Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is It Time To Make Paddy's Day A Thing Of The Past?

• 19-03-2009 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭

I think there may have been a thread about this in the Gaeilge section but I would love a debate on it through something I can at least half understand =/

Now I'm as patriotic as the next Irishman (I also drink as much as the next 3rd level student) but having seen the vandalism of Tuesday gone, the little 15 year olds running riot etc etc I just feel like this day as a whole is more hassle than it is worth. As well as this, the stereotype that people live up to and take to a whole new level on March 17th just degrades our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

I actually thought Jade Goody was gonna die on Tuesday and it would then be known as Saint Jades Day...the patron Saint of slapheads. Thus making everyone forget St Patricks Day ever existed.

Maybe next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

I actually thought Jade Goody was gonna die on Tuesday and it would then be known as Saint Jades Day...the patron Saint of slapheads. Thus making everyone forget St Patricks Day ever existed.

Maybe next year.
    God knows she's done as much for this country as St. Patrick 'did'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

In fairness that could be said about many a holiday - we'll always have our drunks our idiots and rioting people. Patricks Day does more than just help us drink & have a day off. It brings people to the country, brings tourism and money. Which in the given state - is needed. Ok there's bad points, but there's good ones too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I dunno, I like it. Saying that, I'm hugely against the tacky Irish thing we have going on, the fiddle dee dee potatoes and that. But St Patrick's Day can have a bit of substance if you look in the right places. I'm from Cork and went to the Parade on Tuesday, and I thought there was a great atmosphere going on, all day. The Parade wasn't the best thing in the world, but it was tasteful.
    It's also fantastic publicity for Ireland, almost a godsend. Alot of countries aren't this lucky when it comes to National holidays. American's will sell their houses to come here for the occasion, the Taoiseach meets the American president too. Huge for international relations. Huge.

I think the Irish do St. Patrcik's Day justice. We don't exactly go over the top and milk the stereotype. We seem to be immensely proud of this holiday, moreso than I would have thought before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭Rocky Balboa 2

it is a stupid holiday alright..include easter, and halloween in that aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I'd say you need to keep it, and rev it up a little. It's the only time Ireland really features on the international stage and that has huge benefits.

na something to look forward to.. i like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

With the jobs in this country leaving at an exponential rate, I wouldn't write off anything that actually draws tourists to this country. Because unless people haven't noticed, tourism and (soon to be no longer heavily subsidised) agricultuture is what is going to be left.

The #1 export of this country will return to being it's youth.

On the bright side, with the number of parents going on the dole, we should see the expendable income of teenagers dropping dramatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Yeah cool, because if we cancel a religious holiday, vandalism and drinking will stop.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Why can't they just give you an extra 5 days off a year to just celebrate whatever the **** you want to celebrate? Steak and BJ day for example. There's a day you don't want to be working.
    I'd like to just choose to substitute march 17 St. Patricks day for say April 28th, Led Zeppelin day. Either way I will be drunk and won't be wearing green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

If we stopped having Paddys day then Cowlips might cease to get his annual audience with the Prez. It's important he be allowed to make a show of himself and the country on the world stage at least once per year! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 tonyon

Weather was fantastic, great to see families out enjoying parades etc., probably too much drinking going on which spoils it a bit, imo. Really do wonder what tourists make of it all.? I have seen worse so called festivals so all in all its a good event.

In fairness, it is. I saw next to no drinking during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I love Paddys Day.! The atmosphere, meeting people ya havent seen in ages.! Why would we cancel it just because of drink.? Personally there was little drinking during the parade here and no vandalism. No point in ruining it for towns that dont have that problem.

And dont say the teenagers were running riot. Iv seen in cities full grown adults, wasted, and doing the same thing.

Stricter curfews on drink prehaps on festival days is a better solution than getting rid of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Voltwad wrote: »
    I think there may have been a thread about this in the Gaeilge section but I would love a debate on it through something I can at least half understand =/

Now I'm as patriotic as the next Irishman (I also drink as much as the next 3rd level student) but having seen the vandalism of Tuesday gone, the little 15 year olds running riot etc etc I just feel like this day as a whole is more hassle than it is worth. As well as this, the stereotype that people live up to and take to a whole new level on March 17th just degrades our country.

It is time to enforce the laws so as 15 year olds don't run riot.

Don't spoil it for everyone.

If you want to know what it's like not having a national holiday on Paddys day, just visit England (not Britain) on 23 April, St Georges day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

If you want to know what it's like not having a national holiday on Paddys day, just visit England (not Britain) on 23 April, St Georges day.

how true. When you stop to think about it, St Patrick's Day is celebrated the world over in one form or another, how many other countries can say that about their "national day"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

I dunno, I like it. Saying that, I'm hugely against the tacky Irish thing we have going on, the fiddle dee dee potatoes and that.

sorry, have to ask, when have you heard anyone utter the phrase 'fiddle dee dee potatoes'?:pac:

I was exaggerating a wee bit now.

ah sure, 'twas all in good fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭denisor

St Patrick's day is incredibly important, what other country has a national day, recognized globally?, No, seriously, tell me what other country's national day spawns parades in major cities the world over? We are unique, and actually very smart for maintaining the importance of the occasion.

We have an annual event, that has a network so important, it includes meetings with the President of America, I personally see the brilliance of the day. Many trade and business deals are sparked, or completed when ministerial delegations travel abroad for the 17th March. Its really far more than a day off here, parade, and a few drinks.

denisor wrote: »
    St Patrick's day is incredibly important, what other country has a national day, recognized globally?, No, seriously, tell me what other country's national day spawns parades in major cities the world over? We are unique, and actually very smart for maintaining the importance of the occasion.

We have an annual event, that has a network so important, it includes meetings with the President of America, I personally see the brilliance of the day. Many trade and business deals are sparked, or completed when ministerial delegations travel abroad for the 17th March. Its really far more than a day off here, parade, and a few drinks.

who always outdo us, i might add......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

It's a load of rubbish. Everything about the day stinks. Was in Disneyworld Florida with the kids last week and when they put on a parade over there it's actually enjoyable. The one in Dublin is really embarassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

What pissed me off the most about this year's Paddy's was that it's no longer Paddy's day, it's now Paddy's fortnight. Festival crap going on the whole week, shops with "Happy St. Patrick's day!" banners up a week before the actual day, etc. It's becoming as commercial as all the other holidays.
    who always outdo us, i might add......

Overcompensation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I must admit the review of the parades up and down the country on the six o clock news always makes me laugh.....oh look theres a sweaty bogger dressed up in a St. Patrick costume driving a tractor....oh and theres another....and theres one dressed like Brian Cowen etc etc etc yada yada :rolleyes:

In some of them you'd swear the entire population of the town are just strolling down the main street waving at the ...er....crowd

Everyone is so god damn bitter about it. Denisor has the right idea. You might complain about it being a bit commercial, promoting drinking and vandalism, and a bit tacky. But all those things are incredibly minor when you consider how much it does for this tiny country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

What we need to make a thing of the past is roaming gangs of inbred skangers. You know, the people who use Paddy's Day, Halloween and New Years Eve as an excuse to 'wreck the gaff' rather than celebrate like normal people. These tracksuit wearing dildos shouldn't be allowed to ruin everyone else's fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Super Sidious

I disagree, for all the scumbags there are in town, theres a hundred tourists loving Irish people for the day! I went through town on Paddys Day, also live in Temple Bar, and I have to say although everyone was pretty drunk... everybody was having a good time!

Tourists and Irish alike! Also the Garda presence was huge this year... prob because they were all after their overtime, but I thought it was brialliant...

It is something to look forward to, not only does it bring a welcome boost to economy... Whatever about Paddy himself everyone loves the Irish for Paddys Day... long may it continue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

Maybe next year.
    judging by the randomness of this post I'd say your fishing for a thanks so I'll through u a bone fgT :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

It's great, chut up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Now I'm not a racist but...
    Oh wait. This is about Ireland.
    Now I'm not anti-Irish, but I think anthing Irish should be odne away with because 15 scumbags ran riot,

I completely agree. We should also ban sex because it aids AIDS.

Or we could embrace the national holiday and say **** you to the small minority who act the bollix, then stop being hysterical about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

To be honest OP, that's the dumbest thing I've heard in a long time. I'm sure you don't feel that way really, do you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

15 Year Old Scumbags Rioting?

Dublin Forum is thataway >>>>>>>>>>>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

I just feel like this day as a whole is more hassle than it is worth. As well as this, the stereotype that people live up to and take to a whole new level on March 17th just degrades our country.

Our country?

I just want to know why New york and Japan and all other non irish countrys have parades and dye their rivers green? Paddys day is Nothing to do with them. We dont celebrate Independence day or Bastille day so why cant they feck off and leave us keep the one irish holiday we have instead of acting like the whole worlds irish!!!

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 sparkytrypod

u cant get rid of it!!its just a great day to chill out with your mates!its not like you often get to see a load of tractors or souped up civics pass up and down the main street of your average small town, and be celebrated!!great stuff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Get rid of it at home, keep it abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

You'll all be sorry when the snakes come back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Sputnik101

St. Patrick wasn't even Irish so why do the Irish celebrate it except for a drinking session and if st. patricks day is called off so to speak people are going to drink anyway cos it's what they do... and remember if you're young and drunk YOU HAVE TO START TALKING LIKE THIS!...most ridiculous thing ever!

Maybe next year.

I have to say that this was both the lamest Jade Goody and Paddy's joke ever.
    Even if they were seperate the would have been really crap.
    It's really easy to take two pop culture items, put them together and say they both should die.
    Wow. You made a joke against Paddy's day and Jade Goody. You must really hate being Irish and hate the fact that you are really close to being British. I'd make a joke about Nina and her 99 red baloons, but that might ruin Germany for you and you wouldn't be able to tell us how seperior Germany is to Ireland.
    Hit Australia. We haven't heard enough about that place from world weary travellers.
    Oh no. I called you a traveller. Sorry. I meant journeyman or journeywoman.
    Either way, you rule because you dissed Ireland.

Sputnik101 wrote: »
    St. Patrick wasn't even Irish so why do the Irish celebrate it except for a drinking session and if st. patricks day is called off so to speak people are going to drink anyway cos it's what they do... and remember if you're young and drunk YOU HAVE TO START TALKING LIKE THIS!...most ridiculous thing ever!
    I too was beaten up on Paddy's day. Then I got over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

shouldn't the title be
    Is It Time To Make Paddy's Day A ting Of The Past?

hussey wrote: »
    shouldn't the title be
    Is It Time To Make Paddy's Day A ting Of The Past?

That's not its name. That's not its name. That's not its... name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

You can't scrap it because the church has decided that is the day st patricks is celebrated. You can tone down the celebrations I suppose, but the twats that want to get as pissed as is humanly possible and act the bollix will do it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭denisor

Everyone is so god damn bitter about it. Denisor has the right idea. You might complain about it being a bit commercial, promoting drinking and vandalism, and a bit tacky. But all those things are incredibly minor when you consider how much it does for this tiny country.

little country + big voice = St Patricks Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Why can't they just give you an extra 5 days off a year to just celebrate whatever the **** you want to celebrate? Steak and BJ day for example. There's a day you don't want to be working.
    I'd like to just choose to substitute march 17 St. Patricks day for say April 28th, Led Zeppelin day. Either way I will be drunk and won't be wearing green.

Yes, my busy friend, if you had a day off, you might have had a Zep day!

;):D and indeed :P

(in joke)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 JohnQuinn

What is this thread all about?

Maybe we should have a "european day". You know, we could lick the boots of our EU leaders. Tell them how great they are.

It's a lovely day Casey. Why not play outside?

While we scrapping St Patrick's Day, we should probably scrap New Year's Eve too.

That means getting rid of New Year's Day too. And making no distinction between the end of one year and the start of the next. Do you know what that would do to an already crippled motor industry?