Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Day 4 - Friday 13th March

• 09-03-2009 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭

Instead of having several topics - lets Group all comments / analysis / bets for CHELTENHAM DAY 4 only please.

Races are as follows:

Triumph Hurdle - 13:30
    County Hurdle - 14:05
    Albert Bartlett Novice Hurdle - 14:40
    Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase - 15:20
    Foxhunter Chase - 16:00
    Martin Pipe Conditional Jockey's Handicap Hurdle - 16:40
    Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase - 17.15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

13:30: Ebadiyan @ 10/1
    14.05: aachen @ 9/1
    14:40: Pride of Dulcote @ 9/2
    15.20: Denman @ 6/1
    16:00: Ofarel Dairy @ 20/1
    16.40: hangover@ 14/1
    17.15: clew bay cove @ 10/1

.02 cent on Cerium in the Gold cup. 2000/1 on Boylesports :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Triumph Hurdle - 13:30
    County Hurdle - 14:05
    Martin Pipe Conditional Jockey's Handicap Hurdle - 16:40
    Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase - 17.15

Are the four I'm going to try to sneak some place-bet value from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Starluck7/1
    Sesenta 25/1 Quevega hacked up on Tues and sesenta was only 4 lentghs behind and ninetieth minute who won on wednesday was behind in this race too so 25/1 is a big price and Ruby had a kind word for this one afterwards
    Alpha Ridge 8/1
    Kauto Star 7/4
    Amicelli 7/1 (only because i backed it last year) Cappa Bleu i really sould be backing!
    Little Shilling 16/1 to destroy Pipes dreams
    Tiger Cry 8/1 once again because i had him last year but if Chapoturgeon runs he'll be tough to beat judging on todays performance!
    €1 Lucky 63 w/o Kauto as i'll be backing him by himself:D

Good luck everyone tomorrow;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Unkle knobhead

have not had one winner all festival :eek:

Please Kauto help me out!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Knobs

Zaynar N.B
    Kyber Kim e/w
    Pride of Dulcote
    Denman (nap)
    Limerick Boy e/w
    BigEared Fran

Thats my lot for tomorrow going to lump on Denman;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 lunar racer

penn da benn e-w
    limerick boy e-w
    Gold cup Pipes horse at around 10-1 will be in the first 3 for sure !!!
    A horse i baced antepost at 25-1 thewimscandrift,alan king a poor festival and this horse will have to buck the trends but a big e-w chance at 14-1 tommorow.
    keep it e-w and avoid favourites tommorow.
    be great to see olvier brady celebrate....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 lunar racer

ps avoid denamn tommorw.not the same horse and never will be again in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

be great to see olvier brady celebrate....

Got a mail about a preview nite where Brady was a guest speaker. He reckons his horse is in great shape and is going to win easy!!!

Is it just banter or is he serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 rocketballs

simarian 50/1
    farringdon 14/1 nb
    weapons amnesty 10/1
    barbers shop 11/1
    baby run 33/1
    oscatello 20/1
    oh crick 9/1

all e/w lucky 15, lucky 31 etc....

as you can see, all big prices, some unjustified on form in particular the 1st race considering the form he has against the 2 market favs. Anyway, its like a needle in a haystack on Fridays racing with the amount of runners and potential winners, even more difficult than thursday to get some value, so please keep bets small. tempting to smash into Kauto again tho, especially if he hits 5/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

I'm doing a AP McCoy Yankee.
    Surely today is his day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 beezer84

I am going something along the lines of this.

1.30 - Starluck
    2.05 - Sesanta - agree with a poster above on this horses chances though the weights aren't what was hoped for.
    2.40 - Weapons Amnesty - think it is about 11/1, great e/w shout imo
    3.20 - there is only one Kauto!!!!
    4.40 - Hangover e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Accumulator. All to place:

2:05 - Aachen
    2:40 - Pride of Dulcot
    3:20 - Exotic Dancer
    4:00 - Kingscliff
    5:15 - Clew Bay Cove

Comes out at about 150/1ish.

Mind you, record so far is 4 losses from 4 bets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

1.30 Lethal Weapon e/w
    2.05 Farringdon e/w
    Gold Cup - Denman e/w

Would wrap up a nice week for me :-)

Two sets of place bet accus
    mike65 wrote: »
    Triumph Hurdle - 13:30 Walkon and Ebadiyan
    County Hurdle - 14:05 Raise Your Heart and Sunnyhillboy
    Martin Pipe Conditional Jockey's Handicap Hurdle - 16:40 Big Eared Fran and Little Shilling
    Johnny Henderson Grand Annual Chase - 17.15 Oh Crick and Clew bay Cove

I'll look for a few long shots like FISHER BRIDGE in the first and VALAIN in the last.

Add ROLL ALONG to that list 66/1 in Gold Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cdb

Make of it what you will but a friends source in a bookies says that Denman is carrying a knock and may struggle up the hill at the finish. A close eye on his odds will reveal more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Went to a few preview nights and there was concensus from all and sundry that Denman hadn't a prayer. One to avoid imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Well i'm going barbers shop e/w in gold cup but having a very had time trying to pick in other races particularly in the 1st race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

Never thought to come over to this thread for anyone thats intrested ive had 3 winners already this week from tips i got of a guy last week who seems to have come up trumps so far the one he gave me for today was an e/w treble in the first 3 races
    1.30 Ebadyian 15/2
    2.05 American Trilogy 20/1
    2.40 Pride of dulcote 10/3
    Estimated return on paddy power with a €4 was around the 3 grand mark

I was listening to Ruby Walsh he said having watched him on the gallops working with the other Nicholls horses Denman is in much better shape than people belive generally. He said he hoped he was on the right horse, with Kauto Star

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭lint316

I was listening to Ruby Walsh he said having watched him on the gallops working with the other Nicholls horses Denman is in much better shape than people belive generally. He said he hoped he was on the right horse, with Kauto Star
    My money is on Kauto Star for this one Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭saffron22

lethal weapon 12/1 e.w
    sunnyhill boy 7/1 e.w
    alpha ridge e.w
    Exotic Dancer e.w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

1.30pm - Couldn't decide between Ebadiyan and Lethal Weapon so I stuck a €5 E/W on both.

Gold Cup - €5 E/W Kauto Star, should be safe.

And for the laugh I put €1.25 E/W on Cerium as well. Paddy Power only had him at 500/1 though. :(

Any recommendations for the other races?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭wannabepr

Go Ebadiyan :):):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Solesurvivor

My selections for today are:

zaynar/jumbo rio 1.30
    aachen 2.05
    midnight club 2.40
    Denman 3.20 yes i said it:D
    Juveigneur 4.00
    Little shilling 4.40
    Oh crick 5.15

First race seems extremely hard to judge and most of the rest:)
    I think Denman still has a great chance to finish in the top three and at good odds so have a pop ye of little faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

My bets are as follows.

€0.20 AP McCoy Lucky 15
    €0.22 AP McCoy Yankee
    €8.25 Kauto Star (win)

Account cleared, and I'm even, even if I lose these. Its all or nothing now baby!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Have had 4 winners and 2 places this week from 9 bets. Its all on Kauto now though. Same happened last year and lost a 4 figure sum. I have Kauto backed at 5 to 1 ante post also from last May. Come on Ruby
    I think the pros will steam into Denman e/w serious value to be had e/w at 6/1 if your into big betting. Not to sure about Irish chances today, limited enough. Mouse Morris has a good thing in the 2.40 he's worth money e/w 16 to 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭positivenote

okay so ive had 5 winners all week and one place so heres what im a backing:

ebadiyam/barbashop double e/w

starluck/Alpha ridge/ kauto star/ juveingeur e/w acc aswell as single e/w bets

ive cleared my account and have 1 euro left so im looking for a nice treble to lump it on?

Bearing in mind PP is paying out to 5 places in the opener, Simarian at 66/1 is worth a euro or two e/w. Likes the track likes the distance likes the going has a grade 1 win to his name, a not very impressive third lasst time out behind Walkon he might well come back a bit as that was on heavy ground He has won on heavy but it was a Grade 3 race of mixed quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭positivenote

i thought PP was pay up to 4th place in the first and 54th place in the 2.05?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭nehemiah

i thought PP was pay up to 4th place in the first and 5:)th place in the 2.05?

Correct

I stand corrected, I but I still think he's worth 2 euro! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

well i logged in to find a nice 290e ni my account this morn :)

so here goes today...

1.30 ebadiya 8/1
    2.40 on raglin road 12/1
    3.20 air force one 25/1
    1e E/W patent

4.00 dublin hunter 40/1
    4.40 andytown
    5.15 french opera 8/1
    1e E/W patent

and with the 5e free bet ill have AAChen at 8/1 win

random outsider for the crack.. Snoopy loopy in the 3.20
    2.50 Each way at 150/1 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

i know i was on about the other 2 sivola horses yesterday but there is one running today in first race has placed in last 4 races 3 of them grade 1's and 2 in chelt finished 2nd to walkon in one and came 3rd in the other which was won by simarian the horse mike posted about which also came 3rd in the race that sivola came 2nd in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Lat day. hoping for some wins

1.30 walkon win ebadiyan e.w
    2.05 Khyber kym e.w
    2.40 capr tribulation win browns bailey e.w
    3.20 deman win (have a feeling harry the swindler is up to something)
    4.00 juveigner win Southwestern e.w
    4.40 big eared fran win hangover e.w
    5.15 my petra win central house e.w

After havin my few bets there now, today is going to be the day

1.30 Zayner 9/2
    2.05 Daves Dream 4/1
    4.00 Juveigneur 9/2 Nap (After getting food word from cheltenham about this horse)
    4.40 Big eared fran 9/2 (bit sick after backing this one as my source says mamlook is best of pipes yard for today:mad:)

Also have a 32/1 double on Zaynar and Daves dream!!!
    Thats it really wanted to back Denman but think that race is too tight to call!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭oppiuy

anyone know trainbairns tips or analyse for the day

Okay take from this what you will, but Ruby Walsh has just given Niall Hannity (Ferdy Murphys assisant) a nod and a wink regarding American Trilogy in the 2.05 (edit doh mentioned wrong race)

oppiuy wrote: »
    Lat day. hoping for some wins

3.20 deman win (have a feeling harry the swindler is up to something)

I AGREE

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Barbers Shop/American Trilogy e/w double

juveingeur e/w

Edit : Forgot the €0.25 e/w bet on Cerium :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Okay take from this what you will, but Ruby Walsh has just given Niall Hannity (Ferdy Murphys assisant) a nod and a wink regarding American Trilogy in the first
    Ah nuts, Ruby let me down yesterday so i went with the pretty names today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭lint316

Here we go!!!
    Best of luck to everyone for the day!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lethal Weopan for this i hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

is there anywhere online you can listen to the racing?

Go on Ebadiyan !!!

ntlbell wrote: »
    is there anywhere online you can listen to the racing?

paddypower.ie

boylesports.com