Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Father Ted Episode

• 06-03-2009 8:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭

Ok, I start with a convoluted story.

In 1972, as a mere slip of a lad, I visited Inis Oir. A cousin of ours toured us around the Island, and of course we had to see the wreck of the Plassey.

In 2006 I visited again and met his son, living in the same family house, Dad had died of cancer not long after our first visit. When posting on Flickr some pictures of Inis Oir I ran into others and that mentioned the use of the Plassey in some show called Father Ted. I was off to youtube and was sucked in. I have since purchased the complete DVD set.

So, to make a long story longer, What is your favorite Ted episode/quote?

A nice debate for a crappy spring I should think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭The_M

Please god! Tell me they are dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Brendan Grace's character; Fr Fintan stack

"If you say that to me again, I'll put yer head through the wall.."

I had my fun, and that's all that counts!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Moved to TV, title changed to something more representative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Its got to be either the Lent episode or the Eurovision episode. Love them both too much to choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Small: Small Cow.jpg

Far Away: Far Away.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭lt_cmdr_worf

Hard to choose, but I have to go for "New Jack City"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Jack_City_(Father_Ted)

Again, it was hard to choose. Father Ted is one of the few shows in existence without a bad episode to its name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

When the three Bishops come to visit. Seson 2 part 2
    Dougal walks by the bishop with the heart problem and randomly screams
    Then mentions that he remembered Aliens was on that night and that they should have a lads night in while bishop is writhing in pain
    Classic :D
    Wait the milkman episode, the sheep episode. Man there is not one that isnt classic actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Pat Mustard all the way!

"Can Pat put his massive tool in my box?"

"And now to ride Mrs O'Reilly.....jaysus Theresa, I forgot me feckin' pants!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Hard to choose, but I have to go for "New Jack City"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Jack_City_(Father_Ted)

Again, it was hard to choose. Father Ted is one of the few shows in existence without a bad episode to its name.
    The last episode isn't great.

I might go for the King of the Sheep episode. "He's lost the trust of his sheep. That's punishment enough for a farmer ... who deals primarily ... with sheep."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

i honestly dont think i could choose...there all excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

very difficult choice to make but my favourite is 'think fast father ted'. the one with the raffle for the car to fix the roof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

My absolute favourite quote from Fr Ted is this one:

Mrs Doyle: Are you looking forward to your lunch tomorrow, Father?
    Ted: Hmmm? I suppose so.
    Mrs Doyle: You do like pheasant, don't you Father?
    Ted: Pheasant? I love pheasant.
    Mrs Doyle: Well there's a little clue. The thing you'll be eating likes pheasant as well.

Absolute classic...

But back to the forum topic.. my favourite episode would have to be the one when he has to kick Bishop Brennan 'up the arse'..:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Way too hard to chose. Pretty much every episode was fantastic. I'm glad they ended it instead of letting it get so crap so they had no option but to kill it. That would have ruined it for me. I still would have loved a few more class episodes to be made though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Christmas special all the way for me.

"Its ireland's biggest lingerie department, I read ....... somewhere"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

btw 15 years old next month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

I love the one where they are in the caravan

...OK, one last time. These are small... but the ones out there are far away. Small... far away... ah forget it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭CyrildoSquirrel

I'm glad they ended it instead of letting it get so crap so they had no option but to kill it. That would have ruined it for me. I still would have loved a few more class episodes to be made though.

Yes. Except that Dermot Morgan who played Fr. Ted died. Didn't he? :confused:

Anyway, I think they said they were finished even before he died. And my favorite one is the one where they give up stuff for lent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

They are all superb but if pushed I'd plump for Chris the Sheep including the beast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭acontadino

Aidric wrote: »
    They are all superb but if pushed I'd plump for Chris the Sheep including the beast.

****in hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭IsMiseConor

Speed 3.

"Ted, you forgot your brick!"

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Speed 3.

"Ted, you forgot your brick!"
    Yeah, that one was class.

Father Ted: "We've been here four hours and all we've got is another mass".
    Other priest: "I love saying mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭lou91

The Mainland

Ted: "D'you know what he'd love? If someone went up to him and said his catchphrase..."

Noel: "God, we might have to eat each other, it'd be like that film Alive. Look, here's me eating Tony... and Tony'd be like oh no get off me, I'm not dead yet and I'd be like, but I'm hungry, Tony! And here's Tony's parents when they hear that I've eaten Tony; oh why did you eat Tony, Tony was our only son. Then at the funeral I'd be like oh I better not show my-"
    Tony: "SHUT UP, SHUT UP, WILL YOU? WILL YOU PLEASE SHUT UP???"
    Noel: "...well. Well I've never. I'm putting you on my list on enemies. You're in for it now, Tony. Ha, no, look what I've really written:
    I REALLY like Tony"

I could do this all day.... such a great show. I just wished it hadn't been made by channel 4, it's the only Irish export we can truly be proud of.
    *blocks out the no line on the horizon hype*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

dan1895 wrote: »

and dermot morgan was 11 years dead last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The stolen whistle was class, the newspaper special on whistles especially, ahead of it's time.

Favourite is the the Lurvely gurls.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

They have lovely storylines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

I dont have a favorite one-they re all classics,I just wanted to say FATHER TED RULES!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

K-9 wrote: »
    The stolen whistle was class, the newspaper special on whistles especially, ahead of it's time.

Favourite is the the Lurvely gurls.

Thats it! I'm callin' the fuppin' man! Listen, this baxtard priest was in our spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

Raise this question on the street or with friends and everyone always says "Eurovision!" It's like a Pavlovian response. It's the stock answer. But although it's one of the most memorable episode (even though they seem to forget the competition was Eurosong not Eurovision), it's not the overall funniest.

You have the same situation when anyone asks "What's your favourite Only Fools and Horses episode?" People invariably say, "the one where Del falls through the counter at the bar", even if they have no idea what the episode was, or that there are better ones.

I myself have no clear favourite, as they're all pretty good. I've always liked "The Passion of St. Tibulus", "Tentacles of Fear" (the three bishops one), "Flight Into Terror", "Speed 3", "The Mainland" ... hell I could just go on naming all of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The one with Brendan Grace as the jungle loving priest is a stand out for me...as mentioned there's not a bad ep in the whole run and there are plenty of others I could have chosen but this one is my favourite...love the bit where they go and rescue Jack from the retirement home ("Jurassic park" lol) and random priests pop up in the torchlight, saying drink, feck etc then they get to Jack and he rattles them all off....then goes home and sorts of Fr Stack.

How did the OP only get around to seeing this in 2006? Even RTÉ were well into a second (maybe third?) repeat of the run of seasons by then. That must have been some rock they were living under...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

dan1895 wrote: »

that's mad! really doesn't feel like it.

i'd find it way too hard to choose a favourite, but must say i been watching some on sky lately, and i love it when i come across one that i have forgotten about, and its almost like watching it for the first time.

the jokes never fade on any of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

One episode that features amongst my favourites (I just can't choose one!) and that nobody else ever seems to mention is "And God Created Woman" from the first series...it's the one with the writer, Polly Clarke. It's also the episode with Mrs. Doyle's classic rant ending with "Ride me sideways was another one!"

Other amusing moments...Ted discussing 'Crime and Punishment' with Polly:

Polly: Did you feel his sense of commitment wane towards the end?
    Ted: Well, yes.
    Polly: When did you feel that begin to happen?
    Ted: Towards the end. Around the time he stopped writing about crime and went on to the punishment bit. It began to drag a bit there for me.

Sr. Assumpta's disgust at the short mass:

"Very short mass tonight, Father. We may not be coming back next year. They say Fr. Clippit does a good long mass. Three hours on a good night.....since his stroke."

Great episode imho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭sub-x

jim o doom wrote: »
    Brendan Grace's character; Fr Fintan stack

"If you say that to me again, I'll put yer head through the wall.."

"I drove your car into a big wall,I've had my fun and thats all that matters"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Anything with Graham Norton is brilliant. He had a great character. Tony was also great with Norton

Wertz wrote: »
    How did the OP only get around to seeing this in 2006? Even RTÉ were well into a second (maybe third?) repeat of the run of seasons by then. That must have been some rock they were living under...

Well, I'm from the US so RTE doesn't reach here!

"So I hear you're a Racist. Should we all become racists now? What's the Churches teaching on racism...."

The_M wrote: »
    Well, I'm from the US so RTE doesn't reach here!

"So I hear you're a Racist. Should we all become racists now? What's the Churches teaching on racism...."

A little bit off with the quote but you're on the right line. It's actually -
    COLM: I hear you're a racist now Father.

TED: Wha...What?

COLM: How did you get interested in that type of thing?

TED: Who said I'm a racist?

COLM: Everyone's sayin' it Father. Should we all be racist now? What's the official line the church is takin' on this.

TED: No, no.

COLM: Only the farm takes up most of the day and at night I just like a cup of tea. I mightn't be able to devote meself to the oul' racism.

Sorry to be pedantic, I just hate misquoting :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Father Ted: I knew a Father Clint Power..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

mental07 wrote: »
    One episode that features amongst my favourites (I just can't choose one!) and that nobody else ever seems to mention is "And God Created Woman" from the first series...it's the one with the writer, Polly Clarke. It's also the episode with Mrs. Doyle's classic rant ending with "Ride me sideways was another one!"

Other amusing moments...Ted discussing 'Crime and Punishment' with Polly:

Polly: Did you feel his sense of commitment wane towards the end?
    Ted: Well, yes.
    Polly: When did you feel that begin to happen?
    Ted: Towards the end. Around the time he stopped writing about crime and went on to the punishment bit. It began to drag a bit there for me.

Sr. Assumpta's disgust at the short mass:

"Very short mass tonight, Father. We may not be coming back next year. They say Fr. Clippit does a good long mass. Three hours on a good night.....since his stroke."

Great episode imho!

Superb episode, overlooked. The sense of frustration and tension is done so well, Ted, trouble getting up at the end after talking with the writer, book held in front, below his waist..

Gemma Craven acts as the writer with Demot Morgan, in that scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Knifey_Spoony

The racist episode is my favourite by far.
    Absolutely hilarious!!!

The greeks!!!!!!

We're all going to heaven.....waheeeeey!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The Passion of St Tibulus........"that wasnt a banana, Dougal!" :D

I really can't pick just one episode, and I've been trying to do so since the start of this thread. It's simply impossible.

However right now I'm lovin the over 75s all priests annual challenge match between Craggy Island and Rugged Island episode.

"No Dougal, Jack was ON trial IN Liverpool." :D

The scenes with the ice cream van and Dick Byrne are classic. In fact, Dick Byrne is one of my favourite characters.

It also sets the scene for the whole 'kicking Bishop Brennan up the arse' fiasco.

Having said that, I'll probably have a new favourite when I sit down to watch some episodes later on. Simply the greatest show ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Racist episode. Especially the parts where he walks into the bar and they're all Chinese, even the traditional Irish band.

And the perfectly square piece of dirt hitler bit. Brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Eddie_1980

I can't remember the name of the episode (I think it may have been called "Cigarettes, Alcohol and Rollar Blading").

It's comical when that nun comes and tortures them and then gets caught scoffing the chocolates on the floor. And then beating Father Dick and his friends around a field with branches from a tree.

The end is good too when Mrs. Doyle comes home to find the priests over indulging in their addictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Wester

"Think Fast, Father Ted" - the one where the roof is leaking so Ted decides to hold a disco with a raffle and fix it so that Dougal wins the prize, a car that Jack smashes up. It also has Fr. Purcell, the most-boring-priest ever: "I knew a woman once, but she died soon afterwards". Plus the dj priest who brings a single record, The Specials, "Ghost Town."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭SaintHubbins

Speed 3 - Pat Mustard is my favourite Father Ted character ever.

Best bits:

"I'm so gorgeous they have to put me under arrest",
    "it's me father, ya ignorant bastard!",
    "I'm having to yank meself off around the clock coz i'm not getting any regular sex with girls" (did you ever think you'd hear someone saying that to a priest on Irish tv!)
    "I'll be off then Padre. Off on my rounds"

and what about that classic strut as well. Sex on legs!

Absolute legend. He was like a like a big,fat old tomcat that hadn't been spayed.

Fair play to the actor Pat Laffin as well. He played two of the biggest degenerates in the history of Irish TV/Film - Pat Mustard and Georgie Burgess from The Snapper. Now that's a legacy. I actually made myself a Pat Mustard t-shirt a few years ago but I think it disintegrated from wearing it too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Crow71

One of my favourite lines is when dougal is looking out the window with the binoculars for the bishops and says "no sign of 'em yet ted"
    Ted: ah dougal theyre here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Wester wrote: »
    Plus the dj priest who brings a single record, The Specials, "Ghost Town."

Our National anthem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

Either the one wire moody priest that says nothing. Or the sarcastic priest and the other guy who are rivals with Ted and Dougal.
    Or the one with Tommy Tiernan in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

Chirpy Burpy Cheep Sheep, it comes together so well. Couple of classic scenes and all, i.e. in the pub "he's the best fecking sheep ever, his little sheep face..." Fargo, or when Ted spots Hudd Hastings wearing a crown. Classic