Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the best sporting result of today?

• 22-03-2009 1:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭

What was the best sporting result of today?

What was the best sporting result of today? 178 votes

Ireland winning the six nations.
    0% 0 votes
    Bernard Dunne being crowned world champion.
    84% 150 votes
    I don't care. I'm playing my atari jaguar.
    15% 28 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

The **** i had earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Who cares which was 'the best'? Well done to both Dunne and The rugby team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭dantes74

both results are equally brilliant. one is a team effort that's years in
    the making and one is a solo effort that is also years in the making.
    both achievments had heartbreak along the way which makes them
    extra sweet. also much respect to andy lee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

United getting whipped by Fulham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

ireland winning the grandslam, followed closly by
    tech2 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

1. Ireland winning
    2. Fulham winning
    3. Spurs winning
    4. That dublin box'in lad winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Rugby. Dunne is a sideshow =o Andy Lee is far more worthy of the status as Ireland's main boxing talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Newcastle 1-3 Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Duiske wrote: »
    1. Ireland winning
    2. Fulham winning
    3. Spurs winning
    4. That dublin box'in lad winning

another liverpool fan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Speaking as a fighter, but not (until tonight) a fan of Dunne's, my vote goes to Dunne.

Its a clinche, but the ring is a lonely place and it takes huge balls to step up to the plate and fight.

Either way you look at it, this is a fantastic weekend for Irish sports - and we they're supporters are winners too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

The Grand Slam.. (might I add 61 years we waited..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

funkyflea wrote: »
    The Grand Slam.. (might I add 61 years we waited..)

Hmmm...I think the rugger community drastically overestimates Rugby's place in Irish sport

Great achievement though

2 great results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Deffo Fulham win.

Followed closely by Spurs win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Poll fails. Best result was Spurs beating Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

PK2008 wrote: »
    Hmmm...I think the rugger community drastically overestimates Rugby's place in Irish sport

I honestly don't think there is any denying that in the last 5-7 years rugby has been streets ahead of soccer in terms of support in this country.

Is that fair? I don't know but the fact is that the lads in the rugby jersey show infinitely more passion and belief in the jersey than the soccer lads. That will always draw support and today the national team got their reward.

Fair play to Bernard Dunne and Andy Lee as well, great fighters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Newcastle 1-3 Arsenal.

QFT

without a doubt ireland beating the reigning
    champions on their home ground to win our
    first grand slam in 61 yrs

greatness has been achieved
    even if it was a manky kick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I think people can't appreciate the boxing as much as most know less about it at this stage.

Everyone knows what the 6 nations meant to that rugby team and we are all just so happy to see them achieve it.

I'm equally happy for Dunne but it is hard to appreciate it as much because I don't know enough about the sport. I'm still proud of the lad though and watched it on TV despite only half knowing what I was watching :P

I think its a shame but his victory has been overshadowed by the Rugby team victory, if only they had been planned a weekend apart :(

thebman wrote: »
    I think its a shame but his victory has been overshadowed by the Rugby team victory, if only they had been planned a weekend apart :(

I think they compliment each other to be honest.
    dantes74 wrote:
    even if it was a manky kick

Beer came out my nose when I heard O'Connell say that.:D

bigkev49 wrote: »
    I think they compliment each other to be honest.

Beer came out my nose when I heard O'Connell say that.:D

after kidney's thank everyone interview to hear o'connell
    say that was pure comedy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

thebman wrote: »

I'd imagine the opposite to be true. Having them both on the same day has drawn extra attention to Irish Boxing tonight. It has moved the day from being "A great day for Irish rugby" to "a great day for Irish sport".

RTE2 went straight from the rugby to the football highlights to the boxing giving a very large captive audience in pubs all across the country. Opening up the sport to a much wider audience. If it was on next weekend then it would have been mostly boxing fans watching, instead it was the whole country watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭An Capall Dubh

AND Galway United are still top of the eircom league!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

To me the boxing was the greater achievement as it was less expected, we rarely achieve anything and now get 2 on the same day.
    As a pool fan watching both United and Chelsea loose was also great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Stones85

I can never get excited about the 6 nations. Yeah great for Irish rugby maybe but guys, it's a 6 team competition, of which 2 teams will never win (italy and scotland), which leaves Ireland with 3 big games...... 3!!

When Ireland win a WORLD championship I might make a comparison, but until then....... I'll stick to watching WORLD CHAMPIONS anytime!!!!!!

Yes but......

to the question.

Has to go to Ireland BUT that was the best boxing match I've ever seen. Dunne was a total outsider in the betting. Fair ****ing play to him. Showed class too when he won. Great day all in all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭An Capall Dubh

credit where credit's due to all!!

Stones85 wrote: »
    I can never get excited about the 6 nations. Yeah great for Irish rugby maybe but guys, it's a 6 team competition, of which 2 teams will never win (italy and scotland), which leaves Ireland with 3 big games...... 3!!

When Ireland win a WORLD championship I might make a comparison, but until then....... I'll stick to watching WORLD CHAMPIONS anytime!!!!!!

Comparison doesn't really work. In a world cup it's quite likely that any potential winner plays several of the poorer teams (like USA, Japan etc.) before having 3 or maybe 4 hard games. So the difference isn't huge. I'm not comparing 6 nations to the world cup but it does boil down to a few hard matches padded by some easier ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

If you are just on here to slag off the achievements made today then why don't you just feck off and support another country ?

A win is a win is a win, why do you want to take the gloss off it ? Leave your begrudgery for the recession threads please. Today is for celebrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

The simple fact is it is a widely known competition and a teams that have won world cups want to win the 6 nations and we have achieved this by grand slam.

It is not easy to play 5 teams of any calibre and play probably the best team as your last match away and win a title under enormous pressure to do so.

They did superbly by anyones standards and you can't help but feel the begrudgers just have something against rugby.

Dinner wrote: »
    Comparison doesn't really work. In a world cup it's quite likely that any potential winner plays several of the poorer teams (like USA, Japan etc.) before having 3 or maybe 4 hard games. So the difference isn't huge. I'm not comparing 6 nations to the world cup but it does boil down to a few hard matches padded by some easier ones.

I get what your saying and agree you can't compare the two. Mostly because more people box worldwide than play rugby, so more competition and so more difficult to rise to the top.

Bernard Dunne is now Champion of The World.... the best in his class ON THE PLANET.

Ireland won the 6 nations. In world sporting terms its mediocre.
    All that counts in world rugby is the world cup, and only very occasionaly will anyone outside the southern hemisphere win that.

RATM wrote: »
    If you are just on here to slag off the achievements made today then why don't you just feck off and support another country ?

A win is a win is a win, why do you want to take the gloss off it ? Leave your begrudgery for the recession threads please. Today is for celebrating.

I think its good for rugby that Ireland won, but the OP asked which we thought was better.....

I think CHAMPION OF THE WORLDwins hands down.... but again well done to rugby lads, made us proud

Seriously, with the amount of sport on today, why would you only put those 2 results in the poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

I think its good for rugby that Ireland won, but the OP asked which we thought was better.....

I think CHAMPION OF THE WORLDwins hands down.... but again well done to rugby lads, made us proud

You're talking crap, are you honestly telling me that you would prefer seeing Ireland being 'CHAMPION OF THE WORLD' in tiddlywinks ( or even curling ! ) than you would seeing them win the Rugby Six Nations ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Newcastle 1-3 Arsenal.

+1 :D

Oh come on, Newcastle are a shambles. There was nothing surprising about them getting rolled.

RATM wrote: »
    You're talking crap, are you honestly telling me that you would prefer seeing Ireland being 'CHAMPION OF THE WORLD' in tiddlywinks ( or even curling ! ) than you would seeing them win the Rugby Six Nations ?

LOL, yes Boxing is like tiddleywinks :D:o

CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in his federation, of which there are 3.

To be honest I think it's ridiculous to argue about the two, let's just enjoy the fact that Irishmen absolutely excelled in two hugely exciting sports today. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

jaffa20 wrote: »
    The **** i had earlier

This dude is a legend.

I get what your saying and agree you can't compare the two. Mostly because more people box worldwide than play rugby, so more competition and so more difficult to rise to the top.

Bernard Dunne is now Champion of The World.... the best in his class ON THE PLANET.

Ireland won the 6 nations. In world sporting terms its mediocre.
    All that counts in world rugby is the world cup, and only very occasionaly will anyone outside the southern hemisphere win that.

Ok, I see where you're coming from. And you're right, the Southern Hemisphere is generally considered to be stronger than the northern (although that is debatable).

Northern and southern hemisphere are bad names arent they? Lets call the northern hemisphere Super Bantamweight and lets call the southern hemisphere Super Featherweight.

In the 'Super Bantamweight' division the best teams happen to be all in the 6 nations. So, by all accounts the 6 nations is the "World Cup" of the 'Super Bantamweight' division. And Ireland v Wales was the title challenge, very apt considering Wales were the previous Grand Slam holders.

The difference here is that in rugby, it's a bit more all-inclusive than boxing. They allow the Super Bantamweights play against the Super Featherweights from time to time, even though they both play completley different types of games and the 'Super Featherweights' usually play a much more aggresive version of the game.

Ye see where I'm coming from here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

neither... didnt watch them, busy sleeping... Ahh sleep.

Dinner wrote: »
    Ok, I see where you're coming from. And you're right, the Southern Hemisphere is generally considered to be stronger than the northern (although that is debatable).

Northern and southern hemisphere are bad names arent they? Lets call the northern hemisphere Super Bantamweight and lets call the southern hemisphere Super Featherweight.

In the 'Super Bantamweight' division the best teams happen to be all in the 6 nations. So, by all accounts the 6 nations is the "World Cup" of the 'Super Bantamweight' division. And Ireland v Wales was the title challenge, very apt considering Wales were the previous Grand Slam holders.

The difference here is that in rugby, it's a bit more all-inclusive than boxing. They allow the Super Bantamweights play against the Super Featherweights from time to time, even though they both play completley different types of games and the 'Super Featherweights' usually play a much more aggresive version of the game.

Ye see where I'm coming from here?

I do see, actually you've almost won me over..... i agree rugby is far and away more fashionable.

My main point although unsaid was that the competition (amount of compediters) for that world title would have been greater than for the 6(4) nations.
    I'll stand corrected though....

Actually fck it...I don't really care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

whether you are a boxing or rugby man, all that can be said is.....what a day to be irish.so proud!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

You are the toffs that ruin Dublin

soccer loving west-brits

WHAT A DAY!!!

Best day in Irish sporting history in last however beats 90'

Sooooo doesn't beat Italia '90

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I love boxing and thought Dunner was gone in the 5th round. It was a fecking great fight so i obviously thought the boxing was better than the rugby. I'm a pikey bitch so love GAA, Boxing and football.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Kiera wrote: »
    I'm a pikey bitch so love GAA, Boxing and football.

Pikey?

Explain.

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Pikey?

Explain.
    How about you fúck off and never quote me agian?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Kiera wrote: »
    How about you fúck off and never quote me agian?

Reported.

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Reported.
    hahahahahahahaha, for what? did i personally abuse you? Nope :P Here ye go, here's your dummy, you dropped it out of your pram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭YoungPayters

i'm going out on a limb here cause i didnt see the dunne fight, but boxing is a bit mangled when it comes to world title's and that. There is so many belts and world titles that its nearly impossible to know which ones are credible(worth a sh!te load of money) or not. I think the rugby team's achievement is much higher in the food chain than the rest...
    although man united shooting themselves in the foot was very funny today!