Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suggestions for a new car, possible a coupe?

• 18-03-2009 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭

Hey guys.

I'm looking around for a new car, possibly a 2 door coupe, something with a bit of style, before I have to settle down and buy a family wagon.

I've gotten stuck on what I look at, get into the spiral of

Civic Vti Coupe (boy racer)>
    Type R Integra (boy racer and found it very noisy in the cabin)>
    Bimmer (usually 320d) (would need to have no turbo trouble) >
    Celica (Bit of an old mans car?)

I'm 26, Full licence, 3 NCB, currently driving an '03 Focus (5 door 1.4)

I would either look to sell the focus to fund the new car, or trade in against it (I know, i know, but if it came to it.)

Budget (including Focus) €10k, prefer less.

Any suggestions?

Preferably with pros and cons of each car.

Has to be tasty, don't mind going to NI or Engerland for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

If you are going for a bmw and want to splurge on a sporty car then get a petrol one - 325 and above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

330ci

fantastic car to drive, you'd pick up a 01 if you shop around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Budget (including Focus) €10k, prefer less.

Doesn't sound like a lot for a coupe - put an extra few bob to it and get an Alfa GT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Hmmm, the Fiat...sorry Alfa is nice, drove one the other day but never really thought of it as in my price range.

The 325's and 330's, engine is getting a bit big, get raped on tax and insurance, as well as service costs.

Come on people, I want goods and bads of these cars as well. Think of it as a logical exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

not sure how you feel about paying 1500 a year tax or how your insurance will go.... but if you like a bmw.... this is the only man
    exclusive, not many around,

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/8-Series/840ci-Sp/200846190879454/advert
    no-image-large.gif

robtri wrote: »
    not sure how you feel about paying 1500 a year tax or how your insurance will go.... but if you like a bmw.... this is the only man
    exclusive, not many around,

Over budget, high tax, high insurance, exorbatant service costs, no thanks. (And ugly to boot! :p)
    The only viable suggestion so far has been the Alfa.

So, to recap, I'm looking for a cheapish, fun coupe, that won't cost a frigging bomb, maintence costs I can deal with, but not stupidly high ones.

Celica
    Alfa GT
    Type R teg (Ruled out for being too harsh and noisy on the road, although I do like the looks of the Irish Spec ones, quad lamps rather than the wrap around ones)

Anything else I haven't thought of?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Anything else I haven't thought of?

Audi TT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Nissan 200SX maybe? For your budget and requirements the Celica would be one of the better ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Astra/3door-sx/200910192017611/advert

You'd probably pick up a better example for less in the UK but im not arsed doing the looking for you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Furp

How about a Toyota MR2.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/MR2/200911192113276/advert

a friend of mine has one and its a really fun car to drive, has that low to the ground go kart feel plus with the engine behind you and rear wheel drive, the acceleration feels differant then front engine cars. also being a Toyota it should not be that expensive for servicing and the 1.8l engine is great in such a small car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

If you are considering Alfa's you might be interested in my GTV? I have it on adverts.ie

It has a load of work done to it (that I would never recoup the cost on) so there's peace of mind, so to speak.

Full NCT too!

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=97432&cat=all

price negotiable of course ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

You were looking for a sporty bimmer - I'd stay away from the 320cd, and go 323ci, 325ci, 328ci, 330ci, whichever you can afford to tax/insure.
    Other than that, a Saab 9-3 Aero coupe/convertible would be in budget and a very fun sporty drive. Saab Viggen if you can source one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

3ps wrote: »
    If you are considering Alfa's you might be interested in my GTV? I have it on adverts.ie

It has a load of work done to it (that I would never recoup the cost on) so there's peace of mind, so to speak.

Full NCT too!

love this car

Thanks Drummerboy,

just opened the search up a lot!

The TT just doesn't do it for me, although the newer ones are nice.

The Bimmer is nice, but, I don't know, I just can't settle on them.

The RX 8 would break my heart. A friend has one, and they're just so tempermental. But sound great!

The Boxter? Are you suggesting I drive a womans Porsche? Dear god man.

That Elise though, that is a thing of beauty! I would NEVER have though about one of them! Bargain price, beautiful car, I'm in love! One query, if anybody could answer it. Whats the space like inside these? Not for me, I'm all of 5 foot f*ck all, but herself is a leggy 6 foot.

Man, was I restricting myself with those silly Hondas and things!

I think they are a little small inside. The only way to find out tho is to go and take one for a spin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

C70 Coupe?:
    C70-T5-1.jpg

That colour may not be to everyone's tastes, but a seriously underrated and beautiful car all the same!:cool:

Full NCT too!

Absolutely fabulous car you have, an absolute beaut. Could never buy one, but would love it as a second car.. Some day. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

Don't dismiss your chances. Well sorted examples are now attainable pricewise, to those who don't wish to overspend on their car.

Plus, at this age most of the stuff that goes wrong with them has been dealt with so it's not such a gamble as before.

It certainly has the styling to attract alot of attention, and the performance too. It's very enjoyable driving it. I just want a comfy cruiser instead! must be getting old.....

Don't dismiss your chances. Well sorted examples are now attainable pricewise, to those who don't wish to overspend on their car.

Plus, at this age most of the stuff that goes wrong with them has been dealt with so it's not such a gamble as before.

It certainly has the styling to attract alot of attention, and the performance too. It's very enjoyable driving it. I just want a comfy cruiser instead! must be getting old.....
    Unfortunately I can't afford to tax & insure a second car just quite yet at the age of 20 though! Best of luck selling it - sorry OP for going off topic! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

cianclarke wrote: »
    Unfortunately I can't afford to tax & insure a second car just quite yet at the age of 20 though! Best of luck selling it - sorry OP for going off topic! :D
    I'm lost. Why would you want it as a second car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Anan1 wrote: »

Why else would anyone want a second car?

Anan1 wrote: »
    'cause some of the ye-olde ones are in what I'd class as my second car price range. Also don't think it's a car I'd like as a daily driver, not sure why...
    Might be that f*ck ugly back end. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

story with people coming up with ridiculous 3/4/5 litre cars, as soon as 'sports' car is mentioned. !?

A bmw 323Ci would be a good buy in the current climate.

Also a Honda Prelude is a savage car and way underestimated

story with people coming up with ridiculous 3/4/5 litre cars, as soon as 'sports' car is mentioned. !?

A 323i is a refined cruiser, a sports car it's not. 'Sports' means fast, at least in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

A 323i is a refined cruiser, a sports car it's not. 'Sports' means fast, at least in my book.

I'm sure the lads at BMW would beg to differ, the 323ci is most surely a sports car, don't know what your on about with refined cruiser, its not a 740i..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

I'm sure the lads at BMW would beg to differ, the 323ci is most surely a sports car, don't know what your on about with refined cruiser, its not a 740i..

ive had one and i wouldnt class it as a sports car, 170bhp with a lazy power delivery, lovely engine mind but its no sports car

and what is wrong with recommending 3 litre plus cars, wtf is the stigma around here with anything over 2 litres :confused:

finally, if the op thinks a boxster is a womans porsche, maybe he is beyond saving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

dont think anyones has mentioned it yet...

Fiat Coupe - rare enough sight on the roads, gorgeous looking car, a well cared for example shouldn't pose any major worries. And well in budget -

http://pistonheads.com/sales/622869.htm

Failing that lighting your fire,

+1 on 3ps Alfa GTV

I'd call a 323ci a sports car, fast enough for my inklings... 325ci makes more sense, but rare on the ground. Hoping to buy one of the two once I sell my current...
    If you're "into that sort of thing" the 323ci would probably benefit hugely from a induction kit, and apparently you can fit the throttle "thingy" from the 325ci, if that makes any sense..!

Cyrus wrote: »
    ive had one and i wouldnt class it as a sports car, 170bhp with a lazy power delivery, lovely engine mind but its no sports car

and what is wrong with recommending 3 litre plus cars, wtf is the stigma around here with anything over 2 litres :confused:

finally, if the op thinks a boxster is a womans porsche, maybe he is beyond saving?
    +100,000. Boxster is an absolutely fabulous Porsche for affordable money. This business of "Poor mans 911/Womans Porsche" is just pure begrudgery.

Its not begrudgery. Any boxter i have ever seen on the roads has been driven by a woman. Ergo, my reason for calling it a womans car. Thats like giving out to me for saying, "no thanks, i'll not go to The George, its a gay bar."
    Might be a great pub, but its still a gay bar, ya follow me?
    Also, very few seemed to read my actual post. ?10k, OR LESS including the focus. Sporty looking, not sports car. No stupidly large tax/insurance.
    Oh, and herself ruled out the Elise, by thinking it was a Smart Roadster!

Its not begrudgery. Any boxter i have ever seen on the roads has been driven by a woman. Ergo, my reason for calling it a womans car. Thats like giving out to me for saying, "no thanks, i'll not go to The George, its a gay bar."
    Might be a great pub, but its still a gay bar, ya follow me?
    Also, very few seemed to read my actual post. ?10k, OR LESS including the focus. Sporty looking, not sports car. No stupidly large tax/insurance.

ok, you want something that looks like a sports car but isnt one and no large tax or insurance, and you are ruling out real sports cars like a boxster because you have seen women driving them

sounds like a hyundai coupe is right up your street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭dohc

A teg R will give any of the above cars either a run for there money or better.Great car one of the best handling front wheel drive cars.The sound of vtec is great and addictive,there is a huge difference betweena Teg and a BMW

:eek::eek::eek:

Typical Woman. :rolleyes::D

Something very, very different, Fiat Barchetta -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1143559

Honda Teg Type R -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1182631

Honda S2000 -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1339116

I know your insurance and tax would be huge, but, Jaguar XK8
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1301667

Need i say anymore?
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1334010

Subaru Impreza STi Coupe -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1186151

After that, im all out....:D

Sorry drummerboy, wasn't having a go at you, your posts have been very helpful. Just being a bit narky today. The saab as a 280 bhp sleeper, hmmm. Interesting. And its, different looking. Sensible, not lairy looking, no pull me over look about it. The mild mannered exterior concealing a hooligan heart. I may have to investigate some more.

No problem! Maybe you should have a dig around the sleepers thread on here too. Some serious quick machines on there.

The Saab is a nice bus, looks the business, and is supposedly a serious quick car.

that saab is nice, could be tricky to insure as that isnt a standard aero, but an abbot built one

id also qn the 35mpg :P if it does that ill eat my hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

Coupe:
    Fiat Coupe 20VT
    VW Corrardo (not VR6 2.9!)
    Audi [ur] Quattro (old but depreciation free!)
    Kei:
    Smart Roadster
    Suzuki Cappuccino

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Sounds like you're whipped. You should just let her decide.

Biro wrote: »
    Sounds like you're whipped. You should just let her decide.

Very helpful, biro. Read it again. She thought it looked like a smart car, so that ruled that out. Not spending x on a damn fine car for people to think its a smart. Anyway, why not let her have some input? She's going to be in it too.
    Go back to your Stella and your wife beating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

How many miles on the focus? How much you looking for it?

Very helpful, biro. Read it again. She thought it looked like a smart car, so that ruled that out. Not spending x on a damn fine car for people to think its a smart. Anyway, why not let her have some input? She's going to be in it too.
    Go back to your Stella and your wife beating.

i think people will know its not a smart car, or anyone with any interest in cars at all, and itll certainly go a lot better,

how can anyone recommend a car to you when we dont know what your missus thinks?:pac:

john47832 wrote: »
    How many miles on the focus? How much you looking for it?

There is 72292 on it as we speak. Ideal world, i'd love to get over 5500 for it, but i haven't really gotten around to pricing it properly. And i'm open to sensible offers.
    Just through the nct a month ago, didn't miss a beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

She thought it looked like a smart car, so that ruled that out.

Not much point recommending cars here, then. If she says a 406 coupé looks like a Massey, were wasting our time.

Zube wrote: »
    Not much point recommending cars here, then. If she says a 406 coupé looks like a Massey, were wasting our time.

Christ, forget about it. Last time i ask a bunch of faceless strangers for an opinion.
    I might follow up on the Saab, if anyone is interested, or a decent Celica if i can find one.

Christ, forget about it. Last time i ask a bunch of faceless strangers for an opinion.
    I might follow up on the Saab, if anyone is interested, or a decent Celica if i can find one.
    If I were still in car sales i'd ask you to come back with 'herself'.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

And what's wrong with a Smart Roadster anyway?

Nice bus - I'd have one in a flash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

alastair wrote: »
    And what's wrong with a Smart Roadster anyway?

Nice bus - I'd have one in a flash.

+1, its a very cool car. Mercedes built mid-mounted roadster thats cheap to run and insure. What not to like? I know the gearbox could be better but hey, no car is perfect.