Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Pat Kenny a racist?

• 24-03-2009 9:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

I was watching the repeat of The Late Late Show last night and some 7 year-old kid was break dancing. After he'd finished, Pat interviewed him and said something along the lines of "Most break dancers are black, will you paint your face black to fit in?"

I almost fell off my chair when he said it! Did anyone else catch it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Pat Kenny is a Muppet. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

He's only speaking from experience. You see, once a year he gets up very early and covers himself with a nice coat of Ronseal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Comic genius!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

He was just making a valid point that break dancing is big with black people in the states, as for the painting of the face its more tasteless than racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not racist, just stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

He's probably not a racist (or potentially is, who knows) - He's just product of a naive past generation who don't have a clue how to approach multi-culturalism in Ireland. More ignorance than anything; you'd wanna hear some of the shockingly racist diatribe from my 80 yrs+ granny, it's mindblowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

At least he didn't use the word 'gollywogs'.

The-Rigger wrote: »

...yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

pat kenny should be sacked terrible presenter and his questions are asked in most silly of ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Pat Kenny is a scummer. If you need proof, go into youtube and type in 'Pat Kenny is a scummer'. It should just about support all aspects of my point about pat kenny being a scummer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I was watching the repeat of The Late Late Show last night and some 7 year-old kid was break dancing. After he'd finished, Pat interviewed him and said something along the lines of "Most break dancers are black, will you paint your face black to fit in?"

Along the lines of could be construed to mean anything. What exactly did he say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

My balls, pats face

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The-Rigger wrote: »

Picaninie is the correct term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Along the lines of could be construed to mean anything. What exactly did he say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 MotorwayTR

Pat has more talent than ye tools:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

My balls, pats face

You want Pat Kenny to lick your balls? I suppose we all have our sexual fantasies but that wouldn't be mine. Not judging you or anything, just saying like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    He's only speaking from experience. You see, once a year he gets up very early and covers himself with a nice coat of Ronseal.

Don't be ridiculous. He uses Ronseal 5 year wood stain. Does exactly what it says on the tin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

MotorwayTR wrote: »

get down troll.

and that was pretty funny

ClioV6 wrote: »
    get down troll.

and that was pretty funny

I'm not a troll. I just think Pat Kenny is brilliant, he knows his stuff:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I seen it and could believe it, the guy is clueless when it comes to interviews, ESPECIALLY where children are involved. A Class-A idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

almost fell off your chair? really? Hardly racist, hardly controversial, hardly even interesting to watch.

And that kid is a savage break dancer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Ah he does alright.

anyway, I'm off to paint my face black.
    In the mood for some breakdancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Fat_Fingers

I'm yet to see full "Late Late Show". Once in a while if i'm flicking i would come across it , 2 minutes into it and i would have to move on. That show would have been good back in 60's or 70's even 80's but its badly outdated now. Mind you i do understand lots of old people love it so it does provide service to targeted age group.
    If it wasn't for "there is one for everyone in the audience" i think they would have a hard time getting the full audience.
    Format of the show and presenter are perfect for their audience which is mainly 60+ years old. Without that show there wouldn't be much out there for senior citizens.
    As much as i don't like the show and Pat Kenny i have to admit he does provide format and type of presenting that older people like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Your troll almighty (see posters previous 16 trolling posts + ban,) that or Pats bastard lovechild from Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Probably not racist as such (racism implies that you think one race is superior to another, but nobody seems to actually understand what the term means.) It does show that Kenny is severely out of touch with modern Ireland. We have 'coloured people' here now, dont'cha know?:eek: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Don't be ridiculous. He uses Ronseal 5 year wood stain. Does exactly what it says on the tin

Well he is pretty ****ing wooden.

why oh why is he even a celeb let alone Irelands highest paid TV presenter, oh yeah, cos every culchie housewife over 50 thinks he is god (something which he agrees with).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Acacia wrote: »
    We have 'coloured people' here now, dont'cha know?:eek: :pac:
    ???

Am I missing the cultural reference or is it just some bizarre time loop?

Your troll almighty (see posters previous 16 trolling posts + ban,) that or Pats bastard lovechild from Cork.

Lick the back of my bollocks, there is a picture of Pat Kenny on my shaft you may notice:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

dSTAR wrote: »
    ???

Am I missing the cultural reference or is it just some bizarre time loop?

Sarcasm doesn't work on the internet, I see. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Totally untrue. Pat told me when i was young to always be nice to the jewish kids or they'd put the sheeny curse on me. Actually,now you mention it...
    He did once refer to a broken bottle as a...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Acacia wrote: »
    Sarcasm doesn't work on the internet, I see. :D
    You will be glad to note it wasn't completely wasted on me. ;)

For a second I thought I had walked into some timewarp. I just viewed Pat Kenny on You Tube. How unbelievable twee ... in a 1950's kinda way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

ohhh god [pat kennsy racist who cares kill the abomination

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Has he?

LOL at what Pat said... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

CHD wrote: »
    Pat Kenny is a Muppet. That is all.

agreed 110 %

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Lick the back of my bollocks, there is a picture of Pat Kenny on my shaft you may notice:D

Hah motorwayTRoll, I get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

consultech wrote: »
    He's probably not a racist (or potentially is, who knows) - He's just product of a naive past generation who don't have a clue how to approach multi-culturalism in Ireland. More ignorance than anything; you'd wanna hear some of the shockingly racist diatribe from my 80 yrs+ granny, it's mindblowing.

'Hasn't a clue how to be a cowardly PC brown-nose' in other words. U nuts? Pat Kenny is one of the most PC individuals on TV. Considering this fact, and the fact that he came out with a sentence like this is just mind-boggling tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I'd agree with Consultech opinion. Still not as funny as Bill O'Reillys gaffe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

The most disturbing thing about all of this is that the OP has admitted to watching repeats of the Late Late Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Mr.Lizard wrote: »

Once every 5 years would suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

That is racist? Shoot me now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Hobbes wrote: »
    I'd agree with Consultech opinion. Still not as funny as Bill O'Reillys gaffe.

Bill O'Reilly is a 4 star moron but that's probably among his least objectionable monologues. Really the young Turk just comes across there as a bit of an asshole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I hear you're a racist now father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

PCros wrote: »
    He was just making a valid point that break dancing is big with black people in the states, as for the painting of the face its more tasteless than racist.

not really with the breakdancin ,ya ever watch that shower of ****e americas best dance crew,seems more white,hispanic and asian than black breakdancers

Hah motorwayTRoll, I get it!

Your dead wrong ya thick bollix:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Its nothing more than Kenny being Kenny - an idiotic over paid and over valued buffoon.
    Nothing more...

'Hasn't a clue how to be a cowardly PC brown-nose' in other words. U nuts? Pat Kenny is one of the most PC individuals on TV. Considering this fact, and the fact that he came out with a sentence like this is just mind-boggling tbh.

Scoff. I'm about as PC as an Apple Mac, in fairness.

I was speaking in conjecture anywho... I dont know or know of the man's beliefs; I was making a statement based on older generations in Ireland, which by the way I am correct about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭mac_attack

Pat kenny could help bring back "porch monkey". (NSFW. Language)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭ZeRoY

Pat stuck his foot in his mouth like he often does... he should have thought this one out better :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

He's also "fattist". Remember what he did to Dawn French.
    On the Late late Fashion show a few years back he said and I quote
    "People would pay you not to get out of bed in the morning"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

It's amazing what people call racism these days.

Oh, he said to some kid to paint his face black? Yeah, he might as well have rounded up a load of brown people and shot them, it's practically the same thing.