Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SAMSUNG HT-TZ315 Home Cinema System + Rugby Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

That's an absolutely amazing deal. PLUS you get a SAMSUNG HT-TZ315 Home Cinema System as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭kgiller

I was looking at this system too a while ago. Just reading the details there, it says it doesnt have a subwoofer, but isnt there one in the picture???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Dipsomaniac

I have this system. Love it. It does have a subwoofer. Great for playing movies off a memory key. Yet to find a movie that doesnt work on it.

I paid €181 281 (opps)delivered from dabs.ie last september

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Hatchet

I got this system too last December. It's class. More than enough power for normal use, my neighbours will back that statement up too :D. The bluetooth feature is handy aswell, it's great for playing mp3's from my phone. Its 1000W btw, the spec on pixmania seems a bit..... incomplete....

That price is excellent. It cost me €312 inc Vat then...... and I didnt even get a ball to play with ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Nice. :)

Also, should we point this guy to this? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

Giller that is my system! I've been looking at it for weeks now...
    The free ball has me very close to buying it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Mauricmo

Excellent I've been meaning to get a new rugby ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

"What's more, opt for the wireless ready connection module on the HT-TZ315 and you can say goodbye to cable clutter forever!"

Which part of this is wireless.....all the speakers? Do you pay extra for this 'module' or is it included?

Seems a great price

Bill-e wrote: »
    Giller that is my system! I've been looking at it for weeks now...
    The free ball has me very close to buying it now.

Nah boi! I called it... Its either this or the Sony DAV-DZ260. Sony is cheaper, but SAmsung has tallboy speakers and looks better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Dipsomaniac

You have to buy a module. Then only the rear speakers are wireless to the amp. I think they still have to be wired to the module, which then connects wirelessly to the amp. Not worth it IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

Why not just buy the rugby ball and forget the system - only €41.90 incl. delivery from Pixmania :rolleyes:

http://www.pixmania.ie/ie/uk/599251/art/supportplus/rugby-ball.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭DaveMR

smashey wrote: »
    Nice. :)

Also, should we point this guy to this? :D

If you take the system - I'll take the rugby ball :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Popeleo wrote: »
    Why not just buy the rugby ball and forget the system - only €41.90 incl. delivery from Pixmania :rolleyes:

http://www.pixmania.ie/ie/uk/599251/art/supportplus/rugby-ball.html

Great addition to the Kitchen according to Pixmania:
    SMALL HOME APPLIANCES > Culinary preparation / mixers / blenders > Kitchen accessories

It's a great looking system and has certainly improved the cut of my jib :cool:

Here's the thread on AVForums that convinced me to buy it. The model they're talking about is the same system except it doesnt have the tallboy speakers.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/all-one-systems/754943-samsung-htz310r-home-cinema.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

You have to buy a module. Then only the rear speakers are wireless to the amp. I think they still have to be wired to the module, which then connects wirelessly to the amp. Not worth it IMO.

The wireless stuff isnt great to use either from what I've seen. Interference can cause all sorts of problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

i got the 215 off sams yer man for 200 pounds last Jan, same system but 800W whichis plenty and nobluetooth but avoids pixmania which has an awful reputation

I've never had issues with pixmania. Then again I only got a few thngs off them and they were small enough...

its more the experiences that have been said on here, appalling sounding to be honest, just do a search and put me off pixmania

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Niska

Looks very nice. 1080p upscaling DVDs and region free via a remote control code... Very tempting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Row

Thanks for all your inputs Lads ....;)...I've just bought it...:D
    Once i don't kick it tro my Lcd ..everything will be o.k......:eek:
    As for the Home cinema ..Its seems a good system at a good price.:cool:
    and Positive reading from avforums..thanks for the link.. Hatchet

I've used Pixmania a few times with no Problems...yet..:)
    will let ye know how i like it...if i don't it will be on e-bay....:eek:
    Cheers,
    Row.

No bother Row, hope you like it.... I know you will...;)

Let us know how you get on with the delivery and of course the system..

Hatchet wrote: »
    No bother Row, hope you like it.... I know you will...;)

Let us know how you get on with the delivery and of course the system..

And the Ball!

I also just got one.
    Just got to wall mount the TV and all will be well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 ImFeelingLucky

Was thinking of picking it up but afaik there it doesn't output in dolby digital??? Can anyone confirm this as it seems a bit odd considering that is a standard feature these days.

I'll let you know when i get mine...:)
    There are mixed views here....
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/all-one-systems/836903-samsung-ht-tz315-does-have-dolby-digital.html
    Row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭kingaaa

I'd be real interested to hear a review from somebody on boards about this system, I seen one in currys the other day but it was'nt hooked up.I was a bit dissapointed in the appearance, very plasticy.If the ht-x250 was better performing I think I'd rater spend the extra 160 for it.Although I dont think the ht-x250 has bluetooth.

i have the 215 which is same as 315 except 800W and no bluetooth. Its great, had it hooked up to HD satellite box via optical cable and it gave 5.1 output on shakespeare in love. Also great for XBOX too

TheDriver wrote: »
    i have the 215 which is same as 315 except 800W and no bluetooth. Its great, had it hooked up to HD satellite box via optical cable and it gave 5.1 output on shakespeare in love. Also great for XBOX too

Just bought this the other day on pixmania. Do i need an optical cable to connect it to the TV? Is there a difference between cables like with HDMI cables (where more expensive ones give better picture)? Wheres the best place to buy them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Would be able to hook up my UPC box and a Media hard drive to this at the same time or would I have to switch one in and one out depending on which one I use?

kgiller wrote: »
    Just bought this the other day on pixmania. Do i need an optical cable to connect it to the TV? Is there a difference between cables like with HDMI cables (where more expensive ones give better picture)? Wheres the best place to buy them?

I got my hdmi cable on ebay, think it was 5 euro, You also need a digital optical cable providing your output source has it also

masterK wrote: »
    Would be able to hook up my UPC box and a Media hard drive to this at the same time or would I have to switch one in and one out depending on which one I use?

I'm not sure if you'll be able to get your UPC box onto this system at all. My UPC box only has a coaxial digital audio out. While the sammy only has a single optical in. You would need to buy a coax to optical converter. Which goes for like €25 or so on ebay.

What I'm going to do with my set is I will put the ps3 onto the tv via the Hdmi(which packages the surround sound). Then I will be taking the coax audio out from my TV through a converter to go into the optical in on the sammy. They say it's best practice to take the sound from the source(i.e The TV) as it gaurentees a better sync up. I had toyed with the ideal of puting the ps3 optical out into the sammy's in but then how would I get the sound from my upc/tv onto the sammy if the only input is taken up by the ps3.

Giller, In my opinion I reckon all hdmi cables have to meet the same standards quality wise. The more expensive ones just will last longer for more plugging ins and outs. With hdmi cables they either work perfect or they don't work at all.

Bill-e wrote: »
    Giller, In my opinion I reckon all hdmi cables have to meet the same standards quality wise. The more expensive ones just will last longer for more plugging ins and outs. With hdmi cables they either work perfect or they don't work at all.

That is definitely NOT true Billy. I have seen the difference between cables and it can be HUGE! The cheap €10-€25 cables are not as good as the €40-€100 ones. Go read up on it and ask in a bricks and mortar shop about it. I will definitely be getting a more expensive HDMI.

I was just wondering if it was the same with the optical cable, but i dont think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭nephster

That is definitely NOT true Billy. I have seen the difference between cables and it can be HUGE! The cheap €10-€25 cables are not as good as the €40-€100 ones. Go read up on it and ask in a bricks and mortar shop about it. I will definitely be getting a more expensive HDMI.

I was just wondering if it was the same with the optical cable, but i dont think it is.

If by better you mean signal quality, then... that is snakeoil.

Having EXTENSIVELY read up on it (and tried it myself) pretty much every blind test carried out does show there is NO difference in the quality of signal (at least, on runs of less than say 15 metres) beween a cheap and expensive cable.

So try it. Get the 8 quid cable on sale this week from Lidl and the 150 quid Monster cable from Peats. Get the other half to plug them in without you seeing and see if you can tell ANY difference. No? Then take the expensive one back. Yes? Then take the worse one back, which may or may not be the cheap one!

For most cases, digital cables like HDMI and optical either work or they don't. With analogue cables quality MAY matter.

EDIT: see here for a quick synopsis:
    http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/hdmi-cable-battlemodo/the-truth-about-monster-cable-part-2-268788.php

Well you know what they say about fools and their money...

You see the thing with the cheaper cable is that it may has less shielding, leaving it more susceptible to interference. This can be easily countered by wiring it further away from other cables.

Also, most people that will buy cheap will also get a longer cable - This leads to much more signal attenuation. I reckon a 2m 25 euro cable will do the business for anyone out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

.... ask in a bricks and mortar shop about it.

That's the LAST thing I'd do. I've been told so many blatant lies over the years by salesmen with little knowledge of technology and just interested in targets and commission.

And if electronics stores really gave a damn, they wouldn't be all stocking Freeview-equipped TVs meant for the UK market.

Spend your money how you like but if you're another sucker paying a hundred euro for a HDMI cable, they'll be laughing the minute you leave the shop.

I use cheap hdmi 1m cables and all work perfectly, in fact the only one that was faulty was an expensive microsoft one.

Got delivery of my Rugby ball yesterday and the Samsung arrived aswell...:D
    ordered it on Wed night and arrived on Tuesday afternoon.
    Got it set up last night and i'm impressed with the system.
    The manual was in French,German,Dutch but not in english...:mad:
    but i downloaded it from the samsung website...:)
    Row.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Not that I doubt you, but do you have any links to supporting tests?

Got the system today along with the new TV. Its excellent! €250 delivered from pixmania, only took 5-6 days for delivery. Took me a while to set it up but it looks brilliant. The upscaler on it really makes a difference.

Had to go out and buy an optical cable (€20 1m monster cable from soundstore) and bought a HDMI cable too (€30 2m cable from o callaghan TV).

Highly recommend this system. Looks great. Sounds great. Excellent picture and easy to use.

Had to go out and buy an optical cable (€20 1m monster cable from soundstore) and bought a HDMI cable too (€30 2m cable from o callaghan TV).

Just in case anyone else does this, pop down to Lidl and get the same for 7.99 and optical for 3.50 all in off ebay, no need to be paying that kind of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 JReacher

Just in case anyone else does this, pop down to Lidl and get the same for 7.99 and optical for 3.50 all in off ebay, no need to be paying that kind of money

Yup, got a 1m optical lead off eBay, works perfectly with the Sony DAV-dz260 system im running. (A fantastic system that is really worth the cash in all aspects btw)

Those kinds of prices for cables are scandelous, back to the previous arguement, the price of a cable certainly doesnt reflect the quality, those that believe it are short-sighted.

Personally i think it is worth it for the build quality. I have bought cables and wires off ebay before, and although you may argue that they do work, the build quality is usually pretty poor, plus with bricks and mortor i have 1 year warranty. My system is gona last a long time, might as well pay for something good.

lidl cable has 3 year warranty

Oh snap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭niallo32

I ordered this system on Tuesday and it arrived today.

For the Optical digital cable needed to connect the system to a tv - is this what I need? http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1M-High-End-Optical-TOS-Toslink-Digital-Cable-Lead_W0QQitemZ190288118642QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Computing_CablesConnectors_RL?hash=item190288118642&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72:1300|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1308

If not, could somone post a link?

I have my entertainment system setup in an extension - wooden floor off a tiled kitchen. Whats the best way to lay out the cable that connects to the speakers?

Should I hire an electrician to cover the cabling with trunking or what do people recommend?

Thanks..

that looks like it, its either that or coaxial thats available and its the toslink you want

Bought that cable - cheers

Can anyone advise on best to layout/hide the speaker cables??

niallo32 wrote: »

Don't waste money on an electrician to do such a simple job anyway. I'm like you and have the dilemma of getting the rear speaker wires across a wooden floor. The slats in the wood are perpendicular to the wire so it's not easy, with no grooves to hide the wire.

I think I'll splash out on the wireless rear speaker module. 80 yo yos. But not till I have more money later on this year. For now might just masking tape the buggers to the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

staple them to the top of the skirting if you have flat topped skirting.
    very quick and easy to do

Will try that cheers.

This is probably a very stupid question, but I've all the speakers connected into the DVD player securely and am playing a DVD but am not getting any sound out of any of the speakers or subwoofer.

I'm connected to the TV via HDMI..

The manual isn't in English and am currently trying to read it online...can anyone advise?

Whats the best way to lay out the cable that connects to the speakers?

I had my room prewired so it worked out fine......:)
    I remember a few years back i used two old knives to seperate the skirting from the wall and fitted the cable in behind the skirting...but watch not to damage the cable......:)

I suppose all depends on how well the skirting is fitted to the wall....:eek:
    maybe try getting the cable between the timber floor and the bottom of the skirting........:confused:

After that i would go with subway on stapling them to the top of the skirting.
    The are clear cables so the are not that noticable....;)

Very happy with my system.....:D...The base shakes the house....:eek:
    but need more time to play around with it....;)