Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Simpsons in Ireland to premiere in UK before USA

• 27-02-2009 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

"Next month, a new episode of The Simpsons is to have its premiere in the UK for the first time in the show's history. New episodes are usually shown in the US on Fox a week before being shown on Sky1 in the UK.
    In The Name Of The Grandfather, a St Patrick's Day special which details a family holiday to Ireland, will be shown on Sky1 on 17 March. "

It will probably be the usual stereotyping of Ireland, just as The Simpsons have done with many other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Well if there is one thing us shower of cheetin, steelin, loud, drunk b*****ds hate it's stereotyping. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

And its in HD. I don't see the need for cartoons to be in HD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭dave_29

Yeah i came across that info as well on the Beeb's site earlier on, LINK

Will anyUS shows change about their stereotyping, especially bout Paddy's Day?

But the episode with U2 were good, i think thats when Homer was made Mayor i think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

Not if they ever visit Dublin on paddys day, the stereotype holds true pretty much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

Thats just cause it's paddy's day , and the irish blah blah blah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

dave_29 wrote: »
    Yeah i came across that info as well on the Beeb's site earlier on, LINK

Will anyUS shows change about their stereotyping, especially bout Paddy's Day?

But the episode with U2 were good, i think thats when Homer was made Mayor i think?

Close, he was in charge of sanitation.

One of my favorite quotes is from that episode:
    "Sorry I'm late, SOMEone tampered with the brakes on my car."
    Homer: "Well surely you should've gotten here faster."
    :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭dave_29

Yeah that was a good one!

Here are some more daft quotes, more here & here if you google it,

Homer: [drunk] Look, the thing about my family is there's five of us. Marge, Bart, Girl Bart, the one who doesn't talk, and the fat guy. How I loathe him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

i might watch this new episode for the novelty of it being an irish themed episode. hopefully it's not as disappointing as the family guy one.

or as disappointing as their most recent episodes.
    i still love simpsons classic though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭yaynay

Does anyone know what time this is showing at on Sky1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

7:30pm, Sky One.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

sworderer wrote: »
    "Next month, a new episode of The Simpsons is to have its premiere in the UK & Ireland for the first time in the show's history. New episodes are usually shown in the US on Fox a week before being shown on Sky1 in the UK & Ireland.
    In The Name Of The Grandfather, a St Patrick's Day special which details a family holiday to Ireland, will be shown on Sky1 on 17 March. "

It will probably be the usual stereotyping of Ireland, just as The Simpsons have done with many other countries.

Fixed that! Felt it needed to be done! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Biro wrote: »
    Fixed that! Felt it needed to be done! :D

Where else is Sky One available ? It should have premiered on RTE TWO for us in the south and C4 for those in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

They could project it onto the Irish sky and I still would'nt watch.

It will be baaaaaad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I am completely underwhelmed at the prospect of this episode.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Elmo wrote: »
    Where else is Sky One available ? It should have premiered on RTE TWO for us in the south and C4 for those in the north.

As far as I know, only the UK and Ireland now (this has been the case on satellite since 1st September 1993 - I don't know if there is any cable operator, anywhere on the continent now offering it).

Sky have first run rights in Ireland for the Simpsons (as they have had since the show began) so there was not a chance of RTÉ being allowed show it first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

It's ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I second that.

Also, garda uniforms aren't black, and we don't have POLICE on our garda cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

The irish part of it is pretty much irrelevant, it was par for the last few seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Stopped watching... IMO the show jumped the Shark about a decade ago. All it is now is a series of losely connected set piece gags and a load of unrelated celebrity jokes. Gone is the biting satire and the integrated storylines, sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

"Throw them in the Paddy Wagon, er... I mean the Us Wagon."

Is this what its come down to?
    Blush 01 wrote:
    Also, garda uniforms aren't black, and we don't have POLICE on our garda cars.
    I think the fact that it isn't even remotely funny is a more serious problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Worst episode ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

In the words of Comic Book Guy: "Worst episode ever!"

So I'm not the only one who thought it was the suckiest bunch of sucks that ever sucked? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I thought Derry Air was a pretty good gag and I chuckled a couple of times. But it mostly sucked. As per usual with new Simpson's episodes tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

that new-fangled animation is terrible, nearly as bad as in the movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Terrible episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭dimejinky99

Glen & Mar's bit was deadly :) best bit in it..ye hadta have seen 'Once' to get it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

havent watched any new episodes for the last 3 seasons as a result of the tripe that immediately preceded it.

Watched this because of the Irish story only.This episode is/was worse than any other. Never even came close to raising a mild chuckle.

Ill stick with family guy/old simpsons dvds thank you from now on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭bren2002

It wasn't that bad.

There were some funny bits, Derry Air, U2 Moving in Mysterious Ways, Everyone Got Jobs, Cisc O'Systems, Colin Farrell In / Out, The Swingers in the Tub

This could never have lived up to the hype and expectation, plus probably only 1% of the Simpsons audience would have got the Garda / Police difference, give them some wriggle room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Haven't seen any new Simpsons for ages but I didn't think it was that bad. Granted nowhere near classic Simpsons but I've seen far worse Simpsons episodes in the past 5 or 6 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

the 'ii-er-land' song annoyed me but tbh wasnt expecting a great episode so i didnt mind it. Thought when the gardaí came into the pub theyd start drinking with them,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

Haven't seen any new Simpsons for ages but I didn't think it was that bad. Granted nowhere near classic Simpsons but I've seen far worse Simpsons episodes in the past 5 or 6 years.

the only one i remember being worse was the one with ricky gervais

tonites eppisode was dire from start to finish , the only part i found remoteley funny was when bart scribbled down , visit scotland next time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

I was really disappointed with the laziness of the episode, from the Police/Gardai to Itchy and Scratchy being on in German. It was just all a little tired and lazy. Funniest part was Wigam at the end.

I was really disappointed with the laziness of the episode, from the Police/Gardai to Itchy and Scratchy being on in German.
    I thought the same. Why German? Put it in Irish and it could have been like Krusty on TG4 or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I'd love to know how this show is going? Who exactly is still a fan of this show and thinks it's good entertainment? Everywhere I go it seems to be just apathetic to negative reviews from all and sundry who watch any given ep. If there are lots of people out there who still rate this show and tune in weekly then they're being awfully quiet about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Yup, the "Police" cars was VERY lazy and obviously unresearched, while the accents were woeful.

A few funny bits, but overall about as lame as the second half of the Simpsons Movie, and DEFINITELY not worth the hype....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Yep as above wasn't overly impressed, 1 or 2 gags but nothing hilariously funny, did like the Colin Farrell in/out bit.
    And the "Police" i know most Simpson world wide fans probably wouldnt have got it but they wouldn't have got any other irish referance jokes either if that was the case Also a RED double decker, again not enough research me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I haven't watched The Simpsons in about two years but had been reading of its demise. I tuned in tonight for the novelty factor, wish I hadn't bothered, it really was poor fare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

I missed the red double decker! Copped the "Police" alright which struck me as lazy too. Not in the least bit funny and as someone else said the accents were desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Ham Sandwich

I thought the accents were terrible too but some of it was funny. The Colin Farrell in/out was classic! The 'Derry Air' airplane, the hot tub, and U2

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Just watched it (not usually a fan of new episodes here) and i have to say apart from the Red Bus and the police, I actually found it quite refreshing how Ireland was portrayed i.e The Simpsons struggled to get Irish people drunk cos "we had moved on since the days we sent all our idiots to the states and they for some reason made them high ranking police officers" and now we work in places like Cisc O'Systems. The smoking ban thing was nice too although of course couldent be the focus of the ep otherwise it would come off as a poor Beer Baron clone and yes of course we got all the sterotypes and leprechauns thrown in but they were either got out of the way early or surprisingly funny imho.

Much better than the norm atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'm glad I gave this episode a miss. Sounds like I would have hated it.

not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I was annoyed as soon as I saw the Derry Air plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Havn't watched the simpsons in years because it has been utter tripe but decided to watch this episode. Wish I hadn't. Load of crap. That will be the last episode I'll be watching and hopefully after its already renewed 2 seasons,it will finally end.It is beginning to ruin the classic episodes which are pure genius.

This sums it up for me

Simpsons+003.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Wasted 27 minutes watching this drivel. Utter crap.

Am I the only one who reckons the singer duet people, Hansard? and the girl, was completely wasted on a UK/Irish audience let alone the rest of the world? Also, I hear Colm Meaney leant a voice but I missed his "contribution" completely. Where was it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

He was the old guy who owned the bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

'Teh suck'.