Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crippling Pension Levy

• 15-03-2009 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭

So this week seen the first reductions of the Pension Levy within the Ambulance Service and the full harsh reality is now kicking in. Those on the two week paypath scheme will get to know their hardship this coming Thursday when they open their payslips and see exactly how much our lovely government are screwing them some more, with more to come of course in the upcoming "emergency" budget.

I thought to myself on Thursday, how are they getting away with this, are we that submissive that following the big march in Dublin we appeared to sit back and accept this shafting by Minister Cowen and his band of merry men (and the odd (looking) woman).

Today I arrived into work to be met with a great ballot box and the option to ballot for action, and I can clearly see the anger as each staff member in my station are clearly in favour of industrial action, I can only imagine that the feeling throughout the country is similar.

The bank sent me a letter last week to say that my mortgage is coming down (although it's still higher than it was five years ago), this week the government put their grimey paws into my pay packet and took substantialy more than my little saving I was looking forward to.

Yes I am very annoyed:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Sure aren't ye lucky to have a job:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Don't get me started on that "You're lucky to have a pension/job" business. The levy has wiped out more than we had gotten in benchmarking. Nevermind the PPF and Pay deals as they benefited everyone; regardless of what else is being said.

I'm down a fair amount this week..I can only imagine what I'll be on this time next month.

My mortgage plans are out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Mr Ed

Well you do have a job and a nice pension when you retire.

If people can't afford to contribute towards their pension, why aren't they given the option of opting out of the scheme then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

mikemac wrote: »
    Everyone eh? The social partners don't represent me and many like me

Could be worse and at least your mortgage repayments dropped.
    What if you were renting but put all your money in a savings account, watched interest rates collapse, paid DIRT and then listened to everyone welcome lower interest rates

My mortgage aswell as most of the people i know didn't see their mortgage drop... most people are on fixed mortgages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

My mortgage aswell as most of the people i know didn't see their mortgage drop... most people are on fixed mortgages

Indeed. Made me fix for 3 years when I bought. Going to have to get the cash together to pay the break out fee.

And yes, it was small last week but its getting worse. We should strike, simple as but I dont think there is anything to be gained by having this debate again.

I fixed for 5 years, absolute disaster, gonna cost me a fortune to buy out of it
    Ya i heard Eru that the levy is going to be double next week.... any truth in that????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

You paid 5/7ths of the total this week so add on 2/7ths to get your total from next week on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Eru wrote: »
    ......We should strike,.........

i think you might rethink/rewrite your post..

we are not allowed to strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I remember the Blue flu in the 90's There was never as many Gardai on the Dublin street than there was that friday , and not just recruits.

pa990 wrote: »

True but I fail to see how they can sack all of us ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

True but I fail to see how they can sack all of us ;)

I've no problem if the Guards go on strike, once they don't announce it, just to see who notices other than people who need a passport application form stamped.

HA HA HA.... Hilarious :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

My friend's cousin is a Garda earning around 40k basic and took in €83,000 last year with OT.
    "Pay into my pension too?!?!?. STRRRRRIKE!"

Many people are taking pure pay cuts i.e. "you have to take a 20% pay cut which we will keep for the company"
    and not ;
    "we'll take some money off you now and give it, and lot's more, back to you when you retire"

**PS** I happen to think the Emergency Services do great work but I keep hearing them say;
    "we know there's a recession and I want to do my bit to help but not with a pension levy"

So, if you don't want a pension levy, how about a pay cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Bang Bang

Sleipnir wrote: »
    how about a pay cut?

It's already happening. No pay increase in 2008, cancelled. 2009 increase = cancelled too.
    So we've already given up two increase's, same as taking a pay cut.

Bang Bang wrote: »
    It's already happening. No pay increase in 2008, cancelled. 2009 increase = cancelled too.
    So we've already given up two increase's, same as taking a pay cut.

Ah, no.
    Not getting an increase is not the same as a pay cut. For example, say you're a junior banker on 40k and pay review comes around and they tell you you're taking a 10% pay cut.
    That doesn't mean that you're just not going to get a 10% increase! That means your current salary is going to drop from 40k to 36k. That's not the same as just not getting an expected increase!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

FrancieB permanently banned from Emergency Services.

Remember the golden rule folks - don't feed the troll.

Ah, no.
    Not getting an increase is not the same as a pay cut. For example, say you're a junior banker on 40k and pay review comes around and they tell you you're taking a 10% pay cut.
    That doesn't mean that you're just not going to get a 10% increase! That means your current salary is going to drop from 40k to 36k. That's not the same as just not getting an expected increase!

We are getting a pay freeze and also a pay cut in the shape of the pension levy.
    In total it will equate to in or around 20%, and that's before any budget or any other levy that may come on stream.

My friend's cousin is a Garda earning around 40k basic and took in €83,000 last year with OT.

So he worked every hour god sent and was needed to work to police and protect the public and then had the cheek to ask for payment? The bastard!!!! (And I seriously doubt he shows the entire world his pay packet)
    Many people are taking pure pay cuts i.e. "you have to take a 20% pay cut which we will keep for the company"

Yep because its either that or the company goes bust meaning no job. That in turn is because the company is not doing well as people are not buying the product or using the service. Its not because the employee decided to be generous and help ouot the company as a gesture of goodwill. Does it sound like your friends cousin is under pressure as a result of no customers? No and thats my point. We do not need to take a pay cut, our jobs and 'company' are still in demand and needed.
    "we know there's a recession and I want to do my bit to help but not with a pension levy"

Emmm no actually you DONT hear us saying that. You hear us saying "Private sector made hay while the sun shines so the private sector can survive the winter because they sure as hell didnt volunteer anything to help us"

I have said this once and I will say it again, during the boom how many people said "I will pay more tax to gives those poor Gardai better pay?" Well? How many? Not a single one so why are you exopecting it from us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

It's not just the pension levy though:

1% income levy,
    7% pension levy,
    expected 2% tax hike on both Standard rate & Higher rate tax in the 'emergency' budget,
    Very little/No overtime available,
    Pay Freeze for both this year & next.

While some TD's get a €3,000 pay increase, your average garda / public service worker is down at least 10% although depending on uptake of overtime etc. you could be down up to 30%....
    Only in Ireland.:mad:

So he worked every hour god sent and was needed to work to police and protect the public and then had the cheek to ask for payment? The bastard!!!! (And I seriously doubt he shows the entire world his pay packet)

You can "seriously doubt" whatever you like, it has no bearing on the facts, his basic was around 40K and he earned 83k.
    And don't give me "the poor divil had to work all hours God send and get no thanks for it" He had a choice to work overtime or not. No recriminations in public sector if you choose not to work OT. He certainly hasn't looked back and thought "man I got screwed". He is perfectly happy to earn what he did.
    Yep because its either that or the company goes bust meaning no job. That in turn is because the company is not doing well as people are not buying the product or using the service. Its not because the employee decided to be generous and help ouot the company as a gesture of goodwill. Does it sound like your friends cousin is under pressure as a result of no customers? No and thats my point. We do not need to take a pay cut, our jobs and 'company' are still in demand and needed.

Really? Is Intel going bust? Ryanair? Deloitte? Baush & Lomb? Dell? HP? Vodafone? IBM?
    We all need to take the pain. That is what taxes are for.

"My company is doing fine thank you. I'm a solictor dealing mainly in divorces and in these tough times, they are on the increase"

So, should that solicitor not share the pain because his sector is "doing well"?
    Should he be kept immune from the downturn?

Emmm no actually you DONT hear us saying that. You hear us saying "Private sector made hay while the sun shines so the private sector can survive the winter because they sure as hell didnt volunteer anything to help us"

There's a Garda who is regularly on Newstalk who keeps saying it, but doesn't think he should have to pay the levy. Not once has he said what he would be willing to surrender.
    I have said this once and I will say it again, during the boom how many people said "I will pay more tax to gives those poor Gardai better pay?" Well? How many? Not a single one so why are you exopecting it from us?
    [/QUOTE]

How many Gardai were willing to pay more taxes? NOBODY, EVER, wants to pay more taxes. EV.ER! People don't volunteer more taxes!

Not once have a heard a public sector worker, or a union rep say that they or their members would/should take a pay cut. We all made good in the boom times. Don't tell me that Gardai are in the same state that they were in before the Celtic Tiger because it's just not true. Sure, they may not have made the killing that thousands of lucky people did but I'm an ordinary worker and neither did I.

I earn the equivalant to my mate's cousin. I pay taxes, bin charges, gas, EBS, NTL, insurance, car tax, VAT, parking charge, PRIVATE pension (now worth **** all and not guaranteed!)
    Point is, if things continued the way they are for say 40 years (I know..) my mates cousin Will.Be.Fine.
    I'll be ****ed.

Oh, LOOK AT DML's post...
    Another public sector worker who says;
    I do agree that in the current economic climate, we all have to 'take some pain', but I feel that targeting the pension levy is underhanded and dictatorial.

yet offers absolutely no suggestion as to how they will otherwise "take some pain".

So come on, suggestions from the public sector on how they can "take some pain"
    Make it equitable with what's happening with private sector workers. Just to see what happens.

You can "seriously doubt" whatever you like, it has no bearing on the facts, his basic was around 40K and he earned 83k.

Classic double standard, just classic! What else ya got? Care to prove this 'fact' of what he earned or are you only allowed throw things out there and then make them 'fact'?
    And don't give me "the poor divil had to work all hours God send and get no thanks for it" He had a choice to work overtime or not. No recriminations in public sector if you choose not to work OT. He certainly hasn't looked back and thought "man I got screwed". He is perfectly happy to earn what he did.

where and when did I say anything of the sort? Im merely pointing out that the state and by extension, the public needed those policing hours worked. This guy was willing. This proves two points. A, Gardai are still in demand and therefore no actual need for us to take a wage cut of any description to save oour jobs or industry and B, Yes actually Gardai and prison service can be sacked for refusing to work overtime. Ouor hours can be changed and we can be ordered to report for duty early and / or work late. I think you will find its the PRIVATE sector thats protected from forced overtime.
    Really? Is Intel going bust? Ryanair? Deloitte? Baush & Lomb? Dell? HP? Vodafone? IBM?

Nope, they left Ireland because the PRIVATE sector workers got greedy and was costing too much to pay, perhaps if those workers had taken a sufficient wage cut they could have kept their jobs? Thats one for their unions and staff. Doesnt explain why your asking me to take a reduction.
    "My company is doing fine thank you. I'm a solictor dealing mainly in divorces and in these tough times, they are on the increase"

So, should that solicitor not share the pain because his sector is "doing well"?
    Should he be kept immune from the downturn?

Absolutely! Are you completely insane? Do you live in some kind of weird alternative reality where pay packets and income are shared around equally? Company is doing well = more money and job security. Company is doing bad = less money and job losses. Pretty simple really. Thats one of the worst posts I have ever read in my life, its baffling how wrong and niave it is :(
    I earn the equivalant to my mate's cousin. I pay taxes, bin charges, gas, EBS, NTL, insurance, car tax, VAT, parking charge, PRIVATE pension (now worth **** all and not guaranteed!)
    Point is, if things continued the way they are for say 40 years (I know..) my mates cousin Will.Be.Fine.
    I'll be ****ed.

Wow, then I guess you earn more than most Gardai, perhaps YOU should be taking a bigger cut than us?

What the hell have your bills got to do with it? For the second time Im forced to ask what world you live in? Do you not realise that every bill you have a Garda has as well?
    How many Gardai were willing to pay more taxes? NOBODY, EVER, wants to pay more taxes. EV.ER! People don't volunteer more taxes!.

And who in the hell has ever wanted to take a voluntary pay reduction?

Check mate my friend, you just shot yourself in the foot. :D

But your still missing the point that he is only ever guaranteed 40k a year.... and you stay on 40k from year 6 to year 11 = with no increase, thats if he joined post 1995, if he joined before 1995 he will stay on 40k until year 17. believe it or not ot is not guaranteed, you can never count on overtime.... if you do you living outside your means

Do some research before ya start throwing out unsupported "FACTS"

Please find attached pay scales for your info
    http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml

He had a choice to work overtime or not. No recriminations in public sector if you choose not to work OT.

How wrong you are. Because of the nature of our jobs in the Emergency Services we are often called upon just as our shift ends. Yes this will bring us into overtime and no we don't have the choice not to do it. If we refuse the call then we will be diciplined.

Only recently I was turned out five minutes before the end of my shift and because of the nature of the call we were a considerable length of time on scene and again in the Emergency Department of the hospital.
    Because of this I missed the opportunity to pick up my daughter and have dinner with my family.
    How often does this happen? Quite often.
    Would I prefer the couple of hours of forced overtime or the chance to spend time with my daughter and family? Guess what, I want time with my family.
    But I didn't get the choice.

So again Sleipner your "facts" are actually not Fact at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

If basic pay is €40,000 and he earned 83,000, take out night duty and other allowances it means he probably worked an average of 25 hrs overtime per week.

Bearing in mind he may have had no option other than to do the overtime, it's an average of 65 hrs work per week. How good is that for family and social life.

Overtime payments are worked for they are not perks or allowances.

Bang Bang wrote: »
    How wrong you are. Because of the nature of our jobs in the Emergency Services we are often called upon just as our shift ends. Yes this will bring us into overtime and no we don't have the choice not to do it. If we refuse the call then we will be diciplined.

So again Sleipner your "facts" are actually not Fact at all.

Fair enough, I'll hold my hand up about the OT. I was wrong about that. [Awaits frenzied attack from ERU]

Again guys, I don't mind AT ALL Gardai getting paid for overtime. Ye do a great job and deserve to get paid for it put don't talk to me about;
    "we can only earn according to the pay scale and if we don't get overtime, that's all we get." Ye all knew how much the pay was before you signed up. But, you knew that you could earn more on OT.

How am I going to prove the "fact" about the salary? Shall I ask hthe guy if I can take a copy of his payslip and post it here? Come on, if we can't post on boards without documentary evidence then we're not going to be able to discuss anything. Tell me, how?
    The "fact" is, he's on a basic of around 40k and earned 83 last year. It's not possible for me to prove that so you'll just need to take it or leave it.

I only know two Gardai; my mates cousin and my girlfriend's brother. When I was thinking of joining up a few years ago the brother showed me his payslip and he again had earned a fair bit more then his basic. Again, I can't prove it to you here, but that's an unreasonable thing to ask me to do here.

CLADA wrote: »
    If basic pay is €40,000 and he earned 83,000, take out night duty and other allowances it means he probably worked an average of 25 hrs overtime per week.

Bearing in mind he may have had no option other than to do the overtime, it's an average of 65 hrs work per week. How good is that for family and social life.

Overtime payments are worked for they are not perks or allowances.

Again, did nobody here know before joining up that being a Garda means working very unsociable hours? I'll say again that he's quite happy to earn what he did. He's not complaining about the hours he worked!

ste88m wrote: »
    It's not just the pension levy though:

1% income levy,
    7% pension levy,
    expected 2% tax hike on both Standard rate & Higher rate tax in the 'emergency' budget,
    Very little/No overtime available,
    Pay Freeze for both this year & next.

but that's also the case for all the private sector workers except for the pension levy but our pensions aren't guaranteed and neither are our jobs. Gardai's pensions and jobs are guaranteed.

No, I don't have to pay the pension levy but I will be probably be taking a significant pay cut in April anyway; 10% is the word on the street. I should say I HOPE I get a 10% pay cut and I'm not one of the one's that get made redundant in which case I'll be on a 100% pay cut! (I.T. in a fund managment bank. Not a great area to be in)

So I don't feel sorry that you all have to pay the pension levy because your jobs and pensions are guaranteed by the state and the taxpayer. I don't know how any of you can feel that it's unreasonable for private sector workers to have that opinion?

Fair enough, I'll hold my hand up about the OT. I was wrong about that. [Awaits frenzied attack from ERU]

Again guys, I don't mind AT ALL Gardai getting paid for overtime. Ye do a great job and deserve to get paid for it put don't talk to me about;
    "we can only earn according to the pay scale and if we don't get overtime, that's all we get." Ye all knew how much the pay was before you signed up. But, you knew that you could earn more on OT.

How am I going to prove the "fact" about the salary? Shall I ask hthe guy if I can take a copy of his payslip and post it here? Come on, if we can't post on boards without documentary evidence then we're not going to be able to discuss anything. Tell me, how?
    The "fact" is, he's on a basic of around 40k and earned 83 last year. It's not possible for me to prove that so you'll just need to take it or leave it.

I only know two Gardai; my mates cousin and my girlfriend's brother. When I was thinking of joining up a few years ago the brother showed me his payslip and he again had earned a fair bit more then his basic. Again, I can't prove it to you here, but that's an unreasonable thing to ask me to do here.

But now there is 0 overtime so he is only earning his basic 40k and his allowances.
    The payslip you saw must have been from either a very busy station or it was all worked in the height of operation anvil, cause there is no way that any member of garda rank in AGS will be making 40k this year from ot.
    I know a lot of people that have not had overtime in a very long time, that includes myself.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

...now that's settled, please bring this back on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I think i'll shop around the other police forces in Ireland an negotiate betterpay and conditions for myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Nope, they left Ireland because the PRIVATE sector workers got greedy and was costing too much to pay, perhaps if those workers had taken a sufficient wage cut they could have kept their jobs? Thats one for their unions and staff. Doesnt explain why your asking me to take a reduction.
    They left Ireland because the minimum wage in other countries is lower or there is no minimum wage where they're going to...

The minimum wage is not set by the private companies, it's set by the public companies.
    deadwood wrote: »
    I think i'll shop around the other police forces in Ireland an negotiate betterpay and conditions for myself.
    Lucky you, as the private companies know they have the upper hand. You see, if the private companies went on strike, we'll be replaced; there's enough people out there looking for a job for it to happen. If the public services went on strike... the government tries to make a deal with them.

My point: the privates hand is weak, the public hand is as strong as it ever was.

Last thing: I wonder will the public sector still want what the IT companies have... massive lay-offs, massive cut backs...?

the_syco wrote: »
    They left Ireland because the minimum wage in other countries is lower or there is no minimum wage where they're going to...

The minimum wage is not set by the private companies, it's set by the public companies.

Lucky you, as the private companies know they have the upper hand. You see, if the private companies went on strike, we'll be replaced; there's enough people out there looking for a job for it to happen. If the public services went on strike... the government tries to make a deal with them.

My point: the privates hand is weak, the public hand is as strong as it ever was.

Last thing: I wonder will the public sector still want what the IT companies have... massive lay-offs, massive cut backs...?

AGS can't strike, we're not allowed.
    Skilled employees are being kept in companies. Apple and the rest of them aren't laying off programmers, developers etc.

I wont attack you. Im just going to put you were you have belonged since you started.

NOt really. The government writes into law based on consultation with business and unions. At no point is AGS, DFB or Nurses and our unions involved. Either way, the minimum wage and the resulting problems in Dell, etc were not by my hand so why should I pay for it?

Thats horse manure. You have the legal right to strike without losing your job. We dont. You seriously need to double check your employment agreement and rights.

Funny how things turn around huh? I remember back on the 14th May 1999 the Irish times printing a story about how employers couldnt get the staff fast enough due to a shortage. This resulted in the workers being able gto make demands in return for their services or else the company lost business.
    I wonder why the public sector have such a dire need to drag everyone down with them

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Skilled employees are being kept in companies. Apple and the rest of them aren't laying off programmers, developers etc.
    Not true - skilled employees are being let go. I know of a couple of good IT developers who've been let go in the last few months due to the downturn.

To those affected by the levy - would you prefer a pay cut or would you like an opt-out clause (with final pension adjusted accordingly or maybe no ability to get back in)?

ixoy wrote: »
    Not true - skilled employees are being let go. I know of a couple of good IT developers who've been let go in the last few months due to the downturn.

Prove it with evidence please

deadwood wrote: »
    The point being that I can't, unless I start in a different career. An I.T. worker, for example, can look into other I.T. companies here and abroad and negotiate conditions (in good times and bad). They can shop around for their pension and it's not compulsory. I can't do that as my experience and training is fairly specific to my job. And, besides, the ladeees love a man in uniform.

Some companies will hit the wall, some will thrive. That's competition.

For years, business here was calling out for a more laissez faire attitude from the government on one hand but insisting on low corporate taxes on the other. Irish private business has, to a large degree, proven they are unable to compete with the big boys without a leg up.

Now that things are tough for everyone, we are expected to dig deep again to bail out those who creamed it for so long.

We are also being made to feel guilty about having secure pensionable jobs. Well I chose a secure pensionable job when things were tough years ago. Was I lucky or wise?

Every skilled person i know still has a job = that includes IT, aerospace, engineering, pharmaceutical.... i accept there are exceptions to every one though

I have no problem paying the pension levy but i feel that the public service is being scr*wed... every person in the country should be sharing the burden equally

And to answer your question... we've already taken a pay cut.
    I signed a legally binding contract on joining and my pension was in that contract...... so i want every penny of my pension when i retire because so I am legally entitled to every penny of it. Not my fault or any other person in public sectors fault that government had to use the money to bail out the banks.

What? Are you for real? Not every redundancy makes national news - lots of small IT companies are reducing staff numbers and it won't make the press and I'm funnily enough not going to ask people to post up their letters.

I could equally ask posters here to put up all their bills and "prove" the levy is actually crippling to them.

ixoy wrote: »
    What? Are you for real? Not every redundancy makes national news - lots of small IT companies are reducing staff numbers and it won't make the press and I'm funnily enough not going to ask people to post up their letters.

I could equally ask posters here to put up all their bills and "prove" the levy is actually crippling to them.

Absolutely agree. Thats my point. Its silly to ask people to show proof on the internet to back up personal experience

I'm not asking for proof though - I'm just asking what you think is a solution?

Pay cuts are unfortunately going to become common (actual cuts, not reneging on future pay rises) because various employers - including the government - suddenly don't have enough cash owing to a range of issues. The levy is a partial measure to rectify this but it's not nearly enough. If the public sector were to take all the pain, you'd have to be paid nothing for the next few years. The next measure, the new budget, will affect all equally. It's all pain, no gain and yes be annoyed but accept that many people will be sharing other pain that you won't face and there's going to be a lot of unhappiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭badlyparkedmerc

Wish gardai were always so anxious about having evidence. :)

How about Ericcson? 300 layoffs. http://www.javno.com/en-world/ericsson-to-cut-300-jobs-in-ireland_231454
    One example - but it's seen as a bell weather within the local industry.

There are many people being let go but they don't often hit the news IT contractors getting slashed in the private and even more so in the public sector.

Gardai could easily switch over to security work, so they're actually better placed than many public sector workers for switching to the private sector. Won't get paid as much but that's the way of our critically unbalanced economy

Id say there's a lot of repossessions going to happen this year......

There are many people being let go but they don't often hit the news IT contractors getting slashed in the private and even more so in the public sector.

Gardai could easily switch over to security work, so they're actually better placed than many public sector workers for switching to the private sector. Won't get paid as much but that's the way of our critically unbalanced economy

Plus most members of AGS have a degree at the very least these days before joining up... so they don't need to become security guards.

These people chose to join AGS instead of private sector during the good times, they could have made a fortune in private sector but gave there expertise to AGS.... some thanks they got

happyhappy wrote: »
    i am still glad i joined the gardai and have no regrets but what i want is some form of fairness in how everyone contributes.
    Well you just said though that they took a 10% cut, which is more than the pension levy adds up to... so what extra additional cut should they take? If you want fairness, should you not take an equal cut? Should they pay a pension levy in addition to their 10% cut in addition to all the other levies and tax increases we're all facing? How is that fair either? Should everyone have the exact same wage?

Your idea of Garda work is a little . . . naive? A guard would be more suited to administration!

psni wrote: »
    ...now that's settled, please bring this back on topic.
    Back out of retirement?
    A little tough love required in the E.S forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

pa990 wrote: »

Speak for yourself

amacachi wrote: »
    I've no problem if the Guards go on strike, once they don't announce it, just to see who notices other than people who need a passport application form stamped.

Idiotic Post

"Pay into my pension too?!?!?. STRRRRRIKE!"

and not ;
    "we'll take some money off you now and give it, and lot's more, back to you when you retire"

**PS** I happen to think the Emergency Services do great work but I keep hearing them say;

So, if you don't want a pension levy, how about a pay cut?

This Pension levy has nothing to do with the pensions. Its is PAY CUT.
    It is also designed to cull the numbers by forcing people into retirement.
    Unfortunately the frontline services ( Fire, Ambulance, Garda, Nursing, Prison Officers, Teachers etc) cannot take a mass exodus of staff.
    The funds generated are not going into the pension fund.
    When the economy turns around we will be left far far behind and the private sector will not give a sh!t