Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v America

• 26-02-2009 11:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭

So lads/ladies.........how do we reckon this will go? Katie Taylor has been added to the bill which is great.

I reckon we will win on Friday night 8-4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭dbrady01

is anyone else having trouble getting onto the iaba website. Is there a list of bouts on any other site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Its on rte.ie sport

Ireland v USA National Stadium Dublin, 27 February (7.30pm)

48kg:Paddy Barnes (Ireland) v Louie Byrd (USA)
    51kg:Declan Geraghty (Ireland) v Rau'shee Warren (USA)
    54kg:John Joe Nevin (Ireland) v Ernie Garza (USA)
    57kg:Carl Frampton (Ireland) v Raynall Williams (USA)
    60kg:Ross Hickey (Ireland) v Eric Fowler (USA)
    60kg: Katie Taylor (Ireland) v Queen Underwood (USA)
    64kg:Philip Sutcliffe (Ireland) v Charles Watson (USA)
    69kg:Willie McLoughlin (Ireland) v Javontae Starks (USA)
    75kg:Darren O'Neill (Ireland) v Aleem Whitfield (USA)
    81kg:Ken Egan (Ireland) v Siju Shabazz (USA)
    91kg:Con Sheehan (Ireland) v Paul Koon (USA)
    91+kg: Anthony Crampton (Ireland) v Michael Hunter (USA)

Irish v USA Arch Centre Athy, Kildare 1 March (7.30pm)

48kg: Paddy Barnes (Ireland) v Louie Byrd (USA)
    51kg: Ruairi Dalton (Ireland) v Rau'shee Warren (USA)
    54kg: Ryan Lindberg (Ireland) v Ernie Garza (USA)
    57kg: David Oliver Joyce (Ireland) v Raynall Williams (USA)
    60kg: Eric Donovan (Ireland) v Eric Fowler (USA)
    64kg: John Joe Joyce (Ireland) v Charles Watson (USA)
    69kg: Roy Sheahan (Ireland) v Javontae Starks (USA)
    75kg: David Joyce (Ireland) v Aleem Whitfield (USA)
    81kg: Denis Hogan (Ireland) v Siju Shabazz (USA)
    91kg: John Sweeney (Ireland) v Paul Koon (USA)

It has crampton done to box twice......im sure thats a mis typo and should be Joyce? not sure why those smilies are coming up......i just copied & paste from the webiste :~

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭dbrady01

cheers

Should JJJ not be banned for 30 days after being stopped RSC. Geraghty has a big ask to get by warren. Should be a great 2 nites

how come tommy mccarthy has been picked seen as most of the beaten finalists are on the athy show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

MBC wrote: »
    Its on rte.ie sport

It has crampton done to box twice......im sure thats a mis typo and should be Joyce? not sure why those smilies are coming up......i just copied & paste from the webiste :~

not really heard on most of the Yanks except Rau'shee Warren and Michael Hunter Junior.

Only heard in passing about Siju and Javontae - ould Javontae is an interesting character! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

http://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2009/0226/iaba.html

This looks very tasty. Warren is fighting and Taylor also in
    action. Anyone heading over and anyone know
    if RTE are screening this. I'd love to see it.

Kenny looks to have a tough job against a decent fighter

Looking forward to hopefully seeing Sutcliffe.

I see JJJ is in action. Is this legal? He suffered a KO
    loss and I was under the impression that a 28 day
    rule was in effect. This used to be the case?

walshb wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2009/0226/iaba.html

This looks very tasty. Warren is fighting and Taylor also in
    action. Anyone heading over and anyone know
    if RTE are screening this. I'd love to see it.

Kenny looks to have a tough job against a decent fighter

Looking forward to hopefully seeing Sutcliffe.

I see JJJ is in action. Is this legal? He suffered a KO
    loss and I was under the impression that a 28 day
    rule was in effect. This used to be the case?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055498692

Cheers Sligo, I am always too quick to jump in with thread creations.

You goin?

Cheers Sligo, I am always too quick to jump in with thread creations.

You goin?

I live in Manchester hombre and with a wedding coming up later this year (yes someone has agreed to married me) funds are tight, so unfortunately no.

If I was living at home i would definately have a season ticket - 100 feckin euros - now when you think of all the overprices shizzle in that country then 100 yoyos for a season ticket which includes all the senior finals in a flamin bargain.

Its on rte.ie sport

I like the way the colons have turned the capital letters into smileys! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 murpheile

Lads/ladies,

I'm new to the boards.

Was a big fan of the amateur finals growing up and decided this year to go to the semi's and finals since I was in Dublin. 3 great nights entertainment, am a much bigger fan now I must say and I'm determined to be there anymore. Could someone tell me how I get the season ticket, and what time of year it runs from-until, ie if I get one now does it cover 2010 finals?

murpheile wrote: »
    Lads/ladies,

I'm new to the boards.

Was a big fan of the amateur finals growing up and decided this year to go to the semi's and finals since I was in Dublin. 3 great nights entertainment, am a much bigger fan now I must say and I'm determined to be there anymore. Could someone tell me how I get the season ticket, and what time of year it runs from-until, ie if I get one now does it cover 2010 finals?

You can purchase from the stadium give them a ring on 454 3525. If your going along tonight you can purchase at the pay in desk also.
    They run from 1st Jan 09 to 31st Dec 09. (so no if wont cover 2010 finals)
    Excellent value.

I live in Manchester hombre and with a wedding coming up later this year (yes someone has agreed to married me) funds are tight, so unfortunately no.

If I was living at home i would definately have a season ticket - 100 feckin euros - now when you think of all the overprices shizzle in that country then 100 yoyos for a season ticket which includes all the senior finals in a flamin bargain.

Well, I just checked RTE and they aren't showing it. Time to get me a season
    ticket; as you say, extremely good value. The tickets to watch Ire-Eng tomorrow at Croker' are over 100 bloody Euro. That's the comparison

Enjoy your wedding mate

Wowzers!!!!

1 48kg Paddy Barnes Ireland Beat Louie Byrd USA 22-2
    2 51kg Declan Geraghty Ireland Lost To Rau'shee Warren USA 4-15
    3 54kg John Joe Nevin Ireland Beat Ernesto Graza USA 16-1
    4 57kg Carl Frampton Ireland Lost To Raynall Williams USA 10-13
    5 60kg Katie Taylor Ireland Beat Queen Underwood USA 30-3
    6 60kg Ross Hickey Ireland Beat Eric Fowler USA 19-6
    7 64kg Philip Sutcliffe Ireland Beat Charles Watson USA 13-9
    8 69kg Willie McLoughlin Ireland Beat Javontae Starks USA 15-10
    9 75kg Darren O'Neill Ireland Beat Aleem Whitfield USA 13-5
    10 81kg Brendan Fitzpatrick Ireland Beat Sijoula Shabazz USA13-12
    11 91kg Con Sheahan Ireland Beat Paul Koon USA 14-4
    12 91+kg Anthony Crampton Ireland Lost To Michael Hunter RSC2
    Hunter is the son of Mike"the bounty" Hunter. Warren is a world champion and Williams is an Olympician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭fatgav

fatgav wrote: »

i HEARD bILLY walsh couldn't contact him al week; maybe there was no signal in Lille Bordello's:D

Great win for the lads, no surprise with Warren winning. Frampton must have met a quality man and Taylor, another devastating show from the best boxer
    on the planet, male or female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I think he's going pro and does not want to dent his record before going pro! he's wasting his time as an amateur now in my opinion, should just give the pro game a go and see what he could do..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Paul, I don't see him going anywhere in either game. He is just not suited at all to the pros and I doubt very much he'll eclipse a silver medal in any MAJOR
    competition.

I see Charlie Nash was saying that Kenny should have went
    PRO and that he has the right style to go far. I'm not
    sure of that

But you are right, I'd say he may just go pro to make a few quid with a few high profile easy
    wins. After that, it's another Carruth type pro career.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

kenny was admiring himself in the mirror and before he knew, it was 10.00 this morning. Haha ah im a big ken fan. Was dissapointed not to see him last night but the chap who replaced him stole the show with a cracking effort..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

This could be my last tweet for a while . Cannot say any more!!!!. Kenny Egan has left the building . Take care y'all .

interesting!
    i think the carruth carreer would be about right, but he is skillful enough to outpoint pro boxers so you never know-he's as much chance as he does as an amateur!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

I got an email sent to me last night before I went to the stadium from Brian Peters promotions saying that Kenny, Katie and Bernard are on Tubridy Tonight on RTE. I assumed this was just a ticket selling exercise.

I was talking to someone who knows Kenny well to see if I could get the scoop but he isn't saying anything.

But I have a feeling that he might announce that he is turning pro tonight on Tubridy. If that's the case then he probably will be signing for Peters.

If I get anymore info I will post it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

cowzerp wrote: »
    I think he's going pro and does not want to dent his record before going pro! he's wasting his time as an amateur now in my opinion, should just give the pro game a go and see what he could do..
    Wouldn't that be a huge kick in the teeth for Billy Walsh and Co?
    There was a big feature in the paper last week about the high performance set up, and the significance of Egan staying amateur
    “It was significant for him to stay amateur,” says Keegan. “It took us nearly six years to develop that performance culture. It would not take so much to tear it down.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0221/1224241590287.html

if that is the end of his amateur career, and right now that is admittedly a big if, then it's a disgraceful way to end it on his part. completely agree that he does not have the style to turn pro.

Wasn't he due to appear on the Dunne undercard?
    Maybe he got his head turned by Peters while he was signing for that....
    It would seem odd after all the interviews he gave saying pro wasn't for him.
    fatgav wrote:
    and right now that is admittedly a big if,
    True, we'll just have to wait and see I suppose

I got an email sent to me last night before I went to the stadium from Brian Peters promotions saying that Kenny, Katie and Bernard are on Tubridy Tonight on RTE. I assumed this was just a ticket selling exercise.

I was talking to someone who knows Kenny well to see if I could get the scoop but he isn't saying anything.

But I have a feeling that he might announce that he is turning pro tonight on Tubridy. If that's the case then he probably will be signing for Peters.

If I get anymore info I will post it.

That's great, I'll try tune into that. Promotion is essential; to Bernard, NOT to
    Egan and Katie. Again, this mixing of the two is WRONG and is setting
    a dangerous precedent. Just my take

That's great, I'll try tune into that. Promotion is essential; to Bernard, NOT to
    Egan and Katie. Again, this mixing of the two is WRONG and is setting
    a dangerous precedent. Just my take

Totally agree with this comment Walsh.
    They should be kept separate imo.

I am still trying to find out what is happening, the last I heard was from a close friend of Kenny is that he might not turn up tonight and that he isn't going pro. He won't say what he is up to though.
    Although I felt he knew something but wasn't saying. I will continue my sleuthing. :)

Totally agree with this comment Walsh.
    They should be kept separate imo.

I am still trying to find out what is happening, the last I heard was from a close friend of Kenny is that he might not turn up tonight and that he isn't going pro. He won't say what he is up to though.
    Although I felt he knew something but wasn't saying. I will continue my sleuthing. :)

Good work, just wht this forum needs, research and trivia!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭JMCD

Wether hes going pro or not what he did last night was a disgrace.

Reading in the herald tonight that he has a picture on his blog of him with some model out in town or thursday night so looks like he had no intention in boxing in an international the following night.

I must say that I USE to be a big Kenny fan in terms of his boxing ability and his down to earth normal workin class fellas personality but since bejing I have grown a serious dislike to him.

In the papers for all the wrong reasons and mouthin out of him in some way or another. I still cant believe that he didnt have even the slighest bit of decency to let people know that he wasnt going to show!!

Terrible!!!!:mad:

I know kenny quite well.......not sure whats happening at the moment with him but i just feel I have to defend him on the papers stuff.

His parents welcomed the paps with open arms when all the olympics success was happening........she even made them breakfast and looked after them. Then when ken came home they camped outside his gaf for nearly 2 weeks watching every move he/his family & friends made.........then they started pestering people coming out of there local to sell stories on him..........they are a bunch of pesticides.......i know its there job but jaysus christ some of the stuff they were trying to drag up on him was outragous.

Now anything the fella does is in the papers........the rags are out to get him so dont believe all the crap thats in them. Id imagine in a crazy sort of way that he is going mad he ever got this success in the 1st place......he cant even say hello to a girl now without them running to the papers claiming he was hitting on them :rolleyes:

Cut the guy some slack we dont know the reason why he didnt box last night..........there could well be a logical reason.......he has represented this country impectably for the last 10+ years......so leave the rumours etc to the kunts ahem rags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

^Agree

Lets at least give him a chance to explain whats going on before jumping to conclusions.

Also, I would be somewhat surprised if he was to turn pro now. The likelihood is that the offers were better a few months back when he had lots of promoters clamoring after him, and if he was going to make the jump he would have done it then.

Perhaps they have secured the rematch of the Olympic final for the O2 card, and he just want to focus on that.

I know kenny quite well.......not sure whats happening at the moment with him but i just feel I have to defend him on the papers stuff.

His parents welcomed the paps with open arms when all the olympics success was happening........she even made them breakfast and looked after them. Then when ken came home they camped outside his gaf for nearly 2 weeks watching every move he/his family & friends made.........then they started pestering people coming out of there local to sell stories on him..........they are a bunch of pesticides.......i know its there job but jaysus christ some of the stuff they were trying to drag up on him was outragous.

Now anything the fella does is in the papers........the rags are out to get him so dont believe all the crap thats in them. Id imagine in a crazy sort of way that he is going mad he ever got this success in the 1st place......he cant even say hello to a girl now without them running to the papers claiming he was hitting on them :rolleyes:

Cut the guy some slack we dont know the reason why he didnt box last night..........there could well be a logical reason.......he has represented this country impectably for the last 10+ years......so leave the rumours etc to the kunts ahem rags.

I'm all for giving anyone the benefit of the doubt, but I think it is official that all thru the week he was NOT contactable at all. That leaves a sour taste in my mouth. I think Ken needs to do some explaining, is there really an excuse for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Tubridy basically spelled out that K. Egan went missing - he was booked in for the show and then can't be contacted. WTF?

There could be a logical reason, but the captain of the team not showing up and being uncontactable is out of order.
    The guy had some success and fair play, he made a few shillings out of it and I wouldn't begrudge him that, but let's not be naive, if you're going to turn yourself into a media product and make the commercials and show up at the celebrity parties.. well, that cuts two ways.

The papers are obviously going to take an interest and try and sell as many papers as they can.
    I don't care who he's pictured with and I wouldn't be one for believing what's in them anyway, but he's cashed in on his success, he made a big deal of his national pride etc when he was fighting in Bejing.
    He's also been rewarded with a substantial financial package and made the poster boy for London 2012.

He's also given numerous interviews proclaiming the reasons he stayed amateur, among them being proud to fight for his country and the honour of being captain and so on.
    It doesn't sit well that he would then be a no show.

Also, if he has a problem with the media attention, maybe not the smartest thing to create a 'where is Ken Egan' situation in the sunday papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Strange in the extreme...

As long as he's OK, that's the main thing IMHO.

Pity, as it deflected attention from some superb performances.

... speaking of which, Ms Taylor, what can you say? Probably the only peerless athlete worldwide that Ireland has. Amazing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Trouser_Press

i just feel I have to defend him on the papers stuff...........they are a bunch of pesticides

Sorry, that's the single funniest word-muddle I've ever seen on a messageboard. I think you mean 'parasites', unless you think the hacks were being sprayed on the Egan family to rid them of disease?
    he cant even say hello to a girl now without them running to the papers claiming he was hitting on them :rolleyes:

I know Kenny, he doesn't know how to say hello to a girl without hitting on them. ;) And who could blame him?

Leave him alone lads, he's a good bloke, he ****ed up badly this week, but things are tricky.

I hope he is ok, but I'd say he is judging by his latest post here about 6 hours ago.

http://twitter.com/kennyEgan

I have a couple of ideas what he is up to but I won't say, as MBC said, let us wait till we here from the horses mouth.
    No point starting rumours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I have a couple of ideas what he is up to but I won't say, as MBC said, let us wait till we here from the horses mouth.
    No point starting rumours.

So why mention it in the first place:confused:

Was it just to sound smart?

Babybing wrote: »
    So why mention it in the first place:confused:

Was it just to sound smart?

That's exactly it Sherlock.

I have a couple of ideas what he is up to but I won't say

Like a pro offer from the US of A?

No?

Like a pro offer from the US of A?

No?

No, b**ging some bird. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Have to say it,

The Medjia... lower than banksters in my experience. :mad:

Fishtits wrote: »
    Have to say it,

So you think they shouldn't have reported his Stadium no-show?

Fishtits wrote: »
    Why? What have the media done?

Mikel wrote: »
    Why? What have the media done?

They turned up at all Kenny's envelope-openings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Shocked at Kenny Egan. Very disappointed, there are no excuses here. It's not even not turning up, it's the manner of it. Show some class and get on the phone. Tell people.

I'm boycotting any of his fights in future.

Shocked at Kenny Egan. Very disappointed, there are no excuses here. It's not even not turning up, it's the manner of it. Show some class and get on the phone. Tell people.

I'm boycotting any of his fights in future.

I tend to agree, no matter what is the REAL reason, it is all about the manner and lack of contact. Remember, we are in the AGE of the phone, internet and everything else. No excuses

Is it for publicity and controversy? I can't think of any other reason. It had to be
    a deliberate act. There is no way he can say he FORGOT or he lost his
    phone etc.

I know this has been pointed out already but his latest comment on his twitter feed reeks of arrogance.

where's the contrition, the apology?? if kenny's willing to post such light-hearted comments on what effectively is a public forum, then he should also tell his fans, the boxing public, the coaching staff and those who bought tickets to see him on Friday night why exactly he didn't show. If he pulls out of a fight then I'm reasonably OK with that, provided there's a legit reason. But not to tell Billy Walsh and other relevant members of the national team where he's been all week and why he wasn't there on Friday is unforgivable.

fatgav wrote: »
    I know this has been pointed out already but his latest comment on his twitter feed reeks of arrogance.

where's the contrition, the apology?? if kenny's willing to post such light-hearted comments on what effectively is a public forum, then he should also tell his fans, the boxing public, the coaching staff and those who bought tickets to see him on Friday night why exactly he didn't show. If he pulls out of a fight then I'm reasonably OK with that, provided there's a legit reason. But not to tell Billy Walsh and other relevant members of the national team where he's been all week and why he wasn't there on Friday is unforgivable.

There has been so much Egan crap and hype lately, can we take theses so called comments as HIS?

i think we can, tough that is an opinion. this isn't a new account, it's been operating for a while and seems to be kenny's. and the pictures he's posting are to an account which is full of pictures of him, but aren't taken from google (if that makes sense.)

but this is about ireland v america so i guess the egan talk should pop over to his thread. how did it go in athy tonight?

http://www.iaba.ie/Results/Results_2009/results_2009.html

Joyce beats Williams in a tight affair; Frampton lost to this fella by a few points.
    Fair play to Barnes, two wins in two days and Taylor is simply too good.

Donovan had a good win as well. I would say the U.S team was not it's strongest squad, but fair play to Ieland. Even a 2nd or 3rd rate U.S team is class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭ah,sure

Not much Ireland/USA talk on this thread. 17-5 is an incredible score.

I couln't make it due to work but i hear Nevin was amazing at the Stadium. I was his semi-final and final in the seniors and i reckon here is our next medallist at the world championships after James Moore in 2001