Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinn fein?

• 07-03-2009 1:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭

I want to ask you guys here,why not sinn fein? I can never understand that:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭cm2000

shqipshume wrote: »
    I want to ask you guys here,why not sinn fein? I can never understand that:confused:
    they are a very left wing socialist party who were the political party of a terrorist organization.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

cm2000 wrote: »
    they are a very left wing socialist party who were the political party of a terrorist organization.

Were past tense!
    I don't know i watched Gerry Adams at the ard fheis and his speech and his ideas for Ireland very sound.
    His argument has been there for a while and he had previously talked about the downward spiral Fianna fail was getting us into.
    Do you honestly feel they would damage the country?

oh god yes, they would be absolutely horrendous. just to ask you what his vision actually was? There's no way he could cut the deficit because they want big government. They would do this by taxing the rich only that wouldn't do because a. there's not enough rich people and b. there wouldnt be any left once they came in. They are also historically anti european and would alienate us from the eu which is vital for our survival.

and i dont care if they WERE the political wing of a terrorist organization, if osama bin laden came to a cease fire i still wouldnt want him running the damn country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭marbar

i'd like to think of myself as a republican, but god help us all if they ever have a seroius mandate
    it was only a few years ago that jerry was utteroly stumped on economic matters on question time.
    and just becaseu maire ní núalán or what ever she's called has an opinion now, doesn't mean that they've learned their lesson

remenber, this is stil the party that was against us joining the EU
    never forget that. no matter what they say now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

they are political opportunists that have no policies to offer us.

exactly. nothing new, just fear mongering that will get us nowhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

its kinda late and i have to get up for work early,
    http://www.ardfheis.com/?p=183 here you go,

4 lines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭celticfan32

Sinn Fein will hold the balance of power within the next 6-7 years. Its about time too !!!!. The true republican party not those so called muppets from Fianna Fail who have our beautiful country destroyed !!!!

how would they solve this crisis then? and dont speak in generalities, i want actual proposals here, not just empty talk of "fairness"

oh dear
    let's thank the lord that limerick is not our capital

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Sinn fein deserve to be a political party ,but not one that governs the country.
    They'll probably do well in the next election ,but so will the other opposition parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Martyr

the way some people talk of sinn fein..so FF are good at economics? :rolleyes:

tbh, i don't see how SF could do any worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ionix5891

Martyr wrote: »
    the way some people talk of sinn fein..so FF are good at economics? :rolleyes:

tbh, i don't see how SF could do any worse.

they want to raise corpo tax to 20-30%

now please repeat "i don't see how SF could do any worse" while reading the above line, they want to pull this country out of EU and worse destroy our falling economy, these people put a new meaning on the word crazy lunatics

the thread starter should read previous threads here on SF

and they also sell nice tshirts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

IRA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Martyr

ionix5891 wrote:
    ..destroy our falling economy

really? so a low-corpo tax can save it? :rolleyes:
    is that the secret to irelands success?

btw, i'm not SF supporter, just don't think FF ran this country at all, into the ground maybe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭1huge1

marbar wrote: »
    oh dear
    let's thank the lord that limerick is not our capital
    Trust me mate don't judge Limerick on people like him, come on with a name like celticfan32 what did you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

Maybe Sinn Fein getting into government wouldn't be the worst thing.

I'm not a supporter, but personally I cannot stand the stagnation, pettiness, nepotism, parochialness and "jackeen man" attitudes in Irish politics.

I'm not comfortable with SFs terrorist links and socialist policies (and Mary Lou MacDonald rubs me up the wrong way) but they have more drive and political will than any other party presently. They also so have an excellent speaker and charismatic statesman in Gerry Adams.

As for their links to terrorism - they are not the only party in history with such links. FG and FF were also borne aout of violence.
    That is not to dismiss these links, and I would by no means by overjoyed if SF were in government, but are they really any worse than what's already there.

(On another topic, yet still political, do ye remember from a few weeks back when a Green Party TD smashed U2s entire back catelogue in protest at their tax evasion.....by running over them with his 4 wheel drive!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

ionix5891 wrote: »
    and they also sell nice tshirts :D

Is that for real, do SF actually sell t-shirts with IRA on them?

In that case forget what I just said.

Does anyone know that stand in Tralee that sells republican stuff? Saw an Englishman having a go at them one day - funny stuff.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Look at it this way, Places like

Intel
    HP
    Apple
    Google
    Microsoft
    Siemens

They arent here for the weather!

is that the secret to irelands success?

btw, i'm not SF supporter, just don't think FF ran this country at all, into the ground maybe..

large companies who employed alot of people who were attracted here by low corpo tax,
    and SME's like mine who would go under with an increase of this tax, especially nowadays

did not cause this economic downturn! :mad:

put the blame where it belongs now please, any of these

* investment banks, here and abroad
    * central banks keeping interest rate lows
    * builders and speculators who bought into an asset bubble
    * FF for plundering away the money on making the public sector fatter
    * opposition parties (including SF) who didnt prevent the above from doing what they did

raising corpo tax would hurt the industries that actually make wealth by making useful things like microchips or software like microsoft and google, and all of the companies attached to these

so please get your facts straight

SF economic "bright spark" about the taxation system will sink this country further than FF corrupt ways :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Quite simply Sinn Fein represents the worst of the old style politics of this country. They are Fianna Fail with blood on their hands. Worse still their stated policies would make us into something like of Cuba and Venezuela as some form or pariah state within the EU. They would be antagonistic to the UK and the US. They would be a high tax regime with a bigger public service. Worse still they might stir elements in the army and Garda if they attempted to mess with either force. Imagine a former Provo as head of the army?

Twenty years from now, they might have calmed down enough and moved away from their past. But even then they will be nothing more than an excessively left wing party with nothing to offer us. Ignore their current work in the North. Northern Ireland is an anomaly economically and politically. Take away British money and it collapses overnight.

Sinn Fein is an example of what we want to avoid going back to. They have nothing to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Fianna Fail and Fine Gael were also formerly terrorists 75 years ago. I would have turned to arms if my mates were shot for wanting the vote 30-40 years ago.

The IRA during the War of Independence were a military force who targeted the British Military. Sinn Fein and Gerry Adams are huge forces in a terrorist organization who maliciously targeted civilians. They are the scum of the earth. The comparison is totally unjust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Whenever anyone resorts to speaking a "cupla focal as gaelige" when hit by serious questions that need answers, I tend to switch my brain off.

Wenever anyone intersperes attacks on the oppostion with a "cupla focal as gaelige" when hit by serious questions that need answers, I immediately write them off, faster than you could say Sean Fitzpatrick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You say that like its a bad thing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Sinn Fein and Gerry Adams are huge forces in a terrorist organization who maliciously targeted civilians. They are the scum of the earth.

Here Here......and lets not forget they were involved in a campaign of sectarian genocide against the protestant community along the border

if they ever get into power..then god help us all

Nodin wrote: »
    You say that like its a bad thing....

never mind being a Venezuala at least they have oil

Ireland would end up like Colombia!

and then there is there stance on EU, these are the same people who didn't want us to join and opposed every single EU treaty since :rolleyes:

i am sorry to say but SF have serious issues and a lot of baggage that gives them no credibility at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

fryup wrote: »
    Here Here......and lets not forget they were involved in a campaign of sectarian genocide against the protestant community along the border

News to me.

If they were involved in such a campaign, why didn't they take the 'soft' option and target Protestants in Donegal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

I have voted SF and probably will again. I've also voted FG, FF, Green and Labour. Im not a member of any party, I just think the government should be changed regularly so I vote for who's not in. Leave any party there to long and corruption becomes easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

shqipshume wrote: »

All that murdering and maiming; thats why not.

Maybe in a generation or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Daithinski

marbar wrote: »
    it was only a few years ago that jerry was utteroly stumped on economic matters on question time...w

FF seem constantly stumped on economic matters:rolleyes:

fryup wrote: »

if they ever get into power..then god help us all

Tell the truth much??:rolleyes:

I would have turned to arms if my mates were shot for wanting the vote 30-40 years ago.

Would you have forced a civilian to drive a car bomb to a checkpoint and then remotly detonate it?
    Would you have planted bombs in bins near Warrington, killing two children?
    Would you have detonated three car bombs in Claudy, killing 9 people including 3 children?
    Would you have (... this list could go on and on.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Funny how no FF/FG folk will answer the point about their founder members were not exactly legal either?
    I do think that SF might be a little politically thin on the ground when it comes to substance (to put it nicely) but a stronger leaning to the left might not be such a bad thing. Lets face it, the free market as we have known it has proven itself not to work. Completely different people without conflict of interest issues would be nice. Not sure it anyone fitting that bill exists!

dvpower wrote: »
    Would you have forced a civilian to drive a car bomb to a checkpoint and then remotly detonate it?
    Would you have detonated three car bombs in Claudy, killing 9 people including 3 children?

Unless you support Labour the political party you supported burned down country estates and townhouses forcing people to leave the country in the 10's and 20's. I dont support SF but the situation in the north is comparable to ours at the foundation of our state. What they did was wrong, but the attitude of holier than thou FF and FG is disgusting when you consider the atrocities they did at the foundation of the state.

dvpower wrote: »

well said

IRA aka SF are a bunch of thugs carrying weapons using various excuses (nationalism,liberation,religion) to continue their profitable racketeering operations and justify their killings of innocent people while romanticising their deeds with outdated concepts such as nationalism

the whole northern Ireland issue is moot nowadays as both countries are in EU

the fact that SF are still going on about it and haven't apologised for murder of innocent people while the whole world moved on and is currently facing bigger challenges such as climate change and global downturn just shows how out of touch this party is :mad:

The IRA during the War of Independence were a military force who targeted the British Military. Sinn Fein and Gerry Adams are huge forces in a terrorist organization who maliciously targeted civilians. They are the scum of the earth. The comparison is totally unjust.

:rolleyes: Typical anti SF view.

Some people will always be anti SF and some very much pro SF.

One things for certain, they will gain seats at the next GE.

Fianna Fail has destroyed our economy and the main oppostion Fianna Gael would do what differently???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Sinn Fein will never hold power in the republic in the future

Mystic Meg is it ?? How do you know that for certain?

rarnes1 wrote: »
    :rolleyes: Typical anti SF view.

Some people will always be anti SF and some very much pro SF.

One things for certain, they will gain seats at the next GE.

Fianna Fail has destroyed our economy and the main oppostion Fianna Gael would do what differently???
    Are you trying to make the point that Fine Gael are so like Fianna Fáil by spelling it with a like ''Fianna'' or can you just not spell?

1huge1 wrote: »
    Are you truing to make the point that Fine Gael are so like Fianna Fáil by spelling it with a like ''Fianna'' or can you just not spell?

Great reply by the spelling police.

Btw you should brush up on your spelling too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Daemonica

Ok. I come from a family of reporters, all of whom at some point did some research on Sinn Fein.

Sinn fein tend to appeal to one particular class, working class citizens. It is easier to relate to a left wing party if you come from a slightly empoverished background but have deep connections and roots traceable in ireland, i.e., they probably know their family tree off by heart.

You see, Sinn Fein are left wing. They hate the monarchy or anything that resembles it. Left wing parties usually want some sort of radical reform of parliment/ dail and Sinn Fein are much the same. The tactics employed by them, however, are just plain wrong.

The IRA are essentially the armed forces for Sinn Fein.
    "Who here really believes we can win the war through the ballot box? But will anyone here object if, with a ballot paper in this hand and an Armalite in the other, we take power in Ireland?"

Direct quote from themselves too.

I think it can be simplified way further though.

Sinn fein are angry. Always. Don't vote for angry people, they are usually caught up in their own beliefs that they ignore yours.

That, and they are a bunch of terrorists that use imtimidation and threaten people to stop them from leaking information on them.

1huge1 wrote: »
    Are you truing to make the point that Fine Gael are so like Fianna Fáil by spelling it with a like ''Fianna'' or can you just not spell?

I think it was a typo, not a spelling mistake.

appologies.

Oh and it was a typo but thats no excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Trust a sinn fein thread to descend into a rant about spelling.

Sinn Feins hard core ideology is the last thing we need know. Despite what people like to think, capitalism has not failed only mis-groomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

turgon wrote: »
    Despite what people like to think, capitalism has not failed only mis-groomed.

based on???

there more blood on their hands now :mad:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055507253

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Thats a bit of a outrageous claim ionix5891, and i think it should be deleted.