Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are you cutting back on?/What retail items arent value for money?

• 04-03-2009 12:26pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

Note: not a recession thread. Honest.

I think shaving blades and printer cartridges have to be the worst culprits here. The markup on both must be 1 to 2 thousand percent from the factory to the shopfloor.

I would say 80% of anything in Boots just isnt value for money either imho. And certain fashion brands. I love my clothes but some shops just take the proverbial piss tbh.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Probably drinking out :( Just too expensive, will to be the offie more often me thinks

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pigheads cutting back on cut backs. Have just bought a load of stuff that wasn't really needed and even told the shopkeeper to keep the change. Very liberating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

IvaBigWun wrote: »

I think shaving blades and printer cartridges have to be the worst culprits here. The markup on both must be 1 to 2 thousand percent from the factory to the shopfloor.

I would say 80% of anything in Boots just isnt value for money either imho. And certain fashion brands. I love my clothes but some shops just take the proverbial piss tbh.

Get your razors blades before Christmas on Henry street! 2 packs for 10 Yauro. Stock pile em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I've completely cut back on buying Gold plated Toto LPs.

starflake wrote: »
    Get your razors blades before Christmas on Henry street! 2 packs for 10 Yauro. Stock pile em!
    Probably best to buy some plasters as well for when the rusty pieces of shit create open wounds all over your face.

Nope.. they're the real deal! straight off the back of a truck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

who the **** prints things these days :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Really? I find Boots are a life saver tbh, they have 3 for 2 on loads of stuff and there are always reductions, plus I'm always getting vouchers with my receipts on certain makeup and skincare brands that I actually use.. I went in one day and spend about 30 quid and came out with loads plus a complimentry No7 gift with creams and makeup in it, great at Christmas too for their 3 for 2 gifts.. I love Boots :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

xzanti wrote: »
    I love Boots :D

Their own brand stuff is grand but the cosmetics industry in general just isnt priced right imho. I include the male cosmetics stuff in there too. Aftershave balm etc.

Cow perspiration = the new Nivea Balm tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm drinking like a student again. I buy two bottles of vodka to drink at home before I go out. When I go to the pub I rob other peoples drinks. I'm too drunk to defend myself at this stage but the vodka allows me to projectile vomit on any aggressors trying to protect their vodkas and blackcurrant.

Cow perspiration = the new Nivea Balm tbh.

Cow perspiration = Good for Moo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭brian076

Greeting cards are a real rip off especially from major card retailers. Most cards you pay €3-€4 for cost less than 40c to the retailer. Our local newsagent sells all his cards for €1.45 and he's still making a big profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Nope.. they're the real deal! straight off the back of a truck

Its more likely that they are just high quality fakes. Still best to avoid no matter how good the packaging looks!

Cow perspiration = Good for Moo

That can be our slogan \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

magazines.... dvd box sets (can watch them all off the net anyway!)

umm... thats all i can think of...

JDxtra wrote: »
    Its more likely that they are just high quality fakes. Still best to avoid no matter how good the packaging looks!

No I used them instead of venus blades... they are grand... honest!

That can be our slogan \o/

And so it shall be :P

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

they are fakes and really nasty

get on to ebay and order them in bulk from China. you will be paying about €25.00 in post and package but they will still be about 70% cheaper then buying off the shelf here and they are the real thing

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

bottles of water (tap water in the plastic bottle)

popcorn (make your own - much nicer too)

Magazines (well, never buy really but they are a complete waste of money)

ESB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I print tear-stained begging letters as emails aren't very effective for squeezing money out of people.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I've cut back on spar sandwiches at lunch.

Homemade ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I've no idea.
    I don't even know why people insist on buying a printer in the first place. They're never used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

ESB

Yes! Miner's helmets with torch from now on. I'm also only going to use gas to blow up goverment building.

I've already got an Ernie one-liner lined up;
    "Estimate that bill, Cowen"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

Overpriced piss poor coffee in a paper cup.

Ciggies: I stock up when on holidays. It pays me to get a cheap flight to Spain and buy there.

DVD boxsets. I never watched them enough to justify the price.

Newspapers: I use the net for my news fix.

Tesco: Overpriced crap. I get better quality fruit and veg in Lidl, and better quality food in general in Aldi. I've become a better cook as I cook more now with fresh ingredients. And I use a butcher now instead of picking up boot leather in Tesco.

Pubs: Twice a month instead of twice a week.

Nightclubs: Very rarely.

Gigs: I now choose the gigs I want to go to, instead of going to everything that even remotely interests me. No ****** this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

The lies.

Ive cut back food, light and heat for internet and mind altering substances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

cutting back on booze and going out mostly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Books, having worked for a booksellers and seen the huge markups, particularly on new hardbacks, I'd rather use the library.

Blades, if you get a DE safety razor you can literally get 50 blades for about 30$.

Abigayle wrote: »
    Ive cut back food, light and heat for internet and mind altering substances.

The scary part is she's not joking.

For realsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

The scary part is she's not joking.

For realsies.

Well at least she has her priorities in order :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

male cosmetics stuff in there too. Aftershave balm etc.

Yeah,this recession is going to hit the nancy-boys very hard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I buaght a sport botel and now fill with ribeana or black current juice, insted of payning 2 euros for a botel...
    I make my own lunch no more deli's etc except if i havent made one which isnt very often can't justfy paying 4 euros for a role with ingredents that cost intotal around 1.60

The only cut back i wont be making is on sporting equipment....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 2busy

cut back on food and gym membership
    lost more weight than ever :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I buaght a sport botel

Like a Motel only for bicycles?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

IronMan wrote: »
    Overpriced piss poor coffee in a paper cup.

Tesco: Overpriced crap. I get better quality fruit and veg in Lidl, and better quality food in general in Aldi. I've become a better cook as I cook more now with fresh ingredients. And I use a butcher now instead of picking up boot leather in Tesco.

Yeah the quality of fruit and veg in Dunnes is gone really bad lately too.. I buy a lot of Cherry Tomatoes and Cucumber for my salads and nearly every punnet of CTs I get has at least one furry one in it and they're in date, and the cucumbers are in date too but always soft mushy parts on them, is it just the time of year or what?? same with fruit, got a bag of easy peelers and some grapes the other day, all horrible... :(

Condoms.

Crisp packet does a perfect job. :)

Condoms.

Good idea. Now when the girls point at you and call you Prawn Cock you can pretend to yourself that they're referring to the smell of it from the crisp packet.

Pighead wrote: »
    Good idea. Now when the girls point at you and call you Prawn Cock you can pretend to yourself that they're referring to the smell of it from the crisp packet.

Rick rolled ! :)

Terry wrote: »
    I've no idea.
    I don't even know why people insist on buying a printer in the first place. They're never used.

The girlfriend uses it quite a lot for work (theatre), and the cartridges cost around €2 a pop on eBay.

Condoms.

Pffft.

Vinegar down the vag ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Condoms.

Prefer dorito's bags meself. The red ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

steo87 wrote: »
    Prefer dorito's bags meself. The red ones.

yiz knackers, we're using cling film on the southside...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Overpriced lunches in coffee shops.

Food in general, not going to Lidl though, I just watch out for the special offers/€1 offers in Spar/SuperValu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Discovered the reduced to clear shelve in Tesco. Brilliant if you intend to eat it today or tomorrow anyways. And I guess with liabilities and such there would also be a couple of days safety buffer with these 'use by' dates. Got a full leg of Irish lamb for 1.50 the other day!!!

Edit: I got a funny feeling in my stomach however

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I use my own old fashioned printing press.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Condoms.

I prefer a Pringles tube myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

realcam wrote: »
    Discovered the reduced to clear shelve in Tesco. Brilliant if you intend to eat it today or tomorrow anyways. And I guess with liabilities and such there would also be a couple of days safety buffer with these 'use by' dates. Got a full leg of Irish lamb for 1.50 the other day!!!

Edit: I got a funny feeling in my stomach however

I proved johnny cash's ring of fire wrong - ring of lava re tesco shelve
    AVOID at all costs - unless you want to loose weight, fluids and days off work - mmmm

I cancelled broadband (thieving f**krs)
    Bulk buy shopping in North rather than small more expensive mid-week stops in local shops
    Shave only on date night - hehehehe:p
    Energy saving bulbs - cant see a thing with them hence the date night thang
    Really tempted in cancelling OH sports channels - might save that if he really p*sses me off:cool:
    Cancelled expensive gym - joined cheaper gym & closer too, so saving on petrol and stress in traffic
    Going to cinema less - nuthing on really
    Buying really expensive face creams - as cheap ones nearly as good (no mess, i have tried n tested all even creme de la mer)
    Buying 3 for 2 books in borders
    Bord na mona brickettes
    More baths - date night ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

booze and fags........*

*bad value for money since the early 80's

Condoms.

Sure u only need a box of 3 to keep u goin for a year anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Bam33

Nights out - having people over more everyone brings something max cost per person €10

Lunches in coffe shops - bring lunch everyday. Much nicer, healthier and saves €5 per day

Shopping - Aldi all the way. Lovely food at half tesco prices. Take it in turn to drive there with my friend and save on fuel costs.

Razor blades - go to cash and carry in UK and get gelette blades for GBP20 a pack (I tihnk there are 20 in a pack - wold have to confirm with him in doors). Stock up on these when I am over.

Holidays - cheap ryanair flights and book rental accomodaton on internet I saved €400 doing this for my hols this year.

Eating out - only eating out as a treat and go early to get early bird menu. Most places are doing these now.

Have a clothes swap party - you get new clothes without spending a penny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

-Have stopped buying Spar sambos for lunch since end of Jan.
    -Hairdressers! my guilty pleasure but at €30 a go for a wash and blow dry have stopped them too. Got a second hand GHD which does just as good.
    -Started shopping in Lidl the last month or so.
    -Vodka in the bag on sat nights out!
    -Text off the net way more than i used to aswell!