Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WTF? Caroline Morahan the "actress"??

• 23-03-2009 12:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭

Just saw on the Sunday World yesterday that (brace yourselves) Caroline Morahan is moving to L.A. to become an "actress". Does anyone else think that this snobby, conceited, fake is completely nuts thinking she can ever be taken seriously as an actor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Who?
    Can't be that famous if I don't know her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If you read the Sunday World you would know her, shame on you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

ben bedlam wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that this snobby, conceited, fake is completely nuts thinking she can ever be taken seriously as an actor?

Have met her twice in normal non "performance" situations (actually the first time I met her I hadn't got a clue who she was, she was with a bunch of people I know), & both times she came across as a really nice person, far from snobby or conceited.

While she has acted (that play about Roy Keane), I didn't see it & couldn't comment on her skills. She probably does have acting training. Either way the piece was either a publicity piece (no problem with that, it's not the worst way to keep the brand in the paper) or it was a slow news day.

I actually think she'd probably be a pretty good supporting or character actor, she's alright looking & has a good presence.

I know of someone who would love to see her in a particular sector of L.A. based film making anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Ah haaaaa...Thanks.

OP, if you read rubbish newspapers, you'll get rubbish news about rubbish people doing rubbish things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

Well, I heard she was in Fair City years ago, so, em, she must be good.....;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

What she's leaving?? F**k man life isnt worth living!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

Just saw on the Sunday World yesterday that (brace yourselves)

'Same' 'story' in Sunday Times a few weeks back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

hmmm. would have thought that she was a bit chunky for acting in America. I think she's very sexy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

with those lips I know the perfect acting role for you ;)

oohh ahhh cailin grana Caroline :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

If talentless fluff like Amanda Byram can make it in LA, why can't Ms Morahan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Very attractive girl but when she opens her mouth...
    She'll do well in Hollywood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

she started off as an actress so why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

hmmm. would have thought that she was a bit chunky for acting in America. I think she's very sexy though.

I think she recently said that she's had pressure put on her to lose some of her ballast if she wants to make it in Hollywood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Just saw on the Sunday World yesterday that (brace yourselves) Caroline Morahan is moving to L.A. to become an "actress". Does anyone else think that this snobby, conceited, fake is completely nuts thinking she can ever be taken seriously as an actor?

She is far from the above - used to come in with stylist when in I worked as a sales assistant - and if one didn't know of her would simply conclude she came across as an ultra nice preson and would even go so far to say a as breath of fresh air. We all have dreams perhaps she is just going about fullfilling hers -
    jealous much? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Does anyone else think that this snobby, conceited, fake is completely nuts thinking she can ever be taken seriously as an actor?

You know her personally then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

**** yes please Caroline!

HD movies please. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I see her getting as far as Mikey from Boyzone did. They'll say she's too short, fat and funny looking for Hollywood (well, in reality they'd never say it like that. They'd say that she's definitely got something about her, but just isn't right for the part. But they'll keep her name and number and give her a call tomorrow. And she'll never hear from them again.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 audrey hepburn

the people who think caroline is chunky, fat etc need help. she is a slim girl. shes just not emaciated. i saw her as recently as last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

the people who think caroline is chunky, fat etc need help. she is a slim girl. shes just not emaciated. i saw her as recently as last week
    That's what normal people think. To make it in the states she has to be either the most talented actress anybody has ever seen and be lucky enough to get a role in a film that will get her seen, or be tall and anorexic like. She's neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭omerin

if andrea corr/samantha mumba can get movie parts so can caroline, but they'll probably be irish productions. i can't see her getting any mainstream us work, at the very best a tv movie, maybe a horror about 2 small leprechan bothers ....

Click to view image!

To Audrey hepburn above, I dont think she's missed too many dinners. I dont think ah... "The Young And The Restless" when she walks in the door.

She more Irish attractive, buxom, full figured ... all yer women's euphemisms. Like I said I think she's hot.

My brother used to call that fashion show "Off The Scales" cos she presented it.

anyone know how I can un-fluck up this thread? Cant resize that image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭carrieb

I have met CM and she is a very nice girl.
    She's not chunky, just not size 0 which is a good thing!
    I think shes stunning and if she wants to have a good at acting why not?!
    I'm sure she trained in a drama school.
    Why are Irish people always such begrudgers?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭gar120

What she's leaving?? F**k man life isnt worth living!

she's looking extra hot tonight onb podge & rodge:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Caroline is a gorgeous girl. Any of the lads here that say that wouldn't go out with her are either gay or liars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Onkle wrote: »
    Caroline is a gorgeous girl. Any of the lads here that say that wouldn't go out with her are either gay or liars
    I'm both! :pac:

thumbs_up.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

The problem with this country..full of begrudgers
    Fair play to her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

basquille wrote: »
    I'm both! :pac:

thumbs_up.jpg

Damn you Gay Liars! Damn you all to hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

begrudgers

Is it just me or is begrudgers the most over used word in the history of the English language. Some people do not find her atteractive while others do. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Well I wouldn't describe her as fat but I wouldn't exactly describe her as slim either. She's just kinda normal sized.

However in Hollywood terms when actresses are pressurised to be twiglets normal sized is not necessarily what they are looking for unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Hopefully she'll end up doing porno's. I'd love to see her get those smackers round someones nackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭UnderpantsGnome

Come on now, she's far too large for the likes of Hollywood.

The woman has an amazing figure. She has extra big boobs and makes her look bigger than she is - but her waist is near tiny and great well toned legs. Beach! Very Marylin Monroe. Far more rare and unachievable for most.

All trends fads come full circle and think we are bored with size zero hungry looking women. Bring on buxom thats what I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

yes she does have an amazing figure but I don't think the skinny trend will be over for a very long time if ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

How is it a trend? Actresses and actors have always been in good shape to get roles, how many big name actresses are dangerously skinny? The examples I always hear (Nicole Ritchie, Lohan etc) have zero power in Hollywood whilst genuine celebs like Scarlett Johansson, Reese Witherspoon etc look fantastic. Jennifer Aniston is loved by women but actually kinda skinny yet she gets a break for this, how come? And Caroline is not curvy, just slightly frumpy - Kim Kardashian is curvy.

Anyways, awful career move. I don't mean to begrudge her but I do think she'll be in way over her head

Agreed people should be in good shape and appear healthy when in a role. Always have.

Slightly off topic - but yes the advent of size zero is/was a trend we are gradually reverting back to a larger sillouette. Evidence of this is in excentuated padded shoulders hips and bums- their are certian key triggers that will show the begining of the end of trends certian designers socail factors etc-time depends on how the commercial world recieves them but 9 times out of 10 filter down 2 - 5 years.

I maybe wrong but thats unlikely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Unless she does nude scenes she'll never get work in Hollywood [sexest pig alert]

:-)

pseudonym1 wrote: »
    Agreed people should be in good shape and appear healthy when in a role. Always have.

Slightly off topic - but yes the advent of size zero is/was a trend we are gradually reverting back to a larger sillouette. Evidence of this is in excentuated padded shoulders hips and bums- their are certian key triggers that will show the begining of the end of trends certian designers socail factors etc-time depends on how the commercial world recieves them but 9 times out of 10 filter down 2 - 5 years.

I maybe wrong but thats unlikely.

There is evedence of this, Miracle Laurie in Dollhouse is not a size zero, or 2 or 4 or even 6...but the fans have applauded Josh Wheadon for casting her, he called her "luminous"...a rather flattering comment, she's supercute and very sweet.

Others of note are Mama Mia and Amanda Seigfried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭winter soldier

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Hopefully she'll end up doing porno's. I'd love to see her get those smackers round someones nackers.

yes and with any luck those nackers would be mine! she would be great in porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

while i'd like to see her succeed, I don't think LA is the right choice for her. Inevitably, she'll get into that diet/exercise vicious circle and end up on a diet of 5 cotton balls dipped in orange juice a day.

She does not have a face that would do well on an uber skinny body. She has accentuated facial features that look in proportion to her accentuated body shape. Where she to shed a lot of weight, her face, with large eyes, wide jaw, large cheek bones, big lips.. etc, would look completely out of proportion.

I wish her all the success in the world, I just don't thing moving into the superficial veneer culture of LA is the best for her. I think she would of been better trying her hand at some American/UK indie movies first to cut her teeth and not get stuck in reality TV and Irish stereotyped cameos on US sitcoms.

Hope the poor girl dosen't read this thread! :-)

I hope she does.

Caroline, you're a fine looking woman with a lovely arse. I could sit there all day long watching you chomp apples with those giant gnashers of yours.

I hope she does.

Caroline, you're a fine looking woman with a lovely arse. I could sit there all day long watching you chomp apples with those giant gnashers of yours.

tis good career advise she's gettin!! caroline lookin forward to seein your gums around some plums in the near future!

I hope she does.

tis good career advise she's gettin!! caroline lookin forward to seein your gums around some plums in the near future!

Yes and please do not pay any attention to stereo typical internet sados.:D

i am afraid to say when caroline is sittin in her one room apartment in downtown los angeles in between actin jobs waitin for the phone to ring she will probably be passin a lot of time reading the "advice" of internet saddoes and boardroom bull****ters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

That Hollywood story isn't made up - she was on Tubridy a few weeks back and was talking about it. She'll have to lose some serious weight if she wants to stand a chance of making it out there i'm afraid to say. She seems like a nice girl though but nice is not enough in Hollywood......

It's not really advice, moreso a 'wish list'. You can't say you've never imagined her picking up a big green apple and just destroying the thing in 1 second flat? It'd be quite arousing I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Well she does look like Angelina Jolie :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

How is it a trend? Actresses and actors have always been in good shape to get roles, how many big name actresses are dangerously skinny? The examples I always hear (Nicole Ritchie, Lohan etc) have zero power in Hollywood whilst genuine celebs like Scarlett Johansson, Reese Witherspoon etc look fantastic. Jennifer Aniston is loved by women but actually kinda skinny yet she gets a break for this, how come? And Caroline is not curvy, just slightly frumpy - Kim Kardashian is curvy.

Anyways, awful career move. I don't mean to begrudge her but I do think she'll be in way over her head

you obviously don't realise how skinny these girls are. Scarlett Johansson is tiny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Actually she's not, if you've seen How To Lose A Guy etc she has hips and boobs