Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Fox" calibre shoot at Midlands

• 06-03-2009 9:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭

March 22, 2009, Midlands Range, Tullamore

An "open"* competition for all fox/target shooters. Calibres allowed .223, .204 Ruger, .22 Hornet, .17 Remington

Come along and have a nice day shooting with like minded individuals with similar calibres.

* Open to Non Members - Bring your firearms certificate

NOTE : Mods I posted this in the hunting section as it's aimed at hunters. They might not look in the "Target Section"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

NOTE : Mods I posted this in the hunting section as it's aimed at hunters. They might not look in the "Target Section"
    Fair enough BS, but sure stick it up in there as well why don't you? I can think of at least one ex-mod who shoots a .223 who'd turn up ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Sparks wrote: »
    Fair enough BS, but sure stick it up in there as well why don't you? I can think of at least one ex-mod who shoots a .223 who'd turn up ;)

He's too busy these days ;)

An "open"* competition for all fox/target shooters. Calibres allowed .223, .204 Ruger, .22 Hornet, .17 Remington

Come along and have a nice day shooting with like minded individuals with similar calibres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

A note for my diary -- see you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Well Clive if your going to put that new piece of glass through its paces, I guess I'll see you there, bud ;)

Bunny Shooter
    Whats the setup for this shoot?? As in how's it going to be run?
    Just so that I can get my eye in before the comp :D

Well Clive if your going to put that new piece of glass through its paces, I guess I'll see you there, bud ;)

OK then we'll put a €5 down to see who's the best.
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:I know I've lost already.:mad::mad:

clivej wrote: »
    Bunny Shooter
    Whats the setup for this shoot?? As in how's it going to be run?
    Just so that I can get my eye in before the comp :D

Clive tbh with ya I've no idea at the moment. I mentioned a comp of this nature to Tony a few months ago and well he said ya great idea you can help run it :eek: I haven't been able to get there in a while but hope to be there soon to meet Tony and sort it out.

In the meantime ideas welcomed.

Just one thing remember it has to be static shooting prob no further than 200 - 300 yards

spoke to JP and he's talking about 100 and 200 meters other than that nothing agreed yet. so kneeling prone sitting standing or bench ???? also would it be one of the patchable fox targets:):) should be interesting if we get weather like today 80mph winds:eek::eek:

Clive, you trying to play the under dog hand again :rolleyes: :D

FS

Bunny Shooter PM sent.

BS, pm sent

Bunny Shooter PM sent.

Reply sent ;)

BS, pm sent

Reply sent ;)

Jaysus lads, you do realise that boards sends an email message to posters when they get a PM, right? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Hey Bunny Shooter, Just wondering how much is it for a days shooting like that? Thanks

Jaysus lads, you do realise that boards sends an email message to posters when they get a PM, right? :D
    Email ?? whats that ??

I posted it cause some bugger keeps shooting me carrier pigeons!!;)

e-mail ? you need an internet connection for that :pac:

kay 9 wrote: »
    Hey Bunny Shooter, Just wondering how much is it for a days shooting like that? Thanks

Entry to competitions is normally cheap enough range fees are €30 per day I think. Will check for you unless some of the other lads here know ?

I think it's €20 for centrefire guns for the day.

Thanks for the info lads, is there anything you need apart from gun, ammo and your license?

Yeah, lots of luck with the likes of Clive J and Bunny shooter about!!;).

I'd only be goin for the craic anyway because I don't have a great setup at the moment cause i got s**t glass. Still thinking about it actually. Should have stayed well away from the recession scope. chat ya later mate

Thats the reason I'm going, for the crac and the copious amount of sh1t talk. Ah its a good day out and any excusse to shoot is a good one. OH don't forget the breakfast rool it hits the spot when your there. make mine just sausage and rashers with red sause!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 john west

Sounds good might see ya there lads.

Can I just say that the main reason behind this shoot is a bit of craic :D My attitude is why bother unless your enjoying it ..................... bit of good natured banter is more fun than competition rivalry :)

And as fishslapped says the ****e talk is great too :cool:

I totally agree, it might shake off the recession blues. After all, we're Irish so we don't get down about much:D Ps. Do we need to book it in advance or can that be done closer to the date?

kay 9 wrote: »
    I totally agree, it might shake off the recession blues. After all, we're Irish so we don't get down about much:D Ps. Do we need to book it in advance or can that be done closer to the date?

Just turn up at approx 10am how simple is that tell lads in office you want to shoot comp and we'll look after you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

Just turn up at approx 10am how simple is that tell lads in office you want to shoot comp and we'll look after you ;)

Hi
    Are the list of calibres you posted the only ones allowed?
    KKK

What you got ? KKK

From what I can gather it seems to be for small cartridge center fire's ie: .22 hornet to .223 but I sure any wildcats in between would be welcome for example :

22reedexpressgif.gif

the .22 reed express.

kakashka wrote: »
    Hi
    Are the list of calibres you posted the only ones allowed?
    KKK

As FS said anything between .22 hornet and .220 Swift namely, .22 hornet, .222 rem, .17 rem, 204 ruger, 220 swift, 223 ............... these are generally taken in hunting circles as "fox" calibres, we know that 22-250 and 243 are used but we want to restrict it to the upper limit of .223/220 swift.

There are a lot of "fox" shooters out there who dabble in target shooting this comp is mainly for them ;) 22/250 is still considered the "smallest" deer calibre allowed therefore we have decided to stick to the "old" divide between vermin/deer calibres

22 magnum/17 hmr would not really be deemed suitable on foxes to 200 yards :(

There are a few comps for 22lr during the year too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

As FS said anything between .22 hornet and .220 Swift namely, .22 hornet, .222 rem, .17 rem, 204 ruger, 220 swift, 223 ............... these are generally taken in hunting circles as "fox" calibres, we know that 22-250 and 243 are used but we want to restrict it to the upper limit of .223/220 swift.

22 magnum/17 hmr would not really be deemed suitable on foxes to 200 yards :(

There are a few comps for 22lr during the year too ;)

Why not have the bullet calibre ceiling as 224-and that evens the playing field?

That would mean no .17 rem, 204 ruger and possibly 222, which are all used for fox shooting in this country and are not deer legal. FTR I use 17 rem and my bro uses 204 ruger :(

Basically the remit was centrefire fox calibres, exculding those that were deer legal.

There are lot of fox shooters using the range whose calibres don't/didn't have comps for their specific calibres.

22lr is covered, so is f-class and there is a "deer" shoot held there too.

I and a few of my mates there are fox/target shooters therefore we have decided to run this comp. Tony, Jim & JP are more than happy to facilitate anyone who wants to organise a comp ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

That would mean no .17 rem, 204 ruger and possibly 222, which are all used for fox shooting in this country and are not deer legal. FTR I use 17 rem and my bro uses 204 ruger :(

Basically the remit was centrefire fox calibres, exculding those that were deer legal.

There are lot of fox shooters using the range whose calibres don't/didn't have comps for their specific calibres.

I and a few of my mates there are fox/target shooters therefore we have decided to run this comp. Tony, Jim & JP are more than happy to facilitate anyone who wants to organise a comp ;)

He meant the ceiling was .224, so your .17 and the .204 would still be perfectly fine, while the .243 wouldn't. If you want to exclude the deer-legal calibres, that's fair enough, it's your show, but nobody considers the .22-250 a deer round, any more than they do the .220 swift. I'll definitely give the competition a look-in anyway, what do you plan on having for the format? What course of fire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

check my post again bunny , i changed it to make the bullet calibre ceiling .224 that way you can have anything and everything up to 22-250 or 220 swift- as these are ballistically very close as to make no difference
    as its generally accepted the swift is inherently more accurate than 22-250 but thats another can of worms:D

check my post again bunny , i changed it to make the bullet calibre ceiling .224 that way you can have anything and everything up to 22-250 or 220 swift- as these are ballistically very close as to make no difference
    as its generally accepted the swift is inherently more accurate than 22-250 but thats another can of worms:D

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah too many threads .................... see other post IWM made same argument :)

ANNOUNCEMENT !

Lads, have asked mods to join all post into one thread plase bear with me till this is done

Actually the only reason the .22-250 is still deer-legal is that the Irish Deer Society didn't think it was worth the effort to ban because so few people were still using them or buying new ones...

(Hey BS, ain't this 2% stuff just a barrel of fun? :D:D:D )

ANNOUNCEMENT !

Lads, have asked mods to join all post into one thread plase bear with me till this is done

(YES, Sparks, you are so right :(:D)

I don't mind though :cool: Be worth it if everyone has a good day :)

That's the only attitude that lasts BS!

Can the lads with 22/250's please bear with me till Sunday I will make enquiries and see can we include them. Should be no hassle but want to "run it past" a few of the other "organisers"

There is a "sporting comp" on April 19th at Midlands for ALL calibres if anyone is interested and AFAIK it's an "open" comp too.

He meant the ceiling was .224, so your .17 and the .204 would still be perfectly fine, while the .243 wouldn't. If you want to exclude the deer-legal calibres, that's fair enough, it's your show, but nobody considers the .22-250 a deer round, any more than they do the .220 swift. I'll definitely give the competition a look-in anyway, what do you plan on having for the format? What course of fire?

My comprehension skills are not THAT bad :) The post was edited (see post #35 ;)) Previously it stated only .224 bullets :eek:

I was unaware, consider me corrected. Be interesting to see the .17 Rem, don't know of anyone else using one. Meant to take foxes and put them away quietly like a lightning bolt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Nice one bunny, fair play to you for organising something for the 'orphaned' calibres. :)

Unfortunately won't be able to go because we're having a benchrest shoot the same day, they shouldn't affect each other but I'd love to see the results, especially with the different calibres on show. Will you post them here after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

I was unaware, consider me corrected. Be interesting to see the .17 Rem, don't know of anyone else using one. Meant to take foxes and put them away quietly like a lightning bolt.

Cousin uses one, i use a 223.

using remington accutips in both , the .17 will drop them no problem, At night your not goin to be goin past 200yards. IMO its on par with 223 but if its a windy night....well youd want a 223.

rrpc wrote: »
    Nice one bunny, fair play to you for organising something for the 'orphaned' calibres. :)

Unfortunately won't be able to go because we're having a benchrest shoot the same day, they shouldn't affect each other but I'd love to see the results, especially with the different calibres on show. Will you post them here after?

It's a very good idea for a competition. I'm looking forward to seeing how it works out. Must try get the results up, with the calibre used beside the names.

Photos too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

A note for my diary -- see you there.
    its a 10am start clive..you`d only be just getting back from lamping!!!!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:;)

dwighet wrote: »
    its a 10am start clive..you`d only be just getting back from lamping!!!!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:;)

Dwight will you have that lovely .223 of yours down so I can get a good look at it up close??

By the way don't be slagging poor old Clive just cause he can't come in from the cold for a week :D:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Dwight will you have that lovely .223 of yours down so I can get a good look at it up close??

By the way don't be slagging poor old Clive just cause he can't come in from the cold for a week :D:D;)

I will be there..should be mighty craic

I missed it too :D had to read posts a few times to cop it ;)

.17 Rem is awsome calibe, my bro has best shot I've seen with it. He has taken down a fox at 270+ yards. No messing ;) Never rocochets either :cool: