Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs Wales predictions.

• 18-03-2009 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

Who will win the Grand Slam showdown?

Ireland by a score for me, Henson to f**k up.

Ireland vs Wales Poll 195 votes

Wales: 30+
    0%
    Wales: 20 - 30
    0%
    Tubberadora 1 vote
    Wales: 10 - 20
    0%
    angelfire9 1 vote
    Wales: 0 - 9
    3%
    uRbaNapplehunterNoffles[Deleted User]couerdelionLightningBolt 6 votes
    Draw
    14%
    totoalpeckerheadChucky the treePonsterEoinJohnnyrazbullpostTristramchupacabrasubfreqEJLLshrapnel222bowsie caseybuck65Silver-Tigerd2wwdamozdeath1234567Mr. IncognitoWarper 28 votes
    Ireland: 0 - 10
    1%
    sweetieRoyale with CheeseHazys 3 votes
    Ireland: 10 - 20
    62%
    2040sixpack's little hatfixerBorzoi[Deleted User]DJBDcullyvorbispuntosportingJackzspoonfunky penguincruiserweightwpm83Colm_OReillyDJ Hafezmjquinnokraggyimalepershoutman 121 votes
    Ireland: 20 - 30
    16%
    Trev MRuu_OldjohnnychardCopysheeepJesus1222norrie ruggerOtaconKingkongmurfietwenty8awhiranonymous_joejudas101eZe^Euro_KrautKingdomMarty DiBergiErin Go BrathMikeHoncho 33 votes
    Ireland: 30+
    1%
    agentgreencooperla 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

Ireland by a whisker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

ireland by 4 and wales to do all the pushing in the last 10 minutes..making us swet for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Ireland by 5 slow and steady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Ireland by a mile - a try fest with BOD leading the charge! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭gadaven

Ireland by 2.
    Wales 19 - Ireland 21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

demakinz wrote: »
    ireland by 4 and wales to do all the pushing in the last 10 minutes..making us swet for it

We took everything England,Scotland,Italy and France could throw at us and then some..... Ireland by 5 ... Drico to score twice

As iv said before with the exception of shane williams we have a player in every position that either matches or surpasses their opposite on the welsh team.... as for Gavin "does my hair look good" Henson i hope D'arcy/O Driscoll/Wallace smash the crap out of him all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Ireland by 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

If Ireland can hold there discipline like they did against France and ROG kicks like we all know he can, I'd be confident of an Irish victory. Henson and Shanklin provide a great defence but having said that if there are any 2 opposite numbers who can break them down its D'arcy and BOD.

PaddyPower have gone for a narrow Wales victory, but I fancy Ireland for this one by 2 or 3 points in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Ireland relatively comfortably.

Italy showed you can stymie that Welsh pack and their backs got nothing to work with.

Henson to play heroically too, and probably fall out with Jones or someone again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I reckon Ireland will get an early score, prob only a penalty or two, and then Wales will throw everything at us for 20-30 minutes after that. Then, we'll get a bit further ahead, forcing Wales to try more. I'm predicting Ireland by 8, 27-19, but with the result never really in doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

We will win this match. BOD and POC will go out and do it themselves if they have to. POC drop goal could be a site to behold:D

Ireland by 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Draw
    Wales beat the crap out of us in Croker last year and Cardiff the year before. Bar the Declan Kidney factor I think that Ireland will be happy with a narrow loss.

Wales by 5 tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

li@mo wrote: »
    Ireland by a whisker

That's what my heart says -my head isn't convinced, but then my head is a worrier ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    POC drop goal could be a site to behold:D

That picture keeps running through my head now. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Ireland by 6 and Wales sweating us near the end

Wales 13 - Ireland 19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Any one know what "BoardsCymru" or equivalent, or local press is predicting? Are they as certain as this poll seems to suggest that we will be winning the grand slam? Or have we our green blinkers on rather than objective rugby analysis ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Ireland: 0 - 10
    if we draw do we win the Grand Slam or just the championship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Ireland relatively comfortably.

Italy showed you can stymie that Welsh pack and their backs got nothing to work with.

In fairness the pack that played in Rome bears very little resemblence to the one we face on saturday, and if i remember correctly it took our pack quite a while to get to grips with the Italian pack also.

All that said though I just have a gut feeling that we can edge this one I think the Kidney factor and the fact that Gatland seems to be making it way too personal will give us the edge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

sweetie wrote: »
    if we draw do we win the Grand Slam or just the championship?

Just the championship.

Wales: 0 - 9
    head says Wales by a couple of points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

It's going to be a very tight game and I see the winning margin being little more than 2 or 3 points. Not sure who will edge it on the day. Heart say Ireland but my head is in 2 minds. They are a good side and for as well as we're doing we still haven't reached our best. The game could turn on a couple of lucky moments.

Being honest, and I know some disagree, but given where the team was in November I am delighted with this championship no matter what happens now. We did far better than I thought we'd do and watching the likes of Ferris, Heaslip, Kearney and Fitzgerlad the last few weeks has been a joy. The future of Irish rugby is in pretty decent hands from the looks of it. And seeing how O'Driscoll and O'Connell have been playing has been fantastic too. Obviously I'd be gutted if we missed out on the Grand Slam, but there's so many positives to be taken from the last few weeks that to ignore them does the lads a huge disservice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

In fairness the pack that played in Rome bears very little resemblence to the one we face on saturday, and if i remember correctly it took our pack quite a while to get to grips with the Italian pack also.

All that said though I just have a gut feeling that we can edge this one I think the Kidney factor and the fact that Gatland seems to be making it way too personal will give us the edge.

Ah I know, but allow me hope. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭damselnat

We will win this match. BOD and POC will go out and do it themselves if they have to. POC drop goal could be a site to behold:D
    class!!!:D:D:D

Ireland, by the skin of their teeth and not a breath left in their bodies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Draw
    The more and more I look at this game the more I think Wales could win this..

For me Wales have had a poor championship by there high standards but our grand slam and championship record is very poor indeed.

I would be shocked if we lost the championship but I can see Wales sneaking this by few points anyone remember 1999 Wales v England??:eek:

But thankfully I am wrong much of time:)

Wales 17 - 12 Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Marcus Horan for a try in the Corner. We beat them in the Heineken every year. Irish players have had as much success in Cardiff as the Welsh have.

Ireland by 8. Rog's boot will control the game after we get two scores clear.

Strings will be brought on and he'll send the ball into the stands again. Ala 2006 Hcup Final.

Ireland for the first grand slam in 61 years, and a right night in the glen for the supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭mercuroman

Bloody hell.

Gijoe, KARZMAC, Mr.Applepie are fairly optimistic aren't they?

Ireland by 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Draw
    Wales for me. ROG has been very poor so far, against Jones his place kicking will have to be top notch and I am not confident he will be up to it. He's shown to this championship he has moments of cracking and the last time he played in a Grand slam decider doesnt bode well. Also his and TOL kicking has been awful, and if we smack it down the throats of the welsh back three we'll struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Draw
    Wales for me. ROG has been very poor so far, against Jones his place kicking will have to be top notch and I am not confident he will be up to it. He's shown to this championship he has moments of cracking and the last time he played in a Grand slam decider doesnt bode well. Also his and TOL kicking has been awful, and if we smack it down the throats of the welsh back three we'll struggle.
    If ROG was able to compete with Patterson last weekend, he can compete with any place kicker. I do worry about the kicking to touch though - the ball needs to go into the stands every time.

My head says Wales by 0-9, and I hope to God I am wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Draw
    eoin wrote: »
    If ROG was able to compete with Patterson last weekend, he can compete with any place kicker. I do worry about the kicking to touch though - the ball needs to go into the stands every time.

My head says Wales by 0-9, and I hope to God I am wrong.

He can also compete with Patterson in the bottling stakes aswell though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Draw
    I guess it really depends on which teams show up on Saturday. Predictions are really just shots in the dark at this stage. The lads will need to be focussed, relaxed and confident going into the game and they need to play to win. ROG's form on Saturday is going to be the key factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

POC drop goal could be a site to behold:D

No, a Bull Hayes drop goal for me. :D:D:D:D

The greatest Irish winger ever, Marcus Horan, will score a try in the corner. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

rarnes1 wrote: »
    head says Wales by a couple of points

Have some faith, my son!! :D:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Draw
    There should really be a Wales by 0-12 option :P

I honestly think Wales will win by a narrow margin, giving us the championship but not the GS. If the game was in Ireland then I would expect us to win.

Draw
    No, a Bull Hayes drop goal for me.

I won't be happy unless I see Jerry Flannery intercepting a pass with a bicycle kick, only for the ball to go between the uprights. Obviously he won't get any points for it unless it hits the ground first (kind of hard to do with a bicycle kick) but it would be a spectacle nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

The Welsh have beaten us once at the Millenium this century so it holds no fear for most of our lads. Ireland to win convincingly 25-13.

Kearney to outshine his opposite number and score twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Ireland 28 Wales 16

Ireland will win the Slam and do so in style. Theres a lot of critics and doubters out there who like to label Ireland as bottlers. Whatever about under EOS's watch, they are the real deal under Kidney. We have more than enough talent to put Wales away even on their patch. Go Ireland!

Reasons why Ireland will win:
    1) We have no fear of playing Wales in Cardiff. We've beat them there loads of times.
    2) Motivation: We are on the cusp of winning the first slam in our lifetimes, we'll never get as good a chance and we won't waste it. Silencing Warren Gatland and Jeremy Guscott will also be sweet.
    3) Form: We are the form team. The only team that has a 100% record. We're playing better than anyone including Wales.
    4) Our provincial lads regularly beat their provincial lads in the ML/HEINE. Wales won't fancy squaring up to our mostly Munster forwards who usually make mince meat of them.
    5) Leadership: We've got 2 natural leaders in BOD and DOC who are 2 of the best in the world in their positions and a source of inspiration to all around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Draw
    It will be an unspectacular game, we will try to keep it tight and prevent them from getting the ball out wide. Shanklin is the dangerman imo, he will be constantly bearing down on the 10 - 12 channel so Rodge and Darce will have to be at their best defensivley. Really looking forward to the battle of the 8's. This game is perfect for Heislip and i expect him to take Powell to town. Martyn Williams is also a danger man at the breakdown.

Ireland by a point.

_45569776_henson_shanklin_huw226x282.jpg

*Snigger* With that centre pairing how can Wales lose

Draw
    Ireland 28 Wales 16

I hope you're right but that's optimistic. I personally feel that Wales are going to beat us but not by enough to win the championship. You think we're going to beat the defending champions by more than we beat every other team in the tournament this far, except Italy. Hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 mackerooney

Our kicking to their back three will be critical - O'Gara and O'Leary have struggled so far. See Wales by 9 points with Shane Williams being man of the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

Ireland by 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

NickNolte wrote: »
    I hope you're right but that's optimistic. I personally feel that Wales are going to beat us but not by enough to win the championship. You think we're going to beat the defending champions by more than we beat every other team in the tournament this far, except Italy. Hmmm.

I think we will beat them well. Wales are a shadow of there former selves. We have everything on our side, momentum, form and a chance of a GS. Wales have none of these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Ireland to win by one hundred billion points, top that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Spore wrote: »
    Ireland to win by one hundred billion points, top that.

1 trillion?

Im in two minds either we will win by 0-10 with hard graf or we will loose but get a late try denying the Welsh the championship.

I don't know if anyone else has felt this way about the Irish performances this season but I have felt in each match that we have always been in control even though it was tight against England and Scotland I was never overly anxious as the team seems to have found a belief in themselves that was never there before and it shows in how they play. So all talk about previous teams bottling it means feck all tbh. This is not a previous team it is the current SQUAD under Kidney and I think they will only be beaten by Wales if the welsh bring their A game anything like they have played so far in this 6N and I can't see them beating Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

NickNolte wrote: »

Yep I do. I have every faith in this Ireland team. I don't think its wildly unrealistic that we can win by 12 points. I expect Ireland to chip in with their best performance so far in order to secure the Slam. Wales aren't really firing this year either, and it's a lot to expect them to turn it on like a tap when needed. Of course anything is possible on the day but I can't see anything other than a Green win based on the games i've seen so far.

Exactly.. Plus players like the Bull and Drico deserve something big before retire..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Ireland by 5-10 but this assumes they and more importantly ROG is on his game. If they dont turn out a strong performance (possibly their best of the season) then they could be in trouble as bad as Wales are they are no mugs and Gatland would love to spoil the party.

Hopefully the team puts in the performance of their capability and if so we should be ok

As was shown by France, Wales have a soft centre to their defence in that they only commit 2 to three players to a breakdown and fan out their defence from their I doubt this went unnoticed by Kidney and would expect to see the Irish actually maul in this game. They showed signs against Scotland that even with pulling down the Maul is possible if slow and controlled which will hopefully create chances for Ireland to break when Wales are forced to commit forwards to defend it thus affecting their defensive patterns!

Just a thought!

kenco wrote: »
    Ireland by 5-10 but this assumes they and more importantly ROG is on his game. If they dont turn out a strong performance (possibly their best of the season) then they could be in trouble as bad as Wales are they are no mugs and Gatland would love to spoil the party.

Hopefully the team puts in the performance of their capability and if so we should be ok

When munster needed him most he stood up.. he will do the same tomorrow for Ireland