Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerald McCarthy resigns!!!

• 10-03-2009 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0310/cork.html
    Gerald McCarthy will step down as Cork hurling manager, effective from 9.00pm tonight.

McCarthy has admitted that it has been a long and difficult four months and has decided to step down because he cannot expect his family to withstand the pressure that has been placed upon them in recent weeks.

More to follow

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Not much of a shock really. Feel sorry for McCarthy. Seems like a very genuine man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Not much of a shock really. Feel sorry for McCarthy. Seems like a very genuine man.

Yeah, I feel sorry for him too. As much as I wanted it to happen, I now want Tipp to run them ragged in the Championship even more so, show them(the striking players) that as good as they are, they are past it.

Be equally as funny if the new manager actually didn't even pick the striking panel:D So feel sorry for the lads who have played for Cork so far in the League, who are morethan likely just going to be shunned to one side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Well at least this whole sorry debacle is finished.The only immediate questions now are who takes charge?when will the 08 panel line out again? and can they salvage the league campaign and stay up in Division 1?

I think there is a chance against teams like Limerick,
    and Clare but I think Waterford and Kilkenny may beat them.Relegation looks to be between Cork,Galway and Clare.Think Cork may still go down but it would be so ironic if the Cork team came back in the championship after this dispute like their footballers did in 2008 after the footballers dispute last winter and spring.

Cork may not have gotten anything from the league but at least the young players who lined out for Cork have averted automatic relegation.

It is a sad thing to see a manager go like this but I think the real beef is with the CCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

blackbelt wrote: »
    Well at least this whole sorry debacle is finished.The only immediate questions now are who takes charge?
    What happens if the players aren't happy with the next manager? Strike again?

My sympathies are with McCarthy and his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A dark spectre now looms over the GAA forum because of this. This summer will now see the return of the Cork Travel Moan threads. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

If it's true that McCarthy felt forced to step down after threats were made to him and his family, then it's a dark day for Cork GAA.

I always felt from my readings of PROC that there were far too many overstepping the mark. I've said it before and I'll say it again, Gerald McCarthy is a decent man. He's a hurling legend who was offered the job of his home county and took it. He then found himself in an extremely awkward position between the players and the board. Ok maybe he underestimated the seriousness of the players actions, and the wording of some of his statements were unfortunate, but the same can be said for both sides.

I've always maintained I'll never have any time for anyone that resorts to petty insults at McCarthy. With that in mind, if any Cork GAA "fan" threatened him or his family, then they're simply scum of the highest order.

Apologies for I'm coming across too strong here, but it needs to be said. There was a line in this whole saga. And now, if reports are true, then some Cork people had to resort to crossing that line to come out on the winning side.

I know the vast majority of Cork people are genuine GAA fans who just wanted the best for their county, but there'll always be some, and they come from all parts of the country, not just Cork.

Like some posters on PROC, I've got a feeling one or two of you may say this was all a big con by McCarthy to give himself a get-out clause. I just hope you have more sense than those guys. Innocent until proven guilty. And if it turns out that nobody had infact threatened him or his family, he'll lose the respect for a lot of people in the country, myself included.

But overall it's just a very sad day. Sad that someone as respected as Gerald was forced to leave under such circumstances. Sad that the 08 panel had to resort to the striking measures in the first place. Sad that the CCB still don't seem to have an ounce of common sense. And sad that, despite tonights announcement, Cork GAA in general is still far from being that level-headed, organised county an area of that stature needs to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭Locamon

Agree completely, after the weekend it just seemed inevitable. Feel equally sorry for McCarthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I don't see how it is a sad day - its very good for everyone in Cork that the debacle is probably coming to an end. In fact, its one great day after months of misery and tedium - I'm just disapointed he didn't leave months ago and saved us all of this trouble.

Also Deise your obssession with PROC is getting bizarre. A few people are rather petty, but most there are fine. Unfortunately, people tend to speak nonsense behind computer screens, and moreso when the rules are so lax. As far as unmoderated forums go, PROC isn't one of the worst.

Finally I see no reason to think anyone threatened the man or his family, and I seriously doubt this has happened. Lets not condemn people without proof. I have no doubt, considering the sequence of events, that Croker forced the CCB to throw him under the bus, like they forced them to talk to the clubs tonight. The fact that he has resigned before tonight's convention tells its own story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Feel sorry for McCarthy too. He made a big mistake becoming the object of this struggle between CCB and the players. Sack the CCB and fix the system

Didn't Bob Honohan threaten that the executive would resign en masse if Gerald was kicked out? Off you go Bob, don't let the door hit you on the way out...

Hopefully Ger Cunningham will come in and start retiring players. Starting with Donal Og, Diarmiud and Joe Deane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭fourfiveone

Looks like Frank Murphy finally blinked first and Gerald has been pushed under the bus.

Where do I even start...
    I don't see how it is a sad day - its very good for everyone in Cork that the debacle is probably coming to an end. In fact, its one great day after months of misery and tedium

Are you kidding me?! This debacle is nowhere near an end. Once the Cloyne motion is passed and Frank Murphy gives his intentions of retirement, then you'll have a point.
    I'm just disapointed he didn't leave months ago and saved us all of this trouble.

Also, yeah, great stance to take. The man gives in, quits his job, yet youre still complaining.
    Also Deise your obssession with PROC is getting bizarre. A few people are rather petty, but most there are fine. Unfortunately, people tend to speak nonsense behind computer screens, and moreso when the rules are so lax. As far as unmoderated forums go, PROC isn't one of the worst.

Lol.

Am I obsessed? Not a hope. Does it show Cork supporters in a good light? Absolutely not. It's basically a huge bandwagon topic with a couple of sane supporters thrown into the mix.
    Finally I see no reason to think anyone threatened the man or his family, and I seriously doubt this has happened

Like I said above, what makes you so sure it didn't happen? Every county has scum supporters and Cork are no different. Are you telling me it's absolutely outside the realms of possibility that it could've happened?
    Lets not condemn people without proof. I have no doubt, considering the sequence of events, that Croker forced the CCB to throw him under the bus, like they forced them to talk to the clubs tonight. The fact that he has resigned before tonight's convention tells its own story.

Dear god, I've never seen someone contradict themselves so quickly in all my life. You're basically saying "lets not condemn Cork supporters for the possibility of threats against Gerald, but lets condemn Gerald himself by saying he was forced to resign by the CCB without one inch of proof"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Frank Murphy should also resign if he had any respect for Cork GAA, this man has done more damage to Cork GAA since the Black and Tans.

Oh dear Deise, aren't you in a pissy mood today?

I won't debate your snarky replies - but lets be clear, your pathetic pre-emptive attacks upon the supporters of Cork are completely unsuprising considering where you come from, and I have no doubt you've been waiting to have a go at us for months. I would suggest calming yourself, and keeping the insults and rumour-mongering to yourself. Your defense of a man that did his best to drag Cork GAA through the gutter and repeatedly offended the majority of Cork supporters says it all.

I'll say this and leave it at this - IF some individual did make threats, then it reflects terribly on that individual, and that individual alone. Not, and never, on Cork GAA.

Nor, btw, should anyone believe anything until its been confirmed by the Gardai. Surely thats a reaonable, mature point of view, as opposed to slanging insults around for personal reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Frank Murphy should also resign if he had any respect for Cork GAA

Is this a possiblity at all now or is he safe now once McCarthy is gone?

I won't debate your snarky replies - but lets be clear, your pathetic pre-emptive attacks upon the supporters of Cork are completely unsuprising considering where you come from, and I have no doubt you've been waiting to have a go at us for months.

Again, lol. Shall I repost I've written in the past hour?

I know the vast majority of Cork people are genuine GAA fans who just wanted the best for their county, but there'll always be some, and they come from all parts of the country, not just Cork.

If you've read what I've been posting the past 6 months on this subject, or indeed 3 years on this forum, you'll know that I treat Cork supporters the same as anyone else. What did I say to annoy you? The fact that Cork have scum-like supporters just like everywhere else in the country? Surprise surprise, they have! Hell even I've had run ins with cnutish Waterford supporters in the past. It's bound to happen where ever you go.

Personally I think dragging my location into it as extremely childish and illogical. Again, I'll refer you to my opening post in the rivalrys topic, where I said that there is and always will be utmost respect between the two counties and their fans whenever Cork and Waterford play. Nothings changed there.

It was around this time last month I finally admitted that while it would be an extremely sad occurence, Gerald McCarthy would need to go for the good of Cork hurling. Other regulars like evil monkey will tell you that even before I changed sides I never had any hassle with the Cork supporters themselves.
    I would suggest calming yourself, and keeping the insults and rumour-mongering to yourself. Your defense of a man that did his best to drag Cork GAA through the gutter and repeatedly offended the majority of Cork supporters says it all.

Again, I find it highly amusing that you accuse me of rumour-mongering when just half an hour ago you suggested that Gerald McCarthy was shown the door after the GAA came knocking on the CCBs door. No proof of that what so ever either, you know.

As for McCarthy himself, you know my position on him. If you can't look past the last few months and see what he's done for Cork and the GAA his entire life, then fair enough.
    I'll say this and leave it at this - IF some individual did make threats, then it reflects terribly on that individual, and that individual alone. Not, and never, on Cork GAA.

Agreed.
    Nor, btw, should anyone believe anything until its been confirmed by the Gardai. Surely thats a reaonable, mature point of view, as opposed to slanging insults around for personal reasons?
    I knew this would crop up, which was why in my opening post ITT to make sure that I didn't assume these threats were confirmed. Read back through it again if you like.

The only people I've insulted are the possible people who might have threatened Gerald McCarthy and his family.

Also, I'm interested into why you think I insulted people for "personal reasons"....if you're refering to my location again, that's just another sly dig on your behalf. Especially considering my posts in recent months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Orizio wrote: »
    Finally I see no reason to think anyone threatened the man or his family, and I seriously doubt this has happened.
    Are you for real with that comment? He has referred it to the Gardai and to my mind he doesn't appear the kind of guy to make this up.
    Cork GAA has alienated itself from most neutral fans at this stage, it's a relief that it's finally sorted but the circumstances in which it has come about are nothing short of sickening.

As I said, we will wait and see if the Gardai confirm it.

My general point is this reflects badly on those few individuals who did it, not on Cork GAA as a whole.

CyberDave wrote: »
    Is this a possiblity at all now or is he safe now once McCarthy is gone?

I don't believe Frank Murphy can be sacked, but he is near retirement age anyway.

As I said, we will wait and see if the Gardai confirm it.

My general point is this reflects badly on those few individuals who did it, not on Cork GAA as a whole.

Which is completely understandable. Apologies if my post suggested otherwise.

Gerald McCarthys statement below
    'I have decided to step down as manager of the Cork Senior Hurling Team, effective immediately.

I am not, as some would have it, resigning 'for the good of Cork hurling'. In fact, and without being presumptuous, I would regard my resignation in the current circumstances as being detrimental to Cork hurling in the long term.

I am quite confident that after two overwhelming endorsements, a third vote would not have removed me at County Board level. However, only my resignation, apparently, will allow the best group of Cork hurlers to take the field. While the latter objective is very desirable, that outcome should not be confused with the future health of Cork hurling or its direction in the coming years.

A few days ago, my father who is in his mid-eighties, pleaded with me to step down after one of my sons, in my absence abroad, received the latest threat against me. The threat against my life, which has been referred to the Gardai, is the latest in a sequence of threats and abuse, random or organised I do not know, which I and my family members have had to endure over the past few months.

Given the kind of vitriol at recent public meetings and indeed in some media commentary, it is hardly surprising that thugs have attached themselves to the 'cause' of the 2008 hurlers. I cannot continue to expect a family even as supportive as mine to withstand that pressure and possibly to put their own safety at risk.

This latest threat is one of two tipping points that have occurred in recent weeks. It's been a long and difficult four months. With any willingness on the part of the players, the dispute could have been resolved almost as soon as it began.

The Mulvey arbitration provided for certain steps to be followed in the event of any dispute arising. These precluded a strike by the players and allowed for discussions, mediation and arbitration to take place. The players went on strike, refused to meet the Board or the management team together and refused to engage in mediation.

There is huge irony in the thought that the clubs who are now supporting the players were among those who voted for mediation at the County Convention last December - which the players refused to engage in. They are now supporting those players who rejected their specific direction.

I am well aware that players will always garner popular and media support when positioned against a management team or the County Board. However, I am surprised that the media, with a few honourable exceptions, never challenged the players' views. I am also surprised that journalists who never met me or spoke to me could write so authoritatively about my position and my motivation.

The criticism of the County Board has been well over the top. For any faults it has, and what organisation does not, the County Board has presided over a level of success that most counties in the country would envy.

The players' modus operandi has been simple: strike, issue ultimatums, refuse to speak and raise the temperature by carefully choreographed public events. No amount of these can disguise the fundamental truth, however. No dispute was ever resolved in the absence of dialogue.

Even our critics have acknowledged that the Board and Gerald McCarthy were open to compromise and changes in direction for the sake of Cork hurling by taking on the Duffy/Cooney document. The players were not. Neither would they meet under Olan Kelleher or other offered auspices. All the calls for a resolution excluded any responsibility on the players' part.

My reasons for taking the stand I did four months ago are as valid today as they were then. Hurlers should not have the right to appoint their own manager, veto the appointment of a manager, interview their own manager or pursue commercial interests at the expense of the broader GAA family.

From my perspective, they have dishonoured the Cork jersey and used it as a weapon and a threat. I believe that for the majority of previous Cork All-Ireland winners, and we did have some before the 08 Panel arrived on the scene, that is the ultimate sporting abuse.

My greatest disappointment is to have to leave the current team and the selectorial and backroom team who have been outstanding, honourable, steadfast and at all times motivated by the highest of values.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭Locamon

Didn't Bob Honohan threaten that the executive would resign en masse if Gerald was kicked out? Off you go Bob, don't let the door hit you on the way out...

Hopefully Ger Cunningham will come in and start retiring players. Starting with Donal Og, Diarmiud and Joe Deane.

Now the players have asserted their power will they tolerate any retirements no matter how justified? The boot is on the other foot now...

Unfortunately, I understand the funeral thing to be true, and has been a rumour for weeks now, although numerous players attended it. I've heard it was Donal Og and Gardiner, two people I have little time for anyway.

We'll wait to see what the players say about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Darlie

Sad day for the GAA, sad day for hurling, sad day for Cork. The removal of McCarthy will prove to be of no benefit to anyone. The shenanigans of the '08 panel have won the day, now they have to put up or shut up. And after seeing some of the messages that memebers of the 09 panel have received, I've no doubt that some messages were received by Gerald's family.
    In saying that, I do also agree with those who wish to see changes at county board level. The whole system is a joke, but that allowed the 08 panel to exploit the situation.

The unforunate thing about all of this is that it will save the CCB/executive's neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

so two powerful groups of people disagree and a cork legend gets shafted - a sad day really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Poor Gerald, a man of integrity, honesty and competence. He stood by the 08 panel in the strike of last year and this is how the 08 panel repay him, by forcing him to resign, saying lies about his training methods and treatment of the players and getting the thugs in Cork GAA to put pressure on his family. Cork GAA is a mess though, some of the players demands were relevant.
    The only way to fix Cork GAA is to sack the entire 08 panel (they are crap anyway), sack the entire county board (incompetent shower of w*nkers) and reinstate the only honest man in Cork GAA Gerald and let him work with the new squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

What happens if the players aren't happy with the next manager? Strike again?

My sympathies are with McCarthy and his family.

My sentiments exactly - more than likely we'll be in the same situation again in another few months. The first time they striked i gave them the benefit of the doubt but a second time after everything was apparently hunky dory again? No sorry that's enough. The way Gerald has been treated is ridiculous. They are just a crowd of bullies those players - MONEY is all they are interested in - or so my dad says:D

Neway heres his statement:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0310/cork.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Poor Gerald, a man of integrity, honesty and competence. He stood by the 08 panel in the strike of last year and this is how the 08 panel repay him, by forcing him to resign, saying lies about his training methods and treatment of the players and getting the thugs in Cork GAA to put pressure on his family. Cork GAA is a mess though, some of the players demands were relevant.
    The only way to fix Cork GAA is to sack the entire 08 panel (they are crap anyway), sack the entire county board (incompetent shower of w*nkers) and reinstate the only honest man in Cork GAA Gerald and let him work with the new squad.
    ABSOLUTE DRIVEL.
    (1) There were no lies told about his "training" methods. Note the quotes.
    (2) No players got thugs to put pressure on his family. If some random idiot decided to take things too far then thats not the players fault. Every single club that was allowed hold an EGM/SGM voted overwhelmingly to back the players so the pressure was from the grassroots of Cork GAA for him to resign. He would never have won a 3rd endorsement in a straight vote (the first 2 were shame votes anyway).
    (3) I agree with you sack the entire board exec. Jerry O'Sullivan and Ger Lane are decent enough people and I could see them reelected without much objection. The rest are conniving gowls.
    (4) The entire 08 panel are crap? Are you insane? They make up the bulk of the best hurlers in the county. Gerald's "honesty" has been questionable since this whole sorry saga started. He has leaked confidential documents, flip flopped on numerous occasions about wanting the 08 panel back, outright lied about the younger members wanting to come back. The only thing I will grant him is his statement tonight has Frank Murphy and Casey Communications grubby fingerprints all over it and I seriously doubt, like a lot of his other press statements, that it was written by him personally.

KerranJast wrote: »
    outright lied about the younger members wanting to come back.

Wrong. Plain and simple. Not going to name names but incredibely unfair pressure was put on at least two of the younger members not to break ranks. Including getting family members to put pressure on. While I agree that some of the 08 panel are among the best players in the county, there are some of them who should never darken the door of a GAA facility again. What started out as a power struggle has turned some players into bitter, coniving, lying bullies. I have personally seen text messages and emails from 08 panel members to 09 panel members. Not pleasant reading.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It was inevitable that he should go. If he went a few months ago it would have been better for everyone. Pity a pisshead or two went too far in relation to his family - no logic , plain wrong. The next step is to sort out the Exec. or they will come back form this setback on 6 or so yeats. I don't think Frank HAS to retire,he has I believe an option to continue and unfortunately he has nothing else in his life to retire to. He eats drinks and sleeps GAA, I don't think the end is as near as people make out. Who or more importantly How will the next manager be selected and how long will it take?

Darlie wrote: »
    Wrong. Plain and simple. Not going to name names but incredibely unfair pressure was put on at least two of the younger members not to break ranks. Including getting family members to put pressure on. While I agree that some of the 08 panel are among the best players in the county, there are some of them who should never darken the door of a GAA facility again. What started out as a power struggle has turned some players into bitter, coniving, lying bullies. I have personally seen text messages and emails from 08 panel members to 09 panel members. Not pleasant reading.
    Yeah and friend of a friend told me blah blah. The only pressure I witnessed was on clubs to get them to put forward players for Geralds "team". Lots of the 08 lads have to play in club and college teams with the 09 lads so I highly doubt any pressure was exerted on them in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

I am not happy to hear that Gerald stepped down. It is shameful what happened.
    Will the next manager be good enough for the great 2008 panel?
    Or will anyone want to touch the poison chalice??? Why would anyone in their right mind want to take that job???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Banker

Newstalk have reported the following....

As a result of McCarthy's decision, the county board now say that they now consider the Mulvey agreement, which was hammered out last year, to be null and void. The board said they now wanted to appoint a new manager as early as this Thursday. But that proposal that has been met by huge opposition from the estimated 600 club representatives, who want every club in Cork to have a vote on the appointment of the new manager.

These guys are unreal....

KerranJast wrote: »
    Yeah and friend of a friend told me blah blah. The only pressure I witnessed was on clubs to get them to put forward players for Geralds "team". Lots of the 08 lads have to play in club and college teams with the 09 lads so I highly doubt any pressure was exerted on them in that regard.

You have your opinion, which you are entitled to. All I am saying is that pressure WAS put on members of 08 panel not to break ranks, and pressure was put on 09 members not to play. I couldn't a flying fcuk whether you believe it or not. its not going to change a thing anyway. Cork hurling has got exactly what it deserves.

Could anyone enlighten me with this Mulvey agreement?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

which people is that? Club delegates can vote on the appointment of a manager, if a choice is given. The Exec only gave them Ger's name thats why he was elected in the first place. List of names will be put forward , voting will take place man with most votes wins. Is this not what happens in other counties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Trouser_Press

Is it wise to reproduce all of McCarthy's statement here considering RTE removed chunks of it from their website for legal reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

deise59 wrote: »
    Could anyone enlighten me with this Mulvey agreement?

I think it is the one where 7 people are appointed to pick a new manager with 2 members being current players.

Is it wise to reproduce all of McCarthy's statement here considering RTE removed chunks of it from their website for legal reasons?

The statement I posted is the exact same as the one RTE have up on their website.
    I think it is the one where 7 people are appointed to pick a new manager with 2 members being current players.

Ah yeah. So the CCB are going to pretend like it doesn't exist anymore?! Bloody fupwits.

Darlie wrote: »
    You have your opinion, which you are entitled to. All I am saying is that pressure WAS put on members of 08 panel not to break ranks, and pressure was put on 09 members not to play. I couldn't a flying fcuk whether you believe it or not. its not going to change a thing anyway. Cork hurling has got exactly what it deserves.

Name names, or else stop trolling and be quiet. Spreading rumours is pathetic.

For the record, I think numourus players should go.

The Mulvey agreement is basically the idea of having two players on the panel for choosing the manager. This should be scrapped imo, but likewise the CCB shouldn't be handed the responsibility of picking a new manager since they can't be trusted. Get ex-players to put together a list, and get the delegates to vote on the names.

Ah yeah. So the CCB are going to pretend like it doesn't exist anymore?! Bloody fupwits.

In a way I can see where they are coming from, seeing as Mccarthy was appointed through this process and look at the mess that followed. Thats not the say the CCB are in any way right, but can see the tran of thought that led them to that statement.

BTW I just heard from a person on the 08 panel/ a fairly good source/ a voice in my head that Donal Og/ Frank Murphy/ Ray Ryan eats babies for breakfast and beheads virgins every night before bed...

The statement I posted is the exact same as the one RTE have up on their website.

Honestly, come Thursday night and the gob****es will give the job to Teddy McCarthy or Teddy Holland and the whole debacle will start again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

What is it with Cork and civil wars?

Its a new departure in sport for the team to pick the manager. The players should be ashamed of themselves. If Bob the Builder was appointed manager, they should turn up for training if picked and play for their county. If they don't like that, don't play.

I don't like this "player power" thing in sport , and this is a sad example of where it can lead.

****s sake the players aren't picking any manager, do people actually bother to pay attention when they comment on this situation?

Name names, or else stop trolling and be quiet. Spreading rumours is pathetic.

If you don't want to read my posts, feel free to ignore them and move on. Its not as if the truth is going to change your up your arse views on things anyway.
    BTW I just heard from a person on the 08 panel/ a fairly good source/ a voice in my head that Donal Og/ Frank Murphy/ Ray Ryan eats babies for breakfast and beheads virgins every night before bed...

Thats about the smartest thing you've said all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

Trotter wrote: »
    If Bob the Builder was appointed manager, they should turn up for training if picked and play for their county.
    But why put Bob the Builder in charge in the first place?
    If they don't like that, don't play.
    That's exactly what they were going to do... if the people of Cork hadn't agreed with their position.

What is it with Cork and civil wars?

Its a new departure in sport for the team to pick the manager. The players should be ashamed of themselves. If Bob the Builder was appointed manager, they should turn up for training if picked and play for their county. If they don't like that, don't play.

I don't like this "player power" thing in sport , and this is a sad example of where it can lead.
    Its not "player power". Gerald Mac had two years in charge. Every GAA team in the country down to the smallest club canvasses the players opinion before reappointing a manager. They have the best idea of how the previous 1 or 2 years have gone. I highly doubt any other County or Club chairman would have driven through the reappointment of a manager the players obviously no longer wished to work with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Trouser_Press

It's not. Yours includes:

<snip>

RTE removed the above. The Mods here can decide whether to do the same!

And a few other sections are missing from both yours and RTE's statement, I saw them on the PROC site, which now appears to be down.

I'm no lawyer.....but I think I smelt libel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

****s sake the players aren't picking any manager, do people actually bother to pay attention when they comment on this situation?

Is refusing not to play for the manager chosen by the county board not the same thing? Will they refuse to play for the next manager chosen on Thursday night? Will they keep refusing until they get their own man?

Isn't that the same as looking to choose their own manager?