Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who should really give up driving

• 18-03-2009 10:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭

I'm sure we've all got similar stories, but I really think there are some people who should just post back their licenses and give it all up. I had to go to Kinsale last Saturday night for a gig, and had the misfortune of being 2 cars back behind a Mercedes Vito passenger MPV thingy with no opportunity to overtake for 30 mins. So, to the driver of said mechanically propelled vehicle :

The speedlimit is between 80-100 on that road. Not 25-35kph.
    You don't need to brake for every corner.
    You don't need to brake when a car comes towards you.
    If you can't handle such a large car, please for the love of god by a Tata Nano.
    You don't need your rear foglight for clear night time driving.
    The left hand lane is your own, not for veering out and frightening the people coming towards you in the right hand lane.

Anyone else got similar stories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Sounds like a very drunk driver tbh. I'd have reported it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

No, not drunk, when it got to Kinsale, the driver got out. Middle-aged woman, who seemed to be fine. Just completely incompetent behind the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭cul-2008

ned78 wrote: »
    No, not drunk, when it got to Kinsale, the driver got out. Middle-aged woman, who seemed to be fine. Just completely incompetent behind the wheel.

Have to thoroughly agree here - that has all the signs of a drink driver. Can't believe people still chance it.

The way I think of it if I see someone with all the signs of a drink driver is that they could very well crash into and kill somebodys mother, father, brother or sister.

Don't leave it up to someone else to report it, because it might be too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭rocknchef

did you not give her a piece of your mind:mad: a lot of people out there dont know much about fog lights, high beams etc. I do alot of back road driving and you would be amazed at what pops up and blinds me:cool:

cul-2008 wrote: »
    Have to thoroughly agree here - that has all the signs of a drink driver. Can't believe people still chance it.

But not a drunk driver. She was fine when she got out.
    rocknchef wrote: »
    did you not give her a piece of your mind

What's the point? Someone that oblivious isn't going to take on board anything you say. 'Sure all I do is go from A to B' yadda yadda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

The way I think of it if I see someone with all the signs of a drink driver is that they could very well crash into and kill somebodys mother, father, brother or sister.

Don't leave it up to someone else to report it, because it might be too late.
    OP said driver was fine.

I too have experienced this. Driver in front driving like they were drunk. Accelerating wildly on the starights, braking every time a car comes against them and (my favorite), accelerates as hard as she could when I went to pass. F*ck me, she nearly killed us.
    I pulled in for diesel a few miles up the road and here she comes for fuel. I saw red and lets just say, she knew I was mad.
    I didn't shout or use bad language, I informed her that she should not be in control of a moving vechile, shew nearly killed us when she pulled the accelerating trick and I should call the cops on her.
    *She called me a bully and I left.

*GF instructed me to get back in to the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Sounds like someone I was behind last night.

Wanted to kill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Cough Cough women Cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

Cough Cough women Cough

HOW DARE YOU MAKE SUCH AN ACCUSATION!!!!

only kidding.... cue the Boards world famous ultra PC brigade

cashmni1 wrote: »
    OP said driver was fine.

Thats fair enough, but thats just going on personal opinion. I know many a person who can hold a severe amount of drink and come across fine.

When they try to move/speak on the other hand, thats another story.

If anything, the original post would constitute as dangerous driving/driving without due care and attention would it not?

Thats fair enough, but thats just going on personal opinion.

Does it matter? It was supposed to be a thread about interesting stories about being stuck behind drivers and being frustrated, but there's always a Maud Flanders who has to think of the children and drag a thread off topic.

ned78 wrote: »
    Does it matter? It was supposed to be a thread about interesting stories about being stuck behind drivers and being frustrated, but there's always a Maud Flanders who has to think of the children and drag a thread off topic.

Fair enough - apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Cough Cough women Cough

cough cough little boy racers or just all blokes under 25 just to be sure cough :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

I'll see if I can find a big enough sweeping brush to cover all the sweeping statements here

At the moment we have guys over 25 being allowed to drive and no-one else... only 16 months before I can drive in peace so!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭drunk_monk

I've seen this twice recently on my commute, they braked at every bend and braked every time something came the other way and never went above 60kmph. Why on earth are they doing this? How did they pass the exam? The only thing I can think of is that maybe they were involved in an accident are are now scared ****less of driving?? Not sure whether it's relevant but they were both middle aged woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭FredH3as

Ah the poor auld dear, I'm sure se had enough on her mind what with pouring tea from from her flask while talking to her pal on the phone, and all the time trying to have quick ciggy..... bless her...

drunk_monk wrote: »
    I've seen this twice recently on my commute, they braked at every bend and braked every time something came the other way and never went above 60kmph. Why on earth are they doing this? How did they pass the exam? The only thing I can think of is that maybe they were involved in an accident are are now scared ****less of driving?? Not sure whether it's relevant but they were both middle aged woman.

where you driving on roads outside of the city/town? I find alot of people are well able to drive around town as thats were your tested but once you out on the country roads that have, shock, bends people tend to do things like break at them or the best I saw was the person who indicated at every bend going from Kilkenny to Thurles. For the last month I've had to drive to dublin and back from Kilkenny every day and have been driven mad by the slow drivers going a good 20 - 30 km below the spend limit but the minute you go to overtake they suddenly speed up to 10k over the speed limit.

O I'd also like to ban the idoit who ran a red light, nearly slammed into my car while I was legally turning right on the green feeder arrow and then had the nerve to get out of his car and yell at me. Sorry hon no dice, busy center of town so I've about 100 witnesses.

ztoical wrote: »
    the best I saw was the person who indicated at every bend going from Kilkenny to Thurles.

ROFL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

drunk_monk wrote: »
    they braked at every bend
    You talking L bend, or a ( bend, if you get me? Also, what speed were they going at? I'm curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

cough cough little boy racers or just all blokes under 25 just to be sure cough :rolleyes:

I get with that brush all the time! hehe :D

being 25 and driving a sports car rocks! I'm very lucky to be in the position I'm in!

although I do agree there are a lot of idiots driving sports cars.
    But to be honest with you the young people driving the really powerful sports cars are young women. (probably because the insurance isn't as bad for them). and for the record they are just as bad if not worse!

Back on topic.
    I have had a lot of experience with drivers like this.
    I'll give you 3 examples:

1: Malahide road just before Xmas. stopped at the lights in front tesco clare hall heading into town. this clown in an 02 Civic Type-R Speeds up behind me (Bare in mind I'm stopped) then slams on the brakes and stops millimeters from my car. he then starts revving his engine.

My Mother and my friend were in the car at the time. My mam couldn't understand why he was doing that. Basically I explained to her that this kinda clown boat is all to common in Dublin City and the he wants me to race him. anyway the lights go green and I take off at a normal speed and he is right on my bumper. when he sees I'm not "playing his game" he undertakes and then starts slowing down in front of me. I had to pull into the shell station and wait for him to get lost.

This happens to me all the time! It's a serious pain in the stones.

2: On my way out to Mullingar. (taking the old road as I hate paying tolls) Same situation as the OP's above... person in front is crawling along at 50kph on a 80kph road in their 530d. I go to overtake. and what do they do? Speed up and I mean really speed up. I was then traveling at 80kph all the way out to Mullingar and guess who was riding on my bumper the whole way out. I'd say he was less than 2 foot away.

3: Coming home from Belfast. on the M1 in the overtaking lane (lots of trucks in the left lane) traveling at 120kph. another idiot in a Type-R.. Integra this time.. tearing up behind me and flashing his lights. we passed about a mile of tucks and I pull in to let him pass. he does so and then pulls in in front of me and starts this slowing down CRAP again! we were coming up to an exit so I thought he may have been planning on taking it, I over took him and guess what he did? jumped right behind me again. pain in the a$$.

This always happens. I took his plate down and rang my local garda station to tell em what happened. they said there was nothing they could do.

FYI I'm not slating Type-R Drivers here. My mate drives Type-R and he's a very sensible driver.

Perhaps maybe you're right though ztoical
    Maybe young people should be restricted on what type of car they can drive.

I know you guys here laugh at the likes of Glanza's etc. but in fairness to em they are a powerful car and have a very good power to weight ratio. the same applied to corsa turbos etc etc.

Maybe young people should not be allowed to drive em?
    They are dirt cheap and I would imagine a lot of people insure them as a plain old 1.3 starlet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

What do you drive Grahambo?

I drive a Lancer Evolution V. I'm sure now you see why I attract a lot of unwanted attention.

It's more of a pain than the insurance really! I only drive it Recreationally, on the weekends etc. Ive only put 4,500 miles on it this year.

And FYI I'm not a L.B.R :P:cool:

+1 on the young Honda drivers their are always looking for a bit of a race especially if they have a type R! (in my weaker moments I have been known to give them a spanking off the lights!) but I think motorway racing is unacceptable as the slightest accident means game over!

Worst experience I have had is with a woman who reversed out onto a main road very quickly, I didnt have time to brake as there was no chance of stopping in front of her, had to swerve into oncoming traffic and if the cars coming the other way hadnt been on the ball and swerved over, it would have been a head on collision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

grahambo wrote: »
    I know you guys here laugh at the likes of Glanza's etc. but in fairness to em they are a powerful car and have a very good power to weight ratio. the same applied to corsa turbos etc etc.

Maybe young people should not be allowed to drive em?
    They are dirt cheap and I would imagine a lot of people insure them as a plain old 1.3 starlet.

Surprised at the 530d driver, they usually should have a little more sense, even though they do think they're in a weapon, and always nail it from roundabouts etc, no more than 2.5 TDi A4 drivers do!
    The Glanza is quick to about 60, no substance beyond that. They're also crap handling cars. And they are insured as "normal" 1.3's.

+1 on the young Honda drivers their are always looking for a bit of a race especially if they have a type R! (in my weaker moments I have been known to give them a spanking off the lights!) but I think motorway racing is unacceptable as the slightest accident means game over!

Worst experience I have had is with a woman who reversed out onto a main road very quickly, I didnt have time to brake as there was no chance of stopping in front of her, had to swerve into oncoming traffic and if the cars coming the other way hadnt been on the ball and swerved over, it would have been a head on collision.

What do you own?

Mazda 3 MPS iirc......:D

Nice bus..

bus..........grumble grumble! :D

it does the job alright and I very rarely get any attention from the L.B.R's or the guards. Total sleeper!

........... bus........... the cheek of ya! :D

Im just after remembering something i witnessed on Monday.

I was down in Sandyford, heading from the industrial estate back to the M50. I had just came around the corner from the beacon hotel onto the dual lane stretch up to the roundabout over the M50. I had to pull in on the hard shoulder because the phone was ringing and there was no kit in the car.

I was on the phone and happened to look in my rear mirror. I see an 88 Ford Fiesta with an oul lad driving it come around the corner. Nothing odd with that you may think. You'd be right, until he performed a 180degree turn back into oncoming traffic! I was amazed! He must have realised there were cars coming towards him as he quickly turned around, slammed the front left tyre into the kerb, and headed straight for my rear bumper! At the last minute, he swerved out back into traffic, and almost took out a Saab 95 estate.

How in gods name he is allowed on the road is beyond me.

@ Grahambo - i see why you get the attention now...

Biro wrote: »
    Surprised at the 530d driver, they usually should have a little more sense, even though they do think they're in a weapon, and always nail it from roundabouts etc, no more than 2.5 TDi A4 drivers do!

Its nothing to do with the car dude. Its the person driving it that's the problem.
    That guy in the BMW would have killed me had I been in something like a mondeo etc. would have never made it passed in time. but then again he might not have reacted the way he did had it been a mondeo rather than an Evo? Technically hes just as bad as an L(B/G)R
    The Glanza is quick to about 60, no substance beyond that. They're also crap handling cars. And they are insured as "normal" 1.3's.

But do you not think young people should not be allowed to drive High-Performance cars like this? I think it would be worth investigating.

And I mean a ban (not an additional TAX, young people have a lot of money these days... that will solve nothing) on driving them types of cars until they have X years experience and a proven record of clean safe driving etc.

bus..........grumble grumble! :D

it does the job alright and I very rarely get any attention from the L.B.R's or the guards. Total sleeper!

........... bus........... the cheek of ya! :D

It was either that or a farmers car...:D Take your pick...:D:pac:

But do you not think young people should not be allowed to drive High-Performance cars like this? I think it would be worth investigating.

And I mean a ban (not an additional TAX, young people have a lot of money these days... that will solve nothing) on driving them types of cars until they have X years experience and a proven record of clean safe driving etc.

I think there is some merit in this, my learning curve with a performance car, was just as steep as my learing to drive a regular car ( thankfully no accisents in either) but if you have an accident at high speed (and any young person driving a high powered car will) its a lot more damaging to themselves and whoever is caught up in the accident.

I'd be all for it as long as it didnt come in soon and affect me! :D

(bus................... farmers car:eek:.......................... ban for drummerboy08 please!:D)

Its nothing to do with the car dude. Its the person driving it that's the problem.
    That guy in the BMW would have killed me had I been in something like a mondeo etc. would have never made it passed in time. but then again he might not have reacted the way he did had it been a mondeo rather than an Evo? Technically hes just as bad as an L(B/G)R
    True, but typically you don't get absolute morans buying 530d's, only semi-morans! :D

Completely agree. A BHP limit would cure many problems.

(bus................... farmers car:eek:.......................... ban for drummerboy08 please!:D)

Maybe he's jealous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Completely agree. A BHP limit would cure many problems.

How?

Even a 1.0l Micra can do 160km/h

Maybe he's jealous!

The big Mazda badge on the front does it for me....:D

Ah im only jokin with ya Stealthy. I've never driven one actually, so i dunno what they're like. Must try and get a spin one of these days. Nice machine all the same.

I think you might be onto something there Grahambo. There's an alarming number of young lads taking CTR's and Glanza's as first cars. What ever about the type R, al least they can go around corners. But a young lad in a car thats very light and a lot of power that cant handle roundabouts?! Asking for trouble...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭Jesus1222

On the off chance he reads it; to the 97-KE driver who at 8.30 on the M50 northbound taking the Finglas exit last Monday night: having not paid enough attention initially, you decided to slam on manically when you were in the outer lane causing my car to slam on, you then tried to pull across 2 lanes to get to your exit, when the car coming up your inside slammed on and flashed their lights you then stopped moving across, moved the other way to the outer lane again a little bit and finally stopped in the middle of the M50 with half your car in each lane, before moving off again. I was so incredibly angry at your stupidity and life endangering recklessness that I'm glad there was no contact that would require me to have gotten out of the car. And I'm glad both drivers, my car and the car in the inside lane, were both alert enough to stop in time, not to mention being glad for the fact there was nobody behind us who wasn't paying attention, say perhaps a tired driver of an articulated truck. There might have been 8 or 9 deaths in that case.

Some people don't deserve to drive.

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    How?

Even a 1.0l Micra can do 160km/h

true
    but it will take a hell of a long time to get there.

just because a can eventually make a good top speed doesn't mean that its a performance car.

I'll give you an example. I know that my car could hit 200kph in close to two thirds of the distance between the darndale round about and the cross roads at UCI on the malahide road(not that I've ever tried that) there is no way in hell a Micra would get even close to that.

Its not about what the top speed is. its about how fast you can get to that top speed. and that's where the accidents happen.

There defo needs to be some limit on Torque/BHP for not just young drivers but drivers with very little experience.

I know a girl that is from a wealthy family and she was bought a mini cooper turbo for XMAS. now that's a quick car. shes 26 now and it pretty much was her first car, she was driving her mothers jeep before hand.

way to much power to learn to drive on and she eventually crashed it. (not a write off but her dad sold it as he didn't want her to be driving in a car that powerful). that just says it all for me really. when I got my Evo I went on an advanced driving course to learn how to handle it properly.

with cars like this it is the driver that is the limitation not the car. and hence we have so many people driving powerful vehicles that don't know how to

Jesus1222 wrote: »
    Some people don't deserve to drive.

You're dead right buddy! :cool:

The big Mazda badge on the front does it for me....:D

Ah im only jokin with ya Stealthy. I've never driven one actually, so i dunno what they're like. Must try and get a spin one of these days. Nice machine all the same.

I know you were! (I wouldnt want you banned, who'd back me up on giving out about clampers and make the motorists confessional a better read!)

Totally agree with grahambo about the risk of accidents being about not how fast the top speed is but about how quickly a car gets there! I take my car to a track in order to find its limits and see how I can control it in various situations but an advanced driving license for cars which accelerate to 60mph in under 9 secs would be a good idea!

(I live off the malahide road and will be keepin an eye out for ya! what colour is your car?)

I know you were! (I wouldnt want you banned, who'd back me up on giving out about clampers and make the motorists confessional a better read!)

Totally agree with grahambo about the risk of accidents being about not how fast the top speed is but about how quickly a car gets there! I take my car to a track in order to find its limits and see how I can control it in various situations but an advanced driving license for cars which accelerate to 60mph in under 9 secs would be a good idea!

(I live off the malahide road and will be keepin an eye out for ya! what colour is your car?)

DSC00266.jpg
    that colour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

They implemented restrictions on engine size and power to weight ratios on motorbikes, up to and two years after a full license. I fail to see the problem with doing this to cars too.

They implemented restrictions on engine size and power to weight ratios on motorbikes, up to and two years after a full lisence. I fail to see the problem with doing this to cars too.

The problem is mate that it would make to much sense. and there would be no way of making a few bob out of it so the government couldn't care less

They implemented restrictions on engine size and power to weight ratios on motorbikes, up to and two years after a full lisence. I fail to see the problem with doing this to cars too.

Alot of people learning to drive don't buy a car, they learn on their parents and most parents out there are driving big cars. Restricting engine size on learner drives in cat B would result in alot of learners not being able to learn on their parents/partners car and either spending a fortune on lessons or buying a car and driving illegally on their own - both options would cost the learner a chunk of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Alot of people learning to drive don't buy a car, they learn on their parents and most parents out there are driving big cars. Restricting engine size on learner drives in cat B would result in alot of learners not being able to learn on their parents/partners car and either spending a fortune on lessons or buying a car and driving illegally on their own - both options would cost the learner a chunk of cash.

Then the parents can place a restrictor on the car for the duration. As long as it can do 120kph(which if on a power to weight ratio they would) then it shouldn't be a problem. And if they don't want to, then tough ****.

Im not sure. How much extra is a lesson in an instructors car as opposed to your own? €5 a lesson? So, over ten lessons it may cost you €50 extra.

Subtract that from the €600 + you will need for insurance on your parents car, and your €550 up, if not more.

I never had a car, and was not insured on a car when i was learning. I took ten lessons in the instructors car, and done my test. YOu dont need your own car, or any one elses car to pass your driving test.

Its actually a better way of learning, as it forces you to take lessons with a qualified instructor to get on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭drunk_monk

the_syco wrote: »
    You talking L bend, or a ( bend, if you get me? Also, what speed were they going at? I'm curious.

normal bends in the road, it's the N81 between Rathvilly and Baltinglass. On the straights no more than 60kmph but slowed down to 30kmph when going round the bends (which can be done at 80kmph) and down to 40kmph when passing on-coming vehicles.

Im not sure. How much extra is a lesson in an instructors car as opposed to your own? €5 a lesson? So, over ten lessons it may cost you €50 extra.

But if you can only drive when taking a lesson your going to have to take alot more lessons - most people would take around maybe 10 lessons and the rest of the time have a parent/partner/friend with a full license go out with them to get some practice. Taking one lesson a week and not driving between them alot people don't see much improvement and most instructors will tell students to try and get out [legally of course] and practice. I'm not saying you need a car and yes there are people who learn to drive with just a few lessons and no car but not everyone picks driving up quickly and some people need alot of practice. All I'm saying is to bring a law like limited engine size in would be meet with alot of opposition

I would say ten lessons would be sufficient enough for you to sit your test. As it stands, many people dont even take one lesson (see thread on 17yr old wanting to be insured on a 520i). Maybe it would cause people to take more lessons.

Maybe you should have to have a cert from a qualified driving instructor stating you have taken ten lessons before you sit your test. That may improve driving skill - particularly with younger people.

People kicked off about the people on provisional liciences having to havwe a qualfied driver with them too - that has all died down tho. New laws will always meet opposition of some kind.

I think the most important thing is if it saves lives, then it should go ahead.

I would say ten lessons would be sufficient enough for you to sit your test. As it stands, many people dont even take one lesson (see thread on 17yr old wanting to be insured on a 520i). Maybe it would cause people to take more lessons.

There is talk of making it a requirement for people to take X amount of lessons but the law was changed so people have to wait 6 months after getting their learner permit before taking the test with the implication that they would get as much practice in as they can in that 6 months. While I accept a number of people can and have passed the test after 10 lessons driving is a skill that not everyone will take up the same way and alot of people take/need more the 10 lessons or spend alot of time practicing around quite roads. I only took a handful of lessons mainly dealing with the test itself and went out driving with family and friends, had I just had lessons I think I still would have past my test but I wouldn't have been nearly as ready to drive on the roads as I was. Driving is a skill for life and learning shouldn't be as focused on just getting past what is a pretty basic test but on continued learning for life.
    People kicked off about the people on provisional liciences having to havwe a qualfied driver with them too - that has all died down tho. New laws will always meet opposition of some kind.

If you think it's died down go check the learner driver forum - pretty much a thread a day complaining about the change to the driving alone rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Would you not prefer to hit a stationary car (one reversing out onto your road is stationary with respect to your velocity) versus an oncoming car?
    Assuming you are all doing the speed limit the impact is halved by hitting the stationary car.

My advice is never, ever swerve out of your lane, the amount of times people are killed by swerving to avoid a dog only to plow into oncoming traffic :(