Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Paycheques with Pension Levy...

• 11-03-2009 10:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

I was talking to a mate of mine tonight who works in the Prison Service. Got a shock when he told me that he paid 150 euro in a levy towards his pension for 2 weeks pay. Says it will be higher on the next pay day as his allowances were not considered on today's cheque.
    That's some hit to take...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Jesus!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

The government sure takes a bite don't she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Quaver

the levy depends on how much you earn, so he's obviously earning a fair bit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Quaver wrote: »

Thats what I was thinkin'

He must be earning a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

well it costs my mother 3 euro something a fortnight :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭farva

€75 a week is a fair hit to take but your mate is obviously on quite a high salary for that, and to be fair welcome to the real world.

In my place we recently found out that we aren't getting paid bonuses this year for fees earned and targets met over the last year. That equates to annual pay cuts of 30% to 50%!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Malached

Poor little baby. As someone who is self-employed and not sure of getting paid next month, I have a lot of sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

farva wrote: »
    €75 a week is a fair hit to take but your mate is obviously on quite a high salary for that, and to be fair welcome to the real world.

In my place we recently found out that we aren't getting paid bonuses this year for fees earned and targets met over the last year. That equates to annual pay cuts of 30% to 50%!!!!

But that's not really a pay cut. I'm sure if you read your contract you will see a paragraph somewhere that probably states that bonus's are not guaranteed and based on company/personal performance.

Still sucks though when you are used to getting it :(

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

To stop my pension going down the shitter, and to not have to worry on a daily basis if i'm going to get the boot, i'll happily take on that amount as a levy.

Tell your friend he's in a better position than most.

bbability wrote: »
    I was talking to a mate of mine tonight who works in the Prison Service. Got a shock when he told me that he paid 150 euro in a levy towards his pension for 2 weeks pay. Says it will be higher on the next pay day as his allowances were not considered on today's cheque.

god love him, he must be on the breadline.

and a grand a week.

1800 per fortnight gross....he just text me...

did he?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

delly wrote: »
    To stop my pension going down the shitter, and to not have to worry on a daily basis if i'm going to get the boot, i'll happily take on that amount as a levy.

Tell your friend he's in a better position than most.

Whats that? Oh it must be good ol' begrudgery! :rolleyes:

I'm sure the OPs friend is a hard worker and earns that money, its unfair that the ordinary worker, wether public or private, has to bear the brunt of the vast majority of the governments cock ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Quaver wrote: »

Yeah well its not his fault the private sector went on a 10 year bender and spent all the money the made and never kept any for a rainy day.

On the other hand hopefully he'll be babysitting a few corrupt bankers in the next few years. There the ones who got us into to this mess...

On and roll on April 2nd when the rest of us get it up the swiss... Don't think for a second that Civil Servants will be repaying the toxic debts.

god i was so confused, i mis-read and thought you meant the 1% levy and couldn't get my head around the maths..

anywho, that's a big hit.. :( and another budget coming up

Yeah well its not his fault the private sector went on a 10 year bender and spent all the money the made and never kept any for a rainy day.

On the other hand hopefully he'll be babysitting a few corrupt bankers in the next few years. There the ones who got us into to this mess...

On and roll on April 2nd when the rest of us get it up the swiss... Don't think for a second that Civil Servants will be repaying the toxic debts.

Its also about time the public sector started contributing properly to their big pensions. They should be happy to actually have a job.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

Calculations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

rarnes1 wrote: »
    They should be happy to actually have a job

Popular quote nowadays to soothe public servants while we rape them up the arse

I'd take a raping for a weeks work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

got a letter today telling me, my pension company had lost half my pension fund including some unspecified amount of fees since 2004. I wonder if I priced a defined benefit scheme to move into, as I'm out of work and need to move the fund, what percentage of 204 euros a week would I need to buy a hundred and 2 euros plus inflation plus fifteen grand lump sum I'd need.....

Can anyone in the know tell me, Are pensioners paying the levy? why do people over 65 get twice the tax free allowances?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

yeah the prison guard i know comes out with about a grand a week....

guess the more you earn the more ya pay...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Plenty of auld overtime in that job.

Yes it is stressfull, but the sickness level is enormous, hence the benders on overtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Plenty of auld overtime in that job.

Yes it is stressfull, but the sickness level is enormous, hence the benders on overtime.
    7 hours a week is plenty of over time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've been hit for just over €50- per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Malached wrote: »
    Poor little baby. As someone who is self-employed and not sure of getting paid next month, I have a lot of sympathy.

jealousy is a bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Well as someone who deals with rapists, murderers, terrorists and general scumbags, who has to guard his personal details in case his family is targetted, who is liable to be taken hostage, stabbed, needlestuck by the most pox infested fnckers in society or have buckets of piss and **** thrown all over him, I think it's fair to say he knows what the real world is like and you haven't a fnckin' clue.

Oh, I live in the real world alright.

Except unlike the real world you live in, mine involves oversea's missions to dangerous ol' sh*t holes the likes of which you can only see at the movies.

It involves escorting YOUR cash safely around the country, it for some of my comrades it involves defusing pipe bombs in Finglas, Tallagh, Limerick etc and if N.I. goes off again it'll mean securing the border so that YOU can have free and safe movement about our wonderful little country - which only by the grace of god and the villigence of the Defence Forces and ASG didn't rip itself apart Yugoslavia style over the last 30 years.

It also involved working for less than the average industrial wage while the private sector arse raped the fu*k out of this country. But I stuck it out, because its what soldiers do - its the life I chose.

My real life also involved the loss of friends and comrades killed in the service for world peace - what have YOU done buddy?.

I'm sure a nurse on duty in an A&E department tonight could enlighten you further about her real life, or a guard on duty in some rotten sh*t hole - or a prison officer who'll spend more time in Mountjoy during his working life than many a murderer or rapist - as them about their real lives!.

And finally, from YOUR real life profile..

About farva
    Occupation
    Student

'Student' - now what in the name of sweet baby Jesus would you know about real life?.

Is momma gonna pay your new student fee's? - ask HER about real life and getting those fee's together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

If he did not want to put up with that then why did he take the job in the first place?
    dresden8 wrote: »
    Well as someone who deals with rapists, murderers, terrorists and general scumbags, who has to guard his personal details in case his family is targetted, who is liable to be taken hostage, stabbed, needlestuck by the most pox infested fnckers in society or have buckets of piss and **** thrown all over him, I think it's fair to say he knows what the real world is like alright.

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    If he did not want to put up with that then why did he take the job in the first place?

Maybe you or your daddy were afraid to?.

Someone has to step up to the plate and deal with the worlds filth.

BOFH_139 wrote: »

There is such a thing called public service, where people do nasty things because it's the right thing to do.

I realise the celtic cubs like to fnck each other over in the pursuit of a higher bonus (which they're not going to get this year, the poor dears).

For some, they take on sh1tty work for the security that it offers. They did not expect to be villified by society for taking on that sh1tty work. That p1ssants wouldn't dare do in the first place, and then feel free to give out about those who do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

yeah the prison guard i know comes out with about a grand a week....

guess the more you earn the more ya pay...

Which is bloody ridicolous if you think about it. A. grand. a. week. for. a. prison. warden.

I suppose it's only fair enough then that our doctors get a quarter of million. Boom. Boom.

realcam wrote: »
    Which is bloody ridicolous if you think about it. A. grand. a. week. for. a. prison. warden.

I suppose it's only fair enough then that our doctors get a quarter of million. Boom. Boom.

Well if it was that great a job for loadsa money why didn't you apply?

Cos I'd die of boredom?

Still doesn't make it right that someone gets that kind of money for a bollix job for which no qualification whatsoever is needed. No wonder the public finances are in ****.

Cos I'd die of boredom?

Still doesn't make it right that someone gets that kind of money for a bollix job for which no qualification whatsoever is needed. No wonder the public finances are in ****.

Bollix job?

Pop quiz hotshot

You tell me.

What's the best way to remove a rapist from his cell when he's due to appear in court, when he's pox ridden and has smeared himself and his cell in sh1t?

And he's known to be violent?

Bollix job?

You tell me.

What's the best way to remove a rapist from his cell when he's due to appear in court, when he's pox ridden and has smeared himself and his cell in sh1t?

Dunno. Pressure hose him down from a safe distance and then kick him in the head a few times?

Again a job being ****ty is no reason to be paid like a surgeon.

Dunno. Pressure hose him down from a safe distance and then kick him in the head a few times?

That's illegal. You just got fired from your public service bollix job. No wonder you're on the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Well as someone who deals with rapists, murderers, terrorists and general scumbags, who has to guard his personal details in case his family is targetted, who is liable to be taken hostage, stabbed, needlestuck by the most pox infested fnckers in society or have buckets of piss and **** thrown all over him, I think it's fair to say he knows what the real world is like and you haven't a fnckin' clue.

too right. some people have not a frigging clue what that job involves.

Again a job being ****ty is no reason to be paid like a surgeon.

Surgeons are on about 260,000, but that's another story.

Nobody else being prepared to take the job commands a salary premium.

I must have missed the post where you explained why you declined to take this highly paid p1ss easy job where no qualifications were required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Malached

jealousy is a bitch
    Jealosy? Still getting paid more. Probably going to do better in the long run, But taking much more a risk to get there. That is capitalism is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Cop on will yas, , on both sides.

BBability, is that before tax or after tax? It's important.

PS. That pension levy does not calculate the after tax levy, which is what you actually pay.

In the example given it isn't 5.2%, it is 4.1%.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

K-9 wrote: »
    Cop on will yas, , on both sides.

^This. But in bold.

Sorry for adding bits, but I think it is PRSI deductible as well.

In fairness, losing €150 a fortnight, Gross or Net, you'd need to be on a fair wage.

If he is counting Net Wage, after Tax and PRSI, he'd be getting 60/70k Gross.

50k or more if based on Gross Pay. Hardly poverty line or a severe deduction when you see the Unemployment figures, wage and hour cuts that are widespread.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

*yawn*

I must have missed the post where you explained why you declined to take this highly paid p1ss easy job where no qualifications were required.
    Cos I'd die of boredom?

Anyway, I was a bit harsh I guess, but what I tried to say is that this is not a job that requires years of training and couldn't be done by more or less everybody who isn't half demented and is physically with it. I'm not saying it's smooth sailing all the time, but there's tons of other jobs out there that have their bad moments too. Your mate isn't dealing with pox-ridden rapists 24/7. I'm pretty sure most of the time this is a boring sit on your arse job and I still fail to see how this justifies such wages. If he takes home a grand a week he must be on around 6k gross a month or so which is 70k+ per annum. Sorry, there is no justification for this and I'm not surprised it costs 100k+ per year to lock someone away.
    Your mate is simply overpaid for what he does and if you put it into context you actually have to pay a surgeon 260k which of course is also ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭beth-lou

I got a pay cut of 20% last Friday adn my pension has been frozen. with my childcare costs I would actually be about €50 better off on the dole.
    Since my hubbys job could go belly up any day now I have to stay here and work for what is effectively €150 a week for 40 hours.
    Plus my pension is gone.

Do I get a prize for being in the most miserable position or wha?

All this crap about public versus private sector is nonsense.
    It's **** for everyone, for some of us it's worse.
    There are very few people in any sector not effected and the majority of private sector workers were not creaming the economy for all it was worth, that was the few at the top.

As for the job you "chose" to do, well I'm sure you chose it for a reason.
    I don't buy the I'm doing this as a service to the country I'm better than you. You're doing it because it is what you wanted to do. Sure, some jobs are way harder than others and take a certain type of dedication, and I admire those of you who chose those professions. But it is a choice. It doesn't mean you are going to escape the recession. Unfortunately we are all going to suffer, and blaming one sector or the other is tiresome and redundant. Put your anger where it belongs, at the government and the ****...I mean bankers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's all very well paying big bucks into a pension fund until you reach retirement age, only to be told by the government "Pension? Nah - we pissed it all away!"

• Malached wrote: »

Irish begrudgery at its finest. Ever hear that there's always someone worse off than yourself? Doesn't mean you can't be annoyed about losing chunks of your paycheck. And I say that as a self employed person with no benefits of any kind - no work for me, no salary. I'd still rather be doing this than be a prison guard. If you think OP's mate has such an easy ride, why don't YOU go do that job? I wouldn't do it for 500,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

My gf's dad was down €40... which is alot less then he though it was gonna be..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Wrong.

My mate is a civil servant and makes rougly as much as i do per year, less than 30 grand, more than 25, and hes paying 75 euro a week. Its disgraceful, and with this 'emergency budget' in April, its only going to take even more.

0ubliette wrote: »
    My mate is a civil servant and makes <...> less than 30 grand, more than 25, and hes paying 75 euro a week.

His maths are bad, very bad. No wonder they don't pay him more.

Edit: I'd say it's more like 75E a fortnight right?

0ubliette wrote: »
    Wrong.

My mate is a civil servant and makes rougly as much as i do per year, less than 30 grand, more than 25, and hes paying 75 euro a week. Its disgraceful, and with this 'emergency budget' in April, its only going to take even more.

The fella doing the wages must have a pick on him or something.

He probably means he is paying that in PRSI, pension deduction and the levy.