Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats wrong with DIT

• 25-02-2009 08:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

I m a 4th year DIT student so i think im entitled to have a rant and have done my bit to deserve one. For starters "the city is our campus" that’s a great way of saying all are campuses are absolute dog sh*t and Auinger streets the only one even close to adaquate.I'm in Cathal Bruagha myself and its an embarrassment. I'm actually embarrassed to tell my friends that building (x mental hospital as the rumour goes) is where i go to college. There is only one genuine lecture room in the whole place. The common rooms the size of the gents in UCD. Where as there is a parisienne style cafe on the first floor for the lecturers! Its a joke why should the space be wasted on them when they all have their own offices anyway. I understand they should have a common room type place but not at the expense of students.

The other thing it sounds small but really grinds my gears about DIT is the email address alocation. In all colleges in Ireland the students email address is joebloggs@UCD.ie kellyP@tcd.ie Jamesbloggs3@dcu.ie.Basically the students name .However at DIT to make things easier for the poor admin staff its all this joe.blogs.student@dit.ie. This drives me insane especially seeing as the lecturers all have there emails as joe.bloggs@dit.ie

But i can get over the above the thing i cant get over is this drink responsibly carry on that SU pumps out. If we all want to go out and booze the night away together it should be facilitated. We should be allowed hae societies that solely organise nights out and boozing events. That’s what people going to college want and i know there someone out there whose going to disagree with me. But to be honest i know enough people to know thats the main thing we want from the SU not a couple free lolipops for SHAG week. We want a venue organised we can show up blind drunk and have a laugh with are mates. The talk of an “in house traffic light ball in cathal bruagha Street” during the day. Is quite possibly the lamest thing ever.

Before someone makes a comment about getting involved and what not I have and was told I would not receive funding for a society that’s sole purpose was organising nights out!
    Anyway that’s my rant for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

bolton st graduate myself.
    happy with the place acedemically, would be great if there was more research, as i believe the ethos trickes down to undergrad level and would help foster a determination in undergrads. also facilities are a bit lacking.

as for extra cirricular:
    DIT is in an unfortunate position to be a huge 3rd level college which is fragmented across 19? locations. "the city is our campus" is actually quite a good tagine, in other words, there is nothing about our cammpus which you cant experience while strolling around town..

grangegorman will hopefully transfrom DIT into a real (dare i say) university! i think it'll be a wonderful development and have no doubt that it will create a whole new vitality for DIT.

you shouldn't be toooo upset about being joe.bloggs@student.dit.ie
    as opposed to joe.bloggs@dit.ie the difference is meaningless unless your trying to conceal the fact that you're a student. which actually makes the distinction quite usefull as you cant pass yourself off as staff.

i've had friends in UCD TCD NUI DCU AND UCG all have good and bad things to say about their own college.
    the only thing i'll say that you dont want to hear is that it's what you make of it...
    i remember meeting engineers in first year from a dublin UNIVERSITY who had quite the air of superiority about them and wern't shy about letting me know how fantastic the place was next to DIT.
    by final year their smugness had evaporated.
    you'll do better in DIT if you've given it a chance and applied yourself than you'd do in Harvard/Yale/MIT if you didnt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

If I went to college in Cathal Bruagha St. I'd be pretty pissed off too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Dar_88

mcerc wrote: »
    But i can get over the above the thing i cant get over is this drink responsibly carry on that SU pumps out. If we all want to go out and booze the night away together it should be facilitated. We should be allowed hae societies that solely organise nights out and boozing events. That’s what people going to college want and i know there someone out there whose going to disagree with me. But to be honest i know enough people to know thats the main thing we want from the SU not a couple free lolipops for SHAG week. We want a venue organised we can show up blind drunk and have a laugh with are mates. The talk of an “in house traffic light ball in cathal bruagha Street” during the day. Is quite possibly the lamest thing ever.

Totally agree with you! Drink and responsibly shouldn't be used in the same sentence when in college :p
    I have a feeling that the so called RAG week will be a let down also, all down to the SU afraid to spent money. All they spent money on is lollipops, alcohol free kopparberg, and stupid tshirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Grangegorman will bring DIT into one "campus", unlikely any current students will ever get to experience it though!

And I think it's the DIT themselves who put a damper on RAG week, not the SU. The RAG trips (which are now banned :( ) seem to have gotten DIT into awful trouble, something like what's happened with Sligo IT, or even Tallaght IT last year. Probably the reason why DIT have a strict no-alcohol policy in place now, which the SU don't really want to be seen to be going against!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

it's not like there not trying to sort it out , arent't they planning on one big campus Grangegorman , that'll be huge, though i prob won't be interested when it opens in 2050

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Kenno90 wrote: »
    it's not like there not trying to sort it out , arent't they planning on one big campus Grangegorman , that'll be huge, though i prob won't be interested when it opens in 2050
    yes but judging how building projects go in ireland, it will be opened just before my grand kids go to college, that's if it's not delayed either ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Just to mention that UCD student email addresses are actually firstname.secondname@ucdconnect.ie

Staff and maybe PhDs have the simpler firstname.secondname@ucd.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 mcerc

you shouldn't be toooo upset about being joe.bloggs@student.dit.ie
    as opposed to joe.bloggs@dit.ie the difference is meaningless unless your trying to conceal the fact that you're a student. which actually makes the distinction quite usefull as you cant pass yourself off as staff.

Its the fact that i have to bother writing the student bit that grinds my gears. Not that it identifies me as a student. And also that it would be so much easier for people outside of DIT to remember ur email if the student bit wasn’t there. But yeah i know it isn't the most pressing manner.
    the only thing i'll say that you dont want to hear is that it's what you make of it

Thats just not true. I want to make DIT the college with the best nightlife and fun events. That is not possible with the current controls in place. And im not saying i don't have good time, i do but at other colleges events.

you'll do better in DIT if you've given it a chance and applied yourself than you'd do in Harvard/Yale/MIT if you didnt!

Thats really just stating the obvious.You can say that about anything. E.g You'll do better in teaching cats to swim if you've given it a chance and applied yourself than you'd do in Harvard/Yale/MIT if you didn't

Just a general reply to anyone whose grangorming this and that. I don't care, that in now way effects presents students having a good time.Fair play to them for getting a campus together but its impacts are irrelevent to present to students.

I will make the point the silent disco in tripod organised by the SU was actually really good. But there needs to be more.

cixelsyd m’I rammarg dna gnilleps eht tuoba yrroS

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Kensington wrote: »
    Grangegorman will bring DIT into one "campus", unlikely any current students will ever get to experience it though!

I went to Kevin St. in 1999. They were talking about Grange gorman back THEN. It'll never happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Im in Kevin St and my big gripe is the library. They computers are always broken (at least 5 of the 14 are not working at any one time). That'd be fair enough, but one of them still has an a4 page on the screen "Problem logged with ICT 18/11/08". Thats over 3 months ago and still not fixed.
    The staff in the library are so fricken loud. They have full blown conversations with each other, lecturers looking for materials and on the phone. The guy who seems to be over the whole show tries to lay down the law re coffee and eating while the staff stuff their faces with cafe sora (sp?). :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

It's a 2 way street with the library. There are plenty of absolute arrseholes in Kevin St. Some guy threw an open bottle of lucozade into the lost and found box2 days ago. Other people leave pencil parings, bottles and wrappers all over the place, and there are plenty of bins.

I love the Kevin St library tbh. After coming from DCU - which has the most soulless and noisy library ever - the library is a breath of fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Nemothefish

i must agree I'm from Kevin St... the entire DIT library system is a joke... the school of computer science is based in Kst but for some reason there is a bigger selection of books in AST St for computing? is there something im missing here... The Televisions.. Y are they there??? Oh I will let you in to a secret about the computers... it just takes a student who is not completely computer literate to get pissed of with them.. and they report them... or they try to use the printer and it WONT work so they tell ICT... where infarct the pc is AOK... the logins work.. the internet works... its just the printer connection that goes down... after all look at AST pc's there DELL's also... and yet they all seem to function... or is it that business students just don't try to access stuff they shouldn't like KST comp heads...

In all fairness CBST is a bit of a dive, in contrast to the snakery in kevin st, since we have John, who spends time and effort keeping the place clean, MJSQ students do not have a student area. they have a canteen come Student area come purple place come shop... kind of area...

But the one thing you got to love about dit is that you can nearly walk down any street and find a DIT on it some where... with a grumpy porter in it for good measure.

By they way I'm an engineer!!

Just a note on the joke that is Grangegorman... DIT staff when asked to do something take the Do IT Tomarrow attitude because generally that staff member is on another campus... if DIT moved to Grangegorman... there will be downsizing of staff... and staff can be easier tracked down to do work... work and DIT in the same sentence Noooooooo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭scheister

o dear god where o where to start. Heres one a can of red bull is a different all over dit even between different java cities there is 15-20cent difference. :eek: Yes certain thinigs can be improved like the pool tables in AST all working cant remember the last time this was true. The timetabling is a joke. They are after switching my accounting lecturer the guy we got 1st thing he does in each class is to try and figure out what class it is where we are. then to top it off teaches cashflow different to us as we have been learning agh. If i was to stay here and vent all my anger i'd still be here come the xmas exams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Nemothefish

DIT DIT DIT.... no wonder we are not considered a university... we cant even agree on a campus.... the only reason y we are a university in Europe is that the Europeans cannot see us for what we really are...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I think some of the comments here have been grossly unfair.

Having been a TCD student previously, I can say that DIT is pretty damned good. I'm in Bolton street and guess what, there are plenty of couches. There are about 4 couches for all the science and engineering areas in TCD combined.

The lecturers in DIT are mostly excellent. They're certainly much better than the lecturers I had in TCD.

The OP is bitching about "there should be more stuff like the silent disco" and "I want to make DIT the college with the best nightlife and fun events." If that's all you want from a college well... The phrase "cry me a river, build me a bridge and get over it" comes to mind. (But at least in DIT, the lecturers will take sufficient interest in you that they'll show you how to build the bridge).

Some people need to wake up to what's important. Frankly, the party scene is not something you should be assessing a college on because guess what, it's not a nightclub, it's somewhere you go to LEARN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 mcerc

Some people need to wake up to what's important. Frankly, the party scene is not something you should be assessing a college on because guess what, it's not a nightclub, it's somewhere you go to LEARN

Why shouldn't it be a factor in assessing a college. Because you say so? Theres more college places than ever before. If i have to choose between two similar courses and ones in a college with a great party scene and the others non existent its obviously going to be a factor.

Also not everyone goes to college to learn from lectures. So many people are stuck in courses they don’t like and just trying to get a degree to open themselves to more opportunities. Not everyone loves their course and is dying to hit the books. Some people are in college to make new friends, develop interests outside their degrees get their parents off their back, to do a course for two plus years realise they absolutly hate it and want to change direction etc.

I have never once criticised lectures.
    If that's all you want from a college well... The phrase "cry me a river, build me a bridge and get over it" comes to mind

hahaha you know it girlfriend.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I'm not looking for a mad party college or anything - my course is my priority - but I have to say, some semblance of a social life would be nice. DIT is seriously lacking in that regard, there's absolutely no buzz about it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

I'm not looking for a mad party college or anything - my course is my priority - but I have to say, some semblance of a social life would be nice. DIT is seriously lacking in that regard, there's absolutely no buzz about it at all.

Your expectations are far too high. Maybe you need to chat someone up in the library, or someone who's sitting alone on the couch :D That's the most you can get, unfortunately.

*I never done anything like this before, so I can't tell you the implications of this, but give it a try. Given a few attempts, you'll find a character who'll beat 1000 social life events :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

I agree with you, the social aspect of DIT is terrible. There seems to be a half-heart effort put into almost every event in the calender year. It's now February, only three months of college left and there isn't one single ditsu event i can pick out in my mind and say....ahh good times!!! Same goes for previous years ¬_¬

And in regard to what the OP mentioned about the SU stance on drink promos, while i can understand the SU keeping in line with DIT after the RAG trouble etc....there needs to be a compromise there.
    DITSU wrote:
    Will there be cheap drinks?

We do not actively promote cheap drink, as we do not feel it should be the main reasoning behind any of our events.

Would anybody be that insane as to go to a ditsu event without drink? Believe me ditsu drink is the main reasoning behind any of us going to one of your excellent "events"...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

lads... keep if nice here... no name and shame malarky of folk... DIT is what is is... with all colleges it has its pros and cons... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 CilitBang

The SU needs to keep on DITs good side fair enough. But I think a compromise needs to be reached, Jill_valentine was right, there's a serious lack of buzz. Maybe the new elected VP will pay attention and make a better effort next year, I'll believe it when I see it tho! They need to do something different.
    DIT's answer for fixing or making something better is usually, wait until Granggorman, we're over it already - Empty promises. Also, cause I think DIT only owns some of the buildings, they're not gonna pay money to fix something they're leasing. They're also not gonna pay money to fix/repair a building they'll be selling "soon" to fund the new campus. Money money money! Do it TODAY DAMNIT!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I woulden't conisder myself a hardcore partygoer at all, but there really is a seroius
    shortage of events/social life in DIT at present.

Hopefully things will pick up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 s_cahill

Hey Speaking about crap social life in DIT, I was thinking of heading down to the International Break Dance Competition this Sunday. Does anyone know if its supposed to be any good, has anyone here been before?

s_cahill wrote: »
    Hey Speaking about crap social life in DIT, I was thinking of heading down to the International Break Dance Competition this Sunday. Does anyone know if its supposed to be any good, has anyone here been before?
    Do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭suckmyloli

I can't believe you are all complaining like this!? Do you have any idea how fortunate we all are to get a free education? Are these Lack of facilities actually preventing you from attaining your qualification? (Will admit lack of computers can be a pain but honestly most students have laptops these days so...)Why should the SU provide booze or booze nights out? Sure the socs do that anyway??!! We could all have to pay €2,000-5,000+ for our degrees next year and that will be PER YEAR! Let's just count our blessings for now yeh?!

P.s. In case someone thinks I'm some sort of immigrant who feels fortunate because my people sift through garbage piles everyday for food. No I'm not I'm Irish too.

Yeah, you're right. We have absolutely no right to complain about DIT at all because it could be worse...

Just in case, I'm going to go ahead and point out the sarcasm in my above post.

If the students union is crap, why exactly shouldn't we complain? If certain aspects of the college suck balls, why shouldn't we complain? We get cheap third level education in this country because it is government funded. Governments don't pull money out of their asses you know (with the exception of Nigeria). Our government gets capital to spend on all these nice things like cheap education, roads, council houses etc. when people pay tax on various things.

So in reality your point is moot, and regardless of whether you're paying a lot for education, or a little, you have every right to complain because at the end of the day you're complaining about your money being wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭DeadMoney

DIT is a **** hole every where. So is UCD, and I'm not too big a fan of DCU from what I have seen. Academically they are all great obv but in terms of a Real "college", I would have to say that Trinity, NUIG, NUIC and Queens in Belfast all have the best college facilities, and give out a real university athmosphere. I think the main problem with DIT is that students have no identity. There is no vibe around any of the campuses and students just flock in to a few dodgy old building everyday and leave straight afterwards. Very impersonal college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Trinity, NUIG, NUIC and Queens in Belfast all have the best college facilities,

I've heard that the undergrad TCD Chem labs are not all that great, compared to Kevin St.

We've a deliciously nice NMR and LCMS room, and we'll probably get some of the equipment from the Forensic Lab when they move to Thornton Hall - which should hopefully coincide with our move to Grangegorman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

sunnyjim wrote: »
    I've heard that the undergrad TCD Chem labs are not all that great, compared to Kevin St.

True. I've been in a few of the labs in the Bio department, such as micro. Some of the labs for undergrads are terrible in TCD. I think a lot of people presume that because it's Trinity, the labs are going to be state of the art or something?