Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there too many?

• 04-03-2009 2:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

foreign nationals in Ireland

Is there too many foreign nationals in Ireland? 108 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    59% 64 votes
    Don't care
    40% 44 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Are, not is. Where are you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

JP Liz wrote: »

Do you mean "Are there too many foreign nationals in Ireland"? If so, then yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Someone take a guess at the country that the most foreign nationals come from. Go on, guess!
    It's the UK. Didn't like that, did you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Confab wrote: »
    Someone take a guess at the country that the most foreign nationals come from. Go on, guess!

Cork?

Well they're always rabbiting on about being their own republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

"Rarely is the question asked, is our children learning?" -- George W. Bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

You'd swear stormfront bought out boards.ie with all these threads.

As to the original question, I said no, but it's not accurate. The right answer is I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

..... In Before The Locks on this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Dey tok ur gawbs!!!!

Wait...we havent got to that stage of the thread yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I can already see people complaining that we'll have too few foreigners next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I smell a shiny *sniff* no- rusty lock.

zer eez to mennyz of zezz sreadz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Too many Irish too. Feck off the lotta yis including me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Feck off the lotta yis including me!!

Especially you. You're the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Yep. Too many. We've too small a population to carry so many people.

Oh crap. I've just outed myself as a racist bigot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Especially you. You're the worst.
    Dammit. Youre too anonomous to see what you are so im gonna assume youre a tree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Those saying there are too many Foreigners in Ireland, are you advocating leaving the EU as well, or are EU Foreigners "better" foreigners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Does the term 'foreign national' include EU citizens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Op if by foreign nationals you mean Culchies then yes Dublin has way too many send them home they took our Jobs!

Yes, there are too many foreigners on Boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Terry wrote: »
    Yep. Too many. We've too small a population to carry so many people.

Oh crap. I've just outed myself as a racist bigot.

Just say you is drunk dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Oh No- not another thread...... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Hot female foreign nationals: No.

Hot female foreign nationals that don't have large, builder boyfriends: No. Immigration drive needed.

Other: Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

There's one too many JP_Liz in Ireland, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

There are too many non-working, non-EU, non-asylum seeking foreign nationals who get welfare payments each week.

Especially when there are non-EU, non-asylum seeking foreign nationals who worked since they got here, paid tax and now find themselves out of work and uneligible for social welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

englands worse.... espechlly london you walk intoa shop no where near the miority areas and theres a pakistani standing there looking at you suspiously :D then you talk to irish and he looks at you like youve got 2 million different heads :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Yes send them all back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

englands worse.... espechlly london you walk intoa shop no where near the miority areas and theres a pakistani standing there looking at you suspiously :D then you talk to irish and he looks at you like youve got 2 million different heads :D

Did you hear about the dyslexic guy who went to the toga party?

He went dressed as a goat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

and theres a pakistani standing there looking at you suspiously :D then you talk to irish and he looks at you like youve got 2 million different heads :D

Why on earth would he want to look suspiciously at a red-faced madman standing in his shop, talking to himself in weird, garbled language?

What's with these damn Pakistani sorts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Diddy Kong

What about the amount of Irish in other countries all around the world? Should we look at Boards.OZ and Boards.USA to see if there are similar threads asking "Are there too many Irish here?".

Most "foreigners" that are here have proper work visa's or are members of the EU so have a right to come and work here.

OP, should we close our borders and keep them out so you can beat the recission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Is there too many foreign nationals in Ireland?

I ARE HAS GOOD ENGLANDISH!
    a pakistani standing there looking at you suspiously :D then you talk to irish and he looks at you like youve got 2 million different heads :D

He probably thinks you're one of his gods.

Did you hear about the dyslexic guy who went to the toga party?

He went dressed as a goat!

did you here about the dyslexic, insomniac, Agnostic?(spelling being pushed to the max here )

He spent all night wondering if there was a dog!

Did you here about the dyslexic pimp ?

he baught a whore house

stovelid wrote: »
    Why on earth would he want to look suspiciously at a red-faced madman standing in his shop, talking to himself in weird, garbled language?

dude the look he gave me i thuaght hi eyes where going to explode :), hilarious......
    FruitLover wrote: »

He probably thinks you're one of his gods.

nooooooo im not very godly looking.. i dont have a dogey mustash and float like dalsim :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

nooooooo im not very godly looking.. i dont have a dogey mustash and float like dalsim :confused:

ah yes, dhalsim.chap off the bisto add wasnt he?

bobmeaney wrote: »
    ah yes, dhalsim.chap off the bisto add wasnt he?

where have you been all your life ?????
    a little box ?

street fighter :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yes, yes there are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

where have you been all your life ?????
    a little box ?

street fighter :cool:

should have added the :pac: smiley.wasted on you!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

OP - Can you be more specific? Is there a particular nationality thats irking you? Get it off your chest..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There are far too many illiterate people in this country and they should all go back to Illiterateland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Sizzler wrote: »
    OP - Can you be more specific? Is there a particular nationality thats irking you? Get it off your chest..
    Them black ones is the worst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

Confab wrote: »
    Are, not is. Where are you from?

'is there too many' .........relates to singular 'many'

is there or are there any english experts amongst ye who can say 'is there too many' is always wrong and why. tks ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055460843

Above is a fairly recent thread - has the recession made Irish people more racist?

Guess this thread right here proves the point. "Foreign nationals", for the love of God, where did that come from? This is essentially politically correct speak for "foreigners".

There's way too many posts on boards.ie about foreigners, foreign aid, and helping "outsiders" when we're low on the pocket ourselves.

As someone else here said, register yourself an account on Stormfront, then go over there and whinge about the death of homogenous Ireland.

This is After Hours, meant to be a laugh, wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

I particularly like Asian people...and Polish people. I prefer most foreign nationals to a particular group of folk whose houses have wheels.

Actually if we don't get a good mix of people in the Irish gene pool pretty soon we'll all be related. Just like...well you get the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Celts go home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

markesmith wrote: »
    This is After Hours, meant to be a laugh, wtf?

People just love a good moan about 'the other' If it's not foreigners in Ireland then it would be a big moan about the Irish - Culchies or North/South dubs. It's human nature, it's not hatred it's just for the love of a good moan.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Them black ones is the worst

i don't feel undermined or threatened by foreign nationals and therefore i do not feel the need to be racist.

have u ever seen the size of a racists brain on those bill posters in the underground tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Mingey wrote: »
    People just love a good moan about 'the other' If it's not foreigners in Ireland then it would be a big moan about the Irish - Culchies or North/South dubs. It's human nature, it's not hatred it's just for the love of a good moan.

I hate those foreigners living in north dublin in rented houses owned by a culchie landlord

Rob_l wrote: »
    I ate those foreigners living in north dublin in rented houses owned by a culchie landlord

peckish, were ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Sizzler wrote: »

All nationalities that arent 100% Irish - it that better

Mingey wrote: »

That's crap. This is good ol' fashioned scapegoating, as seen in Germany in the early '30s, in England in the late '70s, and at GAA pitches around the country.

Foreign people, travellers, gays, the opposite sex, the next parish on, the eejits in the class below you, your cousins, the other school/college, Jews, blacks...

People love a good scapegoat, but it's a dangerous thing. And I notice that the people who agree with the OP (or voted Yes in the poll) tend to be a lot less literate than the average boardsie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

i don't feel undermined or threatened by foreign nationals and therefore i do not feel the need to be racist.

have u ever seen the size of a racists brain on those bill posters in the underground tube.

Ireland has an underground tube?

boo travellers

All nationalities that arent 100% Irish - it that better

Cursory glance through OPs posting history (snoopalicious) reveals that he/she is: a fan of WWE; distraught at the condition of 'Brave Jade'; likes Kelly Clarkson; need I go on?

In short, the perfect psychometric profile for latent racism.

Let the flaming proceed!