Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just told I'm gonna get disqualified for 1 year

• 24-02-2009 4:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

What a day, thats all I can say.

Was on the N6? DUblin to Galway road this morning heading to Galway, was just outside Ballinasloe and got stuck behind 2 cars doing 45mph in a 60 zone. I stayed behind for a while and then got a clear run and I overtook, so that was grand. Was pulled up in traffic lights a few mins later (roadworks) and one of the cars I passed pulled up behind me and a man got out........ I thought he was going to give me a telling off but soon realised he was a cop a super intendent actually(His own private car). He showed me his badge and asked me was I aware I passed on a DOUBLE WHITE LINE, told him I was in a rush blah blah, he checked for tax, insurance, which I had. He told me I would probably be disqualified for 1 year for this!!!!!! :eek:

Dangerous driving you see. Basically he said we'll go to court and see and its up to the judge. Just wondering is it any point getting a soliciter here or what? I can't believe this I never even heard of being banned for something like this! WTF!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

unregged. wrote: »

Was on the N6? DUblin to Galway road this morning heading to Galway, was just outside Ballinaloe and got stuck behind 2 cars doing 45mph in a 60 zone. I stayed behind for a while and then got a clear run and I overtook, so that was grand. Was pulled up in traffic lights a few mins later (roadworks) and one of the cars I passed pulled up behind me and a man got out........ I thought he was going to give me a telling off but soon realised he was a cop a super intendent actually(His own private car). He showed me his badge and asked me was I aware I passed on a DOUBLE WHITE LINE, told him I was in a rush blah blah, he checked for tax, insurance, which I had. He told me I would probably be disqualified for 1 year for this!!!!!! :eek:

Dangerous driving you see. Basically he said we'll go to court and see and its up to the judge. Just wondering is it any point getting a soliciter here or what? I can't believe this I never even heard of being banned for something like this! WTF!!:mad:

no matter what information you get here, take one piece of advice, when the summons comes in, don't listen to anyone except a solicitor...
    they will steer you right....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

Was on the N6? DUblin to Galway road this morning heading to Galway, was just outside Ballinaloe and got stuck behind 2 cars doing 45mph in a 60 zone. I stayed behind for a while and then got a clear run and I overtook, so that was grand. Was pulled up in traffic lights a few mins later (roadworks) and one of the cars I passed pulled up behind me and a man got out........ I thought he was going to give me a telling off but soon realised he was a cop a super intendent actually(His own private car). He showed me his badge and asked me was I aware I passed on a DOUBLE WHITE LINE, told him I was in a rush blah blah, he checked for tax, insurance, which I had. He told me I would probably be disqualified for 1 year for this!!!!!! :eek:

Never heard of being banned for dangerous driving:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I think he's trying to scare you.

did he give you anything in writing. such as a ticket / fine etc??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Sorry OP, just to clarify, did you or did you not pass on double white lines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Looking back through the OP's posts, I wouldn't give this the time of day. Clearly a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭unregged.

No fine and no ticket, he said I have to produce my insurance cert in my nearest garda station. Oh and YES I did pass on a Double White Line, do I think I'm fooked :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    Looking back through the OP's posts, I wouldn't give this the time of day. Clearly a troll.

Last i heard if you were done for dangerous driving, you get 5 years in the joy, with no protection from the prison guards. Better not reach for the soap OP....:D;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

You might get points buy you wont get a Ban for that scare tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

YES I did pass on a Double White Line

Maybe now you've learned what a double white line means - no overtaking. Twice as silly, when you've overtaking two cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

If you did you deserve it,enjoy the year out -take up knitting,go back packing or just do a little gardening either way one less muppet on the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Paulw wrote: »
    Maybe now you've learned what a double white line means - no overtaking. Twice as silly, when you've overtaking two cars.
    tossy wrote: »
    If you did you deserve it,enjoy the year out -take up knitting,go back packing or just do a little gardening either way one less muppet on the roads.

Get down off your high horse. The guy admitted he was wrong. I suppose you have never once done anything wrong in your car :rolleyes:

No fine and no ticket, he said I have to produce my insurance cert in my nearest garda station. Oh and YES I did pass on a Double White Line, do I think I'm fooked :(

Scratch my earlier post. DEFINATELY a troll.

That said, I agree with Bryn - not like none of us have ever done what this guy is saying he did, or some other such silly thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

If a man who was not in uniform got out of a normal car at a set of lights and walked up to my car, I would lock the doors, keep the windows up turn the music up, drive 1 cm off the bumper of the in front (so he could not block you when the lights turned) and not look at him!

I doubt you'd get a ban, but if you get a summons, go straight to the soliciter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Slig wrote: »
    Never heard of being banned for dangerous driving:rolleyes:. Unfortunately there are some people out there that are just assholes. You just happened to meet one that was also a super intendant
    * shakes head slowly*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Overtaking on a double white line (two cars, to make it worse) is not as trivial as some of you would like it to be.

The double white lines usually are there for a reason to stop you from overtaking. On a perfectly straight stretch the reason usually is something like a hidden junction/dangerous exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Bryn wrote: »
    Get down off your high horse. The guy admitted he was wrong. I suppose you have never once done anything wrong in your car :rolleyes:

You get down off yours. He wouldnt care if he had''nt been caught (since it didnt bother him till the guy got out of the car).

It's about things like this started getting punished. They dont put solid white lines on the road because they have loads of paint to get through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

peasant wrote: »
    The double white lines usually are there for a reason to stop you from overtaking.

Usually there's been an accident nearby, so the council paint double white lines rather than spend money to address the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,118 ✭✭✭✭L1011

peasant wrote: »
    Overtaking on a double white line (two cars, to make it worse) is not as trivial as some of you would like it to be.

The double white lines usually are there for a reason to stop you from overtaking. On a perfectly straight stretch the reason usually is something like a hidden junction/dangerous exit.

Usually is the operative word here; there is a 4.5? 5.5? km stretch of the R148 which has double white lines put there to try and cut down on the number of head-ons when it was still trunk... luckily traffic is very light there but I'd feel slightly aggrieved if I was caught for the entire, nearly perfectly straight stretch behind a slow vehicle with nothing oncoming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

isn't it just 5 points for dangerous driving anyway, its definitely not a ban

Stekelly wrote: »
    You get down off yours. He wouldnt care if he had''nt been caught (since it didnt bother him till the guy got out of the car).

It's about things like this started getting punished. They dont put solid white lines on the road because they have loads of paint to get through.

So, are you telling me you have never done 65km's in the 60km's zone on the m50? I bet you couldn't care when you have done it, but if you had been stopped by a guard i'm sure you would have cared. Same type of situation here, so don't be talking rubbish.

Secondly, and as posted by other posters, double white lines are usually there for a reason, but sometimes they are in stupid places that don't need them. The OP said he had a clear run, so we have to just take his word that it was safe to overtake where he did

From - http://www.penaltypoints.ie/faq.php#carelessdrivingqueries

"Careless driving is a broadly based offence that allows Gardai scope to include any specific behaviour by drivers that in their opinion constitutes careless driving and therefore a danger to other road users. Careless driving is a serious offence.

If convicted a driver will typically receive a fine, for repeat offenders there is a max fine of €1,500 and or a six months jail term.

Since June 2004 those convicted in the courts of careless driving will receive 5 penalty points on their license record in addition to a fine that may be imposed by the courts.
    "

Of course, the court also has the facility to ban a driver, in place of a jail term.

The OP wasn't cautioned for speeding, he was cautioned for overtaking two cars across double white lines. That's not a trivial offence.

So, are you telling me you have never done 65km's in the 60km's zone on the m50? I bet you couldn't care when you have done it, but if you had been stopped by a guard i'm sure you would have cared. Same type of situation here, so don't be talking rubbish.

Secondly, and as posted by other posters, double white lines are usually there for a reason, but sometimes they are in stupid places that don't need them. The OP said he had a clear run, so we have to just take his word that it was safe to overtake where he did

The issue here is not that he broke the speed limit. IT's that he overtook on double solid white lines. Thats a big no no and very very black and white issue. How is going over the speed limit on a motorway anything remotely approaching the same thing as overtaking on double white lines?

Whether you agree with the position of particular double white lines is irrelevant.

How many people deliberately overtake into oncoming traffic and cause crashes? I'd say they all thought they had a clear run.

The issue here is not that he broke the speed limit. IT's that he overtook on double solid white lines. Thats a big no no and very very black and white issue.

So are you trying to tell me that breaking the speed limit is not a black and white issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Listen, even if he had admitted driving after 20 pints while using a laptop and having a shave, someone will tell you to get off the high horse as soon as you tell them they shouldn't have done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

What happened here is that the OP annoyed yer man, the super. He got cross and threatened to prosecute him for dangerous driving. It will be much easier for the super to have a fixed charge notice for penalty points sent out, when he calms down. More paperwork to prosecute an offence in court.

A fixed charge notice for dangerous overtaking is only 2 penalty points if you pay the charge.

He hasn't got anything in the post yet anyways.

So are you trying to tell me that breaking the speed limit is not a black and white issue?

Yes it is, but thats not whats being discussed here. Your justifying overtakign on double white lines.
    What happened here is that the OP annoyed yer man, the super. .

Yeah, it's funny the way some Gards get about people breaking the law.

eoin wrote: »
    Listen, even if he had admitted driving after 20 pints while using a laptop and having a shave, someone will tell you to get off the high horse as soon as you tell them they shouldn't have done it.

True.

There does seem to be an element that advocate fighting the power no matter how worng you happen to be.

Yes it is, but thats not whats being discussed here. Your justifying overtakign on double white lines.

Where did I say it was alright to overtake on white lines? Maybe you should start reading posts probably :rolleyes:

Your tellign people to get down off their high horses for criticising the OP. It amounts to the same thing.

Your mind really twists things in stupid ways doesn't it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

If you didnt get a ticket then i dont think there is a record of it, Did he take your driving licence and write down you licence number ? or just look at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

haha, why were you overtaking 2 cars by crossing a double white line in a 60 zone where there were traffic lights up ahead? Hope you're done!

And yes, I have done stupid things while driving, but nowhere near that stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

but sometimes they are in stupid places that don't need them. The OP said he had a clear run, so we have to just take his word that it was safe to overtake where he did

There is no ambiguity here with regard to double white unbroken lines. You do not cross them.

It's not up to any particular individual to decide whether or not the road laws apply to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

Do you already have points on your license or is it a first offense? I don't see how on earth you could get a ban if it was your first offense. If/when a summons arrives, head straight to a solicitor. Don't go into this one blind just in case there is some weird rule.

Sleipnir wrote: »
    There is no ambiguity here with regard to double white unbroken lines. You do not cross them.

It's not up to any particular individual to decide whether or not the road laws apply to them.

Yeah i never said he should have crossed the double white lines did I?

Jesus people on here really are just out looking for arguements, if everybody put as much effort into reading the posts as they did their replies, this would be one happy place :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Slig wrote: »
    Never heard of being banned for dangerous driving:rolleyes:.

correct me if I'm wrong but there was a guy in Cork (polish guy) jailed the other day for dangerous driving (Causing death).... he got 7yrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,118 ✭✭✭✭L1011

PCPhoto wrote: »
    correct me if I'm wrong but there was a guy in Cork (polish guy) jailed the other day for dangerous driving (Causing death).... he got 7yrs

Causing death by dangerous driving is a different offence on the books to dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Yeah i never said he should have crossed the double white lines did I?

Jesus people on here really are just out looking for arguements, if everybody put as much effort into reading the posts as they did their replies, this would be one happy place :rolleyes:

IT'S ARGUMENTS! ;):D

[TIPS HAT, EXITS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    Scratch my earlier post. DEFINATELY a troll.

That said, I agree with Bryn - not like none of us have ever done what this guy is saying he did, or some other such silly thing.

Why is he a troll?
    robtri wrote: »
    no matter what information you get here, take one piece of advice, when the summons comes in, don't listen to anyone except a solicitor...
    they will steer you right....

Great advice! Never take legal advice from the cop who is bringing you to court!

Why is he a troll?

Well, he succeeded in starting a debate/argument which could easily have turned bad, and hasn't replied since early on in the thread.

His post history tells a story too.

Sleipnir wrote: »
    IT'S ARGUMENTS! ;):D

[TIPS HAT, EXITS]

Well played sir :o;)

Thanks for the replies especially the link to the penalty points website. Think I should also say I beeped twice behind the undercover sup as a message to get the first car doing 45 to pull into the hard shoulder:o I also gave a little beep as I passed the slow driver. However the sup guy did not mention the beeping when he stopped me.

I have mentioned this incident to a friend of mine, he is a sargent and he said IT IS possible to get a year off the road as the cops are clamping down on this behaviour.

Also would I have to attend a court if I get a summons to one near the area I was caught? I would hate this to be in my local paper.

I'm really praying for a hefty fine and points, as I would pay any amount not to lose my licence, I'm just so worried over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

I hate to sound nasty but it a way i'm glad you got caught. you sound young. All this story was missing was one poor fool driving against you. I hope you don't loose your licence as from your post it is obvious you are worried about it. Take care next time - if not for your sake - for the poor gob****e that has the misfortune to be driving against you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

All I can say here Unregged is that I hope you learn from this.

I regularly drive Dublin to Galway and couldn't count the amount of times I've been overtaken by idiots over solid white lines. Then when I later overtake them going when on the Motorway (over the limit sometimes I admit) some of them look at me like I'm mad for having let them overtake me earlier!

Those stretches around Ballinasloe are lethal. Appropriate speed for appropriate conditions.

Your friend is right. You could get a ban. The only thing I'd disagree with is that this is a recent phenomonen - I clearly recall bans for crossing a white line over ten years ago.

Someone cited legislation related to Careless Driving earlier. This will be viewed as Dangerous, not Careless Driving by the Guards. A solicitor might be able to get the charge reduced to Careless though.

My own experience.

I was stopped last week for doing 126 in a 100 zone. The guard didn't "do" me. I'm convinced that this was because on a very long straight stretch I only overtook where the lines were broken and not where they were solid.

Sorry if I sound sanctimonious in this thread - I don't mean to. I just feel strongly that drivers should heed solid lines and if they did we could all make reasonable (and fast) progress safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Were you officially cautioned by the Garda? If convicted of careless/dangerous driving you'll also receive an endorsement on your licence. If that happens you'd better start limbering up your a**hole when it comes to renewing your insurance.
    Thare are some particularly dangerous stretches of road between Ballinasloe and Loughrea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Thanks for the replies especially the link to the penalty points website. Think I should also say I beeped twice behind the undercover sup as a message to get the first car doing 45 to pull into the hard shoulder:o I also gave a little beep as I passed the slow driver. However the sup guy did not mention the beeping when he stopped me.

hahaha, bloody hell lad. I'm sorry, if this is all true then I'm sorry, but thats seriously funny.

Seriously though, if you don't get banned or whatever, I hope this has taught you a lesson

This was the main message at the launch of a new public information campaign to highlight the extension and computerisation of the Penalty Points system by The Minister for Transport, Mr. Martin Cullen T.D. today Thursday 30th March 2006.
    The campaign has been produced by the National Safety Council in association with An Garda Síochána.
    Among the new offences, effective from Monday April 3rd 2006, are failure to obey stop/yield signs, dangerous overtaking, failure to obey traffic lights, tailgating and crossing central white line markings. This is in addition to the four existing offences of speeding, non-seatbelt wearing, driving with no insurance and careless driving.

From the official gov website. It says dangerous drving more or less carries penalty points there ?

Sorry is an endorsement a ban?

An endorsement is a comment/mark on your license, which is used by your insurance company to decide if you are a higher risk. This is up to the judge to decide.

See - http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/travel-and-recreation/motoring-1/driving-offences/driving_offences

Depending on the charge, and the evidence given in court, you may get points, a fine, an endorsement, disqualified for driving or even a jail sentence, or any combination of those. It is really down to the court to decide.

If/when you get the summons in the post, get yourself a solicitor.

Well I'm going to hand in my cert of insurance to my local garda station tomorrow. Should I even bother asking the garda what happens from there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭pcardin

tossy wrote: »
    I think those ones who drive with 65km/h on the road where sign clearly shows 100km/h are bigger muppets and should be taken off the road 4ever. Most of times a dangerous situations on road are caused just because some asshole drives with 1gear on road where sign shows 100 and normal driver tries to overtake him.
    I've seen so many times some idiots doing 75 where 100 is allowed. What do you think he is doing when he approach town or city? Nothing! Instead of reducing speed to 50km/h he continues to drive on the same 75 like a ****in' manual cruise control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

pcardin wrote: »
    I think those ones who drive with 65km/h on the road where sign clearly shows 100km/h are bigger muppets and should be taken off the road 4ever. Most of times a dangerous situations on road are caused just because some asshole drives with 1gear on road where sign shows 100 and normal driver tries to overtake him.
    I've seen so many times some idiots doing 75 where 100 is allowed. What do you think he is doing when he approach town or city? Nothing! Instead of reducing speed to 50km/h he continues to drive on the same 75 like a ****in' manual cruise control.

oh god the last time this happened to me was approaching abbeyleix, this twit was doing 40 or less on the main road with no places to overtake, fecker held up 20 cars. then said fecker continued to do a constant 40-45 in abbeyleix, far too fast, particularly in certain sections.

i was well tempted to follow him/her into the abbeyleix petrol station and vent but decided against it. later after i had an extended break in Durrow petrol station, i saw the same car doing it all over again, another long snake of cars in tow. i booted it out pronto to prevent loss of sanity!