Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Science!!!!

• 13-03-2009 1:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭

Is anyone else in 1st yr science finding it impossible to study? I was thinking if anyone was interested to have a study group, swap notes, encourage/coerce/force each other to work. Anyone interested? Pm me. Also any 2nd/3rd/4th yrs welcome too, pass on the experience!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

Ah first year's grand! IMHO you'll br sorted with about 2/3 weeks study for the subjects you did for the LC provided you've gone to at least the odd lecture. Maybe if you're doing a subject you haven't done for the LC then a few extra weeks wouldn't hurt.

You've got, what, like 9/10 weeks 'til the exams which is plenty of time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭JC06

piby wrote: »
    Ah first year's grand! IMHO you'll br sorted with about 2/3 weeks study for the subjects you did for the LC provided you've gone to at least the odd lecture. Maybe if you're doing a subject you haven't done for the LC then a few extra weeks wouldn't hurt.

You've got, what, like 9/10 weeks 'til the exams which is plenty of time :)

Do many people fail much? The exam papers are scaring me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

JC06 wrote: »
    Do many people fail much? The exam papers are scaring me :(

I'd never advise looking at the exam papers first..
    Have a look over notes, try to do all the the tutorials.. Then have a stab at the past papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

Thanks for the encouragement, Was molecular medcine a popular choice last yr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭emollett

Thanks for the encouragement, Was molecular medcine a popular choice last yr?

See here for number of first choices/places.
    As far as i know you didn't need a first to get in to it. You certainly didn't to get in to Biochemistry in general, and the general biochem isn't all that different. Have a look through that thread, it has some useful info about science choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭maherro

Mol Med is basically about cancer and asthma - which tbh is fairly boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭seacláid-te

Hey there, i'm a jf finding it terribly hard to study too!! what modules are u doing??

Biology, Chemistry, geology and M.methods
    haha laugh if i knew ya from class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭maherro

Keep hacking away at it lads, seriously! The first two years of science are ****, but the last two are pure class!

me 2!!!! ahhh I prob do!! :) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

maherro wrote: »
    Keep hacking away at it lads, seriously! The first two years of science are ****, but the last two are pure class!

hah! If anythings as good as maths methods last year, I'm sorted.

Seriously, the amount of messing we did during those lectures was unreal. Unfortunately attention must be paid now :(.

Has anyone started the biology lab report yet? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭GlasnevinRed

Jf here aswell. Bio, Chem, M.Methods and F.Phys. Trying to start studying.
    The only work I've done was the Chem lab write up.:eek:

Speakin of the bio lab report has anyone actually done it and how long did it take to do to any reasonable standard?

Haven't looked at it yet. I'm afraid to at this stage.:(

left in the chem one but I havn't started the bio one yet!! I'm not looking forward to it tbh!! how is study going for everyone??

I'll tell ya when I stop procrastinating:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Cool me three!ye I tried the study group thing before..didnt work.

I'll hopefully be spending some time in the Hamilton Library over the coming days. Have to make a move on my F. Physics project aswell.

Aghhhhh!!!!!

So eh study groups. Do they work?

I think they do for writing up lab reports etc but not for general study!

So what is everyone else trying to study? I'm so lost in everything I don't know where to start!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Captain Aileen

Jf here too! No idea where to start. The past papers look terrible

past papers...whoah i havnt even got that far yet!!! :(

dont, th
    ere terrifying!what subjects u doing??

I'm doing Bio, Chem and now F. Physics.
    I think I know you Aileen.:P

hmm i too live in Glasnevin. I do not do any of those subjects though......physics, maths geog and geo!

bio, chem maths m and geology for me!!

I'm doing these too. Geology Mcq the day we get back!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭cf_al_bs

anyone doing bio chem & maths?

anyone done the bio prawn report yet? i feel sick every time i think about it! and its not just 'cause of the smell! :(

Oh no..I completely forgot about that! How much is it worth??

no idea!
    enough to stress over im guessin :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Mellowsh

As a JS Biochem with Immunology, I can tell you from personal experience that study in first year science can be completely minimal and you will still do ok like. I didnt start studying until maybe a month before the exams and got high 2.2's. Not especially high results but acceptable none the less :D
    So quit stressing and enjoy JF cos the workload WILL increase next year!

Mellowsh wrote: »
    As a JS Biochem with Immunology, I can tell you from personal experience that study in first year science can be completely minimal and you will still do ok like. I didnt start studying until maybe a month before the exams and got high 2.2's. Not especially high results but acceptable none the less :D
    So quit stressing and enjoy JF cos the workload WILL increase next year!

lol! good to hear! :)

Thanks for that Mellowsh:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Mellowsh

No probs! But having said that, I did go to most of my lectures (except for a spell at the beginning of Hilary term when I deemed playing numerous games of ****head more important) and handed up all of my assignments... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ms-betsy

cf_al_bs wrote: »
    anyone doing bio chem & maths?

anyone done the bio prawn report yet? i feel sick every time i think about it! and its not just 'cause of the smell! :(

Hey!

Another JFer here and I'm doing Bio, Chem and Maths too! I never did Chemistry before and it's been terrifying. I've spent a good few days in the library these holidays so I thin I may almost maybe kinda get the gist of some of organic Chemistry but still. WTF to it all!

To be honest, I don't think we get given much to do at all... A friend of mine is in DCU and he has a massive presentation to give, assignments due and group lab reports to hand in. And that's just next week! Personally, I think we should shurrup and party more! :cool:

Hey are people doing the graphs for the bio report on paper or on pc?? Thanks

Im not sure i dont have enough graph paper so was just gonna do it on the pc to we have get the logs of the data? Or just use the results themselves?

I think it says (don't quote me on this) that the log values would be more accurate but you don't need to use them. Not 100% sure though.

Cheers i just worked out how to use excel and did my first graph without log values and I aint changing it now it took me to long.

Bajingo wrote: »
    Cheers i just worked out how to use excel and did my first graph without log values and I aint changing it now it took me to long.

The graphs are the only thing I've done yet.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Could somebody pm me the data for the nephrops? I missed that lab and haven't started the report.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭lobsterstag

i did em' on excell just using the actual results...couldnt be bothered logging them :cool:

What does everyones graphs look like? Is anyone as lost about the discussion part as I am?? :confused: Back tommorow!

Graphs are done but really stuck when it comes to the write up. Might try get a group effort going during the week.

JC06 wrote: »
    What does everyones graphs look like? Is anyone as lost about the discussion part as I am?? :confused: Back tommorow!

I gave in and ended up using the logs for the graphs:( they're not straight lines though..but im thinking I dont give a [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL]..

I followed the instructions on the pink handout and waffled my through it. Im not sure if even fully understand what allometry really is but its done now..it prob wont even be worth anything in the end!

hey..what di people think of the geology mcq??

Real $hit would of done really good but for the negative marking!..I have to say Sanders was a bit of an arse sticking some of those sneakier questions in!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

What kind of sneaky questions did he put in? I'm just curious!