Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance-17y.o.-Prov license on BMW 520i

• 11-03-2009 9:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

Hey guys.

Will soon be on the road just wondering is there any chance of me gettin insured on my old fellas 520i under his name(He has no penalty points). And if so how much, what company etc.

Heres the details:
    Bmw 520i
    2.0l
    RWD
    manual
    Provisional License
    Never been insured before

If not ill have to drive a boring volvo:mad:.....:P

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

10000000000000 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Check the online sites for quotes but it sounds expensive, if it can be done at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I'd say most companies will quote but it will be expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

ahahahahahahahahahahahahha

Forget about it.

Get a yaris or a punto and learn to drive before you crash something expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭tom-d

biko wrote: »
    Check the online sites for quotes but it sounds expensive, if it can be done at all.

Emm most of the sites wont give online quotes for 17year olds with provisional licenses!!

But cheers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

volvo it is so!
    I would imagine nobody will insure you in the BMW, not till 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

What engine?

If its only a 2.0l it wont be that expensive ( for a 17 y.o ).

Who's your father insured with?

You wont get quotes online, so call into a few brokers and see what they say.

ahahahahahahahahahahahahha

Forget about it.

Get a yaris or a punto and learn to drive before you crash something expensive.

Emm you can get one of these for like 4000 online now!!:D

Tony Broke wrote: »
    What engine?

If its only a 2.0l it wont be that expensive ( for a 17 y.o ).

Who's your father insured with?

You wont get quotes online, so call into a few brokers and see what they say.

Only a 2.0l??:D

I think its hibernian.

Cheers

murfie wrote: »
    volvo it is so!
    I would imagine nobody will insure you in the BMW, not till 25.

Its probably just a 2.0l BMW, insurance in that is no different to an Octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭D/C

It could work out cheaper for you to buy your own wee car and insure it yourself than get insured on that yoke!:(

Its probably just a 2.0l BMW, insurance in that is no different to an Octavia.

Ya its a 2.0l
    And lets hope its the same as an octavia:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭gpjordanf1

tom-d wrote: »
    Hey guys.

Will soon be on the road just wondering is there any chance of me gettin insured on my old fellas 520i under his name(He has no penalty points). And if so how much, what company etc.

Heres the details:
    Bmw 520i
    manual
    Provisional License

If not ill have to drive a boring volvo:mad:.....:P

Cheers

Cheap as chips really.

My mate insured his 17 year old son on his Peugeot 607 2.5TD for €700 and they threw in insurance on his Astra Van 1.7TD for free.

Obviously he's telling his son he could only get insurance on the van and he's making him pay for the insurance out of his weekend job. Proper Job!

Hope this helps

Insurer was FBD.

D/C wrote: »
    It could work out cheaper for you to buy your own wee car and insure it yourself than get insured on that yoke!:(

Gettin a few months experience in first.

then gettin my own yoke....Thinkin about bora/mg zr already:D

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,120 ✭✭✭✭L1011

No online sites will give you quotes for that if you're trying putting your name first thats for sure; phone the auld lads current insurers and find out what it would cost to be added to his policy. Shouldn't be THAT expensive - extra grand perhaps.

They will probably ask you to confirm that you are only gonna be the second driver after him of the car though; its fraudulent to claim you're the second driver then be the main user.

edit:
    Looking at the cars you're looking at, just to warn ye it seems MG ZRs are loaded to hell in Ireland, my insurance (22, full licence) would go UP by about 20% changing to a ZR thats worth 1/3rd of the value of my current car, and slightly slower.

gpjordanf1 wrote: »
    Cheap as chips really.

My mate insured his 17 year old son on his Peugeot 607 2.5TD for €700 and they threw in insurance on his Astra Van 1.7TD for free.

Obviously he's telling his son he could only get insurance on the van and he's making him pay for the insurance out of his weekend job. Proper Job!

Hope this helps

Insurer was FBD.

Haha

Yeah i heard FBD mentioned before. Will definatly try them out.
    And i have the weekends worked already!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

With all due respect OP dont go driving something like this as your first car. Insurance will cost a fortune, running it will cost a fortune, if you prang it (which in all fairness at 17 :D ) you will be sick and the Guards will pull you everywhere. Get the knocks bangs and general silliness that we all had out of your system in something smaller. Oh and my guess is €8000.

MYOB wrote: »
    Looking at the cars you're looking at, just to warn ye it seems MG ZRs are loaded to hell in Ireland, my insurance (22, full licence) would go UP by about 20% changing to a ZR thats worth 1/3rd of the value of my current car, and slightly slower.

Will take note. Surprising for a 1.4!

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,120 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Will take note. Surprising for a 1.4!

Cheers

Think its just reputation, the ZR is seen as a boy racer car; my current car is a 1.4 with factory fitted body kit and spoiler also but doesn't have the same loading % over an "unmodified" version of it that the ZR has over the Rover 25 for whatever unknown reasons.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    With all due respect OP dont go driving something like this as your first car. Insurance will cost a fortune, running it will cost a fortune, if you prang it (which in all fairness at 17 :D ) you will be sick and the Guards will pull you everywhere. Get the knocks bangs and general silliness that we all had out of your system in something smaller. Oh and my guess is €8000.

Dont think the guards will pull me much! they will probably think im just an old man coming home from a business trip!!:D

Ya only getting 30mpg out of it!! Costly!
    €8000 not too bad:D:Dhaha

MYOB wrote: »

Not suprised to hear that, they are seriously good fun to drive!

Little 1.4 in them are wicked in the 3dr.Would be more fun than the 5 series imo.

FBD are good, but its only if the named driver is insured with them I think.Fella who works with me ( 23, 4 year ncb ) has his younger sister ( 17 ) on his policy on a 1.8 Accord and its only 650e or something for the year.I was shocked when he told me, as he's still young and immature himself.

Little 1.4 in them are wicked in the 3dr.Would be more fun than the 5 series imo.

FBD are good, but its only if the named driver is insured with them I think.Fella who works with me ( 23, 4 year ncb ) has his younger sister ( 17 ) on his policy on a 1.8 Accord and its only 650e or something for the year.I was shocked when he told me, as he's still young and immature himself.

650e??
    Now thats good value!!
    And the Bmw is RWD.......so fun fun fun

650e??
    Now thats good value!!

Would have only been 350e if it was a 1.4 Corolla or similar.

Anyway get your father to call into hibernian and tell them xxx are giving you this deal and sign up for the igniton course.

http://www.hibernian.ie/online/driving/ignition/about/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭cop41

I'd be interested to know how much the insurance companies will quote you on the BMW - keep us updated...

I know a 17 year old Male who was insured on his parents 2005 - BMW 525D and it cost 500euro for 3months. He only had a provisional license!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭SAABMAN

And that is why it will be expensive.
    Fun fun fun usually ends up being very expensive
    And it will be loaded just because it is a BMW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think your dad should just ring his current company to get you named on his policy. Or did he do this already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Keith C

you must have a cracking job to pay insurance on a bmw at 17 & talking bout buying a car too :D
    going as a named driver on your fathers polict would be cheapest option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

I couldnt get my ex on my policy as a named driver on my 2000 520i, on a provisional. Quinn Direct has it classed as a sports car.

Thats was a few years ago though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Jeepers I remember when I was 17 I was damn glad to get insured on any car (my old man's Nissan Bluebird). Thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread at the time.

These days youngsters don't know they are born. :pac: :p

OP if your only option is the Volvo then go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭DaMonk

Gettin a few months experience in first.

then gettin my own yoke....Thinkin about bora/mg zr already:D

Cheers
    I've a bora for sale if you want:D:D
    http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=89075&cat=500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Yea, but you missed the part where she is a FEMALE! they cost atleast 2 times less to insure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

First thing you have to do is just ask the current insurer. I'f you and the old fella arent happy with there quote then shop around. All the websites will give your dad a quote and then stick you on as a named driver to see the difference it makes. Try 123.ie best quote i could get.

Also are the 520i of that year not a 2.2litre? Some of them are anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

From the 2001 facelift.

OP, just get a quote from your fathers insurance company. Otherwise he will have to change his policy and if he's anything like my ol fella was when I was your age it took forever!

Seriously - not coming down on you - but you're 17 and learning to drive and going on about the fun fun fun of a RWD car. I'm telling ya now, this will end in tears (and more than likely backwards in a hedge). Take the Volvo for a year until you get your full license. You'll be more experienced and it will a lot cost less.

Also - dont touch the MG:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

OP I just spoke to the Insurance company for you.... they sent a message....

nelson-muntz.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

OP - no offence meant to you but i think most of the lads here have got it right.

You've never driven before, so i dont know how you expect to make the most of a RWD car. More than likely you'll switch the traction control off, and end up backwards in your living room wall. Its not as easy as it looks, trust me.

Also, the fact the your a 17yr old driving a BMW means the Gardai will have a field day with you. You will be pulled over every night your out.

On top of all this, i'd imagine the insurance quote will be huge. Like 4k huge. For that money you'd pick up a nice little run around, and your insurance and tax too. Which also means you'll start your NCB too.

If thats not an option, then go for the "boring" Volvo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

The MG ZR are a cracking car when they're going right, but *when* problems start arising you'll fish you'd never bought the feckin thing.

I'm not talking even about the HG issue which can be fixed with a few quid, it's just so many damn niggidy things that seem to crop up with them. Give http://forums.mg-rover.org a good read first.

As regards to the 5201 as a first car - if you're genuinly paying all the bills yourself, you'll regret it. I started off with a Rover 214 and paid everything myself and even that cost me quite a bit, never mind the extra costs assosiated with tax/fuel/insurance/maintenance

My advise? Buy something nice and cheap to run like a Colt/Corolla - if I was 17 again this is what I would have done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Dont think the guards will pull me much! they will probably think im just an old man coming home from a business trip!!:D

Ya only getting 30mpg out of it!! Costly!
    €8000 not too bad:D:Dhaha

Not with an l-plate. Seriously get your full licence and learn how to drive first rather then ding an expensive beamer.

Get yourself a mk3 golf or and older starlet and learn how to drive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Was driving my Dad's brand new 92 Vectra SRi2000 (150bhp red top) at 18.

Ah the days of the Open Drive addition to your policy for an extra £100 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Come back and say that after you've lost control of the beamer and ended up either in a ditch, or worse. Learn to drive before you put other people at danger for your stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Come back and say that after you've lost control of the beamer and ended up either in a ditch, or worse. Learn to drive before you put other people at danger for your stupidity.

RWD's can be fun provided you know how to control them. Who's to say the person who made the above statement isin't a well capable driver?

In conclusion: Stop being such a Nazi ffs

Provisional License

That would suggest lack of experience and not being a competent driver to me........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Gonna have to jump on the bandwagon here and suggest a bit of cop in. A BMW 520 isn't exactly first car territory.. If you want something somewhat posh go for a 1.6 A4 / Passat. In the event you don't write it off (congrats) you'll build up a No Claims Bonus, and then in three years time you'll be in my position with 3 years NCB in a position to get a quote on whatever shiny desire pleases you, with at least some degree of experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I hate this attitude. I don't know if it's jealousy that a 17 tear old is driving a 5 series or what. If a more 'seasoned' member of the forum said the above it would be all manly guffawing and banter because, after all, everyone knows you need at least 100 posts in the motors forum and be at least 40 before you can even think of handling a rear drive car. :rolleyes:

It's only 170bhp in a heavy car FFS... I've driven one and they certainly don't light up the tarmac. A 17 year old on a provisional is going to be just as safe on the road in one as in a one litre Corsa with 145 section tyres and no traction or safety kit. In the US kids as young as 16 regularly drive cars with huge V8s under their parents' insurance and nobody bats an eyelid.

I hate this attitude. I don't know if it's jealousy that a 17 tear old is driving a 5 series or what. If a more 'seasoned' member of the forum said the above it would be all manly guffawing and banter because, after all, everyone knows you need at least 100 posts in the motors forum and be at least 40 before you can even think of handling a rear drive car. :rolleyes:

It's only 170bhp in a heavy car FFS... I've driven one and they certainly don't light up the tarmac. A 17 year old on a provisional is going to be just as safe on the road in one as in a one litre Corsa with 145 section tyres and no traction or safety kit. In the US people kids as young as 16 regularly drive cars with huge V8s under their parents' insurance and nobody bats an eyelid.

Im 21 so that really f*cks up your theory there.

A 17 year old in a BMW thats RWD is a recipy for an accident. He might be safe in it, but what about the people on the footpath on the greasy evening when he flicks out the tail and loses control?

Think about what you say before you say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

A 17 year old in a BMW thats RWD is a recipy for an accident. He might be safe in it, but what about the people on the footpath on the greasy evening when he flicks out the tail and loses control?

First off, I wasn't responding to your post so maybe you could pull your nickers out of your arse before replying.

Secondly, if you're 21 then you will understand that young drivers in high performance machinery are all tarred with the same brush in terms of being able to drive properly, which I don't think is fair.

If you posted on here that you were looking to get insured on a RWD car and people dismissed the idea 'just because you're 21' without taking into account the fact that you could be a decent driver wouldn't you be pissed off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

It's only 170bhp in a heavy car FFS... I've driven one and they certainly don't light up the tarmac. A 17 year old on a provisional is going to be just as safe on the road in one as in a one litre Corsa with 145 section tyres and no traction or safety kit. In the US kids as young as 16 regularly drive cars with huge V8s under their parents' insurance and nobody bats an eyelid.

Obviously under 40 and less than 100 posts in the motors forum:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

A 17 year old in a BMW thats RWD is a recipe for an accident. He might be safe in it, but what about the people on the footpath on the greasy evening when he flicks out the tail and loses control?

+1, for someone who is only 17 and no driving experience I cant believe his Dad would allow him drive that type of car

First off, I wasn't responding to your post so maybe you could pull your nickers out of your arse before replying.

Secondly, if you're 21 then you will understand that young drivers in high performance machinery are all tarred with the same brush in terms of being able to drive properly, which I don't think is fair.

If you posted on here that you were looking to get insured on a RWD car and people dismissed the idea 'just because you're 21' without taking into account the fact that you could be a decent driver wouldn't you be pissed off?

Hey, lose the attitude. My original post suggested he try something else, so technically you were responding to my post too. Anyhow.

Young drivers, men, women, old people all get tarred with the bad driver brush at some point. It makes sense that if you have no experience on the road behind the wheel of a car, and your put into a high performance machine then its likely you will be involved in an accident.

I was twenty when i started in my current job. Since then i have driven cars from Mazda Rx8's to RR Sports, to Jag XKR's. My oul lad has even given me a spin in an SV8 XF. When i was 17 with my provo, i doubt i'd have been let anywhere near these. But in 4 years on the road, and i've proved i can drive to -

A - Myself
    B - My insurance company
    C - My employer

I think a 17yr old with no experience getting behind the wheel of a powerful enough BMW is asking for trouble. How will he know what to do if something untoward happens? Its all well and good having traction control and that, but it does do much to help other drivers/road users does it?

It's simple common sense. Think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

jackncoke wrote: »
    +1, for someone who is only 17 and no driving experience I cant believe his Dad would allow him drive that type of car
    Wishful thinking maybe.
    I crashed my first RWD after 3 months. When I lived in the US of A, Twas a 4.6 litre V8 Ford Police Interceptor. Thought I could handle it, which I could but I forgot to turn off the overdrive and she hit a foot high kerb sideways. Would have cost more to fix then it was worth. :(
    RWDs are such fun!