Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frenemies

• 26-02-2009 10:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I have a friend. But I dont really like her. She gets on my nerves.
    I suppose I only make an effort for her because she is in the gang. We were close years ago. But she just irritates me now.

Anyone else here have a frenemy?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No.

Got rid of them years ago, waste of energy, and time imo.

They are however a serious effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

no, but did all through secondary school. my best mate since i was 5 hung out with this group of chicks that i mostly didnt like. got on ok with all of them by 6th year, with the exception of one little bitch who at this stage ive stopped being fake nice to, i just ignore her and wait for my mate to come on wherever we were going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Visionelle

I wouldn't waste my precious time with Frenemies..... Seems like a pointless exercise.... If your friends are loyal then the relationship/friendship will last without the need to entertain anyone you don't want to! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Yup, but I have 2 of these.

One of them is a Fair-weather friend also, when he has a GF he is with her ALL THE TIME!!!! and he has one now so that is grand!!!

The other is just a bollix, hbut we rarely hang with him anymore, because the ONLY things he does is work, game, Cheat on his GF, try to cheat on his GF, and get cheated on by his GF. (they are going out nearly 5 years now!!! They are 20!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Yes have a load of these people friends of friends, people I went to school/college with whom I can't stand but am too nice to tell to get lost. Being mean to them would upset me more than having to put up with them:o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I have one. I generally don't like her, but she's been in my group as long as I have. My other friends won't quite commit to kicking her out, as it were, despite none of them liking her much either. We just kind of tolerate her for appearances sake.

She can be a right fúcking bitch, which is why no-one likes her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Faith wrote: »
    I have one. I generally don't like her, but she's been in my group as long as I have. My other friends won't quite commit to kicking her out, as it were, despite none of them liking her much either. We just kind of tolerate her for appearances sake.

She can be a right fúcking bitch, which is why no-one likes her.

Have you called her on her bitchiness??? Next time she is doing something out of the way, just give her the "Hang on a minute now, Sunshine/Starlight"

(Starlight is my favourite word for the past month or so, it's great isn't it!!!:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

I have none. Mostly because I'm just too lazy to keep up a friendship with someone I don't actually enjoy spending time with.

I have little enough free time as is, I'm not wasting what I do have on people I only tolerate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I had one, that was up until I kicked the crap out of him in America, which was completely warranted by the way, my other 3 friends who were there all said he was in the wrong, he also initiated it by pushing me :D Other than that I don't think so, just annoying people at work - customers - who come in everyday and annoy the **** out of me..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I think every group that have grown up together have at least one of those lovely people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Personally i just don't have the patience for it. If i don't like someone then i just don't interact with them. I think people would prefer if i did, as it would make their lives easier but **** it, I'm just selfish that way.

In the last year i quietly told 2 people that I just didn't really like them, so why pretend, and things have been a whole lot easier since.

I don't bother them and they don't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

No, I don't have any of these, but I know a girl who is about 20 and she has one. She's always coming to me for advice on how to deal with her! This cow is dangerous and has done of lot of reputation damage if someone turns against her.

Sometimes it's easier to be friends with these people than enemies. But I think you grow out of it and don't put up with the crap anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

life is too short.

get shot.

If someone crosses into my enemy terrority, they really deserve it.
    I do not give up grudges easily....so I avoid taking them up in the first place if I possibly can.
    I have acquantances that I socialize with through friends. Who I don't click with or whose behavior I can't abide by.
    I don't consider polite conversation with them to be an annoyance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Frenemies,what a great term.

Down the years there have been a few alright but I still have a hard core group of friends that Ive known for years.There have been interlopers on occasion but if I find them assholeish then generally so does everyone else eventually and they are found out.I will always give n00bs a fair crack of the whip but if people make an enemy of me then 99% of the time they are on my blacklist for life and I just cut them out altogether.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I've had to do a bit of pruning in the past, it's hard but in the long run it's better for my mental health not to have to deal with them.

I never fell out or became enemies with anyone, and if I meet them I pass a few words but I won't arrange to meet them anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I thought the term "frenemy" supposedly denoted people whom we actually like but can also drive us ballistic and this overshadows things (well in Sex & the City anyway :)) rather than people in the same socialising group but otherwise not friends?

I have been friends with a girl since my early teens who is wonderful on a one-to-one basis - really great to talk to, warm, a good laugh. Other than that though, she is impossible - once there's a third party, her nice side is gone.

I do feel a duty of care to her, and I do like her good side, so I'll never tell her to get lost. But I try not to meet up with her too often - I like her more the less I see her. And some of the stuff that's so infuriating about her - neediness, insecurity... these are to do with serious self-esteem issues. But the really unpleasant stuff (e.g. jealousy, two-faced behaviour, making fun of people's looks/clothes/whatever, selfishness, self obsessiveness, taking over every conversation in order to focus it on herself) there is no excuse for.
    As for calling her on it - I'm blue in the face from it at this stage. She refuses to see these traits in herself and of course makes people feel guilty if they point them out to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

LIfe's too short to drink bad wine.

I can be civil to just about anyone when I need to be but I will not suffer the company
    of those I do not wish too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I don't have much dealings with her anymore, she only rings me when she is looking for something. I am very fond of her partner, I dont know how he puts up with her.. Part of the reason that I am gone off her is because of the way she talks to him in front of people.

Its a difficult one.. I cant really stop talking to her cause, because she hasnt done anything wrong. But spending time in her company irritates me.
    I dont see her on a one on one basis, It is usually a group thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

I don't have any, either. I did for a while but then I decided only to spend my time on people I can enjoy it with. I think it's better to be forward that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Don't have any ppl like that around me anymore, they are to draining to be around. I think I get pickier who I hang out with the older i get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Kya1976 wrote: »
    Don't have any ppl like that around me anymore, they are to draining to be around. I think I get pickier who I hang out with the older i get.

I would tend to say my 'tastes' have gotten more refined, my vices as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Thaedydal wrote: »
    I would tend to say my 'tastes' have gotten more refined, my vices as well :D
    lol I agree with that:D time wasters needed bother....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Life is waaaaaaay too short.

I hardly spend enough time with good friends and not quite so close friends, I'm honestly not going to waste my time socialising with people I don't like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I live with one! Well the term "frenemy" would be a bit harsh. We were best friends as kids and teenagers, but my tastes in pretty much everything became more "refined"! Whereas she's a pop tart party girl with a me fein streak and completely incapable of standing on her own two feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

I'd say as a general thing, that the older you get, the less likely you are to tolerate toxic relationships.

I have a lovely friend who has wasted years trying to 'help' someone who is just a nasty, self-centered, bitch. Literally disgusting behaviour was excused as her acting out her low self-esteem - and that's probably true enough. But its still disgusting behaviour.

But a point is reached in adulthood when you start taking responsibility for your behaviour and how it affects others, and if you don't, you don't get to keep friendships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I've got one or two frenemies. The funny thing is that the relationship has evolved over the years. For example, when we were in school it was just a case of giving stick to each other in a way that made it seem lighthearted to our mates, but both he and I knew we meant every word of disdain thrown at each other.

Now as adults it has become a case of snobbery on his behalf. I'm still in University while he's been finished for a year and now rates himself as some kind of high flyer. Him and his girlfriend see themselves as the "power couple" while the rest of us need to grow up. Wanker. The only reason he is tolerated is because he was damn well aware that he was walking a tight rope and he latched onto a well liked member of our group (their girlfriends were mates). Now the well liked person is becoming just as worse as the frenemy. Now we have two snotty self styled "power couples" in the group. Save me.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Princessa

Nope when i dont like somebody i dont like them, i will just pretned that they dont exist, i wont acknowledge their existence. I couldnt do that whole friends close enemy closer bulls**t, what a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

yeah i have one or two in my various groups but tend not to waste time on them otherwise.