Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giving money to homeless person

• 04-03-2009 7:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭

The other night I was walking across halfpenny bridge and gave the change in my back pocket to a homeless person. It was something like ten cent or so, but the fella picked it out of his cup and threw it at me calling me a ****.

Being a 19yr old student who had to drink one less pint in order to preserve the €1.60 for the bus home, I felt giving the few cents in my back pocket to a homeless person was better than just kicking it away, as some people tend to do with coppers. Was this just a sheer insult to the fella? Did he expect me to give him the minimum of €1 or something. Up until recently I used ignore those who were begging, perhaps ill continue to do so unless i decide to start giving them a bus fare or something.

Bottom line - was i being insultive giving about 10 or 12 cent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

not at all. Every penny/cent counts.
    I would have gone back and giving him a size 11 in the face for been a prick. Beggers cant be choosers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

He must have never heard the term beggers can't be choosers.
    If everybody passing him by was to give him that amount his money would not be long adding up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Go back and take 10 cent out of his cup, see if he cares that its 'only ten cent'. Then refer to post 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

The saying goes "Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day, teach a man to fish and he'll feed himself for life"

So I always give the beggars my empty polystyrene coffee cups so they can use them to beg. It's really the most humane thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Guy could have just been a little disturbed, or drunk.

Best not to read anything more into it. You were kind not to ignore him; the amount is not relevant. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Just because one homeless person refused it doensn't mean you shouldn't give other homeless folks a few cent/quid here and there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Homeless people can indeed bbe very sharp when they dont get what they want

I saw this one woman begging so went over and gave her 1 euro. 'Here you go' I said. She roared at me 'It's 2 EURO!!!'. Apparantly she was selling Big issues, which I hadnt seen up until that point.

I was so shocked, I ended up quickly giving her another euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

The saying goes "Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day, teach a man to fish and he'll feed himself for life"

"Give a man fire and he'll be warm for a day, set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Homeless people can indeed bbe very sharp when they dont get what they want

I saw this one woman begging so went over and gave her 1 euro. 'Here you go' I said. She roared at me 'It's 2 EURO!!!'. Apparantly she was selling Big issues, which I hadnt seen up until that point.

I was so shocked, I ended up quickly giving her another euro.

Manners cost nothing,which is exactly what I would have given her had I got that reaction tbh.

The woman obviously has some big issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

how do you know he was homeless??, people do this for a living and have nice homes.

There is a guy in the south east that begs on the streets and does a bit of busking, he also claims the dole and lets the dole know that he is "working part time busking", so he gets a slight reduction in his dole money.. hardly skint, also, it's his own choice to be homeless, he prefers life like that!!

As for the guy you give the money to, I would have told him to fcuk off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I pee on the roma beggers.

Fecking Italians comin over here and stealin our, eh... begging spots.

CamperMan wrote: »
    how do you know he was homeless??, people do this for a living and have nice homes.

There is a guy in the south east that begs on the streets and does a bit of busking, he also claims the dole and lets the dole know that he is "working part time busking", so he gets a slight reduction in his dole money.. hardly skint, also, it's his own choice to be homeless, he prefers life like that!!

As for the guy you give the money to, I would have told him to fcuk off!

I get the impression that you wouldn't have given him anything in the first place, so doubt you would've had that problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭acontadino

i feel really sorry for beggers, i find it really hard to just walk by without even saying sorry.

I get the impression that you wouldn't have given him anything in the first place, so doubt you would've had that problem.

I give to good causes... ME :D

I have been homeless before, I didn't go on the streets begging, I looked for work and took whatever I could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Sadly, I bet if you did say sorry, 80% of them would tell you to **** off. Lot of scammers out there I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Never give any of 'em anything.

The problem would then sort itself out pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

The people on the HaPenny are long term drug users, a group that make sure only themselves and a few associates get to beg there, often an aggressive set up with the threat of violence wafting about. If you want to make your money count, store up your change and give it to an organisation that provides for the homeless and dispossessed in Dublin and elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

You could do more if you feel bad for homeless... empathy doesn't do a whole lot tbh. Work for an hour or two if you have the time in one of the soup kitchens around town?

I would never in a million years give a homeless person money... It may go towards food or a blanket or a night in a hostel, chances are it's going towards a few cans or a bit of gear... No thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

Ungrateful c'unt!! They should be grateful for anything they're given, nobody owes them ANYTHING.

I'm glad I never gave money to homeless people. I always say I wont give it to heroin addicts either but everytime one comes up to me at night I chicken out and give the chap 50 cent or so, damn non-existence of free will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

acontadino wrote: »
    i find it really hard to just walk by without even saying sorry.

Sorry for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

The odd time i'll give a euro or two to a beggar. It depends entirely on who the beggar is/the state they are in though.

Funny thing happened recently though. In Limerick, around the area where the main pubs/clubs are, you see the same faces around the footpaths on nights out. Myself and a few mates were on the way to the old quarter, when one of those young lads came over and asked for a few quid. Normally at this stage i'm just after landing in town so I have no change on me anyway, so I normally just say that. This time I said the same, only to get a response from him like "No worries bud.....jaysus it must have taken ages to get the hair like that.....must be on the pull tonight eh?"

Caught me completely off guard, and myself and my mates were pissin ourselves laughin!

I give to good causes... ME :D

I have been homeless before, I didn't go on the streets begging, I looked for work and took whatever I could!

Big Blue Peter Badge for you so! So you suggest all homeless people should just go and get jobs like you so?

You can keep the blue peter badge,

what would you do if you became homeless, take the lazy option and go begging??.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

what would you do if you became homeless, take the lazy option and go begging??.

Not much point in going looking for work these days. I'd beg, no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Maybe its just me and the way I read your post, but you make it sound like thats an outrageous suggestion? :confused:

Maybe you're one of those people who'd be like "Damn them homeless people, taking all our jobs"! :pac:

Most homeless people have real issues, psychological problems, alcholism drug addiction as well as being poorly educated, they have no other option than to beg. Also its pretty hard to get a job without an address/phone no.

Begging isn't "lazy" in most cases its a desperate last resort.

you should have told him that if he wants money he has to earn it.

ie, handjobs, carthwheels, breakdancing etc:D

rarnes1 wrote: »
    you should have told him that if he wants money he has to earn it.

ie, handjobs, carthwheels, breakdancing etc:D

my sides are aching now with laughter! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

QFT

My brother stopped to give a guy money, who slyly showed him a knife. He went home phoneless, iPodless and walletless.

Only for he had his student travel pass in a diffent pocket, he'd be still walking home.

This same brother previously scorned my snubbish attitude to 'the homeless'.

Abigayle wrote: »
    QFT

My brother stopped to give a guy money, who slyly showed him a knife. He went home phoneless, iPodless and walletless.

Only for he had his student travel pass in a diffent pocket, he'd be still walking home.

This same brother previously scorned my snubbish attitude to 'the homeless'.

I would hope you don't apply this way of thinking to all sub-sections of society.

except foreigners of course;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Patrick Bateman had it right in his treatment of the homeless.

Please define. If you are talking about skangers in their pyjamas and fake uggs in town, you bet your bottom dollar Iam.

I think what i said was fairly clear, if your brother was mugged by a group of black fellas in town would your attitude towards black people change then?

It wasnt actually. And no, it doesnt matter a damn what race we are talking about.

However, it is of a racist view to refer to 'blacks' as sub-section of society.

Incidently, my brothers mugger was white, Irish and scum.

It wasnt actually. And no, it doesnt matter a damn what race we are talking about.

However, it is of a racist view to refer to 'blacks' as sub-section of society.

Incidently, my brothers mugger was white, Irish and scum.

It's obviously not racist, you're clutching at straws there.

Yes, your brother's mugger was "white Irish and scum" that's fair enough but not all homeless people are like that, they need help not ignorance.

It's obviously not racist, you're clutching at straws there.

Yes, your brother's mugger was "white Irish and scum" that's fair enough but not all homeless people are like that, they need help not ignorance.

Claiming Im clutching at straws is a sign of weakness.

So do you recommend we arm-link them to the nearest clinic / social welfare office?

You have to WANT help to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

The other night I was walking across halfpenny bridge and gave the change in my back pocket to a homeless person. It was something like ten cent or so, but the fella picked it out of his cup and threw it at me calling me a ****.

Being a 19yr old student who had to drink one less pint in order to preserve the €1.60 for the bus home, I felt giving the few cents in my back pocket to a homeless person was better than just kicking it away, as some people tend to do with coppers. Was this just a sheer insult to the fella? Did he expect me to give him the minimum of €1 or something. Up until recently I used ignore those who were begging, perhaps ill continue to do so unless i decide to start giving them a bus fare or something.

I once seen a homeless guy attack someone who gave him a handful of chips from a McDonalds bag....count yourself lucky.

Claiming Im clutching at straws is a sign of weakness.

So do you recommend we arm-link them to the nearest clinic / social welfare office?

You have to WANT help to get it.

A sign of weakness no, just pointing out your misunderstanding of the word subsection.

How do you know what homeless people "want"? you obviously have no regard for them whatsoever. I recommend that you give them a few quid or else give to a homeless charity thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Since i lost my job in december and am now working for myself in these recessionary times, i have become far to niggardly to be making donations to other people...

...unless its my sperm. I'll donate that for free..
    just point me to a face

How do you know what homeless people "want"?
    Do you? Enlighten me.
    I recommend that you give them a few quid or else give to a homeless charity thats all.

I refer to Creeping Deaths post I quoted earlier.

Im not trying to rile you, I just disagree.

snyper wrote: »
    Since i lost my job in december and am now working for myself in these recessionary times

Nnno0o0o0o0oh! Not you too :(

*Loads gun*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Most homeless people have real issues, psychological problems, alcholism drug addiction as well as being poorly educated, they have no other option than to beg.
    How do you know what homeless people "want"? you obviously have no regard for them whatsoever. I recommend that you give them a few quid or else give to a homeless charity thats all.

Give money to people with psychological, alcholism and drug problems.. eh no. I'll give it to a charity but i wouldn't endanger myself by interacting with a homeless person late at night in town.

Sure i won't use an ATM with a homeless person sitting at it because it feels unsafe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Nnno0o0o0o0oh! Not you too :(

*Loads gun*

No need dear

Ive never being happier. Im broke but im getting there - stress free.

snyper wrote: »
    No need dear

Ive never being happier. Im broke but im getting there - stress free.

It's a great feeling working for yourself, keep it up! :)

Do you? Enlighten me.

I refer to Creeping Deaths post I quoted earlier.

Im not trying to rile you, I just disagree.

They want/need help, you dont think sitting in the street in smelly clothes and cardboard begging people for money is a cry out for help?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

I've long since lost all childish naievity towards homeless people which i once had. I used to work on Angier Street, which was in between three major homeless shelters, and the constant pain in the arse they caused while working is barely mentionable. They used to drink at the side of the shop, slurring, talking ****e to each other while I actually worked to make money. Every time I see a homeless person now, with the exception of kids (Nothing worse than seeing a poor kid begging on the street, no matter the reason) I automatically feel a deep and lasting sense of loathing, almost hatred for that person. Today, for example, while walking down Dawson street at least four Romanian men asked me for money. By the fourth person I was very close to telling him to F off back to wherever he Fooking came from. I wouldn't mind, but its the same shower you always see in centra at the off license, asking people for money so they can buy cheap ass Druids cider.

Honestly, these people are the lowest of the low, dragging humanity down into the alcoholic, drug fueled mess of a nation we've created. I really do think my faith in humanity dies a little, day by day. I'm also beginning to identify with the misanthropic protagonist in Taxi Driver...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭blackbox

Amalgam wrote: »
    The people on the HaPenny are long term drug users, a group that make sure only themselves and a few associates get to beg there, often an aggressive set up with the threat of violence wafting about. If you want to make your money count, store up your change and give it to an organisation that provides for the homeless and dispossessed in Dublin and elsewhere.

Most people don't have to store up change - it is automatically taken from their wages as PAYE and then distributed by the government to the homeless and also used to provide services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Whenever I consider giving homeless people something which might be construed as insulting, I always show it to them and ask them if they want it. With a facial expression that says "it's only this much, but you can have it if you want". If they adress me first then I only do the facial expression.

One time when I was younger I gave a roma woman a bag of crisps I got for free, she didn't seem to mind though, she even smiled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Carlotta

So did you give him the money so he would say thanks, be grateful, say "thank you, kind sir"? Or because you thought he could use it? Do you need to be thanked for a charitable deed?