way to lose but i need to lose at least 26lbs to get my bmi under 30 by end of april

5 lb's a week? Ludicrous.

edit: Just so you think I'm not being a smart hole: I think this is really unhealthy and I would strongly urge you to reconsider it. Is there another date by which you can reach your weight goal?

I can't believe the Gardaí use BMI. So stupid. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

they dont use bmi surely

ive seen walking heart attacks walking around im talking like barrels

and ive often said " what the hell can they do "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Acoustic wrote: »
    they dont use bmi surely

ive seen walking heart attacks walking around im talking like barrels

and ive often said " what the hell can they do "

Maybe its like marriage, its all sex and slim tummies until you say i do and then its no sex and no slim tummies... Once your in the door your in:p

They do use BMI when ya try to get in, and from what I've heard it's almost completely a pass/fail kinda thing. Pretty ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I'm going for the reserves myself, and their medical is almost identical to the full time force. And yes, BMI is used. I'm technically ever so slightly overweight, but I'm in pretty good shape. IMO to be a Garda, you should have a physical presence of some sort.

Who is a criminal going to be worried about punching? A wiry, thin person (whose BMI is perfect) or a well built garda who looks like he chews nails for brekkie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

amacachi wrote: »
    They do use BMI when ya try to get in, and from what I've heard it's almost completely a pass/kinda thing. Pretty ridiculous.

Idiotic. You can have a fella built like a tank and not a pick of fat on him and he'd prob fail a BMI with flying colours.

celestial wrote: »
    Idiotic. You can have a fella built like a tank and not a pick of fat on him and he'd prob fail a BMI with flying colours.

I'm about 8 stone too heavy to be a Guard apparently. Lulz. Gotta love this country sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭rccaulfield

Thats ridiculous!!!! What can you do- well so you know you should be aiming to lose one pound a week(2 max) any more and it'l be muscle your losing not fat! Anyway- if u need to lose muscle and fat-eat fook all and when you do eat lean meat and do morning cardio consisting of h.i.i.t- google it! Just cannot believe they use BMI this deserves a thread of its own what a disgrace!!!!!

yes they use bmi and are very strict about it, have seen plenty fo garda that could do with losing some weight, but once they in.

bmi has to be 30 or under, they do take into consideration someone that would be well-built and have bmi over 30.

i did medical for reserves last year and failed because of my weight, i know i was going to fail as i hadnt lost anything anway, the doc was very rude about my weight but anyway thats another matter.

thanks for the replys and fingers crossed i can get it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Do you mind me asking why you plan on shelling out a fortune on liptorim to provide you with your 500 calories a day crash diet when you could just drink about a litre of milk a day and get the same calories but it only would cost you about €1?

money - its my money and if i am daft enough to spend it on lipotrim thats what am going to do?

dont drink milk anyway havent in about 4 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

From my experience of my copper mates and their medicals: The gardaí do use the BMI system as a ready reckoner as do a lot of organisations who deal with vast quantities of people. It's a good rule of thumb no matter how many powerlifters say it ain't.

BMI is an indicator of health, not a rule, and no matter how much you find it objectionable, most people who have high BMI are overweight and unhealthy. I don't think the medical profession is going to alter their view just because some people want to get huge. I have a guy in my gym who is a cop and 120kgs of mostly muscle and his BMI is through the roof. The BMI is a rough guide, and then each case is taken on it's own merits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

celestial wrote: »

Id fail a BMI and am around 10% bodyfat, its a total joke of a system, can't believe they'd use it.
    Lift weights in the evening.

I know that muscle helps to cut fat but muscle is heavier than fat. I gained 2 stone in the last 9 months from doing a mix of cardio and weights and I still have the same waist size.
    Id give him no hope of dropping that weight if he starts lifting, he'll loose fat and look better yes but he won't drop the weight that he has to. If he said he wanted to get in shape id tell him to do the weights as well but he's just looking to pass a BMI

my main goal is to drop the weight for my bmi, i wont be going near weights for the moment, if i pass medical and the pct the fitness regime in templemore is quite tough anyway so that will get me properly in shape.

what i wanted to know was the quickest way to drop the weight and how much exercise i should be doing? i know its not the right way to do it and take it from me i could write a book on how to do it properly, i have been trying and in the last month had lost a couple of lbs, i know where i am going wrong but it isnt easy, i would be an emotional eater and the minute i get stressed i eat.

am going to do lipotrim for the next few weeks I know it works, i know the pros and cons but i am looking at it as a quick-fix or short-term solution, dont want to do it, hate the thought of it but i want the garda and not willing to lose the chance over my weight when i should have had the cop on to start losing the weight months ago.

am planning to do 30mins cardio daily for the first week as not recommended to exercise much on first week. i then plan to do 30 min cardio in the morning and another 30 min cardio in the evening for the 3 weeks.

i am useless at sticking with things and i am going to do my best.
    thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

am planning to do 30mins cardio daily for the first week as not recommended to exercise much on first week.

That lipotrim is hardly a recommeded diet so if your going to go that way about it screw whats recommended and what isn't, 26lbs in a month is a crazy amount of weight to loose and if you want to succeed you've gotta do all you can.
    Id be surprised if you have the fitness level required to work yourself hard enough to manage this (and the **** diet won't help) but my advice is get out and run on the road (and do lots of it). Monitor your weight every 3 days or so and keep track of your progress, put as much as you can into it cause it would be worse to loose 3/4's of the weight and fail the BMI after putting yourself through that

thanks colly

i know its a bad diet but anyway will just get stuck in, energy levels on it are actually quite good after first week, i did it in 2007 and lost 3 stone but when i came off i maintained for a year but i let the old habits in and sure slowly and surely the lbs crept on, i was in a job last year for 6 months and i was bullied and ended up gaining over a stone and half.

thanks for the help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 moonpeg

this is terrible advice but for your short term goals it should work . it worked for me a few years back.I had 4 weeks to train for a fitness test.I was 14 stone 2 pounds starting out but at the end of the 4 weeks I was 12 and a half stone and 6 foot 1. lipotrim will just hinder your energy reserves and have a negative effect on your physical assessment. I ran twice a day for 30 mins once in the morning once in the evening. ate 3 healthy meals a day. lean meat fish veg. prridge with skimmed milk for breakfast fruit etc.stick to the plan even if you have no motivation run slowly but ensure you do the 30 mins each time. Then if and when you pass you can have a more srtuctured realistic and beneficial routine that includes resistance work. you will have to be disciplined to run twice a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 moonpeg

only re read there 26 pounds is an awful lot of weight. best of luck to you. it may not even be possible to lose that amount.

moonpeg u just said u lost 23lbs in four weeks! so why would 26lbs be any different!

has i have said i know it is not ideal, but i have no option, i just wondered what was the best exercise to do to help me drop the weight! as i gather cardio is the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I'm surprised that you're all surprised that the Gardai use BMI!
    There'd be a strike if they had to use skinfold calipers instead! :pac:

Most GP's still use BMI for christ sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

This thread is really inspiring me with confidence to strut down the darkest laneway and sleep soundly in my bed at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

This forum is about Fitness.

Losing 26lb using quick-fix methods is as near to Fitness as I am to planting a smooch on Dexter Jackson's deeply striated, perfectly-formed ass.

Locked.