Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are An Post getting more and more useless?

• 12-03-2009 1:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭

wellington quay ,dublin 2,

our postman so lazy he never rings the bell even though we work from an upstairs office and are always recieving delivery dockets for things he "attempted to deliver"

i ordered an ipod from the uk once ,asked them to send it registered and they said thats the only service they ever use
    few days later i get a knock on the door at 5.45pm,theres a chinese girl standing there with a box in her hand,says she found it left downstairs in the hall(in a block of 10 flats!!) and kept it safe for us

other times ive had registered letters(that should require signature!) just dropped into the mail box(tracking reads it was signed for! by who??)

other times ive waited weeks on stuff arriving only to contact the sender and find out that the package was in my local depot for the last 14 days and why hadnt i collected it?? (of course no delivery notice or anything!)

Ive recently been told that the post write out these "attempted delivery" dockets at the depot so they dont have to worry about actually bringing the items with them to deliver!
    Any other company wouldnt get away with this crap,the post shouldnt be any differnt

theres probly heaps of people recently laid off who would love a cushy job delivereing post and these tossers are too lazy to do what theyre being paid for

anyone else had problems with their post?
    Post edited by Sephiroth_dude on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

If my postman has something that wont fit in the letterbox he will put it in the wheelie bin and put the delivery docket in the door saying "packet in blue bin"

Yesterday he was off sick so somebody else was doing his rounds but just put a docket in the door so I had to collect it from the post office when I was supposed to be at work.

My passport is also due to arrive so if I had a postman like yours I would be VERY worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

2 years ago a few Christmas presents from overseas was lost in the mail. They could have been lost on the way to Ireland of course but I doubt it somehow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

If someone is saying that registered letters were signed for when they were not, I'm pretty sure that's fraud. I'd be getting onto the police more than An Post tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

i think our postman is dyslexic we keep getting our neighbours post(both sides) names are not even similar pain in the hole going around with post as i cant stand one of the neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

villager wrote: »
    i think our postman is dyslexic we keep getting our neighbours post(both sides) names are not even similar pain in the hole going around with post as i cant stand one of the neighbours

Maybe the postman is also a counsellor(sp?) and is trying to help mend your relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

delllat wrote: »
    other times ive had registered letters(that should require signature!) just dropped into the mail box(tracking reads it was signed for! by who??)
    On the track & trace site, you can request a copy of the delivery docket to be mailed to you.

Only two laughable ones I've had were a delivery docket for an item than when I picked it up, easily fit through the door, and a "Attempted to deliver" docket on a day where I was at home the entire day and no-one had rang the doorbell. And you cannot miss my doorbell, even when you're in the shower with the radio blaring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

seamus wrote: »
    On the track & trace site, you can request a copy of the delivery docket to be mailed to you.

Only two laughable ones I've had were a delivery docket for an item than when I picked it up, easily fit through the door, and a "Attempted to deliver" docket on a day where I was at home the entire day and no-one had rang the doorbell. And you cannot miss my doorbell, even when you're in the shower with the radio blaring.

ive had that exact same thing happen just last week,had to walk a 2 mile round trip to collect an item and when i got there it was just a large envelope that would have fit in the mail box easily (i checked)

theyre a disgrace!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭julien69

Shut up all of you.I work for An Post,i am a Postman.Basically we can do what we want ,we have a complete monopoly as were the only ones who deliver post in this country.So if you dont like it tough.Our service may be crap but do i care.No i dont.I will get paid regardless and thats all that maters to me.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

julien69 wrote: »
    Blah blah blah I have a job blah blah blah.

That's all I heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Shut up all of you.I work for An Post,i am a Postman.Basically we can do what we want ,we have a complete monopoly as were the only ones who deliver post in this country.So if you dont like it tough.Our service may be crap but do i care.No i dont.I will get paid regardless and thats all that maters to me.:p

Well done. I never really understood that mentality. Like do you wake up in the morning and go 'Hmmm, how will i be shit at something today? I know.....aha....fuck you An Post!'

Ye rebel ye.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Their delivery of parcels leaves a lot to be desired.

Their delivery of regular mail I have never had a problem with even after moving house several times.

As long as it fits through the letterbox its fine, otherwise they are useless and you should get it delivered to work or use a courier who can tell you what day he is going to turn up so you can be there to collect.

An Post clearly don't consider large parcel delivery to be part of their service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭julien69

I couldnt give a rats ass about the job as long as i get paid.I sometimes accidently lose letters of people i do not like:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Shut up all of you.I work for An Post,i am a Postman.,,,,

Hello this is Tommy Arnott.Yes we have a lot of good deals on at the moment so why not pop down to one of our stores for a bit of shopping.
    Hello my name is Sean Quinn of the Quinn group.To anwser some questions raised here we will avoid paying out at all costs so i can get richer.I love money,i wipe my ass with 50euro notes for fun
    Shut up all of you.I own Easons,my name is John Eason.If you dont like my shops go somewhere else.We have a monopoly on the Irish market so we will charge what we want,the consumer does not come into it.
    fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Yes, I've been getting a lot more of those "Attempted to deliver" dockets lately, when they did nothing of the sort...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Shiny wrote: »
    fail

Thought it was quite obvious that Julien69 was taking the piss from their first post in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Thought it was quite obvious that Julien69 was taking the piss from their first post in this thread.

Yes, it is quite obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Regularily recieve parcels .... yet never on a Friday. Clearly they don't bother their arse that close to the weekend, either that or they're just hungover from payday or something.

Worst story I have of them is on day the postie couldn't get an answer to the door of my place so he 'in order to be helpful' (his own words) left the parcel under the wheelwell of my car to await my return. Unfortunately that day there was a particularily hard rain and the package got soaked thru by the rain destroying the item inside. Well done An Post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Shiny wrote: »
    Yes, it is quite obvious.

My name's Charlie Parcelforce and we never have delivery problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I thought the fail was because he only has one joke and keep recycling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

delllat wrote: »
    our postman so lazy he never rings the bell even though we work from an upstairs office and are always recieving delivery dockets for things he "attempted to deliver"

Did you give him a tip at Christmas, do you know his name, do you offer him a cup of coffee on a cold and wet morning..., doubt it, do you really expect him to bust a gut for you...:pac:

Yeah you're right. Probably should have taken him indoors and sucked him off too while you mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Ya-Boy-Ya

I am convinced my postman takes it in turns with his work friend to work alternative weeks coz I only get my post in blocks of 6 or 7 letters !!!! Never get like 1 ... and it would go days without anything then BANG....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Yeah you're right. Probably should have taken him indoors and sucked him off too while you mention it.

:D it wouldn't hurt...

Ya-Boy-Ya wrote: »
    I am convinced my postman takes it in turns with his work friend to work alternative weeks coz I only get my post in blocks of 6 or 7 letters !!!! Never get like 1 ... and it would go days without anything then BANG....

Parcelbomb? The IRA are clearly back with a vengeance!

I arrived at my uncle's house, one day, to find his postman with his sleeves rolled up trying to fix my uncle's old banger. I don't know whether anybody else got any post that day, but I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

DOnt. Once you do its very difficult to get them to leave you alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Flashraziel

One day I was sitting in the kitchen when an attempted delivery slip came through the door. I went out to the postman to get the parcel but he didn't have it. No apology or anything. Had to leave work early to go collect it.

I suppose that he did attempt to deliver it, but couldn't because he didn't have it.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

I have had more conversations with people regarding the sheer incompetence of An Post over the last few years than any other service provider or company. I mean honestly, how hard is it to deliver post? You have a name and address on an envelope/package, so you deliver it to the address on the envelope/package. If you live in a housing estate, this makes the job even easier for the postman.

After reading a few posts, it’s clear that An Post pull the whole “well we tried deliver it the other day, but nobody was in”, scam, when we all know that it’s utter bull!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

I work for An Post from time to time ( not as a postie tho' ). Manager there was telling me about the whole 'Attempted to deliver' thing. Its because of the internets he says- a few years back parcels were only a tiny % of An Posts business, now they are becoming sizably more important since people are buying online.

Anyway for the posties who do their rounds on foot or on bike it is simply not practicable to carry around parcels. They have a limit they can carry at any one time ( I think its around 12kgs ) so if they take out your book from Amazon then they'll have to leave loads of letters behind for delivery the next day as a result.
    You might only think its only a small paperback book but when most people are ordering them then it adds up to a lot of weight. Manager also said since the internets made them busier there has been no increase in staff to compensate so hence the reason why you have to pick many things up at the depot.

Im not defending it, just telling it the way it is.

In any case An Post lose their monopoly in the market pretty soon so you'll be free to use other services.

I would have thought that was the case but if so they need to change their policies to reflect their business and not just act like everything is hunky dory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Some random information.

http://www.anpost.ie/AnPost/MainContent/About+An+Post/The+Board+and+Executive/

On a completely different topic, did you know that many companies use firstname.lastname@domain.thing as their format for email addresses?

I have to say, I'm pretty fed up with An Post not delivering packages. I understand that the postmen may be walking or on bikes in urban centres, but if they can't deliver parcels then they shouldn't accept them in the first place, or should make alternative arrangements. It's all very well saying "Get stuff delivered to work", but that doesn't help the people who work from home, are there all day, and still get "We tried to deliver" dockets.

I can't fault any rural postmen I've come across - without fail they're polite, pleasant, and go to great pains to deliver everything. I even knew one who used bring an elderly lady a pint of milk each day when she was housebound for a period of time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I've no problem with them not carrying parcels that clearly won't fit through a letter box on the delivery round with them. But I've had deliveries before of both registered letters and parcels where I have been sat in the kitchen and watched them pop the card through the door. Then gone round to the sorting office myself later that day, which is only a couple of hundred meters away, but they are then unable to find the items and claim that the postie must still have the stuff with them on the round and I should come back the next day. :confused:

I did recently send a parcel to the UK using AnPost though. Their tracking was still saying that it was in Portlaios after I'd expected it to be well on it's way across to the UK, so I contacted who I had sent the parcel to, to apologise, and they had aparently recieved it the day before from FedEx. :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

Very happy with the postal service here in Leixlip.Nothing but praise ,nice friendly lot .Similar to what another poster said he will leave stuff under the mat so we dont have to go to the depot -or in with neighbour .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I get everything delivered to work, saves so much hassle. Over here we have the option of signing the missed delivery docket with a date of your choice and posting it back and they will deliver it on that date. I usually put the following Saturday on it, when I know I'll be at home. Does An Post not offer anything like that?

jester77 wrote: »
    I get everything delivered to work, saves so much hassle. Over here we have the option of signing the missed delivery docket with a date of your choice and posting it back and they will deliver it on that date. I usually put the following Saturday on it, when I know I'll be at home. Does An Post not offer anything like that?

Well, besides the mad crazy notion of Saturday deliveries, no, they don't.

In theory if you ring the sorting office they'll redeliver the next day if you tell them you're at home. I did that once and the guy called around and dropped another "tried to deliver" docket in my letterbox. So that was alright then.

jester77 wrote: »

So did I but the receptionist took two weeks to bring one item up not that I blame her, I would have gone down and collected it had I known it arrived.

I couldn't get my TV that I bought online delivered to my work place. Its hard to bring it home on the train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I used to reguarly get packages from Germany and i'd pick them up in the Post Office because they tried to deliver them to my home address.

I had in the docket to the guy behind the counter and they return a box that is in tatters!!!! I stand there with a WTF happend to my package look on my face. The boxes i get are always in tatters, not just the ones from Germany.

I have a mental image of the package leaving the factory in Germany in mint condition being picked up by Hans the highly efficient german post man who takes extra care putting the package into his truck and then in no time he's at the airport carefully loading the package onto the plane (even wiping the package clean if a speck of dust happens to fall onto it).

Then the plane arrives in Ireland where Peter from An Post yanks my package from the plane and drop kicks it 20ft into the back of his truck!!! The package rattles around in the back of the truck for a good few hours before he arrives at the post office where he proceeds to kick my package along the ground till its behind the counter.

I was going on my holliers a couple of years back and had ot order a new ATM card, a week later it hadn't arrived and I was starting to panic so the bank reissued it - it then occurred to me that I hadn't received ANY post so I rang the sorting office and they said "ah yeh your postman is on holidays, he'll be back next week, your post is here if you wanna drop up"

Also the "could not deliver" notes, I always order stuff online and get it delivered to my mams house, as said before she has been sitting there when the docket comes in the door and they haven't even so much as knocked but then you walk 100 yards to the sorting office and it's not there either!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Never have any problems with my postman. He seems like he cares about doing a good job. Never had packages go missing or have attempted deliveries that weren't true. Now DHL and UPS are a different story. Apparently to DHL my address doesn't exisit :mad:

Postman could be worse. I remember in Australia there was a case were a woman had move her postbox inside her property more because of planning rights. If the postman can't lean off his motorbike while on the path to put the letter into the mailbox, he won't do it. I remember the news reporter following him asking why he won't give that woman her mail and asking him is he a "lazy postie"

Thoie wrote: »

That's some hair-transplant on the chairman there! Clearly his head knows more about graft than most of his employees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

I was going on my holliers a couple of years back and had ot order a new ATM card, a week later it hadn't arrived and I was starting to panic so the bank reissued it - it then occurred to me that I hadn't received ANY post so I rang the sorting office and they said "ah yeh your postman is on holidays, he'll be back next week, your post is here if you wanna drop up"

Also the "could not deliver" notes, I always order stuff online and get it delivered to my mams house, as said before she has been sitting there when the docket comes in the door and they haven't even so much as knocked but then you walk 100 yards to the sorting office and it's not there either!!

if u think its bad having to walk 100yards imagine having to walk a couple of miles to collect a package that should have been delivered and that u maybe took a day off work to wait for

its complete B/S that they cant cope with the mail anymore,theyre always increasing the postage prices and there would be ample cash to hire more staff but the managment obviously believe that they have enough staff to have every postal route covered........

hence if postmen were actually delivering what they get paid to deliver the problem wouldnt exist

imagine that ,postmen that cant be arsed delivering the post!

what next? ,going in a pub and the barman cant be arsed to serve u a pint?

That's some hair-transplant on the chairman there! Clearly his head knows more about graft than most of his employees.

I think that's a very unfair thing to say. It's clearly been drawn on with a marker.

Thoie wrote: »
    I think that's a very unfair thing to say. It's clearly been drawn on with a marker.

Nope. Here's some more pix of it taken from several angles.

http://update.dit.ie/21-06-06/20gallery2.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

I think the perfect example of an Post is that a postcard i sent from south africa got to wexford before a letter i sent from cork before i left did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Is it ok to like your postman?

A very friendly and down to Earth postman, south Dublin. Asks about us if we've not been around, always leaves a docket and japes my Mum with, 'I see your son's been buying online again..' (saucy grin)

We know he'll never bring the parcel, so thats a given, it suits us, and him.

If he sees you out and about and the weather is a bit iffy, will swing the door open and offer you a lift. Just a nice person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

This epitomises An Post and largely explains why for years they were losing 800k a week - overly unionised shower of tossers who wouldn't know what it is to work a full day - they give a new meaning to the word inefficient. Who'd want to do any banking business in a Post Office either? Most of them smell like the lions enclosure in the zoo and the people behind the encounter are generally shabby, unprofessional looking semi comatose bufoons !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

i live in the rural but not with my parents, there's one postie who will only deliver my post to my folks' gaff and another who saves up my post until i've a decent amount and then delivers it, the same one on seeing my front door was open one day, casually leaned in and threw all the post into a bag of coal, what a b!tch

ps read going postal by terry pratchett

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Former employee for An Post for a brief period,and thank god I dont work for them anymore,the most clannish tribal job Ive ever worked,basically full of these auldfellas who have had a coshy number for the past 30 years,and dont take kindly to any new people joining this slackers mafia,so they treat all new staff like sh*te because they dont want it to impinge on their organised laziness.............................................the attitude is 'Joe I'm after losing about 20 letters because I went into the bookies for half an hour,and left the bike outside and when came out the letters were gone''.....'Supervisor:ah dont worry Pat,we'll just say that they were never in the bag in the first place,lets go for a smoke',...................................with this mentality its lucky we get our post delivered at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Fat_Fingers

RATM wrote: »
    I work for An Post from time to time ( not as a postie tho' ). Manager there was telling me about the whole 'Attempted to deliver' thing. Its because of the internets he says- a few years back parcels were only a tiny % of An Posts business, now they are becoming sizably more important since people are buying online.

Anyway for the posties who do their rounds on foot or on bike it is simply not practicable to carry around parcels. They have a limit they can carry at any one time ( I think its around 12kgs ) so if they take out your book from Amazon then they'll have to leave loads of letters behind for delivery the next day as a result.
    You might only think its only a small paperback book but when most people are ordering them then it adds up to a lot of weight. Manager also said since the internets made them busier there has been no increase in staff to compensate so hence the reason why you have to pick many things up at the depot.

Im not defending it, just telling it the way it is.

In any case An Post lose their monopoly in the market pretty soon so you'll be free to use other services.

Well it that is true and An Post policy then they should not piss off everyone with "attempted to deliver" con. Just come out and say it to the public instead of this sorry mess.