Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New website

• 24-02-2009 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭

For the last two months I have worked and worked to try and get my website updated and sorted. Finally today is the day. Here it is

All feedback appreciated and keep an eye out on the blog for all the new tips on a few handy training routines. Sign up if you feel the need, all appreciated!
    Jaysus thank god it's done :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

congrats pretty sure i know the guy your training in your pics from seeing him around ul but anyway

i dont think dark background with light writing works for advertising purposes(as in its fine for a computer game forum created by gamers but not for a business trying to sell themselves) but thats just my personal preferance

its fairly well laid out and its easy to navigate. it could be my resolution but maybe the menu on the left could be bigger

finally id bulk out your 'about me' just a bit more detail on what you have actually done(your probably a recent graduate but as it says in one line you have been involved in sports all your life so you can probably talk more about it)

looking forward to the blog man good luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

looks like a well enough laid out site

i would display your qualifications a bit more prominantly though, took me a while to find them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I'd advise ditching the sound. Its just...weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Ditch the sound. If I wasn't reviewing the website I would have left immediately!

My anti-spyware software is telling me your website is trying to change information in my registry.

Not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

I'm not sure if I'm missing it but have no idea where you are located - probably should include that for anyone interested in pt?
    Otherwise looks good. best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

The website is all over the place.
    Your concentrating to much on decorating when your job is to communicate.
    See how the word communicate catches your eye? Thats one of the key points in printing.Looks like to me you done no coding for this at all and it is copied.
    If you need a hand i'll gladly help you.And the music smiling with the guy in the grass is a bit "gay".
    A few small changes your site would make it.
    Not a bad layout though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Elonex

It has potential. Things need to be changed though. Like that sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

Aggghhhh.....remove the sound!!! Good site other than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Think it looks good just make it more direct on what and where you do on the opening page.

take out the web links also - takes people away from your site!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Not mad on black backgrounds. I think ifo gets lost on them unless you're really looking. Also the photos are a wee bit cheesy.

Other than that, nice site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Cheers lads, good to hear some constructive feedback.

The sound is a very much like it or hate it thing. you have an option of stopping it or muting your computer if you hate it! Most people seem to like it though.
    I initially tried a white background and it didn't seem to work so changed it to black and again people have different opinions on it. Want to keep it plain.

I have a lot of male clients that are athletes and enjoy the usual hard grunt of training but to make my business successful I need to target the average joe soap and the ladies. The pics are a little cheesey but they work better than some guy pulling 200kg from the floor. All the female opinions have been really positive and like the background as it's different from the average gym picture.

In my blog I will target more the things such as sports specific, strength, power and kettlebell training and hopefully one or two people will get involved. Will try and get an interview or two with a few high end athletes in relation to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

d-gal wrote: »
    Most people seem to like it though.

I find that hard to believe. Are you sure the people who claim to like it aren't just being polite?

Also, sort this out, it's a major issue:
    AARRRGH wrote:
    My anti-spyware software is telling me your website is trying to change information in my registry.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    I find that hard to believe. Are you sure the people who claim to like it aren't just being polite?

Also, sort this out, it's a major issue:

No I have asked opinions on other sites and it's getting a positive vote. Plus anyone else I ask just keep pushing them to be completely honest.
    I don't know why your spyware is saying that :confused: have not had any complaints, got my designer to check it and there seemed to be no problems. Will get it re-checked if anyone else complains. Cheers for the input

First proper blog post done on the front squat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Ditch the sound. If I wasn't reviewing the website I would have left immediately!.
    The sound is a very much like it or hate it thing. you have an option of stopping it or muting your computer if you hate it! Most people seem to like it though.
    You will not get people saying "OMG, there is no music" i.e. it would not be missed. I hate music on sites, I usually have several windows open at a time and have to go searching where it is coming from. And I can have music on etc so do not want to go muting it, and have to search where to turn it off.

I actually like the black backgrounds.

I would have the "one to two" think on the main page, not as a drop down from 1 to 1. I never heard 1 to 2 before and expect many, esp. women, or couples, would prefer it.

I would get photos/lists of any equipment or rooms you have too.

I had always presumed you were a girl! (gal) :o

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'm guessing you are the guy standing up on the main page with the tracksuit bottoms? If you have well developed legs then you should change these photos for ones of you standing there in shorts so that people are impressed and think "wow, how do I get legs like him? - he must know his stuff".

The music is ok, but I would loose it. It is the sort of thing first years include in a first semester computer science project trying to impress a lecturer with basic website design skills. As rubadub mentions, it can be annoying if you are browsing numerous tabs or in work frantically trying to turn the sound off.

Overall the site looks good. I like the black. I'm slightly colourblind and these colours are fine for me - no hideous clashes or difficulty reading the text.

To get the site noticed and picked up by search engines make sure that you are using lots of keywords and meta-tags.

I didn't see a button to "add this site as a favourite". Add this. Maybe I missed it.

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

I like the site but I'd agree with the others who said to ditch the sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

There's a bit that can be improved here -

music - completely unnecessary and potentially annoying - why would people want music?!

black background - I think most people would prefer white, and it can get tiring to read on a black background

You seem to have gone for the stylised approach with the music, black background, photos, quotes and blurbs on what great things you can do and provide. Which is fine but give people the hard info first!!

Under About - people expect to see hard facts about you - your qualifications (not on a separate tab preferably) and more importantly all the specific services your provide.

Under 'training' - why does it direct straight to 'injury rehab' ? Clicking on 'training' you would expect to see the list of services you provide, what you can expect with a session with you, etc.

It's a bit flowery and needs more solid info that's easy to find.

BossArky wrote: »
    I'm guessing you are the guy standing up on the main page with the tracksuit bottoms? If you have well developed legs then you should change these photos for ones of you standing there in shorts so that people are impressed and think "wow, how do I get legs like him? - he must know his stuff".

It was cold that day!
    I think as well u have to look at what sort of people you are going to attract for Personal Training. If a girl see's massive defined legs it's usually 'ugh that's disgusting'.
    I could safely say nobody here would go to a trainer because ye are motivated. Yes you might go once for a program or education but it would not be a regular thing. The majority target audience are the unmotivated type that have barely seen the inside of a gym. They are your money makers.
    Website is still a work in progress, know I have to sort out the training page, pilates and kettlebells still need to be added. Plus other videos, pictures etc.
    Opinions on the front squat article?

Dave, I think the site looks good and because I´m in an internet cafe in Sao Paulo (waiting on a bus) I couldn´t hear the music but my advice would be to ditch it, it just annoys people generally. I could not look around for too long but you´re in the wrong forum looking for advice on marketing a business.

Head over to this forum and ask for their advice: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=106

I think you should also include videos from youtube or make your own and add them to your site to back up what you are saying.

Sound removed due to popular demand :rolleyes:

Don't take it personally!!! Most your market probably won't even be on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Sound removed due to popular demand :rolleyes:
    All feedback appreciated

Should that have read 'all positive feedback appreciated'?

Sangre wrote: »
    Should that have read 'all positive feedback appreciated'?

Writing sarcasm is sometimes deceiving :pac: