Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problems with Bar Security

• 03-03-2009 5:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭

Ok, ive had hassle with the current bar security from day one, well not all of them just the one security person, it wasn't too bad until recently, just the usual comments and being watched in the bar constantly... i got this treatment because i defended myself from the verbal attacks from day one.

But its whats happened in the last two weeks that ive finally had enough of him.*While trying to attend the first super Tuesday in the bar. Security not only gave me hassle when trying to get in. But when i was in i defended a student who was being dealt with badly by one of the security personnel on the door, and the security person ive had issues with the whole time, came over and verbally assaulted me.

I can only ascertain that he was trying to provoke me into doing something that would cause him to have to remove me from the bar. Ive worked security before, i had no intention of giving him the satisfaction. The verbal assault continued, he used very violent and abusive language for about 5 minutes. Then he realized he wasn't raising me.. and proceeded to tell me what would happen me if i met him off campus, to which i replied, out of pure anger.. "cant wait" then i went back to looking at my wall and ignoring him.

Finally after about 10 minutes of this treatment, he realized it wasn't working. The security person in question the turned to face me, looked into my eyes, said you'll get whats coming to you eventually, he the proceeded to burn my arm twice with his cigarette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 tweak33

I was there on the first super tuesday that this happened, and was there when landa2 was burned with the cigarette. over the past two weeks, i have heard an awful lot of complaints about this security person, and has gotten to a stage where something has to be done about it. the complaints range from being burned with a cigarette, pulling bags off peoples back without asking, unnecessary use of force when moving people in lines and even physically assaulting one student.
    if you look at other threads here there seems to be a huge amounts of complaints about pulse security personnel, following the lines of what im saying here, and to have them working in a student bar, in my opinion is ridiculous. its about time that somebody in the college took notice of these complaints and decided to get rid of pulse from the door of the bar, anyone else agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭LaMer

I dont go to the old bar alot, every time I did they seemed ok. But if I were you I'd consult a solicitor, then go to the student union, I don't know what type of other advice you'd get here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

First off, please don't mention the name of the company in the thread, this is clearly a pretty big problem and I'd hate to have to shut it down because of libel concerns.

As for the issue itself, I'd make an official complaint to the SU and/or University myself. That carry on definitely isn't on and they need to be made aware of what's happening so they can take the appropriate action. If they do nothing then as a last resort I'd go to the company directly and tell them what happened. Either way, do something about it as clearly you're not the only one who is being abused around there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

I made an official complaint to dcu security, the students union and trispace. still the security person was on the door tonight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Landa2 wrote: »
    I made an official complaint to dcu security, the students union and trispace. still the security person was on the door tonight..

Burning your arm with a cigarette is assault, which is a criminal act. Forget any DCU personel; the people you should be speaking to are the police. If you have witnesses, you might be able to get the person prosecuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

FruitLover wrote: »
    Burning your arm with a cigarette is assault, which is a criminal act. Forget any DCU personel; the people you should be speaking to are the police. If you have witnesses, you might be able to get the person prosecuted.

dis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

why didn't you call the police? What are you doing giving out about it here for? You were physically assaulted, follow the correct protocols.

The original intention of me writing this thread was not to ask for advice, it was to see if my experience was an isolated incident or if it had happened anyone else.

As i said in the original post, i worked security myself for a long time... i know the protocols behind something like this, i was also on the student union executive last year. I would call the guards, but unfortunately, i know what will happen, it will be my word against his, i do have witnesses but security don't tend to have problems finding witnesses of their own.

Not to mention, me calling the guards could have a knock on effect on the bar itself, the college would prefer it to be closed all together, me calling the guards about this isolated incident could be used as a catalyst for these ends :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Since you don't wanna go to the police about it, just don't bother going there anymore. Bring you and your money elsewhere. I've not had many problems with the bouncers on the door apart from them being a bit rude (then again i've gone there all of 5 times and not been there in almost a year cos it sucks). So many better places than the dcu bar and cheaper where you will always be treated with some respect. Head along to some student night in town. You aren't just limited to the bar in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

This whole story sounds like a load of BS. A one sided BS story. We all know theres a load of assholes in the world and more than likely your one of them. First you state you;ve had problems with security in the past.
    got this treatment because i defended myself from the verbal attacks from day one.

Translation. i was smashed and start talking crap, running my mouth.
    i defended a student who was being dealt with badly by one of the security personnel on the door, and the security person ive had issues with the whole time, came over and verbally assaulted me.

It was none of your business. Stay out of it end of. "here buddy next time mind your own ****ing business". Verbal assualt. pathetic. Translation: i was smashed and start talking crap, running my mouth.

he the proceeded to burn my arm twice with his cigarette.

And you just walked away ? Any normal rational human being would either react in 1 of 2 ways. 1) anger, turned to aggression which would result in some kind of fight or verbal stand off. 2) Call the guards and have him done for assault
    Not to mention, me calling the guards could have a knock on effect on the bar itself, the college would prefer it to be closed all together, me calling the guards about this isolated incident could be used as a catalyst for these ends :/

Rubbish the sword would swiftly fall on the security firm and no one else.

Sounds like you have a problem with authority and are just whinging running your mouth.

wow!!! talk about someone getting out of the wrong side of the bed...

Tell you what scratch it, i dont usually come to issue with people, but seriously mate.. wtf...

a) The night in question i didnt drink..

b) if i had a problem with authority i wouldnt have worked security myself for one.. not to mention would i have bothered my arse to get involved in the college in any other way than purely attending...

I started this thread to see if anyone else had issues with security, because my one isolated problem seems to be overlooked by all of the authorities ive informed.. true enough i could go to the guards and finish it nice and quickly, but i dont want to have to take that EXTREME step if it can be avoided..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

c0rk3r wrote: »
    This whole story sounds like a load of BS. A one sided BS story. We all know theres a load of assholes in the world and more than likely your one of them. First you state you;ve had problems with security in the past.

Translation. i was smashed and start talking crap, running my mouth.

It was none of your business. Stay out of it end of. "here buddy next time mind your own ****ing business". Verbal assualt. pathetic. Translation: i was smashed and start talking crap, running my mouth.

And you just walked away ? Any normal rational human being would either react in 1 of 2 ways. 1) anger, turned to aggression which would result in some kind of fight or verbal stand off. 2) Call the guards and have him done for assault

Rubbish the sword would swiftly fall on the security firm and no one else.

Sounds like you have a problem with authority and are just whinging running your mouth.

You seem to recognise alot of "running your mouth situations", you do it alot yeah?

Landa2 is someone with more sense than to start shooting his mouth off at security like that. He knows what the deal is and how to approach certain situations. So to start making stupid comments like "i was smashed and start talking crap, running my mouth" is somewhat childish since you have no idea about how it happened or any of the people involved, except for the story above.

And how would you know that the chop would come directly down on the security company?There has been alot of threading on thin ice the last couple of years regarding the bar and the least that could be done is not to add any more fuel to the fire.

Ive had some trouble with security myself, obviously not to the extent that landa2 has, but just being asses on the door mainly. I really can't see what their problem is.

Noone is out to get these guys the least they could do is show some decency and they crowd are gonna be that little bit happier and not even more pissed off about how they were treated before they even got in the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

gamblitis wrote: »
    You seem to recognise alot of "running your mouth situations", you do it alot yeah?

Yes i recognize it and no i don't do it alot. If your going to do something just do it. In cases like these theres no need for words.

First you say you wont report it to those that matter because of "a knock on effect to the bar" then state that reporting it would be "EXTREME". Your arm gets burned by a cigarette twice and essentially you do nothing about it except start a thread on boards. Again you got a cigarette burn on your arm twice and did nothing about it!! I find this incredible to understand. Almost unbelievable. This is were i coming from. You did nothing! you have no right to complain about it if you wont do anything about it.

The only reason i cant see you going to the guards is because your not telling us the full story. All i see in this thread is a whine

Unfortunately I can see where Landa is coming from, if an official complaint was made to the Gardai it would be a further reason for the University to act against the bar, something we don't need right now. If, however, the matter was dealt with between the University and the company then the end result could possibly be less severe. It is a sad state of affairs that these considerations need to be made, especially on a students part.

That being said I'm amazed that despite a complaint being made, said security guard was on the job the next night. It's quite baffling actually, I would have assumed he would be moved someplace else until the matter is investigated.

I followed all the avenues of complaint within the college, i do not wish to go to the guards unless it is not handled within the college system... if it isn't i will make a complaint with the guards...

Now i will state AGAIN!! (for the THIRD time) this thread was not set up to whine it was set up to see what experiences other people have had with the contracted company on the bar door..

On a side note, it seems this problem isn't an isolated incident, at least with regards the company in question. A quick search of the UCD Forum has yielded countless threads with complaints against the same company, one even made a national paper. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

A friend of mine had trouble with them last night as well.
    He was chatting to us in the smoking area and the big knackery thug guy comes up and goes "The smoking area is closed. Is your hair in the way of your ears or something?" And not in a jokey way.

They hadn't spoken at all before this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I was assualted by a bouncer in the bar last year.

I went to the police and made a complaint about assualt, give a statement and all that.

Then I had a meeting with the head of Trispace thing and she said that if I was going to presue the assualt thing that the bouncers were going to say that I attacked them and I they were only defending themselves, once of the bouncers also told me this at the meeting. He said that he saw me attack the other bouncer, I then pointed out that he wasnt there that night to which he replied "Proof it".

Fantastic.

Dont waste your time with this. As long as the college wants to employ these thugs then theres nothing you can do.

I even made a complaint to the head of the SU last year who told me to "Just try and ignore them and keep your head down"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Get the guards involved assault is assault, the guards will also get college cctv, cameras dont lie.

No point just ignoring it for the sake of the poxy bar, thats like not reporting joy riders on your road cause you dont want speed bumps put in.

If everyone concerned reports every illegal activity by security to the guards they can hardly say you attacked them every time can you, plus last time i checked buring someone wasnt a form of self defence.

Get as many authoritys involved as you can, gardai, su, dcu, security company, dcu security, and also the private security authority the regulatory body for security firms and security guards.

If you are injured by them be sure to attend hospital or your gp and get a full medical report on your injurys too.

Do this when it happens rather then post a topic on boards before someone gets seriously hurt

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Then I had a meeting with the head of Trispace thing and she said that if I was going to presue the assualt thing that the bouncers were going to say that I attacked them and I they were only defending themselves, once of the bouncers also told me this at the meeting. He said that he saw me attack the other bouncer, I then pointed out that he wasnt there that night to which he replied "Proof it".
    You're not ****ing serious? At that point it would have been a matter of simply asking for the records from the company in question and the university as to who was working that night. If they had the balls to try and alter them then I'd say it would have been an interesting day in court.

In light of that I'd have no qualms about recommending you take as much action as possible in clearing this up Landa. Keeping the bar is one thing but keeping it at the expense of the safety of the University's own students is another.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Reporting these events to the Gardai may not be as much of a waste of time as some people here think -- there has been a few court cases where bouncers have been convicted of assault in the last few years.

If you really want to create a record of complaints. The strongest record would be a number of people reporting any assaults or other abuse to the Ballymun Garda Station.
    Fuhrer wrote: »

If what you have outlined is true you really should have refused to meet with Trispace unless you were able to have a lawyer with you. For your own sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 TheDeparted

1)Press Charges

2)Take a civil action.

Personally, I wouldn't even bother dealing with the University.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Get the guards involved assault is assault, the guards will also get college cctv, cameras dont lie.

rofl there are only cctv outside on the grounds. There is one in the pool room, but that connects down to the bar.

Security are getting worse and worse. Last year at balls especially I had a lot of trouble with them, "you where smashed" I wasn't I was working at them. There only seems to be one or two that have any respect for anyone else.

I have only ever seen them start on someone that had it coming, but they went to far and used way to much force. The head dude was even joking with another guy "knee to the balls knee to the balls!" while doing the actions. Then in next 30 seconds they put a guy in a head lock because he refused to take a set of headphones and "escorted" him out. All he said was "**** off the music ****" then bam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Insulting_Bitch

Beginning to think that DCU would be far better off without that poxy bar. Is it really worth all this hassle for one night a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭blacon

Beginning to think that DCU would be far better off without that poxy bar. Is it really worth all this hassle for one night a week?

Yes. A Uni campus without a bar is a ridiculous thought. We're trying to get it open full time again, not shut down completely.

A change in security may be welcome, but the bar itself has to remain open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Ok, ive had hassle with the current bar security from day one, well not all of them just the one security person, it wasn't too bad until recently, just the usual comments and being watched in the bar constantly... i got this treatment because i defended myself from the verbal attacks from day one.

But its whats happened in the last two weeks that ive finally had enough of him.*While trying to attend the first super Tuesday in the bar. Security not only gave me hassle when trying to get in. But when i was in i defended a student who was being dealt with badly by one of the security personnel on the door, and the security person ive had issues with the whole time, came over and verbally assaulted me.

I can only ascertain that he was trying to provoke me into doing something that would cause him to have to remove me from the bar. Ive worked security before, i had no intention of giving him the satisfaction. The verbal assault continued, he used very violent and abusive language for about 5 minutes. Then he realized he wasn't raising me.. and proceeded to tell me what would happen me if i met him off campus, to which i replied, out of pure anger.. "cant wait" then i went back to looking at my wall and ignoring him.

Finally after about 10 minutes of this treatment, he realized it wasn't working. The security person in question the turned to face me, looked into my eyes, said you'll get whats coming to you eventually, he the proceeded to burn my arm twice with his cigarette.

There is 2 sides to every story. This is your side.

You need to report to Head of Security in D.C.U. and if you were indeed assaulted you need to make a report to Garda in Ballymun.

You should find out if the alleged security person is working directly for DCU Security or a contract company working on behalf of DCU.

Then you can make a formal complaint to the contract company MD or PSA.

www.psa.gov.ie

Might be no harm to have a witness with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

The original intention of me writing this thread was not to ask for advice, it was to see if my experience was an isolated incident or if it had happened anyone else.

As i said in the original post, i worked security myself for a long time... i know the protocols behind something like this, i was also on the student union executive last year. I would call the guards, but unfortunately, i know what will happen, it will be my word against his, i do have witnesses but security don't tend to have problems finding witnesses of their own.

If you worked in the Security Industry you know then it is regulated by the PSA and you know the protocol for complaints.

You should not be mentioning any company names on this forum , you could be looking at a liable action.

You will need a witness for the assault, is there CCTV in the area you allege. Have you a medical report from a hospital or your GP , have you taken Polaroid photos of the cigarette burn marks on your body .etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭blacon

is there CCTV in the area you allege. Have you a medical report from a hospital or your GP , have you taken Polaroid photos of the cigarette burn marks on your body .etc etc

Witnesses are the best form of proof. If people saw, he needs nothing else.

Done Done Done, i've followed everything through to a proverbial 'T' with the one exception of the garda report.. going to see if it can be solved within dcu first... Tuesday ill know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 GazeeboBrown

Unless you've gone to the Gardai or PSA and made a statement, you are wasting your time.
    On a side note, it seems this problem isn't an isolated incident, at least with regards the company in question. A quick search of the UCD Forum has yielded countless threads with complaints against the same company, one even made a national paper.

Yeah, twas in the Sindo and.... The Phoenix.

So, it's the same company as UCD? Oh, this is gonna be good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Done Done Done, i've followed everything through to a proverbial 'T' with the one exception of the garda report.. going to see if it can be solved within dcu first... Tuesday ill know.

Good to hear. Keep us updated with how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

If nothing is done about it, I demand you go straight from the College to the Garda Station. Not a day later.

Having to put up with this shyt and noone with some authority doing anything about it is gone beyond a joke. It really needs to be sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 GazeeboBrown

Pity that Gizmo removed most of my post, it had some interesting information.

In the mean time, here are some links to the company who are training the bouncers.

http://www.pulsesecurity.ie/about.php

They are trained by the International Bodygaurding Association - http://www.ibabodyguards.com/

Who are headed by this man http://www.arrse.co.uk/wiki/James_Shortt who is being exposed by arrse.co.uk, who have a nice wiki about him here - http://www.arrse.co.uk/wiki/List_of_James_Shortt%27s_Dubious_Claims

Have a nice read, and see how (and by whom) your bouncers are being trained by... If they listen to this chap, they are a few cents short of 5 cents.