Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland - Grand Slam Champions!11!

• 21-03-2009 7:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭

Let the party begin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Lets party like we've been waiting 61 years for it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What a game it was too.. We needed something to cheer us up, and not a politician in sight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Grand slam? Is that a sex thing? If so, go Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

YARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭reverandkenjami

Super weekend!! Let the party begin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Well, we'll never hear the ****ing end of this. God forbid a sports team from this country winning something important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Upper class homo forum is that way. Oh wait there isn't one never mind, carry on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Its all Hunky Dorys until Bernard Dunne gets knocked out

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Dartz wrote: »
    Well, we'll never hear the ****ing end of this. God forbid a sports team from this country winning something important

Didnt take long for the jealousy to come out. Or is it moaning for the sake of moaning. Or is some people just cant be happy no matter what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Its all Hunky Dorys until Bernard Dunne gets knocked out
    You must be the begrudger everyone talks about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Ah be quiet would you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

kearnsr wrote: »
    Didnt take long for the jealousy to come out. Or is it moaning for the sake of moaning. Or is some people just cant be happy no matter what.

It's because I'm a total arsehole.

And damn proud of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hooray, Ireland's got a 1966!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Let the party begin :D

In the words of Dr. Zoidberg

'woot woot woot woot woot woot'

:D:D:D:D:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Go team!

*waves little flag*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

In the words of Bernard Dunne "WAT, HUNKY DORY, WAT"

Marcus Horan > God

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

FFS. It's the first time in 61 years we've won the Grandslam. It's always the same when Ireland does well or wins something there's always someone who has to have a b*tch and moan about it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Woo! In your face rest of the World (who play Rugby in the northern hemisphere).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Put this in your diary. It's a great day to be alive :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

It's because I'm a total arsehole.

And damn proud of it.

That figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭RiverWilde

GO IRELAND!!!!

Bloody fantastic match!

To go to the wire like that - absolutely fantastic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Meh. I was happier about Man U losing TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Hooray, Ireland's got a 1966!:p

Good now maybe we can annoy the f**k out of the English for the next 40 odd years. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Well done to the lads!
    That team deserved to win something soon! :D
    Ive got cramps in me legs after that - all the adrenaline!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Gwan Ireland!

Excellent stuff, best game of rugby I've watched in a VERY long time.

There'll be some celebrating in Cardiff tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A pox on egg-ball, and on the popped-collar, bourgeois dunderheads that play it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

I have no nails left .. worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

What a match, nearly **** myself in the last minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

stovelid wrote: »
    A pox on egg-ball, and on the popped-collar, bourgeois dunderheads that play it.

They do say that it's a game played by men with odd-shaped balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

There are no words :)

Wish I was there tonight!

/ Raises glass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

We are Irish................................. and proud again.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Nailbiting match or what? Savage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Absolutely brilliant match, i'm delighted. At times my nerves were gone... A big thank you to ROG especially. Legend :D

G

T

F

O

You're obviously quite ignorant to the significance of this game? Do you even support Rugby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Aww just cos' you've never achieved anything - off with to your little room where nobody appreciates anything, and don't come back. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

well done lads but its not exactly Italy 90 now is it, if we were to win a euro championship/world cup then that would be a national celebration
    that would last for years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭chikuu

What a Match!! LEGENDS!!!! :D:D:D:D

GO ON IRELAND!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

well done lads but its not exactly Italy 90 now is it,

ahh ffs, we didnt win anything at italia 90
    We won something finally.

Hurrah Hurrah Hurrah!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    Aww just cos' you've never achieved anything -

Aren't you on boards a little soon after playing in the match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

well done lads but its not exactly Italy 90 now is it, if we were to win a euro championship/world cup then that would be a national celebration

We are not talking about soccer

We will have the party without you :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

:cool: i wish i was some where else where i could act really smug :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭remoh

Just wanted to say, well done to the team, what a game, they did us all proud.

Eh hello, go dig yourself back into that hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Just as an aside for the people who actually care about this win (because there's too many @ssholes on AH at the moment who don't care about Irish Rubgy) head across to the Rubgy forum and have a sensible discussion minus the tards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Exactly my feelings but then again I prefer football to rugby so I'll obviously say that as I am above being a fair weather fan. Fair play to the team for doing well but I'd trade it for a European championships :)
    Real rugby fans that follow the team through good and bad, enjoy your celebrations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

ahh ffs, we didnt win anything at italia 90
    We won something finally.

Hurrah Hurrah Hurrah!!

Fair play to Ireland but don't blow it out of proportions.

Last 8 in the world of football is a greater achievement than winning some tournament in a sport played (competitively) by just a hanful of courtries, that is played every year, where you qualify automatically and which doesn't even have the 3 best teams in the world competing.

Again well done to Ireland. But winning a six nations / grandslam doesn't even come close to success / near success in a major football tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Epic, Epic, Epic!!!!

The hairs are still standing on my arms......hands were shaking after the drop goal. Great win.

Also want to commend Stephen Jones, even in the aftermath of his miss he was gracious in defeat - a credit to his country. I hope I don't hear crap saying he was the losing of the game for them.....he kept them in it.

Let the party begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

POC Ogara and driscoll were unreal. Bowe really played a blinder too. They were deserved winners. Heart near stopped a few times though, sure it wouldn't be irish rugby if it didnt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    But winning a six nations / grandslam doesn't even come close to success / near success in a major football tournament.
    Put your trophy up there on the table and give us all a look at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭RiverWilde

Welsh are we? :D

Riv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

Recession 0 - 1 Ireland!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

In BOD we trust