Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jimmy Mcgee a true legend of the ring !

• 23-03-2009 12:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

he makes every fight 10 times better. what a guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I agree!!! Some of the thing he comes out with. Top quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Big Ears

TBH for some reason I do actually like listening to Jimmy, he's not really knowledgeable, he's not very perceptive in his blow by blow commentating, but you get something from Jimmy that you don't get from any other commentator anywhere.

Maybe it's cause he's magic, maybe we've just let a senile old man on the mic.
    But he's distinctly Irish and him and Dave 'Boy' McAuley always make fights hilarious somehow or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

is this thread for real?

I was going to start a Magee thread but not to praise him but to beg for his retirement!

Magee called the fight over when Cordoba tripped up.

He is brainless, moronic and talks ****e - not only that he hasnt a clue what he is talking about and is completely cringeworthy.

He is an embarassment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

He is a very good personal friend of Dunnes and it was only fitting that he was on the mike for this fight, I think he probably feels now in himself that he can step back from it, there isnt a man who wouldnt have been as proud as auld jimmy

is this thread for real?

I was going to start a Magee thread but not to praise him but to beg for his retirement!

He is brainless, moronic and talks ****e - not only that he hasnt a clue what he is talking about and is completely cringeworthy.

He is an embarassment

Yes but RTÉ won't hire a boxing only commentator and our only other options are Ryle Nugent................
    George Hamilton.................
    or have Darragh Maloney do it and get Con Murphy or Joanne Cantwell to present it. The 3rd option there presumely being the best, Maloney could be probably changed into a half **** commentator(which would put him steps above anyone else at RTÉ).

However when the solution is another terrible commentator you may aswell stick with a man who is at least funny even though he is awful.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Yes but RTÉ won't hire a boxing only commentator and our only other options are Ryle Nugent................
    George Hamilton.................
    or have Darragh Maloney do it and get Con Murphy or Joanne Cantwell to present it. The 3rd option there presumely being the best, Maloney could be probably changed into a half **** commentator(which would put him steps above anyone else at RTÉ).

However when the solution is another terrible commentator you may aswell stick with a man who is at least funny even though he is awful.

NNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Exactly the thought that went it my mind when I thought 'who could they replace him with'

The only way you could do any worse would be to get a chat show host(eg Kenny, Tubridy or Ryan) to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,624 ✭✭✭bassy

totally agree with you sligobhoy67,did you hear him this is one of the greatest fights ever in irish boxing,fooken hell......................................

guarntee dunne won,t hold the belt for long,soon as he comes up against any class that will be lights out for him.

is this thread for real?

He is an embarassment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

I felt McGee was very biased last night towards Dunne. Thats my only complaint, good commentator otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Imagine George

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh its there, this is surely a ko.... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Johnduddy

Magee and McCauley were ridiculously biased (and hilarious) but could you blame them ?

They were ringside at one of the best nights for Irish boxing in years and the atmosphere was electric, they were never going to be anything but biased.

Some of the things he comes out with are ridiculous and you have to laugh at the randomness of some of it but somehow I dont think watchin Irish boxing on RTE would be the same without him.

A classic bit of commentary just before Dunne dropped Cordoba in the third:

McCauley: Ive sparred with dozens of panamanians, relaxing to preserve energy is one thing they are great at. They can be so relaxed they are almost horizontal

[Dunnes left hook floors cordoba]

Magee: Talk about horzontal, Dave boy calls it right on queue !

Hahaha classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Jimmy is a legend and a great guy I met him at Dunnes fight in Germany - but he does come out with some hollers.

Nugent is the most annoying person in TV EVER.

Maybe Curruth could do the job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

This thread is hilarious.

C'mon people saying Magee is good are surely being ironic? The fella is absolutely shocking....almost ruins the fight for me. I wish I could mute it but you lose to much of the atmosphere.

Maybe Im just used to higher quality commentary from watching boxing outside of Ireland...Im sure for the casual fan who only watches Dunne fights he's fine. Awful commentator for anybody who likes a bit more substance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

aw Jasus lads... mcgee is shockingly bad. i like him and all -and, admittedly sat. night was probably his best night in years - but the absolute shyte he normally comes out with is embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

He's a nice man but an awful commentator, but especially for boxing, he talks about stuff that makes no sense constantly. Rte should put someone like carruth in, he is knowledgable and is a true irish legend, thats the way i see it.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I think Mícheal O'Muircheartaigh would be great at it.

Especially fun when he starts talking about everyone's families.

He could get stuck in many loops with our current crop :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Cannot stand him and McCauley as commentators. McGee does not have a clue on what he is commentating on and just makes it up as he goes along. At one point during the Andy Lee fight he came out with the "fact" that Andy has the longest reach in boxing today.

He pretty much just makes up things to try and sound like he knows what he is on about.

McCauley bugs me as he seems to go from being a Jamie Redknapp (stating the bloody obvious) to sounding like he is just spoofing his way through it.

bassy wrote: »
    guarntee dunne won,t hold the belt for long,soon as he comes up against any class that will be lights out for him.

I wouldn't be sure about that, Cordoba was quality and Dunne got the better of him. Poonsawat Kratingdaenggym is quality(and likely to be Dunne's mandatory) and I'd give Bernard every chance in that aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

Dave "boy" called Cordoba "Coruba" at the start of the fight.
    These guys had no homework done on the Panamanian , no clue, shocking commentary. Jimmy had Dunne well ahead when on the judges cards he was 3,4 and 5 points behind!!
    2 spoofers that should be flogged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Where was their cowboy hats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭foams

In one of the earlier rounds Magee states that both fighters studied each others previous fights, then a few rounds later Davey says he was talking to
    Cordoba earlier in the week and Cordoba said he never watched videos of
    the fella his fighting. Jimmys a great fella though, you'd miss him if he was
    gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

foams wrote: »
    In one of the earlier rounds Magee states that both fighters studied each others previous fights, then a few rounds later Davey says he was talking to
    Cordoba earlier in the week and Cordoba said he never watched videos of
    the fella his fighting. Jimmys a great fella though, you'd miss him if he was
    gone.

I'm sure Werthers Original could get him a gig or Hazelbrook farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,168 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

totally agree with you sligobhoy67,did you hear him this is one of the greatest fights ever in irish boxing,fooken hell......................................
    It was one of the greatest fights in Irish history.
    is this thread for real?

He is an embarassment
    Jimmy is not the man he was, he makes mistakes now and its hard to take sometimes but the man is a legend. Do you remember all the times he commentated on the radio from the Stadium years ago?
    The man is a lover of all sports but boxing is probably top of the list, I've met the man a couple of times. The third time funny enough was more than a decade after the second, I was a child with my dad in the Stadium the first two times.
    The next time was on Know Your Sport(I was a contestant). My specialist subject in the first round was the career of Rocky Marciano. They do a practice run of the show to get everybody prepared, the only person Jimmy wanted to talk to after that was me and quiz me about boxing and talk about great memories and good fights coming up. That was in 1994 and his parting comment that night was to watch out for Damaen Kelly who he believed was going to be a superstar.

I met him in Clones in June 1999 where Monaghan were playing an Ulster Championship game which I brought my dad to, he remembered our conversation in '94 without me saying anything and was saddended at how Kelly had been beaten the previous month on cuts. Now thats a memory man.

There is something else as well. I watched the fight on tv the other night and I was totally engrossed in the fight and every punch and I think if you are that into a fight you don't really hear the commentators, you hear them but it just goes in one ear and out the other without really registering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

McGee and McCauley were absolutely terrible, ridiculously biased and uninformed - just listen to Jim Watt and you'll know what a knowledgeable boxing commentator should sound like. I was tempted to mute it and stick on the radio. When the English a over biased we go mad and slag them off, imagine what they would have made of McGee.

I couldn't believe the pfaff they were coming out with when Katie Taylor was fighting. "She hits harder than any man, she breaks her dads ribs regularly when she does heavy bag". The best was when theycalled a one sided slap fest as good an amateur fight as you will ever see even between two men. Sadly though, she didn't hit hard enough to put over some middle aged yummy mummy from the states.

McGee called the fight over every time Dunne threw a punch - he also thought for some reason, that Dunne was miles ahead on the score card in the 11th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Ref waved his arms ina similar manner to the way he did when he actually stopped the fight. Dunne raised his arms too for a second. Not that big a mistake IMO

I have to say I like him and McAuley. Listened to Marty Morrissey and Carruth on the radio for ealy part of fight and I'd have the TV pair streets ahead of them.

As has been said Jimmy is miles more interestedin the sport than any other RTE commentator. In general boxing coverage, I'd only rate Jim Watt as informative and analytical. Richie Woodhall's not bad but the bar is pretty low.

Dodge wrote: »
    Ref waved his arms ina similar manner to the way he did when he actually stopped the fight. Dunne raised his arms too for a second. Not that big a mistake IMO

I have to say I like him and McAuley. Listened to Marty Morrissey and Carruth on the radio for ealy part of fight and I'd have the TV pair streets ahead of them.

As has been said Jimmy is miles more interestedin the sport than any other RTE commentator. In general boxing coverage, I'd only rate Jim Watt as informative and analytical. Richie Woodhall's not bad but the bar is pretty low.

I could listen to Woodhall all day long - his analysis and technical knowledge is so superior and he give a really insite. Magee and Watt tell you whats happening - Woodhall tells you why its happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,168 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I could listen to Woodhall all day long - his analysis and technical knowledge is so superior and he give a really insite. Magee and Watt tell you whats happening - Woodhall tells you why its happening.
    Definitely agree that Woodhall is class. Watt's very good too in fairness but Woodhall stands out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

is this thread for real?

He is an embarassment

That was hilarious. MaGee roaring, "It's over, it's over," when Cordoba simply slipped and the ref CLEARLY indicated a slip. Jimmy has taken one too many I think

Al Bernstein is my favourite in the colour commentator role, he provides a similar role to Woodhall but not in a boring birmingham accent and monotone voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

While on the subject of commentary, the HBO crew really get under my skin. Lampley, Merchant and Kellerman just pick their favourite boxer at the start and completely ignore anything the other guy does.

As for Magee his commentary isn't the greatest but at least he's passionate. McAuley just sits there and shouts "OH" whenever anything other than a jab is landed. I'm happy as long as we never have to hear George Hamilton commentate on boxing anytime soon. I can imagine it now...."Dunne is completely in control, OH, he's hurt, DANGER HERE!!!!"

I'm no fan of Davy but he did call it - "the next big shot wins this fight"

and it did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 al10pin

Lads,

We all have likes and dislikes, and what suits one, will not suit another. But there are a couple of points that have been made that should at least be cleared up, or maybe a different slant put on it.

I happen to agree that the commentary/analysis may have been better from a boxing analysis point of view. I understand some of the comments from pure boxing fans, but what some don't understand is that commentary is for all who watch and is for entertainment value, and RTE require the majority to be entertained.

Now that been said if you don't like Jimmy well thats fine, as no matter what he says it's going to piddle you off, and thats an opinion.

But just because this is the way it is delivered, doesn't mean that he does not have the boxing knowledge either. I wouldn't under estimate that, and I think over the years many columns that he has written have indicated future champions at both amateur and professional level, and what strenghts they have etc.

Yes he was biased in his desire for Bernard to win. I think we deserve that from an atmosphere point of. He didn't have Bernard miles ahead, in fact only by one point and his notes said he needed to win the last two rounds also to get the fight. The judges had it differently, but I think they were further from the mark than Jimmy, and that was their only job on the night. However as an individual he isn't biased to what he percieves to be the correct outcome. I think he was the only one who felt Kenny Egan didn't win the gold, regardless again if that is right or not, I don't think he has ever been biased to an outcome.

For the other comments, Jimmy doesn't drink, so didn't have one too many. However even I was fed up with 8st 10lb being mentioned, so in some ways understand.

People who put themselves in front of the public are open to opinion and ridicule, and criticism, which is only fair. However it's difficult to read some things that are so removed from the truth, and I think those that throw out personal insults, without knowing someone is well below the belt. By all means have a go, just remember, would he treat you the same way?

He as an individual always sees the best in others, his passion, desire and enthusiasm is either going to be infectious or annoying, I for one like it. He is no fool, has been responsible for some great howlers, and indeed some great one liners, but those of you who posted opinions to the contarary, if you met him and had discussions, you would also realise his knowledge on boxing and the preparation of the fights.

Sorry for giving a biased point of view, and in nearly 30 years, its the first time I have responded. For the person who went way below the belt, have an opinion, express it, but no need to knock someone down, and then reverse back over them, just to make sure you did the job right. You maybe a legend on a bar stool, but the majority don't behave like that.

From a very biased son.

Mark

Well said,

All commentators are biased the HBO crew are border line ridiculous at times but all the yanks love Merchant even though he rambles on - I'm a member of US boxing forums and the guys constantly complain about him but also say they will miss him when he's gone.

As I said I met the memory man at Dunnes fight in Germany and he is a great guy and even took the time out for pictures with lads and myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

And another thing, his son comes on here making us feel like priks for slagging him :mad:

Ah no, very good post.

As you said, public figures are open to opinion, ridicule and criticism and, unfortunately, it is all too easy for some of that to turn personal but that doesn't make it excusable.

I hope I'm not the one who went way below the belt. I do stand by my opinion that he can come out with some cringe-worthy stuff but I also know I wasn't exactly being mindful of him, his friends or family with how I worded it - and I'm genuinely sorry for that and any offence caused.

al10pin wrote: »
    Lads,

We all have likes and dislikes, and what suits one, will not suit another. But there are a couple of points that have been made that should at least be cleared up, or maybe a different slant put on it.

I happen to agree that the commentary/analysis may have been better from a boxing analysis point of view. I understand some of the comments from pure boxing fans, but what some don't understand is that commentary is for all who watch and is for entertainment value, and RTE require the majority to be entertained.

Now that been said if you don't like Jimmy well thats fine, as no matter what he says it's going to piddle you off, and thats an opinion.

But just because this is the way it is delivered, doesn't mean that he does not have the boxing knowledge either. I wouldn't under estimate that, and I think over the years many columns that he has written have indicated future champions at both amateur and professional level, and what strenghts they have etc.

Yes he was biased in his desire for Bernard to win. I think we deserve that from an atmosphere point of. He didn't have Bernard miles ahead, in fact only by one point and his notes said he needed to win the last two rounds also to get the fight. The judges had it differently, but I think they were further from the mark than Jimmy, and that was their only job on the night. However as an individual he isn't biased to what he percieves to be the correct outcome. I think he was the only one who felt Kenny Egan didn't win the gold, regardless again if that is right or not, I don't think he has ever been biased to an outcome.

For the other comments, Jimmy doesn't drink, so didn't have one too many. However even I was fed up with 8st 10lb being mentioned, so in some ways understand.

People who put themselves in front of the public are open to opinion and ridicule, and criticism, which is only fair. However it's difficult to read some things that are so removed from the truth, and I think those that throw out personal insults, without knowing someone is well below the belt. By all means have a go, just remember, would he treat you the same way?

He as an individual always sees the best in others, his passion, desire and enthusiasm is either going to be infectious or annoying, I for one like it. He is no fool, has been responsible for some great howlers, and indeed some great one liners, but those of you who posted opinions to the contarary, if you met him and had discussions, you would also realise his knowledge on boxing and the preparation of the fights.

Sorry for giving a biased point of view, and in nearly 30 years, its the first time I have responded. For the person who went way below the belt, have an opinion, express it, but no need to knock someone down, and then reverse back over them, just to make sure you did the job right. You maybe a legend on a bar stool, but the majority don't behave like that.

From a very biased son.

Mark

Well said - whatever you all think about Jimmy Magees delivery or bias when he is commentating....

NOBODY can doubt his knowledge and passion for the game.

A lot of you on here defend steve bunce (A biased ****) for his passion and delivery. Jimmy Magee gets slated.

I guarantee Jimmy Magee knows more about Irish boxing and its history than the majority of the posters on here

As far as I am aware, of all the sports Jimmy covers and knows about, boxing is his real passion and a few years back in the Sunday World, he did an article on the 50 greatest sports athletes, and Ali was his number 1. Hey, he got that right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

"The referee is ready to step in at the first sign of aggro"
    Jimmy the living legend

Class - ye cant make that stuff up

Also it has to be considered the atmosphere at this fight, Jimmy and D Boy got totally caught up in it, they are supposed to be professional and unbiased but I forgive them :)

I am not a mad Jimmy fan for boxing, but Dave Boy really irritates me. Talk about OTT!

john47832 wrote: »
    "The referee is ready to step in at the first sign of aggro"
    Jimmy the living legend

Class - ye cant make that stuff up

Also it has to be considered the atmosphere at this fight, Jimmy and D Boy got totally caught up in it, they are supposed to be professional and unbiased but I forgive them :)

Tune in to sky setanta and HBO and those guys are just as biased and they commentate on championship fights a helleva lot more the the RTE crew.

With commentators you need the wirey old guy that's been around since Romans invaded in 62 and the second guy needs to be the younger "modern" commentator. Jimmy fits the bill and Davy Boy IMO is to similar to Mcgee. I'll like to see Curruth in there with Jimmy.
    Was he good on the radio??

Or what about Kevin McBride ??

T-K-O wrote: »

I may be wrong on this but does Kevin McBride not sound punch drunk ?

Johnduddy wrote: »
    I may be wrong on this but does Kevin McBride not sound punch drunk ?

Yup :D

walshb wrote: »
    As far as I am aware, of all the sports Jimmy covers and knows about, boxing is his real passion and a few years back in the Sunday World, he did an article on the 50 greatest sports athletes, and Ali was his number 1. Hey, he got that right!

Im sure that jimmy loves boxing but he clearly does not know much about it, he gets all his info from folks at the stadium anyway, i was there once when he was asked a simple question by 1 of the well known regulars in the stadium who gave him lots of the info without any thanks and asked him it, to which a clueless jimmy answered, i'll put it in the paper for you (thats easy when you can check out the answer!)

also 1 of my mates used to give him lots of the facts for the paper and was also unhappy that he never got credit for it, "you see it came from memory"

Im not a fan but do think he's a nice man, that does not mean i have to keep quiet about my feelings on watching jimmy on big boxing nights, he ruins it for me..i'd rather pay to watch it live and not spend my time shaking my head in disbelief at what im hearing on RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

T-K-O wrote: »

Might as well get Joe joyce. He sound a bit quicker off the mark and would then challenge the winner. And the loser. And then jimmy. That'd make for entertainment you couldn't pay for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Barname

is this thread for real?

He is an embarassment

retire James

cowzerp wrote: »
    Im sure that jimmy loves boxing but he clearly does not know much about it, he gets all his info from folks at the stadium anyway, i was there once when he was asked a simple question by 1 of the well known regulars in the stadium who gave him lots of the info without any thanks and asked him it, to which a clueless jimmy answered, i'll put it in the paper for you (thats easy when you can check out the answer!)

also 1 of my mates used to give him lots of the facts for the paper and was also unhappy that he never got credit for it, "you see it came from memory"

Im not a fan but do think he's a nice man, that does not mean i have to keep quiet about my feelings on watching jimmy on big boxing nights, he ruins it for me..i'd rather pay to watch it live and not spend my time shaking my head in disbelief at what im hearing on RTE!

Paul, like many 'experts,' they all have teams around them.
    Even Attenborough is the same in the wildlife end of things.
    A lot is scripted. Nobody can read and know that much all by
    themselves

I do know his passion is boxing, whether or not he is an expert or not.
    That's a sign of good taste:D

But, I don't really like his commentating and his commentary on the Olympics
    for the boxing was pretty average, bordering bad. I remember so many
    glaring errors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

"Jimmy McGee is a Legend among men"

well tbh if Magee said that then I agree with him - I think it was one of the greatest fights in Irish boxing history - it was certainly the best that I have ever seen!

I rate it very good, but I rate Barry's championship fights all better and Henry Coyle's last fight
    in Castlebar, that was special!

The Dunne fight was the best fight Ive seen live by far and IMO it is one of the best Irish fights.

It genuinely was 1 of- if not the best fight involving an irish man, and the best live fight i've had the pleasure in seeing, :)