Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The IT Guy - Yesterdays Jam?

• 09-03-2009 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Moss: You had a job?

Roy: Girl on fifth.

Moss:
    Did you and her, hit it off?

Roy: Define, hit it off.

Moss:
    Did she continue talking to you once you'd fixed her computer?

Roy:
    No! And while I was working on it, she rested a cup on my back. (***turns to point to the coffee cup ring on his back***)

Moss: No....!

Roy: Yup.

Moss:
    Unbelievable.

Roy: They have no respect for us up there. No respect whatsoever. We're all just drudgeons to them.

Moss:
    Yes. If there were such a thing as a drudgeon, that is what we would be to them.

Roy: It's like they're pally-wally when there's a problem with their printer, but once it's fixed...

Moss: They toss us away like yesterday's jam.

Roy:
    YES! Like yesterday's jam! That is what we are to them. (phone rings, Roy picks it up) Err you know what, that doesn't really to work as a thing 'cos jam lasts for ages.

Hello IT. Have you tried turning it off and on again?

Every woman has had the fantasy of being seduced by a sexy, muscular construction worker with a hard hat and a tool belt. If he just so happens to be sensitive and well-read too, she may have found her soul mate.

The Plumber
    Mike Delfino from Desperate Housewives, anyone? The sexy plumber is a staple in romantic fantasy. What lonely housewife hasn't dreamt of, well, pipe metaphors abound.

The Musician
    Try as they may, women cannot resist the allure of the musician. Whether it is something in his eyes when he sings, or his fingers when he plays the strings of his guitar, his music holds a power over women that they are helpless to displace. But beware, ladies. Musicians are notoriously unfaithful, and you are likely not the only one who noticed his charms.

The Surgeon
    Every little girl dreams of growing up one day to marry a surgeon. While all doctors make the traditional "good catch," there is something inherently powerful in the man who is a surgeon. The ability to heal, to wield the knife, and to be the literal difference between life and death is unendingly alluring.

The Cowboy
    Maybe it's so obvious that it doesn't need to be said, but I'll go ahead anyway. Women find cowboys to be some of the sexiest men alive. Cowboys have a grittiness, an honesty, and an ability to tame nature while being intimately connected to it. And those Wranglers look so good.

The Firefighter

Perhaps it is the ingrained fairytale of being rescued, of being carried to safety by a big strong man, that makes women find firefighters so appealing. The bravery of these men combines with their muscular arms and soot-colored uniforms to create an erotic ideal.

The Chef
    The man who is a chef knows how to exercise control over his staff, is an artist in the kitchen, and will spoon feed you perfectly cracked creme brulee. What better choice in a man can a woman make?

The Furniture Maker
    Okay, I'll admit that I may be influenced just a little bit by the character played by John Corbett on Sex and the City. You remember, the shy, long haired, and endlessly sexy Aiden, who chopped wood and stretched cow skin to make one-of-a-kind furniture. Carrie made such a mistake in letting him go.

So where does the IT Guy come in on the sexiest jobs surveys?

- Are us IT guys really just yesterdays jam to all of you...... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

They know they dont have a chance with us. We already have our supermodel girlfriends. Women need a fantasy that is obtainable.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Raiser wrote: »
    1. So where does the IT Guy come in on the sexiest jobs surveys?

2. - Are us IT guys really just yesterdays jam to all of you...... :(

1. Somewhere down towards the bottom, yiz don't even wear uniforms/Snickers.

2. Yes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

this should be interesting, consider 90% of boardsies are male, and 99.99999% of them are in IT :)

uniforms suck anyways, i spent 12 years of my youth in a blue sweater/black sweater i really don't like uniforms, i do have a pair of sneakers though :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭metamorphic

Careful now or the IT guys might not let you continue on the internetz if you're going to be cruel!

and yes, I too work with computers :( Had a girl tell me that was "interesting" once, god bless her.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

this should be interesting, consider 90% of boardsies are male, and 99.99999% of them are in IT :)

I'm female and work in IT :) the sartorial elegance of my male colleagues astounds me on a daily basis :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

I am computer cryptonite so our IT guys are thesexiestbestmostwonderfulsupercleverwhyhasntheaskedmeouttodinneryetmostdefinitelynotyesterdaysjam

*waves

Hi Richard! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

[QUOTE= Generic sexiest jobs a man can have type article
    ]Every woman has had the fantasy of being seduced by a sexy, muscular construction worker with a hard hat and a tool belt. If he just so happens to be sensitive and well-read too, she may have found her soul mate.[/QUOTE]
    Ah lovely jubbly. It's days since I've been told what I, as a standard representative of 'every woman' should and shouldn't like.

Something must be horrifically wrong with the intarweb today though as I, and my standard issue "every woman" brain came up with slightly different imagery to that conjoured up by each profession...

The Plumber
    Hairy arse cracks and bad jokes ahoy!!

The Musician
    Cries a lot and hyper-sensitive. Disappears mid-fight to capture the passion in lyrics. Can't say I love you without 5 bars of melody and a stanza of "I'm sorry"'s.

The Surgeon
    Self-absorbed, self-obsessed workaholic who'll charge me €200 for a 15 minute consultancy chat over dinner.

The Cowboy
    I have sex with no man who smells of horse poo. End of.

The Firefighter
    "Oh darling, I do love that pungent odour of smoke, melted plastic and damp burnt wood that lingers on your skin/ hair/ every pore of your body".

The Chef
    All I want is a cheese-bloody sandwich. Not melted brie on a delicate sesame-cracked wholegrain farm loaf topped with cranberry paste and garnished with shredded rocket and baby spinach. I daren't even think about how over-complicated bedroom life could get.

The Furniture Maker
    Mmmm. Callouses and random splinters. Nice.

g'em
    -channelling the cranky mare vibe today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I struck gold, my gf's only brother is a hardcore nerd and she grew up around games and nerd talk, so it was easier for her to accept my nerdilicious ways. So the moral is, chase down all the nerds you know and see if they have any sisters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Me and my gf are both software developers, we met in college... she's the perfect woman for me. Maybe its just in my experience but I've found the women I've gone out with in other fields to be found intellectually wanting. Don't get me started on People in Sales(not all of them just the ones I've met).

hobochris wrote: »
    Me and my gf are both software developers, we met in college... she's the perfect woman for me. Maybe its just in my experience but I've found the women I've gone out with in other fields to be found intellectually wanting. Don't get me started on People in Sales(not all of them just the ones I've met).

Aww its like an inner join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭MeMyself&I

The IT guy from my old job was lovely, gorgeous and great craic, we all loved him, but he was married :(

My current IT guy is pretty hot too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

For one horrible, horrible moment, I thought the thread would be about (ex) IT Guys in the Gavin Lambe Murphy sense of the phrase.

Please don't frighten me like that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Awh, I love IT guys.

The perfect one would be the writer/millionaire who was a handyman before he won the lotto though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

jester77 wrote: »
    I struck gold, my gf's only brother is a hardcore nerd and she grew up around games and nerd talk, so it was easier for her to accept my nerdilicious ways. So the moral is, chase down all the nerds you know and see if they have any sisters :D

So, is it possible that she likes you because you remind her of her brother??:pac::pac:

What about unemployed layabouts who do nothing but surf boards and Workout???? Where do we stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

So where does the IT Guy come in on the sexiest jobs surveys?

- Are us IT guys really just yesterdays jam to all of you...... :(

IT guys come highest on my personal list... not really a conscious thing, just go all to jelly for a man who knows his way around a computer.

Something very sexy about a man who knows what he's doing, whatever the profession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭*Dallas

the majority of i.t guys in my building are hot they say completley innocent things like 'wots wrong with your hardrive' that just send our minds crazy lol

1. So where does the IT Guy come in on the sexiest jobs surveys? # 1

2. - Are us IT guys really just yesterdays jam to all of you...... Hell NO!! although i could think of some uses for i.t guys and jam..

i just crossed the line, i apologise :D

[really bad IT joke]
    i need to install drivers on your box using my 5 1/4" floppy
    [/really bad IT joke]

if the IT guy says he only have a 3 1/2" floppy then back away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Nothing worse then an IT guy who think cos you have tits that you don't know anything
    about your pc and when they do turn up spend the time having a converstaion at your tits.

Actually you can replace IT Guy with nearly any trade monkier and pc with car/appliance ect.

I really don't see the point of this thread, it assume that most of the posters here are
    not nerds or nerd friendly and I don't think that boards has reached that point yet.

It is the IT guys/gals job to fix the issue tbh even if the staff they are interacting with
    are not the friendly and it's not part of the staff's job to be chummy with someone that they feel they have nothing in common with.

Seriously dude if the office chick you are getting wond up over doesn't see you for what
    you want then it could be for a range of reasons all of them more to do with her then you so let it go, build a bridge.

Personally I think I would find it hard to be in a relationship with someone
    that I had to explain pc/internet/gaming references to constantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I'm pretty much exclusively attracted to computer nerds. Can't help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Nothing worse then an IT guy who think cos you have tits that you don't know anything
    about your pc and when they do turn up spend the time having a converstaion at your tits.

Actually you can replace IT Guy with nearly any trade monkier and pc with car/appliance ect.

I really don't see the point of this thread, it assume that most of the posters here are
    not nerds or nerd friendly and I don't think that boards has reached that point yet.

It is the IT guys/gals job to fix the issue tbh even if the staff they are interacting with
    are not the friendly and it's not part of the staff's job to be chummy with someone that they feel they have nothing in common with.

Seriously dude if the office chick you are getting wond up over doesn't see you for what
    you want then it could be for a range of reasons all of them more to do with her then you so let it go, build a bridge.

Personally I think I would find it hard to be in a relationship with someone
    that I had to explain pc/internet/gaming references to constantly.

Nah, its only meant to be a bit of fun playing off the whole IT Nerd stereotype and I suppose the fact that a good portion of the gals on here could probably write a thesis on nerdy :p

- But if I have to explain it......

Nah, its only meant to be a bit of fun playing off the whole IT Nerd stereotype and I suppose the fact that a good portion of the gals on here could probably write a thesis on nerdy :p

- But if I have to explain it......

It's actually a kind of interesting sociological point... in ye olden days, women were generally housewives, so men like plumbers, builders, plasterers, firemen, policemen... they were the guys who 'came to their rescue' so to speak.

These days, we're all holed up in offices and the only thing we need rescuing from is IT issues :P :P

Tongue firmly in cheek there... but seriously, I think the 'fantasy man' adapts depending on the situation you're in, if that makes sense.

shellyboo wrote: »
    Tongue firmly in cheek there... but seriously, I think the 'fantasy man' adapts depending on the situation you're in, if that makes sense.
    the IT guy wins here to, because thanks to the internet we can be whoever we want. on weekends i'm a level 75 night elf with mana burning cloak

would you like a piece of candy?*

*just a disclaimer, i ain't american, nor am i a paedo. :)

the IT guy wins here to, because thanks to the internet we can be whoever we want.

would you like a piece of candy?*

*just a disclaimer, i ain't american, nor am i a paedo. :)

Well, I'm 25, so pretty much safe from paedos...

*takes candy*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

shellyboo wrote: »
    Well, I'm 25, so pretty much safe from paedos...

*takes candy*
    thats what you think, I herd a rumor the paedo's where building a time machine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

That's enough paedo jokes. Bad taste doesn't even begin to cover it.

The Plumber, no
    The Musician, maybe
    The Surgeon, no
    The Cowboy, no
    The Firefighter, no
    The Chef, no
    The Furniture Maker, no

where's the nerdy type pls

Girls... all you have to do in a bar is pretend to steal a guys beer and say "All your drink is belong to us"
    Instant attraction.

No nerd could resist you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Jumpy wrote: »
    Girls... all you have to do in a bar is pretend to steal a guys beer and say "All your drink is belong to us"
    Instant attraction.

No nerd could resist you.

I thought nerds considered that phrase passé now? :confused:

Only tryhard "new nerds" think its old.

To those of us who played Doom on a null modem cable its still perfectly valid.

Waaaaait, where did your boards name come from?

The wire gauge system. Oh my, what an interesting story there is to this name.

Except not really :(

Gauge wrote: »
    The wire gauge system. Oh my, what an interesting story there is to this name.

Except not really :(

Well I thought it would be far more interesting.
    Dont search the word Gauge in google. However yours is quite nerdy, so you better start running, cause the women on this thread will be after you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭NullZer0

They know they dont have a chance with us. We already have our supermodel girlfriends. Women need a fantasy that is obtainable.

So so true my friend!

Well I thought it would be far more interesting.
    Dont search the word Gauge in google. However yours is quite nerdy, so you better start running, cause the women on this thread will be after you.

Oh I'm familiar with the porn star version alright!