Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saddles

• 25-02-2009 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭

Ok people, quick question for ye and it may have been addressed already bit not sure in what depth.
    I need to buy a new saddle for my road bike, looking to spend a reasonable amount as want something to get me through W200, ROK and 700km in 5 days with a backpack of 12kgs which is the real test!! Was looking at the Sella Italia SLR or the Specialized Toupe Gel. Won't be doing any really racing so hence don't want something very stiff. Does anyone have any experience of these or can you advise on something that would be similar and suit?? Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

The Toupe Gel is the most comfortable road saddle I've used. I've used the mtb version of the SLR and found it terrible. The Fizik Aliante is also worth a look.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Saddles are a very subjective thing. What one person might find to be a total arse hatchet, another think is the most comfortable thing in the world. To be honest, its a bit of a trial and error process finding what suits you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I won't comment too much on the saddle as I'm a bit of a Brooks nut (although I do find the Ritchey WCS Streem on my road bike comfortable.)
    alfalad wrote: »
    700km in 5 days with a backpack of 12kgs which is the real test!!

This however is a really bad idea and I'd suggest you reconsider your plans. (1) Why do you need to carry 12kg, I have gone on longer tours with far less stuff; (2) Stick it on the bike, even on a road bike (presuming you can't fit a rack/panniers) you can distribute it between a bar bag and a really big saddle bag (like a Carradice.) You also have the option of seatpost-mounted racks that will take up to 10kg.

I can certainly say that riding a road bike with any significant weight in a backpack will be very uncomfortable indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Brooks swallow on my fixie (mostly for looks, but it is comfortable too I have to say!)

On the road bike, I'm rocking a Fizik Arione CX

Would recommend either, but it's very personal as mentioned earlier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I find Selle San Marca very comfy indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Granted it is a very personal thing and i appreciate that, looking for, as you have done, for recommendation and experiences!
    I noticed before el tonto say the saddle that comes on the Wilier being good where as it really doesn't suit me so hence proves it very much depends on the person!!

And Tiny/blorg brooks are cool looking but surely not for a carbon road bike???

As for the 12kg thats prob a rough estimate and possibly too much but will at least be a 2 changes of casual clothes and spare cycling gear, jacket etc! And appreciate could prob get some bags to hang off the bike but not sure i they would fit in the bike box and then have to check them all in which could be hassle as one piece of cabin luggage now allowed!

On the carrying it on you back being uncomfortable, i did it last year and for the first two days it wasn't nice but then it was ok. Did 140km over the weekend with it to try and toughen up as it were and it wasn't pretty hence i have not sat on the bike since Sunday!! But expect to see me on the boards spins with one!! Hopefully just getting used to it will help!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

BBB Ultrabase DTL deluxe does me fine

And Tiny/blorg brooks are cool looking but surely not for a carbon road bike???

Focus_Cayo_2.jpg

:D Although I have it on for the comfort rather than the aesthetics. Regarding the bag, I think you should be able to get something you can stick on the bike, something like this Klick-Fix seatpost rucksack might be ideal (the one hassle with panniers is carrying them off the bike):

41269-freepack-sport-0276S.jpg

I may end up travelling for a few days on my road bike after the Marmotte so I am interested in this myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

blorg wrote: »

I may end up travelling for a few days on my road bike after the Marmotte so I am interested in this myself :)

Funny -- a bike for you bag that can carry a helmet and bottle. Wear the bloody helmet if you going to carry one and get a drink bottle holder. Obviously I am being harsh but it looks like whomever invented this doesn't ride.

blorg wrote: »

I'm thinking of something like that myself for post Marmotte :)

Funny -- a bike for you bag that can carry a helmet and bottle. Wear the bloody helmet if you going to carry one and get a drink bottle holder. Obviously I am being harsh but it looks like whomever invented this doesn't ride.
    I think the idea is you can stick your helmet and bottle in there when you get off the bike :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Get a rear rack. Honestly, it'll be much more pleasurable.

Maybe something like this:

http://www.bikefriday.com/gd-folding-rack
    http://store.bikefriday.com/product_info.php?cPath=64&products_id=9461

The video shows how it folds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Rack would be more pleaureable granted but surely un euro no?? Like wise with the Brooks saddle for a raw carbon bike is that not against all euro laws?? Or do i not know the laws??

Morgan thanks for the info having had both you were able to compare and I was tending towards the toupe even if the white is all wrong!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I noticed before el tonto say the saddle that comes on the Wilier being good where as it really doesn't suit me so hence proves it very much depends on the person!!

In that case, I wouldn't consider the SLR, they are very similar saddles.

Lumen wrote: »
    Get a rear rack. Honestly, it'll be much more pleasurable.
    I wouldn't like to do this a road bike without the mounts and certainly not on carbon, you would have to attach it with P-Clips and the idea of clamping sharp metal clips (the rubber bits generally come off) onto thin carbon seatstays and then putting a heavy load on top would be a very bad idea irrespective of Euro-score. To be honest this was the number one thing that jumped out at me with Trek-Madone-commuter-man, the rack attached with P-Clips to a carbon frame! Saddle bag of some sort (paired with bar bag) is the answer here, like the Audax guys use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

Following good reports here and impressive cycling magazine reviews I bought this http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/Charge_Spoon_Cromo_Rail_Saddle/5360029530/

Tested it for 300Km or so and very happy so I bought another for my other bike. Nice price and selection of colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I think I need to get a new saddle too. I have a Selle Royal Viper on my road bike and it is fine for cycles of up to 40km but when doing 60km last week and 100km this week I really was not comfortable for the last part.

I cycle in 8-padded shorts so don't think they are a problem. I have the saddle positioned quite far back and tilted downwards a bit to take pressure off the, eh, perenial area. It's not perfect - bit of numbness at times but generally comfortable but then I get really uncomfortable further back towards the pelvis area after a certain stage.

What is generally regarded as the ideal saddle positioning (generally speaking - I know many people will have their own setup they like) - pushed forward/back, tilted down or level?

There are hundreds of saddles out there so I'm at a bit of a loss on what to go for. I like the idea of a pressure reducing channel as it may address some of the problems towards the front - do they generally work as expected?

In terms of gel, does it help at the back or do you end up just bedding through it and hitting whatever harder material is below it?

I'm prepared to spend a reasonable amount to get a saddle that will be comfortable for longer journeys and amn't too worried about weight.

I'm a 6ft and a big build so am I right to assume 143mm width would suit me better than 130mm or is it too specific to tell?

The Specialized Toupe Gel does seem like a good option - gel with a pressure reducing channel, though reviews seem to suggest the latest version is more rounded on the edges than before and therefore less comfotable. Has anyone used one recently and how did you find it? Evanscycle have it for £78 so it's not cheap but if it's gonna help I'll go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Your saddle should be level.

For me, the Brooks B-17 or Brooks Team Pro are the last word in comfort, especially if you're not concerned about adding a few ounces in weight. Both of them are markedly wider than a modern racing saddle (170mm and 165mm respectively, I think). The leather gradually moulds to the shape of your backside but remains firm enough that there's no pressure on your vulnerable areas. They do require a bit more care and attention than a plastic saddle though, and the Team Pro definitely takes a bit of breaking in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Pinarello

Fizik Aliante.You will never use another saddle again.Ciaran Power recommended this saddle to me when he was riding with Navigators,at the time i was using a San Marco Aspide and i couldn't get used to it.He was right as i've only bought Fizik ever since..:)

Mmm, some interesting food for thought there, thanks.

I imagine Ciaran Power was using the top of the range Fizik Aliante version? That's about €150 so it might be a bit difficult to justify given my usage. This one comes in at £68 - does that version still have many of the good features that you like about yours? Does the twinflex feature do a good job of taking pressure off the business end of things?

Is this Brooks Team Pro the one you are talking about? And is it this version of the B17 that would suit, assuming I don't need the weight saving of titanium bars?

The B17 mentions that you can tighten the leather as needed, sounds good - does the Team Pro have that too? What's under the leather - hard or soft material? Or is it a case that it's essentially a skeleton frame around the edges with the leather stretched over it so nothing underneath but air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I'll sell you my Fizik Arione if you want. I'm looking to shift it. I have a different saddle on another bike and I want to make them all the same.
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/Fizik_Arione_Saddle/5360035775/

It's about 2 years old. Got it in Cycleways for about 120 at the time. Yours for 60 blips if you want it.

Thanks Raam, but I'm not too gone on that saddle and given the importance of getting it comfy I'll buy one brand new, thanks though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Raam wrote: »
    I'll sell you my Fizik Arione if you want. I'm looking to shift it. I have a different saddle on another bike and I want to make them all the same.
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/Fizik_Arione_Saddle/5360035775/

It's about 2 years old. Got it in Cycleways for about 120 at the time. Yours for 60 blips if you want it.

what Color is it? I may be interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

what Color is it? I may be interested.

Tis black. It's the one from the Specialized.

As Rottenhat says, ideal is level. Nose up will put pressure on your bits while nose down will put excessive weight on the handlebars and possibly have you sliding forward.

Brooks are a very personal matter. Personally I find the Swallow and the Swift (in that order) most comfortable for longer cycles. These are quite narrow saddles, which provide freedom of leg movement. I had the Swallow on my previous road bike and have the Swift on my tourer. My new road bike I have kept the modern lightweight saddle (Ritchey WCS Streem) and so far so good but I haven't been over 150km on it yet. Might stick the Swallow on for the likes of the Wicklow 200.

The B17 is very comfortable indeed for shorter cycles, very well adapted to my bottom at this point, sort of like a hammock, but it gets a bit uncomfortable for me, causing callousing, over the 150km mark. The Team Pro I have on one of my fixies and TBH I don't really get on with it as well as the others. I got it to replace the B17 on the fixie as I was doing 100km+ on that and it is a bit better than the B17 at long distances but not as comfortable as the Swallow/Swift, or indeed as the B17 is on shorter distances.

Ultimately the Swallow is the most expensive Brooks but I honestly think it is at once the most comfortable over long distance and certainly the most beautiful. Workmanship is the same as the B17 at a fraction of the price, it's the design that is better.

Ah, I confess I haven't yet ridden on a Swallow, but one will be going on my next bike for sure.

But as ever, it is horses for courses with saddles - I rode a 300km on my B17 without any problems (well, apart from being so exhausted I didn't even have the energy to eat when I finished). It does suit a fairly upright position though - I can imagine the width and the skirts being more of an issue when you're lower on the bike.

Anyway, Brooks! Brooks! Brooks! You know it makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭blobert

I have a charge spoon which I am happy with.

Not too expensive and very comfy.

Wow, I woke up this morning not sure if I had done something crazy late last night like placing an order with CRC for a Brooks Swallow at about 1am or if I dreamt that.....only when the dispatch email arrived in a few hours ago did I realise it was no dream and I have indeed forked out over €200 for a saddle!

The replies here were just so compelling I couldn't resist - a hammock for my ass? Blorg, with salesmanship like that Brooks should get you onto a commission scheme straight away!

Anyways, I'm hoping the Brooks will last a long time and be with me for manys a journey and anything that helps me build up the endurance to take on the Wicklow 200 would be well worth it, so I'm hoping it proves to be a smart investment in the long, long term.

I bought the proofide for it but not the saddle cover as I figured throwing a plastic bag over it would do the same job while drawing less attention to it.

What is the best approach to take for maintaining it to ensure longevity - put the proofide on every how often, and does it need to be dried off after being out in the rain?

I hope you get on with it now! It is a beautiful saddle. I would just proofide it when you get it, top and bottom. Maybe you are meant to re-apply every so often but I just did mine when I got it, maybe 9 months ago. Maybe re-do it every six months or so. I would get the waterproof cover, they are sized well and roll up into a ball you can keep in your saddle bag. If it gets wet, let it dry naturally but I wouldn't fret too much about it.
    Or is it a case that it's essentially a skeleton frame around the edges with the leather stretched over it so nothing underneath but air?
    That's it. Don't go near the adjusting bolt, it is set right from the factory and probably will never require readjustment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

I proofided my Brooks when I got it first, a nice layer on top and a nicer layer on the underside. I buff out the top-side, but left the underside un-buffed as an extra protective layer.

Then around 6(?) months later, I did the same. A fairly laid-back waxing-routine here. No problems with the saddle - the cover did fall apart though after commuting on it, so perhaps a good dodge there?

I had initially thought the saddle was too narrow for my sit-bones, but it turned out it needed to be positioned further back. Once I got it in the sweet-spot, it was lovely - hope it works out for you too :)

Use the Proofide rarely and sparingly. Once or twice a year is generally plenty.

A plastic bag is fine for keeping it dry and a few spots of rain won't make any difference, just don't ride on it when it's soaked or the leather may stretch. Mudguards help a lot if you do much cycling in the rain - otherwise you get this constant stream of water off your back wheel straight into your saddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I have a Selle Royal Viper on my road bike
    I'll give you a few quid for this, if you're getting rid. I find them very comfortable.

Thanks, looking forward to getting my hands/ass on it and good to know it's not going to be high maintenance but it does seem like a bit of mixed messaging there: rain is fine...don't cycle when it's soaked....

If I'm leaving the bike uncovered outdoors (rarely), I'll put a plastic bag on the saddle. But when I'm cycling and it's raining and I'm out of the saddle a bit, it'll naturally get wet - no need to be concerned about that?

I'll give you a few quid for this, if you're getting rid. I find them very comfortable.

Grand so. I just referenced the spec on the bike I originally bought it with and it said it was a Selle Royal Viper - will have to actually check the saddle itself to confirm that's the one. Will give you a shout once I'm using my Brooks and can sell the Selle.

If I'm leaving the bike uncovered outdoors (rarely), I'll put a plastic bag on the saddle. But when I'm cycling and it's raining and I'm out of the saddle a bit, it'll naturally get wet - no need to be concerned about that?

If it's raining heavily enough for the saddle to get wet, cover it. If there's just a few drops of rain blowing aorund in the air as there so often is in Dublin, you're probably all right.

Just keep a plastic bag in your seat pack, or jam one between the saddle rails if you don't use a pack.

Take care of that saddle, and it'll last for years. Possibly longer than the bike you have it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Grand so. I just referenced the spec on the bike I originally bought it with and it said it was a Selle Royal Viper - will have to actually check the saddle itself to confirm that's the one. Will give you a shout once I'm using my Brooks and can sell the Selle.

nice one, pm me whenever.

I wouldn't worry about it, certainly I have cycled mine through deluges. The Proofide gives it a certain waterproofing. If you are actually cycling the bike most of the saddle will be covered most of the time anyway. I'd put the cover on if it was raining and I was leaving the bike outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭crazydingo

I'm interested in brooks saddles but not entirely sold on them yet. While I would like one, Im not sure if they'd be suitable for me. I cycle a fixie and usually at a relatively high rpm. Does anyone here do the same and ride a brooks? I want to know if there are any negative points like lack of space for thigh movement or rubbing?

crazydingo wrote: »
    I'm interested in brooks saddles but not entirely sold on them yet. While I would like one, Im not sure if they'd be suitable for me. I cycle a fixie and usually at a relatively high rpm. Does anyone here do the same and ride a brooks? I want to know if there are any negative points like lack of space for thigh movement or rubbing?
    Brooks are quite common on fixies from what I can make out. All the hipsters have them. I have a B17 on my commuter fixie and the Team Pro on another that I use for longer distances. For distance/high RPM I would aim to go for one of the narrower ones, ideally the Swallow or the Swift but the B17 also comes in a narrow version for much less money. My Swallow is almost identical in dimensions to the modern lightweight saddle that came with my new Litespeed.

I have a swallow on my Mercian fixie, and had a B17 on my old langster. Like Blorg, I'd suggest either the B17 Narrow, or if you can stretch the extra bit of cash for the swallow, it's the bees knees!

I got my hands on my Swallow today - very beautiful looking piece of kit. I went for the honey colour as much as I know it'll look mad with my black bike I just thought it was a lovely colour and it's even nicer in the flesh.

Have to say though, I was expecting it to be a little softer - seems very rigid and looks like it'll take a while to break in to get that hammock effect mentioned earlier.

That said, I've never gone far wrong by following the great advice on here so I've full confidence that all is not as it seems and it will be a joy to ride....should get to test it out on Friday (too busy tomorrow starring for Boardeaux, the Boards.ie football team tomorrow in the RTE spectacular production on Boards.ie :D).

Looks like CRC threw in a maintenance kit with it for free, nice touch.

Has anyone here had any experience with colours other than "honey"? I am tempted to get a green or black one but i'm a little concerned about leaching of the colour.

Does it happen much?
    How long does it last for?
    Etc.

Have to say though, I was expecting it to be a little softer - seems very rigid and looks like it'll take a while to break in to get that hammock effect mentioned earlier.

That said, I've never gone far wrong by following the great advice on here so I've full confidence that all is not as it seems and it will be a joy to ride....should get to test it out on Friday (too busy tomorrow starring for Boardeaux, the Boards.ie football team tomorrow in the RTE spectacular production on Boards.ie :D).

I found it a little hard on first inspection, but never had a problem on the bike with it...

What this, RTE doing a thing on Boards, and the cycling part doesn't get a shout in? We have our own kit and everything!!!!

@crazydingo- I have a honey B17, honey Swallow, black Swift and a grey Team Professional (a special edition as far as I can make out.)

800px-Brooks_B17_Swift_Swallow.JPG

This shows the honey Swallow new with the well used honey B17 in the background. Swift in the middle. As you can see the honey saddles do go considerably darker with time (my swallow is now brown, like the B17 in the photo.) The black ones stay black. The grey seem to stay grey. The green is quite dark to begin with, I reckon it would stay that way. The general theme is that they get darker, not lighter with time.

It will always seem pretty rigid. However, when it's carrying your full weight it will have a little give to it, and over time it will mould somewhat to the shape of your backside.

It sounds paradoxical but a saddle should be pretty hard - if it has padding you sink into it, putting pressure on the softer, less bony parts of your anatomy.

@Blorg thanks for the info, I may be leaning more towards a honey one now. However, black looks nice too. Did you get any stains on your clothing from the black saddle when it was new/new-ish?

No, no stains at all, I don't think anything comes off them but I would just about always be wearing black cycling shorts. I think the only risk is if it is freshly proofided that can rub off on clothes. Post a pic of your bike and we can tell you what to get :)

I'm painting it tomorrow but once I have it reassembled I'll take a pic and stick it up :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

My honey Swallow has taken on black marbling, probably from sweaty black shorts. It actually gives the saddle a nice look :)

I think the gradual darkening with age of a Brooks is one of the most attractive things about them - adds to the character of the saddle - so I'm always inclined to go for honey as it shows it off best.