Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

provincial jerseys at an ireland game

• 18-03-2009 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭

a friend told me it is "frowned upon" to wear leinster or munster jerseys to an ireland game.

Is this true, do people actually take offence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Traditionally, you wore your club jersey but sure most people don't have clubs any more so i suppose the provicial jerseys have take over. well i suppose these days we should be trying to create a wall of green in the stands. IMO it is silly to wear an Irish provincial jersey that is the same colour as the opposition. ie a Leinster jersey at the French match, Munster at the welsh, ulster at the English etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

I see nothing wrong with wearing your provincial jerseys - the provincial flags are used away from home. A few green jerseys in the Millennium stadium on Saturday are not going to compete with the Welsh. If anything, they will highlight how few Irish supporters are there.

Think the small green flags (like the ones that Munster & Leinster use) are the way to go though for the best effect in a stadium. On Saturday I presume there will be 15-20K Irish people there - now if they all had two bright green flags each - they would make a bit of an impact ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I would frown upon it. Especially on Saturday. Wear an Ireland jersey or dont wear a jersey at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

RuggieBear wrote: »
    IMO it is silly to wear an Irish provincial jersey that is the same colour as the opposition. ie a Leinster jersey at the French match, Munster at the welsh, ulster at the English etc....
    Connacht jersey at Ireland game...

Wear what you like when you go to games and forget the fashion police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭netvista

So why would you frown on it Mike. Would it ruin your day if saw people wearing their provincial jersey. And would you also frown on it if someone wore the irish jersey to a provincial game?

Personally it wouldn't bother me as i'm sure it would be rather difficult to spot one in a crowd of around 80,000 people or so.

The important thing is that you keep roaring Ireland on which can be heard around the stadium

I just do. I dont see the point in it. Why would you especially pick that out on the day unless you wanted to make a statement about your provincial preference. It says "look at me im from Munster/Leinster/Connaught" rather than "Im Irish and came to support my team".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    I just do. I dont see the point in it. Why would you especially pick that out on the day unless you wanted to make a statement about your provincial preference. It says "look at me im from Munster/Leinster/Connaught" rather than "Im Irish and came to support my team".

Maybe they don't have an Irish jersey or anything else that would overtly identify them as Irish supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Darlie

I wouldn't frown on it or be offended. I'd just struggle to see the point in wearing the jersey of a province to an international match. I wouldn't wear my Drogheda Utd jersey to an Irish soccer match, I wouldn't wear my club top to watch Louth lose a GAA match, so why would I bother to wear a Leinster jersey to watch Ireland in rugby? It doesn't make sense. The whole idea of replica jerseys was to create a sea of colour at matches, with supporters identifying with the team they are supporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I don't care really, so long as it doesn't clash - I know there'll be a host of Munster jerseys on show, and I hope they're away ones. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

Traditionally, you wore your club jersey ..

Huh :rolleyes: ?

In 31 years of attending internationals, I have never noticed people wearing club jerseys at international games. In fact, back then, club jerseys were worn on the pitch, and nowhere else.

The practice of wearing provincial jerseys annoys me. Then again, I wore an old Ireland away jersey to Murrayfield, which is mostly white, so I guess I'm a hypocrite ;) !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Why not? It looks good, set aside the old provincial "he said/she said" handbags that lots of fans enjoy and just show that when it's our guys on the International Stage we put it all aside and just support a team.

I remember i was given out to at an Ireland game for wearing my Leinster Jersey, and then i got given out to in the pub later for wearing my Munster Jersey ( a quick change at home ). Both for different reasons.

Personally i have no desire to fulfill anyone else's idea of what a rugby fan is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭High&Low

At the Ireland v Canada game in Thomand pk it was ridiculous the amount of people in Munster jerseys, especially seeing as Canada were playing in red!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

IMO it is silly to wear an Irish provincial jersey that is the same colour as the opposition. ie a Leinster jersey at the French match, Munster at the welsh, ulster at the English etc....

Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭toe_knee

I think people are taking it a bit too serious. People should go and enjoy the match instead of giving out that the person 2 rows down has the neck to wear a provincial jersey. Who knows, by the end of the match you could be hugging the same person saying "What a game, new they could do it." Go on Ireland

TarfHead wrote: »
    Huh :rolleyes: ?

In 31 years of attending internationals, I have never noticed people wearing club jerseys at international games. In fact, back then, club jerseys were worn on the pitch, and nowhere else.

We always wore our club jerseys to Tests as the older guys in my club told us it was the tradition (i think it helped in finding the drunks) and over the 20 years or so I've being going to internationals i've seen lots of club jerseys...admittedly these days the only club jerseys i see with any regularity are from Ulster. I suppose there wasn't much of a replica market back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

I don't think its that big of an issue. I suppose some people don't have an ireland jersey so they just wear something else rugby related instead of a ranomd green shirt or something.

One thing i did notice at the scotland game watching it on tv was so stupid tool waving an Ulster flag!?!? wtf like. That I def draw the line at.

suppafly wrote: »
    I don't think its that big of an issue. I suppose some people don't have an ireland jersey so they just wear something else rugby related instead of a ranomd green shirt or something.

One thing i did notice at the scotland game watching it on tv was so stupid tool waving an Ulster flag!?!? wtf like. That I def draw the line at.

Why stupid?

I mean, ok, I know why, but he's an Ulster fan, would you complain if it was the Munster/Leinster/Connacht flag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

why would u bring one of those flags with u? And i would think it was odd too if it was one of the other provinces flags too. As i said before u might be wearing a province jersey cuz its the only rugby thing u have but a provincial flag is really dumb, especially ulster as it looks like a english flag to most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Wear what you like and ignore power tripping feck-wits. There'll always be some self-important wrinklie ball-bag or other who's offence mode is set to 'permanent' willing to take umbrage.....wave the flag of the people's republic of Burundi if you want and ignore the Leprechauns...enjoy the game, support your team vocally..thats all thats asked or required...

toomevara wrote: »
    Wear what you like and ignore power tripping feck-wits. There'll always be some self-important wrinklie ball-bag or other who's offence mode is set to 'permanent' willing to take umbrage.....wave the flag of the people's republic of Burundi if you want and ignore the Leprechauns...enjoy the game, support your team vocally..thats all thats asked or required...

That makes no sense at all. Wave someone elses flag? So its only vocal and not visual support that counts.

My view seems to be different to the majority of posters on here but I stick by it. Ireland jersey or no jersey at an Ireland match.

Just look back over Munster in the Heineken cup over the last few years and what a big psychological advantage it has given them walking out to a sea of red support.

That makes no sense at all. Wave someone elses flag? So its only vocal and not visual support that counts.

My view seems to be different to the majority of posters on here but I stick by it. Ireland jersey or no jersey at an Ireland match.

Really, at the end of the day, who cares...?? Went to the Ireland/ England match at croker two weeks back,,,there were folk in every provincial jersey,lots of Leinster, Munster, Ulster and a few Connnacht, saw some shannon, garryowen boys and a few st Marys, lots of GP club jerseys...(a profusion of Quins unusually and more predictably a good few LI )and I wore my Irish rugby League shirt....It all adds to the pageantry and colour of the day..

I'll wear whatever the good god damn I like to any match where I've paid the price of entry...watch out for my Burundi flag at Cardiff....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Just look back over Munster in the Heineken cup over the last few years and what a big psychological advantage it has given them walking out to a sea of red support.

I can certainly understand this point of view.

I personally don't mind supporters going to an International with a provincial jersey on, so long as they are there to support the entire team and not just their contingent. I have been disgusted, listening to people boo our players, from supposed 'Irish' supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

High&Low wrote: »
    At the Ireland v Canada game in Thomand pk it was ridiculous the amount of people in Munster jerseys, especially seeing as Canada were playing in red!!!

Well it is Munsters home ground and half the team play for Munster. 2 + 2 really does make 4.

I have no problem with it, It's an expensive business supporting both your teams, maybe people don't want/can't afford the added cost of another jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Would it be completely out of order to wear my soccer or international rules jersey?;)

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Would it be completely out of order to wear my soccer.....jersey

eugh....now that is a bridge too far...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Shane Byrne's take on things
    Team Ireland
    When anybody talks like this they insult the rest of the team. Do you really think that anybody who fights hard for their team really likes being compared to one of their competition, NO! There are no teams inside the Irish camp, just team Ireland.
    We all know Munster have been our flagship team in Europe in recent times but for the love of all that holy, can we put it away when the boys in green are playing?!
    And once again trust me on this, when you’re on the bus heading to the game, soaking up the atmosphere looking at the crowds, it’s a pain in the arse when you see someone wearing their provinces jersey. That goes for them all Leinster, Ulster, Connacht or Munster.
    Wear the green!
    More often than not it’s red, you not supporting Ireland, you’re stating you’re supporting just PART of Ireland.
    Come on, next Saturday wear the green, together we are winners, you don’t want to be mistaken as Welsh now do you?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Catmologen

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Would it be completely out of order to wear my soccer ... jersey?;)

No but if you had one of those giant Inflatable hammers, that would do nicely:D!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

The new jersey is cack and my old jersies no longer fit me as I have grown a solid foot or two in the last 3 years so I'll just wear my Leinster jersey.

Shane Byrne's take on things

Thats all very well, but he does have a mullet, I refuse to take any fashion advice from such an individual...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I wear my Connacht Jersey to Ireland games, purely because it's a green jersey and I don't like Ireland jersey enough to buy it.

But i would never wear my Leinster jersey to an Irish game and I always frown on people in their Leinster / Munster gear .... as I said to one of my best mates and frequent rugby going buddy who's a die hard Shannon & Munster man, it's the one day we're all in it together, provincial sh*t should all be left at home.

(The irony of me always wearing a Connacht jersey was pointed out to me at that point, but you know what I mean! :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

I dont care too much about what supporters wear to the games and i pity you if you do. Just as long as they are wearing something, and not running around flapping their penis's infront of my face (its happened once or twice) :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Witnessed a guy at an Ireland game in a Munster jersey cheer as the Munster members of the Irish team were called out and boo as Leinster players were called out. To me he epitomised everything that is wrong with bandwagon Munster supporters (not all Munster supporters you understand).
    The Irish team comes first. Always has. Always will. That is the way that Irish rugby is set up with centrally contracted players. Put your provincial thoughts aside and support the lads in green - Leinster and Munster fans alike. Wear green and support the team you have come to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

waraf wrote: »
    Witnessed a guy at an Ireland game in a Munster jersey cheer as the Munster members of the Irish team were called out and boo as Leinster players were called out. To me he epitomised everything that is wrong with bandwagon Munster supporters (not all Munster supporters you understand).
    The Irish team comes first. Always has. Always will. That is the way that Irish rugby is set up with centrally contracted players. Put your provincial thoughts aside and support the lads in green - Leinster and Munster fans alike. Wear green and support the team you have come to see.

Agree with the sentiment but lets not be getting in the the business of singling out one province, I've seen this behavior from both Munsster and Leinster supporters at different times, never the other two though and fair play to them. No call for it, but there's always going to be a few fools in the crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

I always wear my auld Permanent TSB Ireland jersey to any Ireland game and il be wearing it on Saturday! If you dont have an Ireland jersey at least try and wear some green! A scarf, anything atall! A sign of support if you will! :)
    Cant say iv ever seen too may people wearing provincial jerseys to Internationals but then iv been more interested in watching the match than checking out what everyone around me is wearing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 roryok

If anyone in our group turns up in to an international game in a provincial jersey, or any other jersey, (and we're all leinster fans) then they are fair game for plenty of slagging about it during the match.

I've been to far too many games where the fans have been split due to the colours they are wearing and instead of cheering on the team they came toi support that day thye end up arguing over the provinces they support on other days and ther merits and demerits of certain players.

irish game = irish jersey or nothing. wearing another jersey, even for the same sport, does not show your support for the team playing on the day.

for this reason i never wear my irish jersey to leinster games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Ulster flag or NI flag, if the latter its technically as valid as a tri-colour, as the team does represents two jurisdictions.

The NI flag has a white background the Ulster one is yellow.

let's stay away from the flags issue please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

.. wtf like. That I def draw the line at.

Whatever about club jerseys or provincial flags, the one sight that made my blood boil was in the Lower East Stand for the match against France about 4 years ago.

Some TOOL wearing a Glasgow Celtic FC jersey.

I'm sure it was our "No to Foreign games" friend on Recon

That man is a national hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

Does it really matter what people are wearing once they're supporting the Team? I couldn't care less what the guy sitting next to me is wearing once he is focal in his support.

My view is that tickets are hard and expensive enough to come by for maybe one match and then having to lay another €70 for an irish jersey just to please a few oddballs, stuff them. Wear what you want but shout your bloody head off.

phog wrote: »
    Does it really matter what people are wearing once they're supporting the Team? I couldn't care less what the guy sitting next to me is wearing once he is focal in his support.

My view is that tickets are hard and expensive enough to come by for maybe one match and then having to lay another €70 for an irish jersey just to please a few oddballs, stuff them. Wear what you want but shout your bloody head off.

Nobody's saying buy a jersey. Just wear something green. It works. Every other country's national supporters can't be wrong.

That man is a national hero!

Yes, he was living proof to some that Punch magazine was right all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

lets be honest here...in every walk of life you meet idots and some of the bandwagon jumpers ( I include Leinster and Munster here) type fans will boo a player from another rival provence because they are not real rugby fans.
    I think the reason for a lot of this bull is because fans that would have supported other national team sports traditionally that may not be doing so well in the last few years ( need i mention it) jump on the rugby bandwagon and just cant manage the idea of rival fans getting on with each other.:confused:
    I feel that you should wear green or the national jersey at an Irish match and would not wear my Leinster jersey at an international but as long as your shouting for the Irish team your who realy cares?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I don't think it matters what people wear to a rugby game, preferably green but its a huge deal. however, I do find it perplexing that some supporters don't think its odd to wear a Leinster jersey to a Scotland/France game or a Munster jersey to a Wales game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

Well I probably wouldn't wear a Munster jersey to a match against a team who plays in red! BUt it is a little frowned upon because some people tend to support their province over their country, and in an international match it's the country you should be supporting...

But no need to spend 70 quid on a jersey, just wear something green! A Celtic jersey, or Cork or Shamrock Rovers or Limerick County jersey or Connacht or Leicester or a green t-shirt or jumper or scarf or jacket or something... Wouldn't buy the current Irish one anyway, it's a bit silly looking

But really wear whatever you want!

Yes, he was living proof to some that Punch magazine was right all along.

Try an English mate seeing that. Hell on earth for a few weeks. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭realismpol

i don't think that wearing a provincial jersey at an irish match would make sense. Not thats its wrong or anything. You'd just get inquisitive looks i'd think and people would be wondering why you were wearing a provincial jersey to an international match.

I agree with the other comments would just clash too much with the irish jersey especially the leinster and munster ones. Not the connaught one though.
    lets be honest here...in every walk of life you meet idots and some of the bandwagon jumpers ( I include Leinster and Munster here) type fans will boo a player from another rival provence because they are not real rugby fans.
    I think the reason for a lot of this bull is because fans that would have supported other national team sports traditionally that may not be doing so well in the last few years ( need i mention it) jump on the rugby bandwagon and just cant manage the idea of rival fans getting on with each other.

I actually take the opposite view on this. The one thing that annoys me about rugby in ireland is not people wearing provincial jerseys to ireland matches but obvious bandwagon supporters(and believe me theres many) who show up when munster reach the latter stages in the heinekin cup or in finals and clearly they are not from munster or follow rugby to any degree as you can tell when they get interviewed post match. Its like hey lets all jump on the bandwagon, Sure we're irish. Even ryle nugent creams his pants every time munster do something 'extraordinary'. Look we all appreciate the fact we're irish but rivarly is a good thing at a certain level. Its healthy for competition thus making the national team stronger. Nobody wants to see connaught weak forever.

Back in the 90's everyone wanted to play soccer, nobody even cared about rugby now every tom dick and harry supports munster and ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

Darlie wrote: »
    The whole idea of replica jerseys was to create a sea of colour at matches, with supporters identifying with the team they are supporting.

And there I was thinking that the whole idea of replica jerseys was a money making racket!!

On a serious note though, I don't see the big deal if someone wants to distinguish what part of Ireland they are from...perhaps due to the stigma attached to being a supporter of a particular province!!

komodosp wrote: »
    just wear something green! A Celtic jersey

Now, now...lets not be too hasty here.

Cardiff had plenty of green yesterday. Feck all red Munster shirts to be seen in stadium and outside of it so WELL DONE ALL!