Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are women on internet dating sites thinking???

• 24-03-2009 3:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭

Right, an old friend of mine is a foreigner and not really into the whole pub thing for dating. So I was helping him make an online profile..We were looking through one of the dating websites, seeing if there were any interesting prospects for him...

All I can say is MY GOD!!! Is this the state of Irish women? I just could hardly believe the way the women present themselves. Mind you, we were only searching profiles of women looking for long term relationships and serious dating..not the sex adverts...We were shocked.

It's like women are characteritures of what they think sexy is supposed to look like.

Boobs hanging out everywhere, outfits that my friend said would be "hooker clothing" in his country, women who actually had pictures of themselves POLE DANCING on what looked like a portable poles installed in their homes...Women posing in ill-fitting lingerie and "sexy" costumes.

Women who were clearly 2 stone overweight listing their body type as "athletic" or "average." Women who ruined otherwise attractive faces with makeup so thick one could SEE the lines of it even in blury pictures;

Women sneering into the camera in a way I suppose they believe is intense or sexy looking..

Pictures of women who were clearly drunk, pictures of women smoking cigarettes...Not that there's necessarily something wrong with all of those things I listed, but these were mostly women who stated in their profiles that they were looking for a nice man, wanted kids, wanted to settle down...These were women in their 30's, not teenagers.

Half of them were written in trashy sounding text speak that made them sound so uneducated, ie "I like 2 go out wit da girls and party. Lookin 4 sum1 2 cum along 4 the crack.." It's like they have no self-awareness of how they present themelves...

And entirely too much fake tans, and hair bleached and ironed to an inch of its life...

There was a function where men could rate the pictures. I noticed the ones with the highest ratings were the ones in which the women looked happy, smiling, in a natural pose...With non-flashy clothes and natural looking makeup..But those were very few...

Now my friend is scared off!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

what's the difference between that and what you see in most pubs/clubs?

it's not exclusive to online dating sites.

Women _are_ dirty. - David Brent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

jbl123 wrote: »

Now my friend is scared off!!!

Maybe he should pop his cherry with a more modestly dressed, non-threatening friend, and then go back and have another go at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Boobs hanging out everywhere, outfits that my friend said would be "hooker clothing" in his country, women who actually had pictures of themselves POLE DANCING on what looked like a portable poles installed in their homes...Women posing in ill-fitting lingerie and "sexy" costumes.

Hubba hubba :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

To be honest.. it almost says more about men than women.

By the looks of it, these women think the only way to attract a man is to basically act like a prostitute. Men obviously respond to the girl in the skimpy clothes moreso than the modestly dressed girl in real life. If you put out and look hot, you'll get a man, right?! Screw personality or class! They think men want a girl who's less intelligent. Which, in some cases, can be true, but for the majority of men I hope that's not true.

They see girls like that in the media with all the men after them, what else would they think?

...part of it does have to do with them being dumb as nails, though...

liah wrote: »

By the looks of it, these women think the only way to attract a man is to basically act like a prostitute. Men obviously respond to the girl in the skimpy clothes moreso than the modestly dressed girl in real life. If you put out and look hot, you'll get a man, right?! Screw personality or class! They think men want a girl who's less intelligent. Which, in some cases, can be true, but for the majority of men I hope that's not true.

They see girls like that in the media with all the men after them, what else would they think?

Men are to blame for women behaving like prostitutes?

is there anything we're not f*cking blame for?

Think you missed my point..

I got your point.

Men are just after a big pair of baps cause we're a bit simple.

now women are adjusting to our wants and needs?

if that wasn't it

can you clear it up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭jbl123

I don't know...What really surprised me was the disconnect between what their ads SAID they were looking for: an honest man, someone to have a real relationship with, a home and kids etc etc and the way they presented themselves in the pictures...Like women who said they liked to spend their time reading and going on walks in the country, but all of their pictures showed them dressed like trashy, haggard sluts, with a pint in their hand, sitting inside of a pub, looking like it had been one of many long and wild nights.

walks in the country lol

ye mean a drive up to lovers lane.

they just find these adds and copy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

we were only searching profiles of women looking for long term relationships and serious dating

Sure you were! Sure you were!

Anyway, if these women in the photo's look desperate then it's probably because they are desperate. The fact that they're online dating for a start would seem to back this up.

ntlbell wrote: »
    I got your point.

Men are just after a big pair of baps cause we're a bit simple.

now women are adjusting to our wants and needs?
    I personally don't think that's quite the case. The women whose pictures got the highest ratings from men were the ones who were attractive, but in a more natural way..The ones who looked like someone you might bring home to Mammy. The ones who looked like piggy hookers didn't usually get the higher ratings...(I especially noticed that men in their 30s and 40's were likely to rate the flashy ones with boobs hanging out lower..)

I'm not saying it is, that's what I got from her post

"it says for about men than the women" like we're causing it!

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    . The fact that they're online dating for a start would seem to back this up.

This is a myth from the early 90's

welcome to 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

no no these women are clearly subject to the media, and advertising world being selling them images of perfection and what looks good and what men like and what men want.... also they are suffering low self-esteem and feel that the only wat to get a man is to reduce their apperance to attract attention of the man first then anythign after that is a plus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭adzer86

Stopped reading after the phrase "boobs hanging out"
    Link plz

Please note the use of the word "almost" in my original post.

Anyway.

They're obviously not copping onto the fact that the natural girls are getting more attention online. With the pictures of skimpy clothes and being in the pub, they're trying to show that along with the walks on the beach and the quiet dinners at home they don't mind going down to the pub and still having fun on a night out. They think this is what men want. Which, in a lot of cases, the pub and a night out is what men want, but they don't want the girl to be a whore in public about it. That's the part that's lost in translation.

All men are not to blame, perceptions of men are, but to be fair, the image of men wanting women like that has been projected for a ridiculously long time, by both men and women and is drilled into the brains of these desperate women since they were small. Some men are to blame, particularly the ones who are constantly going "would ya?!" at all the hooker-dressed girls in the club.

Please note the use of the word "almost" in my original post.

Anyway.

They're obviously not copping onto the fact that the natural girls are getting more attention online. With the pictures of skimpy clothes and being in the pub, they're trying to show that along with the walks on the beach and the quiet dinners at home they don't mind going down to the pub and still having fun on a night out. They think this is what men want.

All men are not to blame, perceptions of men are, but to be fair, the image of men wanting women like that has been projected for a ridiculously long time, by both men and women and is drilled into the brains of these desperate women since they were small. Some men are to blame, particularly the ones who are constantly going "would ya?!" at all the hooker-dressed girls in the club.

yea they should all go out in skirts below the knee and aran jumpers

no men are to blame

we have no fecking control over what women wear?

this is hard for you to understand?

..Again, you're missing my point.

The subject here is about women who are acting trashily in hopes to gain attention from men in online dating scenarios.

The attention women get from men, or see other women receiving from men, does indirectly control how women perceive what men want. Women most often see men responding to trashy women. Thus, they mimic this behaviour.

Are you starting to understand now?

The subject here is about women who are acting trashily in hopes to gain attention from men in online dating scenarios.

The attention women get from men, or see other women receiving from men, does indirectly control how women perceive what men want. Women most often see men responding to trashy women. Thus, they mimic this behaviour.

Two girls at each end of the bar.

One's a smartly dressed professional being chatted up by a neatly dressed guy.

At the other end we have some "hooker" as you like to call them with a skirt up her arse hole, and some dirty pervert chatting her up.

A woman walks into the bar.

takes a look at both now she can go away and do eithier here, go be the classy cheek or go be the hooker

it's not OUR fault they choose the latter

do YOU understand?

are women that f*cking stupid?

really?

while that is a agood point it still lays the blame in root with the male species as if women are bound by their very nature jsut to appease what men want and not for the simple matter of actually looking good.
    Women most often see men responding to trashy women. Thus, they mimic this behaviour.

so you admit its the women mimicing the women and thus the men are not to blame. thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

These women should realize that a majority of men want the following:

- a dry place to sleep

- a comfy chair to come home to

- a pleasant environment to **** in, I.e. don't wanna be knocking over cosmetic products every time they reach for the bog roll.

- no nagging

- someone they find attractive

-someone who understands the need for silence when there is something he is interested in on t.v. or playing games. (same respects are returned when her shows are on)

-someone easy going who they can talk to easily with no complications or game playing or being high strung / high maintenance.

- someone who understands that things will get done just not at their beck an call.

a few wants my vary but that's a general list of what would keep most men happy. Its not rocket science... the ones that apply more so to womin's are in bold. but that's men for ya, in general we're simple creatures that want an easy stress /hassle free life.

hobochris wrote: »

- no nagging

-

the holy grail..;)

We can always dream :D

I normally loathe the Irish girl (and Irish guy) bashing one sees on boards...But I have to say that it seems to be worse here. The dating website is international, so you can look at profiles from all over the world. For comparison's sake we looked at the same age range of women in several other countries (US, Germany, Canada, Australia, etc)

In those countries you saw much fewer women doing the fake-sexy posing in ultra-revealing clothing...The difference was noticeable..I just can't figure out what's going on. I think it may come down to Irish women not being as confident in their sexuality.

I normally loathe the Irish girl (and Irish guy) bashing one sees on boards...But I have to say that it seems to be worse here. The dating website is international, so you can look at profiles from all over the world. For comparison's sake we looked at the same age range of women in several other countries (US, Germany, Canada, Australia, etc)

In those countries you saw much fewer women doing the fake-sexy posing in ultra-revealing clothing...The difference was noticeable..I just can't figure out what's going on. I think it may come down to Irish women not being as confident in their sexuality.

well its not long since the church and state were separated in this country. there's still a lot of religious guilt tied to sex in Ireland as in the church's eye's sex should be for babies only not something to enjoy. this stigma has been passed through the generations, its only recently in the celtic tiger years has the strong sexually liberated women type has become more acceptable in this country, people are still adjusting, things will balance out eventually.

My personally opinion is anything goes aslong is it doesnt harm others, so I feel censorship of this sort of thing is wrong.If women wanna put pics up on a dating site with their boobs hanging out let them, its not like they are harming anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

All I can say is MY GOD!!! Is this the state of Irish women?
    No. Some of them.
    Anyway, if these women in the photo's look desperate then it's probably because they are desperate. The fact that they're online dating for a start would seem to back this up.
    That's extremely narrow-minded - some people find it difficult to meet members of the opposite sex in a social capacity.
    no no these women are clearly subject to the media, and advertising world being selling them images of perfection and what looks good and what men like and what men want.... also they are suffering low self-esteem and feel that the only wat to get a man is to reduce their apperance to attract attention of the man first then anythign after that is a plus!
    In fairness, I don't think any of those media images endorse the skintight with lard hanging out look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Women who were clearly 2 stone overweight listing their body type as "athletic" or "average." Women who ruined otherwise attractive faces with makeup so thick one could SEE the lines of it even in blury pictures;

Women sneering into the camera in a way I suppose they believe is intense or sexy looking..

Half of them were written in trashy sounding text speak that made them sound so uneducated, ie "I like 2 go out wit da girls and party. Lookin 4 sum1 2 cum along 4 the crack.." It's like they have no self-awareness of how they present themelves...

And entirely too much fake tans, and hair bleached and ironed to an inch of its life...

Pics or GTFO :D

Two girls at each end of the bar.

One's a smartly dressed professional being chatted up by a neatly dressed guy.

At the other end we have some "hooker" as you like to call them with a skirt up her arse hole, and some dirty pervert chatting her up.

A woman walks into the bar.

takes a look at both now she can go away and do eithier here, go be the classy cheek or go be the hooker

it's not OUR fault they choose the latter

do YOU understand?

are women that f*cking stupid?

really?

I have specified several times that men are not to blame... jesus! READ!

It is all about PERCEPTIONS. In your little scenario you so kindly provided, fact isn't particularly a basis. How often do you ACTUALLY see that happening? Every time I'm out for the night, the classy bird (theoretically because it's assumed that she's taken, so I've heard) is left alone while the blokes flock to the girl who looks the easiest. Other women see this and mimic it. It's not to do with the men. It's to do with women's insecurities.

Duh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Irish women are constantly put down for their appearance, so some do the sexy caricature to 'make up' for it. They oversell what they see as their assets, and what they perceive men as wanting.

A woman who is happy with her appearance won't feel the need to advertise everything, but will move the emphasis to what other things she has to offer, like intelligence, interests, hobbies and skills.

Dudess wrote: »
    That's extremely narrow-minded - some people find it difficult to meet members of the opposite sex in a social capacity.

Like who? There's people of the opposite sex everywhere. You just have to go outside the front door for 5 minutes and you're bound to run into one or two.

Fair enough if you're housebound or live in some rural area where the numbers are so low that even the sheep start to look tempting after a while. but I can't think of too many exceptions beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Online dating - the odds are good, but the goods are odd.

Dudess wrote: »

In fairness, I don't think any of those media images endorse the skintight with lard hanging out look.

no they dont endorse that look your right. but as soon as someone says something about that overweight look then theres a whole stigma like my god leave her be at least she's not a stick thin 0 size and once she's happy in herself its ok... being overweight and lard hanging out is not sexy and never will be and being a skinny woman showing skin off is not sexy. curvy is the in thing for me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

- a dry place to sleep

- a pleasant environment to **** in, I.e. don't wanna be knocking over cosmetic products every time they reach for the bog roll.

- no nagging

-someone who understands the need for silence when there is something he is interested in on t.v. or playing games. (same respects are returned when her shows are on)

-someone easy going who they can talk to easily with no complications or game playing or being high strung / high maintenance.

- someone who understands that things will get done just not at their beck an call.

a few wants my vary but that's a general list of what would keep most men happy. Its not rocket science... the ones that apply more so to womin's are in bold. but that's men for ya, in general we're simple creatures that want an easy stress /hassle free life.

and don't forget bl*wjobs...

....and steak of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Like who? There's people of the opposite sex everywhere. You just have to go outside the front door for 5 minutes and you're bound to run into one or two.

Legal social interaction is harder though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

"I like 2 go out wit da girls and party. Lookin 4 sum1 2 cum along 4 the crack.."

Sounds like she left an extra 4 in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

I have specified several times that men are not to blame... jesus! READ!

It is all about PERCEPTIONS. In your little scenario you so kindly provided, fact isn't particularly a basis. How often do you ACTUALLY see that happening? Every time I'm out for the night, the classy bird (theoretically because it's assumed that she's taken, so I've heard) is left alone while the blokes flock to the girl who looks the easiest. Other women see this and mimic it. It's not to do with the men. It's to do with women's insecurities.

Duh.

Unfortunately we don't listen...:rolleyes: when we think we are, but we try.
    the stereotypes mess up our perceptions. A female friend was trying to get to sign up to a dating site but still not sure about the whole thing. not saying there is anything wrong with it but i don't think its for me.
    On a personal note, would gladly (and prefer to) talk to the well dressed one over the trashy(?) one any day.

we all have some insecurities but should remember the positive bits about ourselves and there is no point second guessing what she/he wants. Be ourselves and look honestly at yourself and what you really want.

still trying to follow my own advice;)

Boards has a last chance dating agency in the games forum...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

If you want to keep digging you might like this forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Boobs hanging out everywhere, outfits that my friend said would be "hooker clothing" in his country

Your mate seems like quite the judgemental type for a thirty-something who:
    1. can't pull
    2. feels that Irish women should dress according to his standards, and:
    3. is unaware of the irony in belittling women using dating sites when he's actively looking for women online himself

Can't understand why he isn't beating the women off with a pointy stick to be honest. Maybe you should post his profile up and we can all make judgements about his appearance and dress sense. Sure it might help him avoid looking like an eejit and becoming the male version of all those desperate women you're deriding so much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Fair enough if you're housebound or live in some rural area where the numbers are so low that even the sheep start to look tempting after a while. but I can't think of too many exceptions beyond that.
    But dating sites aren't necessarily for people who nobody would go near with a ten-foot pole, they're also used by people who are attractive and have dated/been in relationships with plenty of people but just cannot meet the right person - the person with whom they have that connection. And it might not necessarily be fussiness/high expectations - it might simply be unluckiness. Nobody's guaranteed to meet the one for them anyway.
    At least with dating websites you can give a bit of detail as to the kind of person you are, what your interests are etc. To be honest, the idea isn't that appealing to me personally, but I wouldn't go knocking the people who use it either.

LOL at the tag - any time I've gone through that thread ("Know Your Loungers" - the pics thread in the Ladies' Lounge) I've seen plenty of gorgeous women. And I don't say that out of a "sense of duty".

Your mate seems like quite the judgemental type for a thirty-something who:
    1. can't pull
    2. feels that Irish women should dress according to his standards, and:
    3. is unaware of the irony in belittling women using dating sites when he's actively looking for women online himself
    Can't understand why he isn't beating the women off with a pointy stick to be honest. Maybe you should post his profile up and we can all make judgements about his appearance and dress sense. Sure it might help him avoid looking like an eejit and becoming the male version of all those desperate women you're deriding so much?

He's average looking. He can and has pulled. But he's in his late 30's and is at the point where he doesn't just want to pull drunk women at pubs and clubs..He wants to settle down with someone who would make a good wife and mother and finding it hard to connect with like minded people in pubs. He's not belittling the women because they are using dating sites. He is belittling them for having no self respect and dressing in a way that makes them look:
    A) Cheap
    B) accentuates their worst features (flabby tummies hanging out of tops which are two sizes too small)
    C) insecure
    D) like they are trying to be someone they are really not (pole dancers???)
    and posting pictures of their "wares" as if it were normal and socially acceptable. At which point did taking pictures of oneself pole dancing and putting them on the internet become normal? Nothing wrong with a professional pole dancer who has to earn a living...and nothing wrong with a woman doing some amateur pole dancing for her OH in the privacy of their bedroom..but these were women in their mid 30's, many who had kids already, deciding that the pole dancing pictures were the ones they should include in their profile in search of a nice bloke to settle down with..Something odd about that.

no they dont endorse that look your right. but as soon as someone says something about that overweight look then theres a whole stigma like my god leave her be at least she's not a stick thin 0 size and once she's happy in herself its ok... being overweight and lard hanging out is not sexy and never will be and being a skinny woman showing skin off is not sexy. curvy is the in thing for me...
    The problem with the women I saw on the dating website wasn't exactly that they were overweight, though some of them were. The problem is that they apparently have no idea how to dress to suit their shape. Nothing wrong with dressing a little sexy, but don't overdo it. Just say your best feature is your legs..great, wear a short skirt. But then pair it with something slightly more modest on top..Don't pair it with a a skimpy top which flaunts your beer belly and barely covers your nipples..

I think Irish women could take a lesson from French women here. Alluring is good but leave something to the imagination...Sometimes less is more: less makeup, less fake tan, less skin (and flab) revealed. These women don't seem to grasp the concept of understatement and subtlty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

- a dry place to sleep

- no nagging

Wow. How long have you been stalking my mind?! :eek:

Ever think of a job in helping women improve their relationship skills?

who007 wrote: »
    and don't forget bl*wjobs...

TBH if I got the list above I'd happily live with drawing two eyes on the outside of my index finger and making a mouth with my thumb :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭dollybird09

I'm pretty shocked at how those women seem to portray themselves....It may have been mentioned already but what site was this on?!!

I can see why people turn to online dating, it is difficult to meet someone in a pub so why not try something different... I think my main issue would be wondering are people giving false impressions of themselves eg. the women who look like 'hookers' or 'pole dancers' ....

I'm turned off by drunk guys trying to chat me up and it seems like something that is down to Irish pubs and clubs, its rare to see men drunkenly trying to pick up women in nightspots across Europe - at least not to the same level of sleaziness....

There should be clubs that only let in 'nice' guys and let me loose there to find a guy who isn't a loser! (just keep all the other women out until I've had my pick!)

Ok I digress... I'd be somewhat put off by a guy who said that he was looking for a serious relationship from the outset, it seems kinda desperate! So I do wonder about these people who create profiles on online dating sites stating that they are looking to settle down with kiddies etc etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Well, there seems to be a perception out there amongst some women that the skimpier they dress, the better. Maybe that is true - I don't know. One thing I've noticed over the past few years is how short school uniform skirts have become. Now, I'd hope I'm not a prude but I don't think school is the place to wear skirts that only reach half way down one's thighs. When I socialise, I noticed a lot more women wearing shorter and more revealing clothes. It seems to be the way things have gone. I guess it's only natural that the women on the dating sites are dressed accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

- a dry place to sleep

- no nagging

Hmm, OK, I'd have to say with the possible exception of the "someone they find attractive" I meet all the rest of those criteria. Many male friends tell me this is exactly what they're looking for, and will nearly quote that list verbatim. Yet when it comes down to it, the last few I was interested in ended up dating the blonde with her tits hanging out, who screeches at them when she wants things done all the time, who complains when they play computer games and who insist on hiding the toilet roll under a feckin' frilly doll.

Women pick up on these things oddly. I can clearly see how some women would think that the type of girl I've discussed above is the ideal to aim for - down to the fake tan, unseasonable clothing and badly dyed hair. Sad as it may seem, a large majority of men appear to find that attractive. What women often don't see past is the fact that what you actually find attractive is her eyes, or that you particularly like playing the knight in shining armour, and want someone to be "needy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭dollybird09

Firetrap wrote: »
    Well, there seems to be a perception out there amongst some women that the skimpier they dress, the better. Maybe that is true - I don't know. One thing I've noticed over the past few years is how short school uniform skirts have become. Now, I'd hope I'm not a prude but I don't think school is the place to wear skirts that only reach half way down one's thighs. When I socialise, I noticed a lot more women wearing shorter and more revealing clothes. It seems to be the way things have gone. I guess it's only natural that the women on the dating sites are dressed accordingly.

I don't get why women think guys want tan and seriously revealing clothes...

As a teenager my parents would never have let me out the door dressed slutty...even now I still dress respectably, don't feel the need to show off my body to attract guys...

I'm a major girly girl so dress well all the time, I wear sexy clothes when I'm out but never have boobs any other body parts hanging out... I wonder is that why I'm single????

I don't get why women think guys want tan and seriously revealing clothes...

Nothing wrong with revealing clothes in the right environment, eg a nightclub, where people tend to be out just for some casual sex not a relationship. In that situation its sending out the right signal surely?

Also tan done right (not Oompa Lumpa) can look well.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Also tan done right (not Oompa Lumpa) can look well.

I bet you do your fake-tan well , right?