Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can Men Compete In The Flora Women's Mini Marathon

• 24-03-2009 4:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭

Just wondering if men can compete in the Flora women's mini marathon? I'm nearly sure I've seen men in drag and such running it for their chosen charities. It's just a mate has asked me would I be interested as his galfriend is running it this year!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

yeah normally the lads just dress up in drag and go off having a laugh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Officially no.

Unofficially, just turn up in drag and you'll be fine until the last 100m where someone will try and bundle you off the side of the road and probably fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

I always assumed the reason why they discourage it so strongly is because any men running endanger their claim to be the largest women-only event in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

If you are a serious runner and run sub 35-40 10K then you would be making a bit of a scene with a man in the top 10.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You can run it but you can't 'compete'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭Genghis

They are quite serious about the no men rule, too serious imho. Capitalised NO MEN on the app form, trying to stop men cross the finish line, withholding medals and goodie bags, etc.

In fairness, I don't think there are any men who want to run the 10k competitively, I think it would be much better PR for them if they made the rule 'No Men, unless you run in drag'. Certainly from watching the race a few years back the 'Men in Drag' provided great atmosphere, and as many of these enter the race purely and simply for charity the 'I'm a BGRH doing the wimmens mini-marathon' must be a great way to raise a few quid. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Try and stop a woman from doing the mens mini-marathon and you'd end up in court though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

tunney wrote: »
    Try and stop a woman from doing the mens mini-marathon and you'd end up in court though.

Really? Did they convict you after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Oh come on, it's not as if there aren't a plethora of other road races available for men. This is just one race that endeavours to get more females active, and the way they're doing it is by making it a Female-only event which might make it a more comfortable environment for some to compete in. Add in Males and it's just another race.

But there's always one (or two)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Rineanna wrote: »
    Oh come on, it's not as if there aren't a plethora of other road races available for men. This is just one race that endeavours to get more females active, and the way they're doing it is by making it a Female-only event which might make it a more comfortable environment for some to compete in. Add in Males and it's just another race.

But there's always one (or two)...

Fraid I have to disagree completely. If its okay to have women only events, it should be okay to have men only events. Can't have it both ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Fraid I have to disagree completely. If its okay to have women only events, it should be okay to have men only events. Can't have it both ways.

I can see your point here but anything that helps get people or women out running. I've never had a problem with gender specific sports or clubs, its a shame some women golfers can't say the same :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Don't know what all the fuss is over lads, sure I've done a few 10k in the last week myself.
    We can all do 10k anytime we like without having to run with these superhuman women.

I propose that the title of the thread should be changed to "Can Men Compete In The Flora Women only 10k fun run"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

i dont see the problem with a few men dressing up in drag to run the womens mini marathon , it is a fun run after all , and the atmosphere an the day reflects this , however i dont see how it is much of a 'fun run' for guys running it in high-heels that are two small and skin tight minis, its not easy been a women you know !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

I think you'd be better off lashing down to the park and doing the men's only race in the Park.

The race is really congested and if you're any kind of a runner at all you really won't enjoy it.

I've no problem at all with men dressing in drag and doing the race. It's very funny.

The only thing that I do feel is worth thinking about is that unless you're willing to raise money for charity you could be denying someone a place who could have raised a few hundred euro for charity.

Plus why would you want to bother with all the hassle of getting pulling off the course? Just not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

I don't see why you'd bother tbh, but pulling men in drag off the course is way over the top imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

I believe they actually can have it both ways.

The Ladies Mini-Marathon actually has a reason to be Women only; to encourage increased female participation in sports. It's not rocket science to figure out that female participation in sport, while definitely improving, has traditionally been significantly lower than their male counterparts. Thus, this event, as already stated, is aimed at attracting inexperienced female runners to run, jog, walk in a comfortable environment. I don't think there's anything wrong with that.

A lot of road races have a predominantly male field, so any inexperienced male runners have plenty of choice for a first-time run. So it's hard to find a reason for holding a male-only race, unless you're from the Portmarnock GC school of thinking.

But I guess if we were all to get on the politically correct band-wagon, then we'd lobby for the scrapping of the mini-marathon's female-only policy and watch the numbers of female fun runners drop. It's a trade off between poltical correctness and common sense really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Aron-The Hitman

<snip>...I contacted the office and dont deal with cancellations...<snip>

Mod says:

If you have been in touch with the race office then you know that you're asking us to break at least two of the race rules for you. Do us a favour and read the Charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭shopaholic

I dont see why they make such a big deal out of it not allowing men in. Am also of the opinion that the mini should be held in the Phoenix Park rather than bringing the south of a city to a stand still for the day!!! Having said that one of the most soul destroying things thats ever happened me in a race was doing the mini a few years ago and believing that I was flying only to see this fella in a short skirt, wig and inflatable boobs going past me!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

shopaholic wrote: »
    I dont see why they make such a big deal out of it not allowing men in. Am also of the opinion that the mini should be held in the Phoenix Park rather than bringing the south of a city to a stand still for the day!!! Having said that one of the most soul destroying things thats ever happened me in a race was doing the mini a few years ago and believing that I was flying only to see this fella in a short skirt, wig and inflatable boobs going past me!

The race is way too big for the phoenix park.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The race is way too big for the phoenix park.

How? The roads in the park are surely wider than in town, biggest problem would be that there are no buildings in the way to prevent people cutting the corners off in large numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

This is a case of positive discrimination, and it sucks! As one poster already said, if wimmin were banned from an all male race there would be uproar. It's blatant sexism.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

robinph wrote: »
    How? The roads in the park are surely wider than in town, biggest problem would be that there are no buildings in the way to prevent people cutting the corners off in large numbers.

The route of the Great Ireland Run felt very crowded with ~11,000 runners on it. I honestly can't imagine putting 4 times as many people there, particularly given how many walkers do the Women's Mini-Marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

I used to have this view point also, influenced by the misleading name but I have changed my mind recently, here's why:
    1. Track events (almost) always segregate men and women, why should road races be any different. The men's mini marathon takes place sometime later if you are so inclined to compete/partake in this.
    2. If you are a competitive woman at 10K, in most races you will end up competing with men and rarely will you have a proper road race, as men usually do at the front of the pack where tactics and woman to woman racing are a factor. Often the leading women will not know where they are placed in a race until they have finished.
    3. Finally there are a lot of women, self-consious about their running/jogging/walking ability and are a little more confident in a like-minded group. Most of these would never take part in a race if it was not for the "mini marathon", encouraging that participation has to be a good thing.

There may be things we don't like about the mini-marathon, but it also seems like an easy target to knock. Live and let live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭NervousNude

dna_leri wrote: »
    3. Finally there are a lot of women, self-consious about their running/jogging/walking ability and are a little more confident in a like-minded group. Most of these would never take part in a race if it was not for the "mini marathon", encouraging that participation has to be a good thing.

There may be things we don't like about the mini-marathon, but it also seems like an easy target to knock. Live and let live.

I was one of said women and it was a great push to get me off my bum and out onto the pavements. The fact that the women's mini marathon is so much more popular than the men's mini marathon is in itself justification for it's existence.

Having said all that, I haven't entered this year having found the organisation of the event kind of annoying last year. I put in the training and planned to jog the whole 10k. Having gone to all the effort of separating the joggers and walkers and cordoning us off in different streets, they then released everyone at the same time so when we actually passed through the start the 'joggers' and walkers were completely mixed. This meant that the first 2k involved leaping round trees, off kerbs, over buggies and through multiple sets of linked arms.

To answer the original question, I don't think any women have a problem with guys in drag doing it for fun with their female friends, once they raise a bit of money. What irked me a bit last year was the handful of guys I saw in normal clothes, loitering sheepishly by their girlfriends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

What irked me a bit last year was the handful of guys I saw in normal clothes, loitering sheepishly by their girlfriends.

MrsA does teh Limerick version along with Jnr Ms A (all of 5 years old and doing her 3rd this year!). I always walk teh course with them as Jnr is too small to walk all teh way so I carry her up teh hills and when she gets tired. I also carry a bag with a bottle of water and what have you for herself. I dress in normal clothes doing it because I want to make it clear I'm not entered in teh race, not taking the water at the aid stations, etc. And I keep well to the side and off teh route so I don't get in anyones way. Not sure why that would irk someone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭NervousNude

MrsA does teh Limerick version along with Jnr Ms A (all of 5 years old and doing her 3rd this year!). I always walk teh course with them as Jnr is too small to walk all teh way so I carry her up teh hills and when she gets tired. I also carry a bag with a bottle of water and what have you for herself. I dress in normal clothes doing it because I want to make it clear I'm not entered in teh race, not taking the water at the aid stations, etc. And I keep well to the side and off teh route so I don't get in anyones way. Not sure why that would irk someone?

To be fair, this is entirely different. For starters, you're not taking someone else's place if you're not entered in the race. Also, carrying a child through the tough bits so the whole family can take part isn't the same thing as not wanting to leave your girlfriend's side for an hour. The latter sort of flies in the spirit of the event a bit and there are plenty of events that can be entered as a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭plodder

shopaholic wrote: »
    ... and believing that I was flying only to see this fella in a short skirt, wig and inflatable boobs going past me!
    The first time I did the DCM, I was beaten by a woman in a Scooby Doo costume. It put me in my place .... :D

plodder wrote: »
    ...I was beaten by a woman in a Scooby Doo costume...

I have a friend who pays good money for that kind of thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭plodder

I have a friend who pays good money for that kind of thing...
    .. it's worth every penny :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

It's just one race that men can't compete in out of the whole year.

Seriously, why would you want to do it? Is there not enough 10k races this year?

My biggest problem is that there are men who think 'sure wouldn't it only be hilarious if I dressed up in drag and ran. I'm karazzzzzy' and then use the excuse of 'it's for charity' excuse.

Attention seekers IMO.

What Amadeus does is fine and there isn't any bother in that.

But it's a women's race for a reason, and it's the reason why so many women are walking around in the evening getting fit.

But men running the mini marathon is a pet hate of mine, purely for the David Brent 'I'm hilarious me' mentality. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 redcloud

colblimp wrote: »
    This is a case of positive discrimination, and it sucks! As one poster already said, if wimmin were banned from an all male race there would be uproar. It's blatant sexism.:mad:

Id say, leave the women alone and let them have their race in peace, I think its great that an event like this is organised. I mean has anyone noticed the peace and quiet around the suburbs when this race is on, come on lads lets be realisitic a few hours quiet time without the female gaggle is well worth it, wish there many more events like this, bring it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭tantipie

oh the cheek:mad::p

; )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭woundedknee

You said it Redcloud. Let them have their mini marathon:D

Is there a mini high jump and a mini long jump?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

Is there a mini high jump and a mini long jump?:confused:
    there may be a swift mini kick coming towards your good knee very soon....

If there was, im sure it would be women only too, and rightly so.......

Is it true that the race starts late afternoon / dinner time?:rolleyes:

Woeful attempt at trolling, both banned (one was using multiple accounts so was actually arguing with himself, the poor wee lamb)

Are you for real?, stirring it or having a sense of humour?, If you believe what you are saying then you are mistaken. Its people like you(moderators) should read between the lines and have reasonable intellect to laugh at what is friendly banter. I have respect and show it, ban me if you wish
    Dear redcloud,

You have received an infraction at boards.ie.

Reason: Breach of Forum Charter

I've got no problem with controversial opinions but you're just stirring for the sake of it. If you come back please show a bit of respect.

This infraction is worth 1 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires. Serious infractions will never expire.

Original Post:

[post]60057523[/post]
    If there was, im sure it would be women only too, and rightly so.......

All the best,

boards.ie

I thought I'd banned him already? :confused:

[edit] I'm too soft, I'd warned him but it's now a ban :P

wanders away to practice swinging banhammer harder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

wanders away to practice swinging banhammer harder...
    Time to book some lessons with Eileen ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 TheRealOC

Was thinking of running the mini in drag for charity this year, does anyone know how guys register? (ie do you just register using your own name, get a sister or someone else to do it, or use a different name?) How did guys running in drag pick up their numbers for the race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Men read the bit on the online entry that says
    Please note that this event is for women only, and that all entrants you include here are Women. Men may not compete in this event.

and pick another one of the many, many 10ks that are on in the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 TheRealOC

So get the mammy to register for me then? ;)
    In all seriousness, I am doing most of many many others as it happens but fundraising is proving more difficult than expected and I'm running out of ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

If you think people will sponsor you more for running in drag, you know that you can run in drag in another race? Or wear some other silly outfit in another race? Why do you have to enter the one race that doesn't want you to enter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

TheRealOC wrote: »
    So get the mammy to register for me then? ;)
    In all seriousness, I am doing most of many many others as it happens but fundraising is proving more difficult than expected and I'm running out of ideas

I know fundraising is hard at the moment, but its going to even harder in May, when you are competing with all the women doing the Mini-Marathon for charity.

Its flawed logic that doing the Mini-Marathon in drag is so novel that you will get lots of sponsorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Richie15

RayCun wrote: »
    ...you know that you can run in drag in another race?

Good point! Just picture the look on someone's face:

"Uh, I hear you're doing the mini-marathon this year?" :rolleyes:
    "No, I'm doing an Ironman Triathlon." :cool:
    "Oh! So why are you doing it in drag?" :eek:
    "...why not?" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I don't really get why a guy would want to run this, especially when we're not welcome. Have never had any interest in running this myself.

Although it's hard to shake the feeling there would be a huge kick-up if there were a men's only event. Not that I'm saying there should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

G-Money wrote: »
    Although it's hard to shake the feeling there would be a huge kick-up if there were a men's only event. Not that I'm saying there should be.

There is one (at least there was one last year)