Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reviewer's wanted

• 26-02-2009 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭

I am looking for someone to write reviews of games for a website, if you consider your self to a budding reviewer and want a go at getting published then let me know. Having a reasonable grasp of English will help ( that’s why I’m not doing it myself :D well i will be doing some too i just want some one good as well.). If you want to submit something quick to give me an idea of what to expect please do.
    It’s a new site so if you are interested in getting involved and helping me out let me know. The bad news is since it’s a private non commercial site I cant afford to pay you but you might get a few free games ( or at least a loan of some to write the review ) out of it if I’m provided with copies for review purposes from publishers or even to get us up and running just provide some reviews of games you own/have played. It’s a cross platform site so PC xbox PS3 wii etc etc will all be covered so I will prob need to get a good group of people together to submit stuff.
    Im posting this in the playstation section right now but its open to everyone I just don’t want to clog up the place posting it in every section. I may post it again in other sections to try and get relevant interest.
    Anyway if you have any interest or questions let me know, thanks .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,461 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Will you be covering hardware aswell as software mate. I might give it a go, god knows I play them 24/7 so why not?

I will get a quick review to you on a game I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

might be interested in this - planning on having some spare time on me hands - is there financial remuneration ? or just for the sake of it.....are the games for keeps ? or just trial/test period ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Will you be covering hardware aswell as software mate. I might give it a go, god knows I play them 24/7 so why not?

I will get a quick review to you on a game I have.

Yea hardware software accessories all that good stuff will be covered.
    If you submit the text of the review ill have to get the screen shots etc from the publishers so dont worry about that side of things.
    PCPhoto wrote: »
    might be interested in this - planning on having some spare time on me hands - is there financial remuneration ? or just for the sake of it.....are the games for keeps ? or just trial/test period ?

It looks like ill have lots of time on my hands too if i loose my job next month and since the site doesnt generate any income unfortunately i wont be able to pay anyone it will have to be a labour of love. So ill need volunteers.

On the games front i cant make any promises and it depends on the publishers rules. If its a game i buy myself and send to you i would want it back. Most likely if i get a game and have 2 people reviewing it i would post it to reviewer A he would play and finish it then post it to Reviewer B he would do the same and post it back to me and submitt the reviews.

It might be better to approach this as an entry into writting game reviews rather than getting free games :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

Dude
    Im willing to give it a go
    So sign me up :P.
    And the fact im in TY i have alot of free time
    And i dont want anything
    Also the only platform i own at the moment is the ps3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭fdevine

Hi Rev.Kitchen

I would be interested in reviewing games and expressing my opinions. I'm not bothered about financial remuneration and would be more than happy to volunteer my services.

The only platform I don't currently have is XBox360.

Playstation2, Playstation3, PSP, Wii, GBA & NDS all available.

If you would like to peruse a sample of my grasp of the English language in order to consider me as a reviewer just let me know.

I am not too fussed about getting paid either....dont get me wrong I live by the saying "Work for nothing and you wil never be un-employed"

I mean we buy games and then discuss them on here and other forms of media so what the difference, I love talking about software and hardware.

Platforms I currently have.....

High End PC, PS3 , XBOX (not 360) , PS2 , DS , Gameboy.

I am not too fussed about getting paid either....dont get me wrong I live by the saying "Work for nothing and you wil never be un-employed"

I mean we buy games and then discuss them on here and other forms of media so what the difference, I love talking about software and hardware.

Platforms I currently have.....

High End PC, PS3 , XBOX (not 360) , PS2 , DS , Gameboy.

Thats it we buy and chat about them all the time anyway and i think a independent site with real people reviewing games will have a large appeal over the big sites that are "enticed" to give certain good scores to certain games.

Plus reviewers and gamers have slightly different outlooks on games someone who is paid to sit and play a game they got for free will have a different opinion on a game than someone who has shelled out 50+euro of there hard earned cash for it. I know ive bought games reviewers have loved and felt like it was a waste of money.

I reckon if i get a good solid group of about 10 of us involved we will get a nice little site up and running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭CapRooney

i'd be intrested in this. I have all the major three consoles so i could cover whatever. Let me know what's the story. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

I'd definately be interested in this. I got a B in Honours Junior Cert English, am doing the Leaving Cert this year, and am aiming for a realistic B in Honours.

I'd be willing to perform reviews on any games you may have, and do not care to much anout being paid or rewarded (for now:D).

Or, if you like, I'd also be willing to proofread reviews by others.

Let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I have alot of free time in the current econ climate so I would be game. Have a B in Honours English but have managed a few degrees since (none are English degrees but obviously my writing standard is decent).

This is brilliant news lads i reckon i have about 6-8 interested so thats a good start. Its enough to get up and running anyway. I was thinking about 10 would be a solid base to start with as ill need volunteers for other jobs too if your reading this & dont fancy writting reviews we ll also need mods and tournament organisers.

To start with if anyone wants to do a review on a game they have allready played we can get them finalished and published quite quickly. What will also be a help is having a look at the site and giving some feed back/ help with it.Up to now ive just been populating it with content for previews and a few other news items but now its time to look at the review section and the community side of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Did you have to register the name "bone-idle" to attain the .ie for it?

(off topic but I'm curious :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

I hope I'm not too late, but I'm very interested in this. I was told about this thread about half an hour ago, I knew I had to take a look. I have all the consoles on the market and I play constantly. I can get a review done tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

I wouldn't mind contributing theodd review here and there, but I don't have much free time.

I'll contribute a burnout paradise ultimate pack review if you want.

Did you have to register the name "bone-idle" to attain the .ie for it?

(off topic but I'm curious :p)

No no i was wondering when i applied for it that i would stuggle to lay claim to it as it was a personal site. But i went with Blacknight who are very helpfull getting you set up wrote .ie guys a little letter explaining what i wanted the site for and why the name was important and i was given the .ie domain. Way easier than i thought it would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Do you have a link to the site yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭IsMiseConor

giggsy664 wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind contributing theodd review here and there, but I don't have much free time.

Ha ha! You a reviewer!
    You seem to be forgetting they want people with good English, not 2nd year students who barely pass in class tests (English that is).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Hey Rev Kitchen, I'd also like to throw my hat in the ring. I've got all three major consoles and have been playing games all my life. Currently studying English in college so I consider myself to have a good grasp of the language, also studied a bit of Journalism in my time too. Let me know if I can contribute in any way. And good luck! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Ha ha! You a reviewer!
    You seem to be forgetting they want people with good English, not 2nd year students who barely pass in class tests (English that is).

So? I have crap handwriting.

Mr. K wrote: »
    I hope I'm not too late, but I'm very interested in this. I was told about this thread about half an hour ago, I knew I had to take a look. I have all the consoles on the market and I play constantly. I can get a review done tomorrow!

No your not too late at all, all contributers are welcome if you get a review together and pm me ill give you my contacts to foward it on to me.
    giggsy664 wrote: »

Every bit will help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

No no i was wondering when i applied for it that i would stuggle to lay claim to it as it was a personal site. But i went with Blacknight who are very helpfull getting you set up wrote .ie guys a little letter explaining what i wanted the site for and why the name was important and i was given the .ie domain. Way easier than i thought it would be.

I have a .ie and am registering a discretionary name and they want me to show how I'm "connected" to it. I've emailed blacknight (who I host 4 domains with) to ask what the craic is but was just curious as my idea is fairly similar to yours... only different... ish :p

The site is the one in my Sig www.bone-idle.ie guess if everyone that has expressed an interest goes to the forum section we can start getting stuff organised I've called a section staff and we can disscuss where we want to go from here. http://bone-idle.proboards.com./index.cgi#staff Ive restriced it to registered members so sign up then ill be able to set ye're status to staff and ill restrict it to staff and we can go through it there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 jimmyc06

hi i'd be interested in helping out on this site, I've been looking for something like this for a while now. How do I get involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

Registered On both sites were is the staff section

Where exactly is the link for the staff section...I cant seem to find it :rolleyes:

Hmm not sure what was happening there its at the very bottom under the off topic catagory i had set access to registered members that might have caused problems allthough i can see it whe i logged out any way try this link http://bone-idle.proboards.com./index.cgi?board=reviews i have removed all access issues now so ye should be able to see it.

Thanx mate...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Hey there,

I'd be quite interested in reviewing games for you. I'd consider myself pretty good at English, I got an A in Junior Cert higher level. Any chance I could get in on this?

I have a few questions though;
    How many reviewers would you be taking on board?
    In the least offensive way possible, is the website design a temporary design or a permanent one?
    How would the review system work? Would I have to buy games or would I have them sent to me?
    Would it be strictly text reviews or would you be doing video reviews too?

I have a PS3, a PS2, a PSP and a DS, so I can review for all those systems.

Cheers!

Hey there,

I'd be quite interested in reviewing games for you. I'd consider myself pretty good at English, I got an A in Junior Cert higher level. Any chance I could get in on this?

I have a few questions though;
    How many reviewers would you be taking on board?
    In the least offensive way possible, is the website design a temporary design or a permanent one?
    How would the review system work? Would I have to buy games or would I have them sent to me?
    Would it be strictly text reviews or would you be doing video reviews too?

I have a PS3, a PS2, a PSP and a DS, so I can review for all those systems.

Cheers!

I want to get at least 10 contributors on board, once i get everyone who is interested signed up we can look at breaking them into groups to try and cover each console fairly.

No offensence taken :D The site will be updated a lot in the next few weeks you have to remember its just the begining its trickier than i thought. As i get more content submitted it will start to take shape. Ive used google sites for some pages ive started transfering them over to the other host now so they should dissapear quite quickly that will improve the over all apearance. And as i get to grips with the new software it will improve.

With the reviews at the moment people are submitting reviews for games they own , hopefully publishers will start to give us some games to review in the future. People submit the text i add screen shots if they are available some games arent available yet as im waiting to get access to there sites EA for example.

For now it will be just text we might look into video reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Yeah i'd love to do it, i'm a student so I'd have a fair bit of time off to do it. Got a ps3/psp to do the reviews on. Think i'd write a fair PES 09 article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I want to get at least 10 contributors on board, once i get everyone who is interested signed up we can look at breaking them into groups to try and cover each console fairly.

No offensence taken :D The site will be updated a lot in the next few weeks you have to remember its just the begining its trickier than i thought. As i get more content submitted it will start to take shape. Ive used google sites for some pages ive started transfering them over to the other host now so they should dissapear quite quickly that will improve the over all apearance. And as i get to grips with the new software it will improve.

With the reviews at the moment people are submitting reviews for games they own , hopefully publishers will start to give us some games to review in the future. People submit the text i add screen shots if they are available some games arent available yet as im waiting to get access to there sites EA for example.

For now it will be just text we might look into video reviews.

Sounds good to me. I'll try get a review done tomorrow if I can, to show what I can do.

Just a couple of further questions;
    How would you go about getting these games from the publishers? Do you have to contact them about it? Probably a bit obvious but I'm interested in knowing.
    Is there a particular format you'd want the review itself to follow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

Id love to do it but im studying for the leaving cert at the moment so if your still around in the summer il give you a shout.

Sounds good to me. I'll try get a review done tomorrow if I can, to show what I can do.

Just a couple of further questions;
    How would you go about getting these games from the publishers? Do you have to contact them about it? Probably a bit obvious but I'm interested in knowing.
    Is there a particular format you'd want the review itself to follow?

No set format for the reviews im hoping each reviewer will have there own style. I guess if you stick loosly to : explain the game, story, new features,then give your impressions on graphics, playability, controls, value for money etc etc.

Publishers from time to time send out games to publications i guess the bigger more popular the publication the more games you get. I would not encourage anyone to contact publishers on behalf of Bone-idle small sites have to follow certain procedures when it comes to dealing with publishers and legal responsibilities.
    Id love to do it but im studying for the leaving cert at the moment so if your still around in the summer il give you a shout.

No problem your best bet would be to sign up to the site to keep in touch and get involved at some level and when you get some free time in the summer feel free to submit content.

Just a note on this lads ive had quite a few responses ( approaching 20 )now all are very welcome but just in case i havent replied to you or havent pm'd you back dont worry your still needed but i do need ye to sign up to the site ( forum section mainly as thats where we will discuss what reviews etc we need to get done and who is doing what and how to submit content) at the moment there is only 5 or 6 that have signed up.

http://bone-idle.proboards.com./index.cgi

I have sent you a PM on the idle bones forum mate can you check it out for me.

Thanx

Sure might as well give it a shot. Just have a PS3 though.

I have sent you a PM on the idle bones forum mate can you check it out for me.

Thanx

Got that and replied, just email the reviews up to me.

Sure might as well give it a shot. Just have a PS3 though.

More than welcome sign up on the site and we'll work from there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

ive found its really really bloody hard to get people to actually keep submitting reviews unfortunately, but best of luck with the site man!

Helix wrote: »
    ive found its really really bloody hard to get people to actually keep submitting reviews unfortunately, but best of luck with the site man!

Thanks!! fingers crossed the few i have involved now stick with it, some decent stuff being submitted but i know what you mean, about 20 expressed an interest here but only 6 signed up so far. Any tips would be appreciated since your the only other person i "know" that has experience in this field. If you want to sign up im going to make a section with other irish gaming sites ( game.ie gamesnash.ie etc ) plus international ones that are usefull you could stick a link to game.ie in there no hassle:D.

Signed up to as many extranets i could find but boy are they hard to find THQ so far have been the most friendly. EA the worst !!

you need to have at least twice as many as you want for the first few months, because most of them will decide theyre not arsed

ea are tough to get on the right side of, you most likely wont get any product from them. thq arent great for product either, but theyre really helpful with info

most of the guys are pretty decent, its just a case of mailing them and telling them what youre doing and your plan and they should be helpful enough in terms of getting you on email lists and stuff

its a pretty hard slog to get yourself established with them tho, you're probably looking at 6-8 months in a lot of cases before theyll entertain sending you any product but just keep building away at it and itll happen eventually

in a lot of cases they have to make sure that its not just a free games ploy, so they wait to see if the site lasts for a while, which is clearly counter intuitive coz if theyre not giving you product youve got nothing to write about

Well yes you are always gonna have "Teething" problems, but I will review any games I buy myself....that will show we are dedicated. I have just got EMPIRE:Total War so I will do a review on that also if needed although its FOOKING HUGE game it would take an age.....a site like this is not a sprint finish...its a steady mile walk ;)

fairly sure i knew that already :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 deanmc

I wouldnt mind giving it ago.
    I have a ps3 and xbox360.
    I have just joined your site aswell.

Well got my 1st Offical game sent to me today by Bone-Idle, Dawn Of War 2. So the site is on the money and no messing, so lets support this guys 100%

whoo hoo our first milestone 250 hits :D

Just would like a little more info on the site before I register, just kind of wary of putting in my address...:)

Just like to know how it all runs, are you the editor, how do you decide who writes which review, and the games being delivered system all works.

Just would like a little more info on the site before I register, just kind of wary of putting in my address...:)

Just like to know how it all runs, are you the editor, how do you decide who writes which review, and the games being delivered system all works.

You dont have to fill out anything you dont want to to register bar email and user name

Im the editor/owner at the moment people are suggesting games they want to review and if no one else is allready doing that game then they go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Didn't even see an address field when I did it. Anyway signed up.

Only really got PS3 stuff I can reivew that is in any way up to date. No problem reviewing some PS2 classics if you were pushed but I guess you wanna keep it relevant.

I will PM you the games I can review via boards cos I don't know your username there.

Im back from my hols, yes i had a great time :D. Have a few reviews waiting to get done up and published ill try to get them up today or tomor. I ve a fallout 3 one but im struggling to get pics so i might just publish it as text as its good and quite long.