Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

75 year old woman faces lashes!

• 10-03-2009 12:17am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Utterly shocking news - Barbaric. Saudi Arabia's leaders should hang their heads with shame!

A 75-year-old widow in Saudi Arabia has been sentenced to 40 lashes and four months in jail for mingling with two young men who are not close relatives, drawing new criticism for the kingdom's ultraconservative religious police and judiciary.
    The woman's lawyer told The Associated Press on Monday that he would appeal the verdict against Khamisa Sawadi, who is Syrian but was married to a Saudi. The attorney, Abdel Rahman al-Lahem, said the verdict issued March 3 also demands that Sawadi be deported after serving her sentence.
    He said his client, who is not serving her sentence yet, was not speaking with the media, and he declined to provide more details about the case.
    The newspaper Al-Watan said the woman met with the two 24-year-old men last April after she asked them to bring her five loaves of bread at her home in al-Chamil, a city north of the capital, Riyadh.

More: here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

ah now c'mon, islam is a religion of peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

If she's 75 it's probably the only lash she's going to get for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

she probably deserves it,the old slut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

mingling with two young men

Dirty B!tch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

Biggins wrote: »
    Utterly shocking news - Barbaric. Saudi Arabia's leaders should hang their heads with shame!

A 75-year-old widow in Saudi Arabia has been sentenced to 40 lashes and four months in jail for mingling with two young men who are not close relatives, drawing new criticism for the kingdom's ultraconservative religious police and judiciary.
    The woman's lawyer told The Associated Press on Monday that he would appeal the verdict against Khamisa Sawadi, who is Syrian but was married to a Saudi. The attorney, Abdel Rahman al-Lahem, said the verdict issued March 3 also demands that Sawadi be deported after serving her sentence.
    He said his client, who is not serving her sentence yet, was not speaking with the media, and he declined to provide more details about the case.
    The newspaper Al-Watan said the woman met with the two 24-year-old men last April after she asked them to bring her five loaves of bread at her home in al-Chamil, a city north of the capital, Riyadh.

More: here

Do they define mingling?

Asin did she say hello or HELLO!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Do they define mingling?

Asin did she say hello or HELLO!!

Actually I think it was something like "HELLOOO REANIEE!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Or did she say "Give us a roide will ya"

The young lads were probaly thinking "you cant beat an experianced women"

Oo how they where proven wrong!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Oh well, Muslims claim their women are free to do what they want, so she deserves what she gets for staying in that backwards, psychopathic cult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

FFS, 8 lashes per loaf of bread.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

wrote:
    It said they were arrested by the religious police after delivering the bread. The men also were convicted and sentenced to lashes and prison.

"Religious police" says it all really.

Lucky she didn't order any sausages !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

& yet the US support this country...

Sigh, religion strikes again.

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    & yet the US support this country...

Sigh, religion strikes again.

Very true.

One word. Oil! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

A 75-year-old widow in Saudi Arabia has been sentenced to 40 lashes.
    /reads this and thinks of catchy cosmetics tv ad
    'Maybe she was born with it. Maybe she uses Maybelline.' :pac:
    she asked them to bring her five loaves of bread at her home
    Shockin behaviour for an aul wan tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Brennan and pat the baker are perverts.

What are ya on about?
    They were only in it for the... for the... whats the word... I can't think of it..? Doh!!!

Geddit? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

What are ya on about?
    They were only in it for the... for the... whats the word... I can't think of it..?
    Yeast?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Bomb them tbh.

Ah, if only they didn't have all that lucious oil, eh?

Then we could just carpet bomb the lot and have a nice plot of land for us to build new holidaying spots on. Maybe some day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

galwayrush wrote: »
    FFS, 8 lashes per loaf of bread.:eek:
    And its probably only tesco value bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

****ing Turkey is equally as messed up. I know Turks and they are serious racists and assholes to their women. **** them. Arrest the Turks. Bastards. Lol I'm actually testifying in a court case against a Turk this week. And my will I take pleasure. No more assaulting

Nice tagline Bright Eyes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Rb wrote: »

Then we could just carpet bomb the lot and have a nice plot of land for us to build new holidaying spots on. Maybe some day...

Once we all have electric cars, the oily infidels days will come.

Take it. No choice nigguh

Nice tagline BrightEyes

Blow me nigguh. I follow you . . . .

EDIT: Oops what drivel! I probablet should not mention my pending court case so instead I will say arrivedici to the Turkish muslim gimps and Wilkommen to the porterhouse international beer and whiskey festival coming up!

Once we all have electric cars, the oily infidels days will come.
    Non-Allah non-Jihad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

its a pity they dont use lashing in Ireland anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Who would report this kind of thing. Were the men double agents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

magick wrote: »
    its a pity they dont use lashing in Ireland anymore
    yeah i know plenty that could do with a couple a hundred lashings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

she asked them to bring her five loaves of bread

good job she didnt ask for 2 fishes as well, the jews would be getting the cross and nails ready :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

How do they justify this in the quoran exactly? I'm guilty of not reading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭Simi

Patience, as soon as we've used up all their precious natural resources, we can level the middle east. We only have to put up with them for another 2 decades or so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Simi wrote: »
    Patience, as soon as we've used up all their precious natural resources, we can level the middle east. We only have to put up with them for another 2 decades or so?

Now do you understand why Iran is trying to develop the bomb ?

Once the oil is gone, then it is on to another former of extortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Overheal wrote: »
    Along the lines of fornication. Its a bit zealous tbh, especially with a 75 year old.
    Simi wrote: »
    And you will ge the fuel for the bombers where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭Simi

Victor wrote: »
    Along the lines of fornication. Its a bit zealous tbh, especially with a 75 year old.

I'm assuming they'll run on pure whale oil by that stage. Failing that there's still plenty of oil under the ice caps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Does she have to wear all leather gear when they use the whips on her?

Kinky Saudi Law.

It's all in the Koran. Buy it! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Victor wrote: »
    Nuclear powered bombers! (I know, that is a TERRIBLE idea, but hey)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Bright Eyes banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Its not justified in the Qur'an. I'm not a Muslim, but I have read it.
    This is shariah law taken to extremes. Each country have their own Laws
    so this cant really be pinned down to just " Islam " its not that simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Bomb them tbh.

I hate war as much as the next person, but this sounds like a good idea considering what pricks the lot of them are. However, I'd like to evacuate the birds out first as I'd say they're rides under the veil ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭irishconvert

Bambi wrote: »
    ah now c'mon, islam is a religion of peace
    Oh well, Muslims claim their women are free to do what they want, so she deserves what she gets for staying in that backwards, psychopathic cult.

The Qur'an does not justify this. The Saudi rulers are corrupt bastards (supported by the US) and they do not represent Islam.

Who does represent islam then? Proof is in the pudding hoss

I think most western people make the mistake of thinking of islam as a religion in the western mould, when it's more like an entire social system so the "its not in the koran" doesn't wash with me. Most all-muslim countries are back in the middle ages when it comes to tolerance, coinkydink??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You'll find the lower you go down the "wealth and development" ladder, the worse it gets regardless. If you think a womans lot in rural India is fun and games, for instance, you'd be in for a rude awakening. Or even some place like Mexico or Guatamala. Same in Africa. Its just the failings of Islam are plastered around more, for entirely political purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Bambi wrote: »
    Most all-muslim countries are back in the middle ages when it comes to tolerance

Like those in the KKK in america?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Lu Tze wrote: »
    Like those in the KKK in america?
    Spot-on comparison because the US is run according to KKK "principles". That's why they've never had a black president and never will.

/crawls out from under rock and looks around

Oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Agamemnon wrote: »
    Spot-on comparison because the US is run according to KKK "principles". That's why they've never had a black president and never will.

/crawls out from under rock and looks around

Oh wait...

I was just pointing out that he was generalising, that theocracies in the middle east were not the only places where intolerance was found. Our societal values are heavily Christian based, who knows, in 50 years time we could be judged intolerant for not allowing same sex marriages.

Because we are, along with a lot of other things we do that will be morally questioned in the future.

ah the old relative argument, if we had a religious police torturing gay couples ye could have nearly have had a point...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Very true.

One word. Oil! :(

Why not just invade them, win and take the oil? Operating your foreign policy on a kind of "rules of the school yard" way of thinking as it were.

Abigayle wrote: »
    I haz no idea :\

To the Mystery Machine!

Edit: ooh wow. Its back. Spoooky!

ghghghoooossssst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Its a bloody disgrace what the House of Saud gets up to. They are the worlds second largest prison state and living there must be absolute hell for the ordinary people. Its especially sadder when you think we are propping up their vicious regime by buying their black gold.

I wonder will Obama have the guts to make a statement on this or will he just keep schtum like the Bush administration did when yer one was getting a death sentence because some lads raped her ?

Even McAleese acquiesced to them when they forced her to sit behind a screen so the men couldn't see her face on a state visit. At least Robinson had the balls not to even bother talking with scum like that.