Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Pride

• 22-03-2009 12:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭

i know there is a few differnt threads in here but my god what a day to be Irish. surely the best since italia 90 if not longer.

we are an island of about 6 million people but we have shown twice today that we can stand up to anyone. i am so proud to be Irish tonight.

i can see today being a "where were you when?" kind of day in years to come.

Well done Bernard and the Rugby lads you have done us all proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Best since Riverdance at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Truly it is. On Saint Patrick's week too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The Irish have pride like no other nation. Our pride is somehow contagious, and that's another thing to be proud of. Bloody great week for us, and in the midst of global doom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Pride - a cause of so much crap. It's a terrible thing when misplaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

Is it wrong my first thought went to bread?!
    I didn't need wins in the sport to be proud to be Irish (although it is nice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Proud?

I feel no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

To be honest I prefer Pat The Baker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Could be worse. Patriot much? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

What I want to know is why is there so many twats on boards dying to let everyone know how much they don't care?

shut the fúck up.

oh and, go on Ireland! brilliant results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭dantes74

our much celebrated celtic tiger was in my opinion built
    on our sporting achievments of the late 80's early 90's
    which put our small nation in the international spotlight
    so hopefully today will have a similar effect

COME ON IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

You're right

Lads resist the urge to invade Britain, lets not spoil it now

Ah feck it!! Lets do it, come on, who's with me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

what pride ? majority of people ive seen wearing the Ireland shirts are part time fans... when we're not winning we're ****e....

same goes for Dunne.... when he isnt winning he's just another filtho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I feel very proud after we won the Grand Slam. Our fans in Cardiff were as always fantastic, vocal, good fun and not a hint of trouble. That makes me proud.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Shamrock Rovers lost to Bohemians on Friday - nothing else really matters.

Still, nice to see Dunne win, I honestly didn't think he had it in him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

dantes74 wrote: »

COME ON IRELAND

LOL that's exactly right. Nothing to do with a global economic boom it was all Ray Houghton's doing....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

6 million, just a couple of weeks ago there were 5 million. WTF are we, Rabbits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I don't like boxing or Rugby, but I'm happy for the fans and the country. When it becomes an expression of my nationality, however, I reach for the sick bucket. Like Italia '90, I also don't like the patriotic objections to 'naysayers'. Often from event junkies who don't usually like sport.

I support the Irish football team, and rarely miss games, but I'd rather that Rovers (or United) won the league than an international football, rugby and boxing win combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

At what point do we stop celebrating these accomplishments and go back to begrudging them ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Too right I'm proud! I have to thank all involved who made it possible for me to come out of a womans uterus in this country and not one in Wales.

One is put in mind of Italia '90. It was like East Germany at times. You lived in fear that a neighbour or colleague would inform the Central Citizen's Committee for Patriotic Enjoyment of Sport that you agreed with the central thesis of Dunphy's argument, or that you liked Shamrock Rovers far more than the national team.

Solzhenitsyn didn't know the half of it, I'm telling you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    I have to thank all involved who made it possible for me to come out of a womans uterus

Dont make me vomit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Too right I'm proud! I have to thank all involved who made it possible for me to come out of a womans uterus.

Why don't you go back to where you came from !! :p

stovelid wrote: »
    rug.jpg

Haha, but isnt rugger traditionally an English sport?

I never really got the 6 nations- is it like the European cup of rugby or is there one of those?

PK2008 wrote: »
    Haha, but isnt rugger traditionally an English sport?

I never really got the 6 nations- is it like the European cup of rugby or is there one of those?

It's that there's about a dozen countries in Europe that play rugby but only 6 of them care enough about the sport to be able to fill a moderately sized stadium on match-day.

You could call the 6nations the European cup of Rugby. Much like you could have called the annual football fixture of England v Scotland in the 1890's 'the world cup final'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

C'mon Ireland, put the ball in the net. OMG what a bleedin' hangover:eek:

It's that there's about a dozen countries in Europe that play rugby but only 6 of them care enough about the sport to be able to fill a moderately sized stadium on match-day.

You could call the 6nations the European cup of Rugby. Much like you could have called the annual football fixture of England v Scotland in the 1890's 'the world cup final'.

So NO then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

6 million, just a couple of weeks ago there were 5 million. WTF are we, Rabbits?

Nope, winners!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

A day to be EXTRA proud to be Irish!!

I've bought todays Independent and the front page and sports page are getting framed yo!!

AMAZING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The hangover is saying otherwise :(:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

COME ON IRELAND

Either that or a bunch of handouts from the EU

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Ah the old rugby V soccer debate. On 1 hand you have the rugby team that go and get stuck into every game, really pound the opponent in the ground and give it 100% to get the win. Then you have the international soccer team who get paid millions every year, play crap together and everyone is happy because we 'got the draw' and maybe we can go through on a technicality! When was the last time irish soccer won any title?

When was the last time irish soccer won any title?

This one has been touted again and again but I'm glad for that because it sums up the mentality of most rugby 'fans' in this country in a sentence. The only reason most of you are even following it is because you've got a winning team over the past few years. I'll be interested to see where you are when Ireland are down in last place again (as they often were when I started watching the game).

There'll probably still be enough real fans going to the games but I reckon most of these other people who are so keen to go on about "what have you won?" will have fled elsewh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Irish pride... Mostly displayed by people when something good happens. The rest of the time is spent by most of those same people moaning about the very same place they're "proud" of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Makes me wanna slap on my leprachaun beard, blow up my inflatable hammer and watch Man U on the TV. GO ON OIRLEAND

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Ireland, the land of little competence, except when it comes to boxing and rugby.

Oh yeah, bursting with pride so I am, now if you don't mind I have some taxes to pay to bankroll our corrupt government while I wait 24 hours to have the pleasure of lying in a hospital bed in a corridor while some scumbag breaks into my house knowing nothing will happen to him if he were caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

COME ON IRELAND
    Coincidence? I think not. Look at how rise of house music led to the fall of communism!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Don Diego

This one has been touted again and again but I'm glad for that because it sums up the mentality of most rugby 'fans' in this country in a sentence. The only reason most of you are even following it is because you've got a winning team over the past few years. I'll be interested to see where you are when Ireland are down in last place again (as they often were when I started watching the game).

There'll probably still be enough real fans going to the games but I reckon most of these other people who are so keen to go on about "what have you won?" will have fled elsewh

The fact that a sport attracts more followers when it is sucessfull is true of any sport. Just look at the many people in this country who follow the sucessfull English premiership soccer teams. Im sure every one of them is a life long die hard "fan"! Its just begrudgery on your part to try and put down a fantastic achievement by the Irish rugby team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

So we're allowed to be proud to be Irish again?
    Nice one.
    Here I was thinking that only IRA supporters were allowed to be proud of being Irish.

Terry wrote: »
    So we're allowed to be proud to be Irish again?
    Nice one.
    Here I was thinking that only IRA supporters were allowed to be proud of being Irish.

Pfff...what have they ever won?

Don Diego wrote: »
    The fact that a sport attracts more followers when it is sucessfull is true of any sport. Just look at the many people in this country who follow the sucessfull English premiership soccer teams. Im sure every one of them is a life long die hard "fan"! Its just begrudgery on your part to try and put down a fantastic achievement by the Irish rugby team.

I'm not putting it down. I even congratulated the rugby team on the other thread. Where I take issue is with the rugby fans who say silly things like a 6nations win is a greater achievement than getting to the last 8 of the (football) world cup or making statements like "what have you won?" wrt the Irish national soccer team.

They just can't accept that Rugby isn't even in the same planet as football in terms of following and competitiveness. They're dreaming if they think a win in their 'boys club' tournament that is contested every single year is even on a par than reaching the latter stages of the football world cup. A tournament played by every country in the world where you have to sometimes successfully navigate 10-15 games just to even be allowed entry. A tournament only held every four years, where if you're lucky you might get 3 opportunities to play in your career. Compare it to O'Driscoll who has had 11 shots already at landing this 5/6 nations trophy.

To sum up, well done the rugby team. You've made history. You just aren't football and I doubt you ever will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Fantastic achievements by the rugby team and by Bernard Dunne (oh and Dundalk beat Drogheda 3-0 on Friday, waheyyy!).
    It wasn't just the fact that they won their respective titles, but it was also the manner in which they did it - through bravery, skill, determination and belief. These are men to look up to when things are going so wrong for this country. It annoys me to see the sarcastic and smart-arse comments because the whole country has a goddamn right to celebrate great moments like these - Lord knows we need them.
    Now I'm off to Croker on Saturday for the football.... Berbatov's out, COME ON IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm not putting it down. I even congratulated the rugby team on the other thread. Where I take issue is with the rugby fans who say silly things like a 6nations win is a greater achievement than getting to the last 8 of the (football) world cup or making statements like "what have you won?" wrt the Irish national soccer team.

They just can't accept that Rugby isn't even in the same planet as football in terms of following and competitiveness. They're dreaming if they think a win in their 'boys club' tournament that is contested every single year is even on a par than reaching the latter stages of the football world cup. A tournament played by every country in the world where you have to sometimes successfully navigate 10-15 games just to even be allowed entry. A tournament only held every four years, where if you're lucky you might get 3 opportunities to play in your career. Compare it to O'Driscoll who has had 11 shots already at landing this 5/6 nations trophy.

To sum up, well done the rugby team. You've made history. You just aren't football and I doubt you ever will be.

Still begrudgery. Its like saying my dad is bigger than your dad childishness. No one is argueing that soccer is a more popular game world wide. Sure you have far more teams but you also have a lot more mediocre teams as well. At the business end of all tournements in soccer its the same old faces as well. A handfull of teams will win the silverware. Sure, theres the possibility of an upset but more often than not its the same teams that win. For example, in the history of the soccer world cup there have been seven different winners.

People are just annoyed because the team has won a tournement and people come out with stuff like.... well done but its not football so dont get above yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Still begrudgery. Its like saying my dad is bigger than your dad childishness. No one is argueing that soccer is a more popular game world wide. Sure you have far more teams but you also have a lot more mediocre teams as well. At the business end of all tournements in soccer its the same old faces as well. A handfull of teams will win the silverware.
    The winners of the last 9 European Championships: Spain, Greece, France, Germany, Denmark, Holland, France, West Germany, Czechoslovakia

Still, it's like John Logie Baird being congratulated after invented the television..
    -"Aye, but there's f*ck-all on"

Still begrudgery. Its like saying my dad is bigger than your dad childishness. No one is argueing that soccer is a more popular game world wide. Sure you have far more teams but you also have a lot more mediocre teams as well. At the business end of all tournements in soccer its the same old faces as well. A handfull of teams will win the silverware. Sure, theres the possibility of an upset but more often than not its the same teams that win. For example, in the history of the soccer world cup there have been seven different winners.

People are just annoyed because the team has won a tournement and people come out with stuff like.... well done but its not football so dont get above yourself.

I don't know why you're charging me with that tho. I wasn't the one who originally brought up the "rugby v footy" comparison. I was merely responding to it. If you don't want people (so-called) "begruding" your sport by merely stating facts then don't have people making silly comparisons which aren't true in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

prendy wrote: »
    my god what a day to be Irish. surely the best since italia 90 if not longer.
    It's a great achievement by the team certainly and it's nice that they're Irish, but it really does not make me proud to be Irish. I was born here - I could have been born anywhere else. In the same way, I refuse to be ashamed of being Irish because of e.g. the incompetent Gardai sharing my nationality.
    we are an island of about 6 million people but we have shown twice today that we can stand up to anyone. i am so proud to be Irish tonight.
    Seriously, nation of a particular population, big or small, and sporting team made up of individuals who happen to come from that nation... are two separate things. The nation didn't "stand up" to anyone. Anyone who wasn't involved in the game, did fuk all to bring this win about.
    ClioV6 wrote: »
    What I want to know is why is there so many twats on boards dying to let everyone know how much they don't care?

shut the fúck up.
    Oh well if you tell them to... in my case, it's not that I don't care - I think it's great. But I just don't buy into this patriotic/national pride bollocks.
    When the Ireland soccer team does well, people seem to forget that it's made up of English people.
    At what point do we stop celebrating these accomplishments and go back to begrudging them ??
    The line that the Irish are a bunch of begrudgers is all too easily trotted out... whenever Ireland wins a ****ing table-tennis match, the nation loses the run of itself with the celebrating.
    It wasn't just the fact that they won their respective titles, but it was also the manner in which they did it - through bravery, skill, determination and belief
    How is it bravery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭RealEstateKing

How is it possible to be proud of something you had nothing to do with?

Im proud of my college degree, my skills on the guitar and me girlfriends multiple orgasm, but being Irish? Doesnt make any sense.

I don't know why you're charging me with that tho. I wasn't the one who originally brought up the "rugby v footy" comparison. I was merely responding to it. If you don't want people (so-called) "begruding" your sport by merely stating facts then don't have people making silly comparisons which aren't true in the first place.

I didnt bring it up either so im also just responding to it! Why cant people just be happy and enjoy the victory. If you have no intrest in the sport, fair enough. I just dont like the begrudging attitude of "some" people. I have no intrest in boxing but what Bernard Dunne did last night is fantastic all all congratulations to him. I wouldnt see the point on coming on here and saying well done but its not like winning in football so dont get too carried away. It just smacks of sour grapes.

How is it possible to be proud of something you had nothing to do with?

Im proud of my college degree, my skills on the guitar and me girlfriends multiple orgasm, but being Irish? Doesnt make any sense.

Oh look at me...im cool. Im so nonchalant:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

But what he's saying is not untrue. I feel the same way as him and it's not an attempt to be "cool and nonchalant".