Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When in skool, were you ever educated in a prefab?

• 16-03-2009 10:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

Well, were you?

It was highlighted in RTE Primetime a while back about how some Irish kids are still been taught in prefabs.http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0310/primetime.html

Tell us your stories of these educational institutions, for example did you ever see a mouse/rat run across the classroom at all? ;)

Me, we seen lots of mice and rats, like a bit of biology thrown in! Some of us were a bit on the bold side by stripping away the old rotten wood of the prefab, was fun :D

When in skool, were you ever educated in a prefab? 229 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    90% 207 votes
    I'm uneducated,wtf iz a prefab?
    9% 22 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I could tell you a lot about prefabs but I'd rather let the myth continue on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Yeah 5th and 6th class had the prefab - lucky devils! Was the nicest bit of the school building!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

*shudders* oh the memories are better left where they are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Lilyblue

Yes in both primary & secondary school. We had a snowball fight one snowy day way back when..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Had a prefab in 1st class, but that was the only year we used them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

No,at my school that was where the special children where educated,no joke........:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭sadista

I was in one in 1st class too. All I remember was that it was fookin freezin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Was kinda a prefab...was that metal building in Bishop Galvin/Shanahan [spelling?] down in Templeogue area. Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Looby_Loo

Not a prefab but for a while we were based in the old village hall when renovations were going on. It was freezing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

*shudder*
    Out in the prefab on a frosty morning and everyone including the teacher wearing jackets and freezing. lol, what heating? There was nothing installed.

bad memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

There were freezing alright. The exercises we stopped to do every hour gave some welcome relief though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

there were 2 prefabs at school when I were a infant. bloody freezin rattly things, did the sudden appearance of Prefabs in the late seventies and early eighties have anything to do with Europe and their interfering meddlinin our affairs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

In prefabs from 1st - 6th Year.

The only proper building was the 'science room'.

I remember that the 5th year 'project' was to see how many holes could be created in the prefab walls and floor before the teachers discovered them.

Good times :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I remember one of our prefabs had a hole in the floor down the back and ppl would hide in it.....and when the roll was called they would answer "here!"

Good times :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

gurramok wrote: »
    Tell us your stories of these educational institutions, for example did you ever see a mouse/rat run across the classroom at all? ;)

Does the Ra supporting thug of a headmaster count as a rat?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Yeah, our school had six prefabs, 3 new, 3 old. The new ones were grand, all double glazing and heating, the old ones were the total opposite. Freezing cold in the winter all draughty and with leaks all over the gaf. Had chemistry in them (bar the lab work) for 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

there were 2 prefabs at school when I were a infant. bloody freezin rattly things, did the sudden appearance of Prefabs in the late seventies and early eighties have anything to do with Europe and their interfering meddlinin our affairs?

Resulting in a nation of namby-pamby softies, who never learn anything at school, because they doze off in their centrally heated, insulated class-rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Junior infants for P.E.
    1st year to 3rd year in prefabs.*
    We had 4 rooms then built and they housed the science lab, art room, woodwork and home ec.

Did everyone else melt their pens on those crappy radiators?

*The prefabs were still in use for 5th and 6th year, but I was well gone at that stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭HarryPalmer

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Resulting in a nation of namby-pamby softies, who never learn anything at school, because they doze off in their centrally heated, insulated class-rooms.

Fairly agree. I spent years as a young one learning in prefabs... boiling in summer and freezing in winter, but it is about being taught and not being overly comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Oh yes. I remember icicles on the inside walls during winter.
    Plus, for woodwork class, we had to do practical work in the prefabs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

No prefabs but i see both my primary school and secondary school use them now. Instead we had 3rd and 4th class in an old building a couple of hundred yards up the road from the main school.
    The place was falling apart, on one slightly windy day a chimney stack fell over onto the play ground (no-one hurt). In the same year the wiring started a fire but the alarm wasn't working so no-one realised until smoke started pouring into a classroom, cue mass panic, remember during fire drills your teacher telling you to not panic and walk, well that when out the window.
    There was one teacher standing at the class door and another standing at the outside door, they were making us run one by one past the door that was on fire, once one kid got by safe, the teacher called for another to run for it.
    Prefabs would have been a huge improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Several rooms detached from the secondary school were prefabs, and we were made like it! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Nope!

Not in Primary School, Not in secondary school.

But yes in college!

"I.T of The Year"

Yeah right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Terry wrote: »
    No, but I did feel nauseous.

K4t wrote: »
    No, but I did feel nauseous.
    Yeah, they did have a funny smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Yep, St. Colmcilles Prefabs in Swords and this place called North Street school for a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

There was one prefab outside my primary school for the first few years, but they got rid of it when the class sizes made it unneccessary.

Half of the school is unneccessary now. They should just make the school mixed instead of a half empty boys school and a half empty girls school on the same grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

God yes. Oh....you said "PENS"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

Yup,I was in one in 4th class.I initially thought of it as a novelty,but that quickly wore off.Cramped,freezing in winter and roasting in summer.Although on the plus side,the fact that we were so close to the pitch meant our teacher let us sneak in a few games of rounders outside of P.E time.Fun times!:D

I'm pretty sure a hobo very briefly lived under one and they had to board up the gap between the prefab and the ground.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Radiators, Ye Had fvckin radiators, someone went to a feckin posh school here lad, the likes of it, Radiators in a Prefab, too good for wearin an extra jumper or dyin of pluracy these fellas, Radiators, and ones that worked at that, forget CJH, theres were all the EU money went in the eighties, heatin fecin Prefabs with no walls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Junior infants for P.E.

P.E. in a prefab?

How did that work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Yeah, prefabs were the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

And miniaturise the packets of Tayto :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yeah - 6/8 years of primary and one year of secondary. They were fine tbh, can't say I noticed any extremes of heat or cold.

All the complainers are softies :-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

donmeister wrote: »
    No,at my school that was where the special children where educated,no joke........:eek:
    Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Does the Ra supporting thug of a headmaster count as a rat?
    simu wrote: »
    Yeah - 6/8 years of primary and one year of secondary. They were fine tbh, can't say I noticed any extremes of heat or cold.

Did you all go to school during the Fifties or something? :confused:

Ireland's education system sure is one of the best in the world. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

From 3rd to 5th year I was in a prehab. We have a lovely new building now. I'll never forgot when two 6th years wore fighting burst into the wall and into our classroom. It was the episode from family guy, Peter vs The Chicken :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭marbar

spent 4th,5th and 6th year in a prefab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Acacia wrote: »
    Did you all go to school during the Fifties or something? :confused:

Ireland's education system sure is one of the best in the world. :rolleyes:

The 80s and 90s for me. We wuz poor but boy did we scale intellectual heights.

marbar wrote: »
    spent 4th,5th and 6th year in a prefab
    No anecdote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭up them Schteps

No

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

The first half of national school was in prefabs while the new school was being built. And in secondary school, some of the classes were in prefabs.

That was the late 80s and most of the 90s.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

Primary school we had prefabs till 6th class just as I left they got a whole new school building. Found out afterwards that within two years they needed more space so they got 4 prefabs... fantastic

Secondary school, 3 prefabs for the entirity of it.. think they're still there.

Prefabs are a religion in this country I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ejmaztec wrote: »

Pretty much the same reason we're a nation of slackers in the workplace too! Getrid of the multi-million pound comfy ofices with your Ballygowan watercoolers and your expresso-canteen -FVCK THAT! - bring in prefab-offices and watch productivity levels skyrocket!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I wish they'd talk about important stuff like what is taught in schools

The floor is yours, maestro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Back in 3rd year, when Castletroy College was still ridiculously overcrowded untill it's new extention was built.

Prefabs for Irish and Maths. Freezing cold in winter mornings, boiling on summer afternoons.
    After lunch you would find a cheese sandwich wedged in the hot radiator...lovely.

The fact that my Irish teacher was full of bollox really didn't help...

P.E. in a prefab?

How did that work?
    I can't ****ing remember. It was almost 30 years ago.

C'mon Terry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Yes, but only because the school was being rebuilt. We had some classes in the parish hall too due to that.