Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toyota really have gone downhill in recent years havent they.

• 28-02-2009 1:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

The current range of Toyotas is so dull. Compare it to what they had in 1994 for instance.

The definitive versions of these cars:
    Toyota Supra
    Toyota Celica
    Toyota MR2

A fantastic Camry was out at the time. It looked well, drove well and was a step ahead in terms of luxury of anything brands like Ford, Opel, etc had out. That era of Corolla is still on the road today and appears to have a legendary level of reliability and it looks great now even.

They also had a slightly mad version of every car available. The current range seems to think a 2.4 is crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

They last forever but a good looking Camry or Corolla you're taking the pi*s right.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

The 1992-1996 camry was a good looking car. No arguments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

I agree, the last 'good' cars toyota made were in the late 90's.The Celica GT4 was probably the last true performance car they made.Throughout the 90's we had the MR2's,Supra,Celica GT4's,Corolla GTi's,Starlet turbo etc etc.Nowadays i tink they just churn out cars to get people from a to b..

samsemtex wrote: »
    The 1992-1996 camry was a good looking car. No arguments!

1992-toyota-camry-se.jpg

Bland dull and inoffensive but not good looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

The new Avensis is one ugly motherf***er.

I could never bring myself to buy a Toyota. They are a car to get you from A to B. Nothing more than that.

Sorry lads , just nodded off there . I was trying to think of a good looking Toyo.....zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Sorry lads , just nodded off there . I was trying to think of a good looking Toyo.....zzzzzzzzzzzzz

It certainly isn't this anyways.

T755RJL.jpg

The ugliest Toyota I can remember (excluding the new Avensis).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Toyotas aren't even that reliable anymore, ADAC reliability stats for recent years show Toyotas to be average at best. For instance, amongst 2006 cars:
    the Yaris is rated 24th out of 27 models in its class
    the Corolla/Auris is rated 9th out of 15 in its class
    the Avensis is rated 11th out of 12 in its class

Also, Toyota doesn't offer a particularly good manufacturer warranty anymore. Twenty years ago, Japanese cars had 3 year warranties and European cars crappy 1 year warranties. Nowadays the likes of Fiat has a better warranty than Toyota.

Yet uninfomed irish motorists still lap up Toyota's image as a "bulletproof" car. A good example of this can be seen in today's Irish Independent - Eddie Cunningham fawns over the new Avensis and how reliable it is/will be and how it must be great because he still sees old Carinas driving on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Luke Crowley

It certainly isn't this anyways.

T755RJL.jpg

The ugliest Toyota I can remember (excluding the new Avensis).

Agreed, that Corolla is truly hideous. I can't imagine how anyone in their right mind could have bought one of those new. Even a Mark 5 Escort is better looking, and that's saying something!

As well as the performance cars falling by the wayside, and the exceedingly ugly mainstream cars, has anyone else noticed that Toyota interior quality took a nosedive in the 90's, one from which they're only just starting to recover? My grandparents had a 1988 Carina II, and the interior of that car was a genuinely nice place to be. Contrast that to, say, the first-generation Avensis, whose interior is an orgy of cheap plastics and garish upholstery patterns. Not nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Corolla and Avensis engines are blowing on a regular basis but Toyota are quietly mopping up the mess and replacing engines for free, build quality is woeful too, especially the British built ones. Toyota might as well be building fridgefreezers nowadays, their cars are about as good looking as.

Its amazing how hard it is to shake a stereotype.

Toyotas and VWs certainly aren't as reliable as they used to me. Mercedes even less so. I know that the gearboxes in VW Boras and Golfs used to give awful trouble.

On the other hand, modern FIATs are very reliable and yet have a terrible name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

junkyard wrote: »
    ...Toyota are quietly mopping up the mess and replacing engines for free...

That's one good thing about Toyota. If there is a fault (like for example the block of older 1.6VVTi engines) they are very quick to replace parts without histrionics or red tape. I read a few years ago that their incoming CEO was not happy with revenue generated and wanted to increase profit on each unit. Straight away I knew there was a danger of a Mercedes-like 'de-contenting' and reputation-damage.

I think they became complacant. They were so anxious to overtake GM as no 1 in terms of no. of units sold they took their eye off the ball. Not a massive problem yet tho, they can still pull things back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Modern Toyotas are for people who have given up on life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭groupb

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Toyotas aren't even that reliable anymore, ADAC reliability stats for recent years show Toyotas to be average at best. For instance, amongst 2006 cars:

Also, Toyota doesn't offer a particularly good manufacturer warranty anymore. Twenty years ago, Japanese cars had 3 year warranties and European cars crappy 1 year warranties. Nowadays the likes of Fiat has a better warranty than Toyota.

Yet uninfomed irish motorists still lap up Toyota's image as a "bulletproof" car. A good example of this can be seen in today's Irish Independent - Eddie Cunningham fawns over the new Avensis and how reliable it is/will be and how it must be great because he still sees old Carinas driving on the road.

Not to sure about your reliability stats. I think I would pick a yaris if my life depended on it , far quicker than a polo for instance. I do agree on your view of Eddie Cunninghams' opinions though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Lets not forget that Toyota produces a huge number of models that aren't sold in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

In the words of "Scrap Saturday"

"Toyota - Sure there's no accounting for taste"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭madamab

Sorry but you do get a 3 year warranty with Toyota, I did and my family did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

madamab wrote: »
    Sorry but you do get a 3 year warranty with Toyota, I did and my family did
    I know you do. The point is, years ago, a 3 year warranty was a big selling point because only a few manufacturers had it and everyone else had a 1 year warranty. Now, the likes of Fiat, Kia and Renault match or exceed Toyota's warranty and every manufacturer has a minimum of 2 years warranty. Therefore there is less reason to buy a Toyota now than there used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That's a bit dramatic, Padraig Mor. Most car buyers just need something that transports them from A to B and modern Toyotas are fine for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Love them or hate them you have to acknowledge that they get the job done, a Corolla still has the highest residual value...

Worldwide the Land Cruiser is still the 4x4 of choice, mainly due to reliability.

Love them or hate them, you have to respect what they have achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

If cars are that important to you then your life must be very one dimensional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

kyote00 wrote: »
    If cars are that important to you then your life must be very one dimensional

Well this IS the motoring forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

exactly my point. The post (and yours) has nothing to do with motoring. It attempted to infer that people who drive Toyotas have given up life. What has this to do with the internal combustion engine, automotive design/eng etc etc...

maidhc wrote: »
    Well this IS the motoring forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

kyote00 wrote: »
    exactly my point. The post (and yours) has nothing to do with motoring. It attempted to infer that people who drive Toyotas have given up life. What has this to do with the internal combustion engine, automotive design/eng etc etc...

Are you suggesting wild (and possibly baseless) generalisations are unknown in these parts? Try starting a thread on whether you should buy an Alfa...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Even when they made better cars than the opposition IMO Toyota interiors always looked horrible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Lets not forget that Toyota produces a huge number of models that aren't sold in Europe.

Quite so, I am just back from NZ and these Aurions are pretty popular down there ATM.
    Of course with a bunch of Joyless greens taxing everything that is not hybridised you will never see these in Ireland.
    http://www.toyota.co.nz/NewVehicles/Models/Passenger/Aurion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Guys, you're all remeniscing about something that never really existed here. Of the models you've mentioned, only the Celica sold here in enough numbers for it to be possible to find an original Irish car, but still most were UK or Jap imports and I don't think the GT4 was ever officially imported here.
    Next to no MR2's were sold new here and all MR2 turbos were Jap imports while the non turbos will be a mix of UK and Jap imports.
    Similarly for the Supra, I'm not sure if they were ever officially imported here, anything you find here will be a mix of UK and Jap imports.
    The Corrolla GTi may have sold a handful but most will be UK imports or the Jap import FX model.
    The Starlet turbo / glanza or whatever you want to call it was never sold here and all are Jap imports.

So there's a gap in the range at the moment following the demise of the celica, but that's about it and Toyota are working on a replacement that was supposed to be shared with Subaru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

I'm sure Toyota arent the only manufacturer who have gone down hill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I've read that they now have a stake in Subaru and want to 'rationalise' the range, replacing boxer engines with conventional Toyota engines, getting rid of frameless doots etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭cranoo

3 year warranties and European cars crappy 1 year warranties. Nowadays the likes of Fiat has a better warranty than Toyota.
    Fiats need the three year warranty, I bought two fiats from new and they were heaps of ****e :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

cranoo wrote: »
    Fiats need the three year warranty, I bought two fiats from new and they were heaps of ****e :o

Please clarify, what Fiats did you buy, were they from new, when did you buy them? My understanding is that Fiat are much improved... + they are sold at a price point so you need to be aware that you are not getting Bentley finish for you money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

cranoo wrote: »

I bought one new Fiat and it was faultless.
    My new 07 Galaxy 1.8TDci on the other handed need the warranty - and a tow - at 918kms from new.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

galwaytt wrote: »
    My new 07 Galaxy 1.8TDci on the other handed need the warranty - and a tow - at 918kms from new.

I'd say you were unlucky mate.

VolvoMan wrote: »
    I'd say you were unlucky mate.

Buy a Fiat thats a lemon & you get what you deserve...

Buy a Ford, VW, BMW thats a lemon & you were unlucky, mate :rolleyes:

Its rare to see a car broken down at the side of the road these days, but any I've seen lately have had VW & Audi badges...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Going downhill doesn't use as much petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Going downhill doesn't use as much petrol.

The country's going down hill too so it'll be much cheaper to run all our cars so they'll have to up the road tax to compensate.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Doesn't matter if the MR2's or Supra's didn't sell here, you can't go by the irish market. If it's available in the UK you can get it here. The MR2 (non turbo), Supra twin turbo, GT4 (both ST185 and ST205), Carlos Sainz edition GT4, Corolla Gti, Carina GTi, all available in the UK. What's available anywhere now that's decent from Toyota? The Landcruiser is good for off road alright, but look at the price of a 7 seat one. €65k odd, and what do you get? An interior that's bland by Toyota standards even, and an engine that's even too agricultural sounding for a tractor, and only puts out 165bhp.
    The Gen 7 Celica was a decent looking car, the fact that it splits opinion almost proves this, as any good looking car always splits opinion. You can't even form an opinion on the Auris it's so bland.

Toyotas are for priests , civil servants and teachers who are scared out of their sh**e to take a risk and find it easy to blame someone else when something goes wrong. I did'nt marry my wife because she never did anything wrong , I married her because she excited me. Toyota drivers are the sort who spend their lives on a training course for a pension. Guards and the like. If you see strikes on the streets of Dublin in the next 6 months then I bet you'll see lots of C, G and W reg Toyotas parked in the car parks of Dublin on the same day. Toyota drivers dont know the first thing about cars, they treat their cars like a bus time table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Its rare to see a car broken down at the side of the road these days, but any I've seen lately have had VW & Audi badges...

People believe they're so good there's no need to get them serviced, or even refuelled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Toyotas are for priests , civil servants and teachers who are scared out of their sh**e to take a risk and find it easy to blame someone else when something goes wrong. I did'nt marry my wife because she never did anything wrong , I married her because she excited me. Toyota drivers are the sort who spend their lives on a training course for a pension. Guards and the like. If you see strikes on the streets of Dublin in the next 6 months then I bet you'll see lots of C, G and W reg Toyotas parked in the car parks of Dublin on the same day. Toyota drivers dont know the first thing about cars, they treat their cars like a bus time table.

a Clarkson wannabe:rolleyes:

and thats coming from someone who calls himself "Saab" ed :cool:

saab the most boring make on the planet bar none

Fryup just had the ba**s to send me a private message saying " Why dont you go F**k yourself. Good man fryup. Truth hurts a little. enjoy your Yaris :D

fryup wrote: »
    saab the most boring make on the planet bar none

Toyota, VW, Opel... yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

Fryup just had the ba**s to send me a private message saying " Why dont you go F**k yourself. Good man fryup. Truth hurts a little. enjoy your Yaris :D

Haha! Call the police (i.e. Peasant)!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i don't drive a yaris or any toyota and i certainly wouldn't be seen dead in a Saab

and yes i did tell you to GFY ..because you are a prick!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

FFS some people need to chill! To be honest though, not seeing many 09 toyota's down this way! If you said Kia now...

i don't drive a yaris or any toyota and i certainly wouldn't be seen dead in a Saab

You must have grown a set of ba*ls since little man. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

see you in a month, fryup

@ SaabEd ..calm down now :D

Sorry Peasant. I know its your job to moderate and I love a good argument but I cant stand that....well you know. Will calm it down. Sorry.

Toyota owner suffers moment of passion - all goes wrong - reverts to well known norm... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Honda08

bit of a blanket statement there, are you mystic meg or something?

hah, and Saab are so great, they are about to go bust , or have done.
    never seen such ignorance in a post... having owned many makes, i found the toyota D4D 126bhp the best on fuel, over the PSA and variant, diesels. i think Saab are so boring myself, its one make that never interested me, but i wouldnt go making the above statements ...when i look for a car i look for one that will work well with no issues... and for that reason, JAP cars cant be beaten. ( ie cars built in Japan ), the cars built in the uk, may have the same components , but i dont think that they are as well put together.