Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Keoghs moving/gone?

• 12-03-2009 1:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭

I've heard there is a car transporter truck removing all the cars from Pat Keoghs place in Limerick today. Are they moving or worse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Didn't hear anything about that... interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

News will break in time if there's anything up, in the mean time, there is an announcement in the Forum not to be spreading rumours around as they genuinely do affect business.

If it's confirmed, it'll be in the Media soon enough, and it should be fine to link then. If not, it's best to lock this one up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Is there a chance they were't removing cars but they might be delivering some of the Sterling Collection cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

ned78 wrote: »
    News will break in time if there's anything up, in the mean time, there is an announcement in the Forum not to be spreading rumours around as they genuinely do affect business.

If it's confirmed, it'll be in the Media soon enough, and it should be fine to link then. If not, it's best to lock this one up.

Indeed. Closing this now. If anyone has any confirmation (with link), pm me and I'll re-open this thread.

Looks like it's official:

linky

(Thanks Stevie Dakota for coming up with the link)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Confirmed on Live 95fm news at Lunch time today that Pat Keogh has gone into liquidation.

I knew that forecourt looked a little sparse.

I feel sorry for his staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Is this the same Pat Keogh who has the numerous yellow recovery trucks?

Sorry. Opened this thread when other was locked. Now the other thread is open with link to Limerick leader.

Here.

Lock er up.

http://www.limerickleader.ie/news/Pat-Keogh-dealership-closes-over.5066698.jp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

shame to see it happen, sorry for allthe staff that have been let go...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Does anyone know if the Nissan side if things is affected?

Its a sad day for the staff down there. Plenty more to come too.

I've merged Berty's thread into this one rather than closing it, to keep it all together (better for future searches, etc.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

More sad news for those involved. I suspect there are a lot of dealers (and other businesses) who have limped through the first few months of this year in the hope that something would change. Nothing has and now the kitty is empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Is this the same Pat Keogh who has the numerous yellow recovery trucks?

Nope. It's a main BMW/Mini & Nissan dealership in Limerick. www.patkeogh.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

crosstownk wrote: »
    Nope. It's a main BMW/Mini & Nissan dealership in Limerick. www.patkeogh.ie

Pat Keogh is long gone from Nissan. Pat Tierney took it over and is situated about half a mile from him.

Heard they were going, didn't know it was this soon. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Can anyone definitively say what happens to customers money and car's in situations like this -

1) Customer who has paid deposit and is waiting on car
    2) Customer who has maybe paid full amount into account and is picking up car that day..
    3) List goes on...

I have just put deposit on UK car and are picking up next week and paying with draft (No jumping in and blaming people like me for killing the trade - I am trying to survive like everyone else and just save a few quid); they obviously suggested I transfer money beforehand (they are main Ford dealer around 75 years) and I said No! - what if they went out of business the day I transferred in money etc and I did not have my car!

I know we may all think we are experts and will say customer loses etc - but what is the exact law here?

For instance - Was it not reported that Langan's furniture took in circa €1.5m cash the weekend before they closed! If they purposely did that with the intention of defrauding customers then they need to go to jail and should not be able to hide behind the limited company excuse!

Our law is too lax - in countries such as the US you go to jail and questions are asked later - over here you go play a few rounds of golf in Druids Glen, go off to Marbella and live it up... then refuse to come in front of the senate committee... two finger's to us all!! No need to name names in this instance:cool:

Thoughts anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭cvisser

another sad day in the motor industry. How much worse can this get! Keep the chin up lads, we all pull 2gether and we will see out the end of this difficult time.

I think if you have put a deposit on a car and the dealer goes bankrupt, then you will be put onto a list of creditors. It could be a while before you'd get your money back. Am i right in saying that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

That would be my reading of it too. And you'd be fairly low down the list of creditors tbh, the bank, the tax man and the major suppliers will get paid first.

I doubt you'd see your deposit back.

You'd be right down the bottom of the list IMO. Your prob right about never seeing it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

AudiChris wrote: »
    That would be my reading of it too. And you'd be fairly low down the list of creditors tbh, the bank, the tax man and the major suppliers will get paid first.

I doubt you'd see your deposit back.

If you paid the deposit by Credit Card then you should be ok under irish law. But if you handed over cash/cheque or paid by lazer then your fecked and will be lucky to see anything back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭sparklepants

@paddydriver:

Previous comments assume that the business is insolvent or bankrupt. It's also worth noting that many retailers are winding up at the moment because their operations will not be financially viable into the future or because they've stopped making profits. It doesn't necessarily follow that they're insolvent. In many of these cases all creditors are paid fully and the businesses are wound down in an orderly fashion. I know two retailers who have done this in recent weeks (albeit not car dealerships).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Shocked to see this.

According to the LP article, it sounds like it was their decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

I always thought Pat Keogh had the perfect mix of models with a high turnover car like Nissan and a premium brand like BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Maybe now we can ask the question again - should VRT go? There'll be more stories like this in the not too distant future.

Reminder now it was Voluntary liquidation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Healyc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Berty wrote: »
    Reminder now it was Voluntary liquidation.

Why is that?

I was there a few saturdays back and was waiting/walking for ages for someone to come over.When a fella did come over there was no sign of a test drive coming after 10 mins of chatting and it was priced to sell, which it clearly wasnt.He wanted 13k for a 03 320d :(

Biro wrote: »
    Maybe now we can ask the question again - should VRT go? There'll be more stories like this in the not too distant future.

Ahh how would that help?

If they got rid of VRT, everyone would buy cars from the UK/North!

VRT is the only thing keeping people buying used here.

Tony Broke wrote: »
    Ahh how would that help?

If they got rid of VRT, everyone would buy cars from the UK/North!

VRT is the only thing keeping people buying used here.

You don't see the big picture unfortunately. You deflate the price of everything to match, you have to. New car prices here will come in line with new prices over there. 2nd hand will follow suit. Cost to change will remain approximately the same, as the new car will have dropped by the same percentage as the current owned car for any given person.

So garages will lose thousands/millions over night and the goverment even more so?

Vat is going to drop too?

Its whats needed alright, but now is probably the worst time imo.

Tony Broke wrote: »
    So garages will lose thousands/millions over night and the goverment even more so?

Vat is going to drop too?

Its whats needed alright, but now is probably the worst time imo.

They won't loose millions, due to the fact that they'll be taking in cheaper cars traded against the cheaper cars, and will in turn sell the traded cars easier.

Yeah, our next budget is going to be a price deflating exercise!!! :D:D:D

Back on topic:

Pat Keogh is gone, no new news there.

Who will take over?

I am going to put my money on Tom Hogan in Ennis, Galway and Shannon. He has BMW in Galway along with Barrys in Motorpark but surely mr Hogan will take on BMW Limerick.

If I wanted a BMW and could not get one in Limerick I would likely head to Galway but I could easily head to Cork. Somebody better capitalise on the 50/50 customer in this case.

TBH Berty, i doubt anyone has the balls to take on a new showroom/franchise at the minute.

If they do, then fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

If I wanted a BMW and could not get one in Limerick I would likely head to Galway but I could easily head to Cork. Somebody better capitalise on the 50/50 customer in this case.
    You could always go to Morrisons in Tipp which is closer than both Cork and Galway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

TBH Berty, i doubt anyone has the balls to take on a new showroom/franchise at the minute.

If they do, then fair play to them.

I don't know really that particular forecourt and showroom is only open about 2 years so it would need little or no work to reopen it and the BMW franchise is not the worse to have even in the current climate to be honest.

Yes you would need a big pair of balls to take it on but the days for making easy money are gone.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I don't know really that particular forecourt and showroom is only open about 2 years so it would need little or no work to reopen it and the BMW franchise is not the worse to have even in the current climate to be honest.

Yes you would need a big pair of balls to take it on but the days for making easy money are gone.

Suppose its a case of who has the finances to take it on. It'l be interesting to see if anyone does take it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

Ahern's in Castleisland. Get there quicker from Limerick than to Galway or Cork (well, maybe Galway is nearer if you are on the Caherdavin side !). Got a few services done there. Very reasonable (by main dealer standards !). Very good service. If I remember correctly they charged 230-250 for major service on a 04 318. Can't remember the Keogh's price but it was way way more.

I would never have considered Morrisons in Cahir and didnt even think of Casteisland. Castleisland is 1 hour and 10 minutes from my house. Galway is now 1 hour and 15 minutes but if I wanted service and I bought my car from Hogan in Galway then I could get it serviced in Hogans in Shannon under warranty.

TBH given 15 minutes each they are all relatively equidistant(sp) to each other.

I bought my car from Hogan in Galway then I could get it serviced in Hogans in Shannon under warranty.

I don't think you could, and I stand to be corrected on it, but I think to service a BMW and claim warranty on it, the warranty claims must be accompanied by print outs from BMW Diagnostic equipment (Where it's necessary), so you'd have to go to the Galway Dealer for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

@ Thoes who are thinking <snip> will take the franchise for BMW. I heard they are looking in trouble also. Their Lexus place on the Doc road has gone and a few more may follow.

There is a rumour that <snip> could be taking on BMW for Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

lyons must be loaded seeing as he just took on volvo too!!!!

was out by pat keoghs just there..most of the stock gone....nice 00 735i still sitting there though...

Twin-go's post edited and Twin-go banned for a week for spreading rumours. Read the announcement folks. No rumours.

lyons must be loaded seeing as he just took on volvo too!!!!

I think Volvo are going to come on in the next year or two, they're doing some efficient engines now, and their designs are beginning to improve too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭reverandkenjami

XXXX are closing their BMW dealership on XXXX road this week too..

Modedit
    FFS ...back it up or be banned.
    How many more times do we have to explain it?

Banned for a week

I think if you are running a business that charges over 100 Euro an hour for mechanical labour and still can't make it work, you're obviously doing something wrong, especially when you have a whole territory of BMW & Mini aftersales all to yourself. I know he said the vehicle sales environment is what caused him to go under, but surely his aftersales business was extremely strong.

I imagine there are some very stressed out BMW drivers out there in that neck of the woods now, wondering how they will maintain the BMWMDFSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I was talking to a girl today who bought a Mini from them. She hasn't collected it yet but now has to wait a month before she can have it.

Mods: This isn't a rumour, but delete it if ye feel is unappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

To be honest, I wouldn't have even considered Pat Keogh at the beginning of the week if I was asked who I thought was going to go into liquidation. I'm very shocked. There were big plans for that place only a year ago.

There are a number of de-franchised dealers in Limerick at the moment, but I imagine BMW Ireland won't seek to re-appoint a dealer as there isn't the demand to sustain it and as pointed out there are delaers in Tipp and Castleisland.

Sad day for anyone who has put that much building up into a business to be in a position where they deem it necessary to liquidate.

There have been many rumours doing the rounds and I imagine it's not helping some businesses, there's no point really.