Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sound Technician Needed

• 04-03-2009 5:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

Looking for somebody to help out with sound at an acoustic night next Monday in Ormond Quay - gig starts at half 8 till 12

we're working off three microphones

hit me back
    progress.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

Elegance wrote: »
    Looking for somebody to help out with sound at an acoustic night next Monday in Ormond Quay - gig starts at half 8 till 12

hit me back
    progress.gif

Paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I really don't think you need a Tech to do an acoustic setup with only 3 mics. But if you've more money than sense, take your pick I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Elegance

unpaid - there might be a pint of the black stuff in it for you

progress.gif

unpaid - there might be a pint of the black stuff in it for you

progress.gif
    Sorry I thought it was a "Technician" you wanted, not a Stage Monkey. College noticeboard is your best bet tbh.

Savman wrote: »
    Sorry I thought it was a "Technician" you wanted, not a Stage Monkey. College noticeboard is your best bet tbh.

what's the difference?

basically any1 willing to offer their expertise - monkeys, zebras, bears

no dicks or egos

progress.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Plaster needed. Not to much just one wall. Must be willing to do it for free.
    Cups of tea provided. Plumber also required.

studiorat wrote: »
    Plaster needed. Not to much just one wall. Must be willing to do it for free.
    Cups of tea provided. Plumber also required.

wouldn't you prefer some dry wall to chew on you sarcastic prick? :)

-- if you're interested PM me --

we had a great night in February - the only let down was the sound
    any1 out there looking to enjoy a great night and make a few new friends PM me

if you're looking to dick dick dick away on this post - let the bull**** continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

'The only let down was the sound'

Elegance, I think the sarcasm comes from asking for someone to work for free.

Tell you what. My work place is just around the corner. If you give me a hand for a few hours before, run the old hoover over the place etc. I'll do sound at your gig.

Why would even a student in sound engineering answer? You haven't even offered to pay their cab fare home. If you are putting on gigs for the good of your health fair play to ya. Are you charging in? What's your angle?

DO NOT LOCK THIS THREAD!!! ;o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭jiltloop

wouldn't you prefer some dry wall to chew on you sarcastic prick? :)

-- if you're interested PM me --

we had a great night in February - the only let down was the sound
    any1 out there looking to enjoy a great night and make a few new friends PM me

if you're looking to dick dick dick away on this post - let the bull**** continue
    You're making a great first impression, I'm sure you'll get loads of volunteers now.

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Elegance, I think the sarcasm comes from asking for someone to work for free.

looking for volunteers to share in a great night, drink some and enjoy the art

Tell you what. My work place is just around the corner. If you give me a hand for a few hours before, run the old hoover over the place etc. I'll do sound at your gig.

Is that the House Hoover, or a hired in rig ? What time's Hoover Check?

(Sorry I couldn't resist)

Why would even a student in sound engineering answer? You haven't even offered to pay their cab fare home. If you are putting on gigs for the good of your health fair play to ya. Are you charging in? What's your angle?

DO NOT LOCK THIS THREAD!!! ;o)

gigs for the sake of art man - no charge in

we had a massive turn out in February - looking to emulate it

Seriously, if there isn't anybody playing there or working there on the night who can't get it together for a gig with 3 mics. It's not a soundman you need it's a maintenance technician.

What sort of a PA is it? what make? How many speakers and where are they? and what was the problem with the sound the last time?

it's the house Orchestral Manoover! She's set up ready to roll. Have a book with all the EQ settings at the ready.

Poor choice of username tbh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Hoover is provided by the house, you need to bring yer own lead though, got a plug for it, just no lead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

Will you wipe me bum to :p

Might as well get me spoke in before I have to lock this thread :rolleyes:

... It is an unfortunate fact that in our industry people who have worked very hard to be good at what they do sometimes need to offer the skills of their craft free. Crap but true. It's another thing to come on and just ask for someone to work without even politely bridging the fact. I hope you find someone and I hope that person gets something out of it but if you post again a wee bit more tact would go down better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

jeez, and people say im harsh :D:D

frobisher wrote: »
    Might as well get me spoke in before I have to lock this thread :rolleyes:
    Believe it or not, I reckon this thread should stay open as a lesson in how not to get what you want.

See kids, if he had've just asked nicely....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

he does seem to have asked the same question in a number of music sub forums so maybe by process of shotgun spamming eventually found someone willing to come aboard.

dav nagle wrote: »
    Will you wipe me bum to :p

with sandpaper :pac:

Seriously, if there isn't anybody playing there or working there on the night who can't get it together for a gig with 3 mics. It's not a soundman you need it's a maintenance technician.

What sort of a PA is it? what make? How many speakers and where are they? and what was the problem with the sound the last time?

basically there was nothing to plug the guitars into so we had to make do with microphones to pick up the strumming - took awhile to find a balance between the vocals and guitar which drowned out some great acts

we had a couple of guys who study sound engineering and took the reins, but they're musicians too and i'd rather have someone who's comfortable to take charge and enjoy the role, because he's an expert at it

i appreciate that you all want to get paid - i'm a teacher, but that doesn't stop me from teaching people outside the school,, i teach because i enjoy it - likewise i make and play art because i enjoy it

isn't that enough?

or is being a sound technician just a ****ty job you either get paid for or don't bother doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭artvandulet

hit me back
    progress.gif

I think if you hadn't omitted the word 'volunteer' from the above you'd have been grand and dandy by now.
    I choose to do this as a career and spend a ridiculous amount of hours per week doing it that I'm not into volunteering for it in my very brief spare time but good luck with it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

l,, i teach because i enjoy it - likewise i make and play art because i enjoy it

isn't that enough?

or is being a sound technician just a ****ty job you either get paid for or don't bother doing?

Smooth, really smooth... :rolleyes:

You really don't do yourself any favours, do you? What do you teach?... how to make enemies & alienate people? :D

Lads ..... Music Production Forum , yea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭artvandulet

Lads ..... Music Production Forum , yea?

But you gotta admit its interesting reading. A little off topic every now and again never hurt anyone;)

But you gotta admit its interesting reading.

No! It's boring repetitive and pointless.
    A little off topic every now and again never hurt anyone;)

That's true ok ..... well if none of yez have anything interesting to post ...:rolleyes:

I have something life changing to po ........ maybe I'll go to bed instead

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Smooth, really smooth... :rolleyes:

You really don't do yourself any favours, do you? What do you teach?... how to make enemies & alienate people? :D

Anger, fear, aggression. The dark side are they. Once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny.

I think if you hadn't omitted the word 'volunteer' from the above you'd have been grand and dandy by now.
    I choose to do this as a career and spend a ridiculous amount of hours per week doing it that I'm not into volunteering for it in my very brief spare time but good luck with it!:D

by 'help out' i clearly meant 'work for a weighty earner'

appreciate the positives and your philosophy on life.......

we managed last month - will do so again
    gave up on this post after the 5th reply:rolleyes:

Found someone -:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

In my experience, with every aspect of music production, you really do get what you pay for. Hope it works out for ya.

basically there was nothing to plug the guitars into so we had to make do with microphones to pick up the strumming - took awhile to find a balance between the vocals and guitar which drowned out some great acts

Well that's because the PA isn't spec'd up properly for the job. That's not a question of a sound engineer, that's not having the right tools for the job.
    we had a couple of guys who study sound engineering and took the reins, but they're musicians too and i'd rather have someone who's comfortable to take charge and enjoy the role, because he's an expert at it

i appreciate that you all want to get paid - i'm a teacher, but that doesn't stop me from teaching people outside the school,, i teach because i enjoy it - likewise i make and play art because i enjoy it

isn't that enough?

I'll do a gig for the sake of the art alright no problem. However a monday night in Sin E or whatever is hardly high art. The couple of guys studying sound engineering are probably the best bet.

An Open mic night certainly fits that description alright.

TelePaul wrote: »
    In my experience, with every aspect of music production, you really do get what you pay for. Hope it works out for ya.

:rolleyes: cheers

:cool:awesome night --

we had an expert sound man come down from Belfast especially to help out -- sound was perfect

the quality of the acts too - had an Argentinian instrumentalist who blew us all away

sexy Brazilian women dancing to every guitar tap and beat

we all ended up jamming till two in the morning

where else can you get it in Dublin...... for free :cool:

we had a guy come down from Belfast especially to help out --
    sound was perfect

the quality of the acts was even better - we all ended up jamming till two in the morning

had an Argentinian instrumentalist who blew us all away

where else can you get it in Dublin - awesome :cool:
    Newsflash: nobody cares.
    wouldn't you prefer some dry wall to chew on you sarcastic prick? smile.gif

/snip/

Noice.

we had an expert sound man come down from Belfast especially to help out -- sound was perfect

the quality of the acts too - had an Argentinian instrumentalist who blew us all away

;) Noyce.

There are many many places you get good free live gigs in Dublin.. venues, small pubs and clubs to name a few. Am I missing out on something new here? :pac::pac::pac:

dav nagle wrote: »
    There are many many places you get good free live gigs in Dublin.. venues, small pubs and clubs to name a few. Am I missing out on something new here? :pac::pac::pac:
    with sexy Brazilian chicks dancing their asses off while you wolf down free beer? :D

old gregg wrote: »
    with sexy Brazilian chicks dancing their asses off while you wolf down free beer? :D

It is called Stringfellows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

Can't believe your all asking to be paid.. it's not like your even "proper" engineers :eek:

:D:D:D

Welease wrote: »
    Can't believe your all asking to be paid.. it's not like your even "proper" engineers :eek:

:D:D:D
    Stick it up your Garda Patrol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Neurojazz

Ok, if you all want to be paid, how low will you go...

I'm offering 1 euro = best deal gets it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭if6was9

Just outta curiousity- what did the "expert sound guy" get in the end for coming all the way down to Belfast?

I do live sound for free once a week, on Sundays for a regular metal gig in Limerick. I do it as part of the promotion company and this way we get to put the gigs on for free meaning a healthier crowd and happier bands.
    However I get given paying gigs out of it for filling in for the regular guy when he needs it, free drink on the night, contacts with bands- I've gotten a few recording jobs out of it and get to get more experience. I've learned a ton since I started in there, way more than I have studying the same area in college. Also occasionally we do get paid for them so overall I've come out alot better for doing these free gigs. I generally try a thing or 2 different every week to see how it goes and with every week my knowledge grows a bit more.

However, you could easily have approached in a better fashion, you pretty much came in and insulted everyone by not only asking that they do it for free, but implied that they shouldn't even have considered getting paid for it and that to get paid for such a job is crazy

if6was9 wrote: »
    Just outta curiousity- what did the "expert sound guy" get in the end for coming all the way down to Belfast?

I do live sound for free once a week, on Sundays for a regular metal gig in Limerick. I do it as part of the promotion company and this way we get to put the gigs on for free meaning a healthier crowd and happier bands.
    However I get given paying gigs out of it for filling in for the regular guy when he needs it, free drink on the night, contacts with bands- I've gotten a few recording jobs out of it and get to get more experience. I've learned a ton since I started in there, way more than I have studying the same area in college. Also occasionally we do get paid for them so overall I've come out alot better for doing these free gigs. I generally try a thing or 2 different every week to see how it goes and with every week my knowledge grows a bit more.

However, you could easily have approached in a better fashion, you pretty much came in and insulted everyone by not only asking that they do it for free, but implied that they shouldn't even have considered getting paid for it and that to get paid for such a job is crazy

Had i known the forum was filled with nancys i'd've treated it so

poor snookums -- did the bad man say mean things?

This is one more inane post away from being locked. It's actually gotten childish and nit picky at this stage. Boards has plenty of other forums where you can do that, please, please don't try make MP one of them. If you've something to add to the topic then great. If not, please put down the bag of finally sharpened internet quips and step away from the vehicle.