If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The A/R Off Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

You modern students work too hard...
    If by "too hard" you mean "harder than you did"... :pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

You modern students work too hard...

Well ... in my defense i do do a weekend course also on friday nights and all day saturday that i love and do go to. Cannot say i love my degree though. oh well. Oh and i did go to my other classes ... most of them.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I worked bloody hard! Pints don't drink themselves you know...

What was the weekend course ULS?

I worked bloody hard! Pints don't drink themselves you know...

What was the weekend course ULS?

Im doing exercise and fitness instruction weekends.

On another note i can't wait to have a bottle of absinthe on saturday to celebrate finishing my last set of autumn exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

ULstudent wrote: »
    On another note i can't wait to have a pint on saturday to celebrate finishing my last set of autumn exams.
    Things have really changed since i was a student!

v0_master.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

v0_master.jpg

LOL

I fixed my post for ya. Might as well be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

That's fairly random. I would have more of an opinion on the class if i went to it more. I went twice to be honest. The first class and cap ... and i could never bring myself to go back. 2.5 hours, break or no break, is not fun on a monday afternoon!

Ha! It was pretty testing at times to (a) stay awake, and (b) not gnaw your arm off with hunger. I started bringing packed lunches to it from about week 6on. You'd nearly need a picnic basket to feed yourself through it...

ULstudent wrote:
    The exam was grand wasn't it? It never really changes though. Good old CAP, tourism and infrastructre! I find economics a hell of a lot easier these days compared to horrible MCQ exams in 1st year.

Agreed. I did the same except Industrial policy instead of CAP. Lots of people giving out about the Luxembourg agreement, or so I hear. Week and a half until my final exam, with the Euro XC in the middle to break it up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Came across this thread over at After Hours: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055750426

Its Photo's that shook the world. Some are hard to look at but some pretty amazing stuff.

Warning, I spent over an hour last night going through only half of them. Well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

The one with the starving child (and vulture in the back) makes me cry every time I see it. I know that despite winning a pulitizer for it, Kevin Carter was heavily criticised for taking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Yes thats unreal. Things like that make you appreciate what you have. Did you see the series of photos of a boy dying with cancer. It shows his mother caring for him. Can't stop thinking about that.

I did see a photo of Ben Johnson winning the 100m Olympic gold with his hand in the air. It shows Carl Lewis looking over at him with a look of "cheat". It would take me ages to find it but I thought it was a good pic.

Some phenominal photos there. Makes you stop and think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Boooooorrred, to-do list in front of me. A logical order of things to make the day fly and yet... ZERO motivation or concentration for anything :cool:

And I'm on a rest day from training......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Yes thats unreal. Things like that make you appreciate what you have. Did you see the series of photos of a boy dying with cancer. It shows his mother caring for him. Can't stop thinking about that.

I did see a photo of Ben Johnson winning the 100m Olympic gold with his hand in the air. It shows Carl Lewis looking over at him with a look of "cheat". It would take me ages to find it but I thought it was a good pic.

http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00048/boltspread_04_516x31_48353a.jpg

Maybe

ALLEZ LES ROUGE

Oh the excitement of Heineken Cup Rugby...I feel like I haven't been in Thomond Park in MONTHS!!!!!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Came across this thread over at After Hours: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055750426

Its Photo's that shook the world. Some are hard to look at but some pretty amazing stuff.

Warning, I spent over an hour last night going through only half of them. Well worth it.

I did the exact same thing last night too! I actually cried over a few of them. Cant wait to show them to my students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Bally8 wrote: »
    ... I actually cried over a few of them. Cant wait to show them to my students.

That's just mean ... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JKF

Great thread.. Some really powerful ones in there.

And yes, I will put my hands in the air and admit there was tears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JKF

For any of ye with kids: http://portablenorthpole.tv/home

Did one for my nephews.. the expression on their faces was golden! :D

Saw that for my nephew. I've never seen him so excited. Guaranteed good behaviour bribe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Best one has gotta be The Black Panthers at the 1968 Olympics. My personal favourite anyway.

26.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

The one with the starving child (and vulture in the back) makes me cry every time I see it. I know that despite winning a pulitizer for it, Kevin Carter was heavily criticised for taking it.

He committed suicide a few years later.

real shame. That photo has made me do a lot.

I finally cleaned out the back of my car today. That was a long overdue job.

ZL joined me to a new gym as a pressie (thanks babe) and I get to try it out for the first time in the morning. Feels a lot like christmas around here.

Rineanna wrote: »

Lots of people giving out about the Luxembourg agreement, or so I hear. Week and a half until my final exam, with the Euro XC in the middle to break it up!

Luxembourg as a 60 marker was a little bit of a throw off alright but manageable. I'm now officially finished exams. FYP time soon though.:(

Man i would HATE to have another exam.

On another note - best of luck in the Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Man i would HATE to have another exam.
    *frowns you good*

Still got Mathematical Biology on Wednesday, and Partial Differential Equations on Friday... *cries*

I hate Monday mornings :( booooooo!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I hate Monday mornings :( booooooo!

No work for me. Time in lieu. :D

Oh now! See that's just mean. I'm sitting in a freezing cold office after having to walk across freezing cold Eyre Square and sitting in Athenry train station for 20mins freezin my @ss off there as well! Monday mornings suck!!!

Partial Differential Equations on Friday...

I was never any good at foreign languages...

Time off in lieu RQ? Bloody slackers in the Public Sector :D

In other news it's a bit frosty this morning so rather than risk my baby on slippy roads I'm going to work from home for a few hours...