Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Next Mr O

• 15-03-2009 12:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭

In fearness to Dexter Jackson he is an amazing bodybuilder but if Vic comes in looking likes this at the Mr O you will be king and has the potential of holding the title for a couple of years. Check him out, one of my favourite bodybuilders
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EbDhlysPUY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Vic does have one big problem though

Kai Green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭jethrodublin

i can see dex out of the top 5. if jay nails his condition with haney this year he's a massive contender again.

throw in kai, branch, phil and the x man and i can't see dexter walking home with anything.

victor is as dumb as a bucket of ****, a bad ambassador for the sport/ and he's a bit lazy on his condition.

maybe he needs to drop into you keith for a discounted tub of massacra.

p.s- that was a bad scarf thursday :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

I expect to see both phil heath and dennis wolf challenging for the top spot.It'll be interesting to see jays big comeback and how the blade tries to defend his title.Its gonna be interesting alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

It's hard to see past Kai Green after his showing in the Arnold Classic, should be interesting viewing though as it's gonna be a close one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

Top 5 O Contenders :

Dexter
    Wolf
    Heath
    Victor
    Kai

not nessecarily in that order. i think cutlers has had his day (even though he still has a lot to offer) but symetry and condition is gonna play a bigger role than just mass in the next few O's i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭jethrodublin

i don't th wolf will be there this year, i think next year as he still seems to be playing around with a few things. and i dunno if that hernia will cause his problems for his prep.

i think the ifbb tried to bring it back from a size game with dex last year, but personally i don't think it worked. for publicity bigger is better.

kai is fantastic, and i'm a big fan a long time(pre grapefruit time) but i don't think he's there this year. the asc was a piss poor line up so he walked it, but with the bigger lads i don't think he will take the title. but def top 3.

team grapefruit

I think its unfair on guys like kai and martinez who are competing at both the arnold and olympia, whereas all the other big names are competing at the olympia only. This is starting to become a trend that I dont like-guys competing at both one year and,as soon as they make the top few in the olympia, only the olympia the second year. They should all be made to compete x times a year,its good for the sport and it evens things up

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

fatal wrote: »
    I think its unfair on guys like kai and martinez who are competing at both the arnold and olympia, whereas all the other big names are competing at the olympia only. This is starting to become a trend that I dont like-guys competing at both one year and,as soon as they make the top few in the olympia, only the olympia the second year. They should all be made to compete x times a year,its good for the sport and it evens things up

Dieting and peaking multiple times in a year is immensely difficult on your body. Especially when you're going to the extreme these guys are. And to make a noticable improvement year on year requires a proper off season.

Dudes get paid at the Olympia... that's just how it is. The potential winnings there are much greater. So once you get to the standard that you can seriously compete for those winnings, it makes sense to concentrate on it!

i don't th wolf will be there this year, i think next year as he still seems to be playing around with a few things. and i dunno if that hernia will cause his problems for his prep.

i think the ifbb tried to bring it back from a size game with dex last year, but personally i don't think it worked. for publicity bigger is better.

kai is fantastic, and i'm a big fan a long time(pre grapefruit time) but i don't think he's there this year. the asc was a piss poor line up so he walked it, but with the bigger lads i don't think he will take the title. but def top 3.

team grapefruit

The last I heard of it, Wolf said that he'd be competing at this years olympia.He had the operation some time ago so he's probably back to training a while now.
    I disagree with "bigger is better" giving bodybuilding the publicity it wants. Infact, I think its led to the negative stereotypical image associated with bodybuilding.

Hanley wrote: »
    Dieting and peaking multiple times in a year is immensely difficult on your body. Especially when you're going to the extreme these guys are. And to make a noticable improvement year on year requires a proper off season.

Dudes get paid at the Olympia... that's just how it is. The potential winnings there are much greater. So once you get to the standard that you can seriously compete for those winnings, it makes sense to concentrate on it!

Totally agree with everything you said.There is no incentive whatsoever for the top guys to do any shows besides the olympia,so why bother!?And it any such incentives were introduces, the combination of multiple peaking and dieting would take their toll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭tommy57

i reckon silvio samuel is going to be in with a shout seen as their going more with symetery and conditioning.jay cutler will have to be in some shape to regain the olympia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

tommy57 wrote: »
    i reckon silvio samuel is going to be in with a shout seen as their going more with symetery and conditioning.jay cutler will have to be in some shape to regain the olympia.

i think silvio is just too damn small!!

what ever happened Trey Brewer?? Fattest man ever!

he came 4th in the nationals weighing 235lbs he looked in good nick.in 2007 he tried the size game and as you said he looked fat.the new 202lb at the olympia will be more interesting maybe tan the main event.

i think silvio is just too damn small!!

what ever happened Trey Brewer?? Fattest man ever!

Lol he's only young. He'll learn how to work off seasons and diets some day.

Dude's got SICK legs. When his upper body catches up he'll be a force.

Dave Henry for the 202 again!!

i reckon james "FLEX" lewis will give him a good run for his money. though henry is the best at the moment at 202. i wonder will they make the olympia the same way it was in the 70,s. the 202 and main event. then the two winners go into an overall posedown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

I like Dexters odds of keeping it. If you've seen any recent pics of him you'll know why, the guy is huge, and maintaining his trademark midsection. People always think of Dexter as being the small guy in the top 3 or 4, but his small days are long gone. Also he is the most complete, has the fewest weaknesses, and comes in the best condition, that's what wins shows right?

Victor's left leg was noticably down at the Arnold, his calves are full of oil, and his condition wasn't too great either. Having said that he's still probably the best upper body in the show.

Phil Heath is an unbelievable bodybuilder. Sick muscle roundness/fullness. Cartoon arms. Very comparable to Dexter, only Dexter will have more width on stage with a better shoulder to waist ratio.

Dennis Wolf is overrated, in my opinion of course. The guy's a complete freak, but has some structural flaws: high lats, lower back isn't great. His most muscular is sick. He'll be outclassed by the top guys.

Jay Cutler could win this if he comes in condition. He's a lot of size for anyone to overcome. He has some issues.... Arms are down in size, one bicep is torn, right leg looks noticably worse every year, not the greatest midsection by any means, and he tends to look like a fridge when standing relaxed. However, he's the most marketable guy on stage and he makes Weider/AMI the most $$$. But we all know there's no politics in bodybuilding...

Kai Green also has a legitimate claim to this. Unreal physique, really stands out on stage. He's recently beaten Victor, with ease. He'll have better legs than anyone on stage, Branch Warren included, and he has his trademark glutes and lats that seem to insert at his waist.

My prediction is

1 Dexter
    2 Kai
    3 Phil
    4 Jay
    5 Victor
    6 Wolf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

I'd rather if it was a white man but I think it will be Phil Heath.
    Hopefully Chuck Norris in second.

I'd rather if it was a white man

Why's that walt0r?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

Hi mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

I reckon Kai, awesome shape

Hanley wrote: »
    Why's that walt0r?

hahahahaha:) +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

I'd Love to see kai winning but i think his shady history might play against him.

i,m going to change my mind and go for jay cutler. he,s training with phil heath now and his trainer.so he changing his ways of previous years so i reckon he,ll beat dexter jackson this time.

1.cutler
    2.heath
    3.jackson
    4.freeman
    5.wolf

that would be my top 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Just a little post in here for anyone casually browsing this thread who's not into bodybuilding but is wondering about what people mean by Kai Greene's past.

Don't google it. It's not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

i know, i didnt want to put it in the thread, id reccomend people leave it as it is

has anyone seen good luck chuck??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Many pro's have done similar, and sure half of the top female bb'ers have all done some questionable stuff, it comes with the territory, and also reflects how they make f*ck all money from bodybuilding which is pathetic because there's ALOT of money in the industry.

There's speculation that Ben Weider died with over a BILLION Dollars in his bank account. There's something seriously wrong with that right there (if it's true of course). It's true that he's part of what created the sport as it's known today, but he made all his money off the backs of young bodybuilders like these women and men (e.g. Kai, as he's been mentioned) who struggle to find sponsorship and support themselves and resort to doing gayforpay cr^p, meanwhile Ben dies sitting on 1 BILLION $.....

I think every pro, male and female, should get a contract with the IFBB. It would make the sport more legitimate, and I don't believe the money isn't there.

muscletech has taken the big names with bsn behind them.thats how most muscletech bodybuilders can afford to only do the olympia every year.its the lads doing the grand prix circuit getting feck all.as you said if your a pro you should be paid as one without having to rely on big supplement companies to pay you.