Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Portumna vs. De La Salle

• 24-02-2009 2:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Lol, the All-Ireland finals last year didn't even get a 4 week pre-match buildup thread!

Portumna should win by a few points alright, but don't expect Mullane and co to not go down without a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 HeLlDoItHeCrAzY

deise59 wrote: »
    Lol, the All-Ireland finals last year didn't even get a 4 week pre-match buildup thread!

ah sher get the ball rolling early, port to win, with brian phelan and mullane keepin de la salle in touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Portumana will win by as much as they want to the only danger is complacency i've seen De la Salle play 5 times this year and have been equally unimpressed each time whereas Portumna have been incredible and have had a far tougher route.

Ollie Canning will negate John Mullane, Portumana's midfield was very strong last week so Phelan's influence will be curbed here and De la Salle certainly dont have defenders of the quality required to mark Joe Canning and Damien Hayes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

By all logical reasoning Portumna should hammer them. Port look like they just have too much pace and too much hurling ability for DLS. Port's biggest danger is everybody will be already be congratulating them on being All-Ireland champions for the next couple of weeks before the final is even played. Very hard to insulate players from such loose talk. If they go in with their heads screwed on straight they should win pulling up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Outcome of this dependents entirely on Portumna's approach and mentality, if Portumna play like they can they'll blow them apart.
    Even if they don't I'd still fancy them to win.

Whatever the result is, there's no denying DLS have had a phenomenaly successful year. For years, even decades, they were living under the shadows of Ballygunner and Mount Sion. Now, not only have they won they won the Waterford championship for the first time in their history, not only have they won the Munster championship at their very first attempt, but they've also reached an All-Ireland club final, something neither Mount Sion or Ballygunner have achieved since the tournament was created.

Fair play lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I am sorry to say it but Portumna will thump De LaSalle. I would love to see a competitive game of hurling but I dont think it will happen. But fair play to DLS, it was a great year for them. Maybe they can win it next year, this final is too soon for them IMO.

I'd love to eat my words, I want DLS to win, it just wont happen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭portumna

On paper portumna should win. But there in lies the problem, it's not worth the paper it's written on!

DLS are a decent team. If you say that you were unimpressed by them this year then you should have seen Portumna in the Galway championship. Fair enough they put on an impressive display against the big team in Ballyhale and should lift their game to that level for an All-Ireland final but they've been caught before (by Dunloy in 2004 semi:mad:) and with all the celebrating the fans did after the semi they could easily come into this one in the wrong frame of mind.

That said, Portumna should win it but i wouldn't write off any team in an All-Ireland final!

portumna wrote: »
    On paper portumna should win. But there in lies the problem, it's not worth the paper it's written on!

DLS are a decent team. If you say that you were unimpressed by them this year then you should have seen Portumna in the Galway championship. Fair enough they put on an impressive display against the big team in Ballyhale and should lift their game to that level for an All-Ireland final but they've been caught before (by Dunloy in 2004 semi:mad:) and with all the celebrating the fans did after the semi they could easily come into this one in the wrong frame of mind.

That said, Portumna should win it but i wouldn't write off any team in an All-Ireland final!

Ah come on now Port stop trying to be diplomatic and grow a pair ;) we all know Portumna are at least 20 points better than DLS and that Dunloy team in 2004 was a very very good team and were extremely unlucky not to have won an AI or two they were just unlucky that when they were in their prime so were both Newtownshandrum and Birr.

I may be dimplomatic but there are no cups handed before 3.45 on paddy's day! I've seen this club leads and get ahead of themselves for long enough to know never to count our chickens! They've lost plenty of games they should have won over the years and just scraped through some others. Mind you i think the refs were to blame for a lot of it but thats another kettle of fish!

portumna wrote: »
    I may be dimplomatic but there are no cups handed before 3.45 on paddy's day! I've seen this club leads and get ahead of themselves for long enough to know never to count our chickens! They've lost plenty of games they should have won over the years and just scraped through some others. Mind you i think the refs were to blame for a lot of it but thats another kettle of fish!

Big difference between them games and this one - Joe Cannning - he wasnt playing in the early years and in 2006 when Portumna were basically hacked out of the Galway Championship he was only a kid but know he is a man and quite honestly would beat DLS on he's own if you put him on a junior team.

I dont mean to sound so harsh on DLS but its just my opinion that they are one of the poorer teams I've seen in an AI and that Portumana are one of if not thee best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 skinnyfatman

I really can't see Port being beaten. DLS can be opened easily (thanks in no small part to Kevin Moran) and Port can open up Ballyhale who i still think are a better team than DLS! it has to be an easy victory for Port, so port by 9+ can Damien Hayes to be dominant again!!

:eek: A bit harsh don't ya think? He's been one of DLS most consistent performers the entire season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 skinnyfatman

Oh I agree throught he rounds he's been really impressive but DLS won in spite of him alst week, he was phenomenal, dropped everything, was well beaten for pace and strength. It was only over shaddowed in terms of how not to Hurl by a woeful display by Michael Fennelly for the Shamrocks!

Best of luck to the DLS lads tomorrow. I'll be there cheering ye on all the way.

Like Mullane said yesterday, he always dreamed about playing an AI final for Waterford, but he never imagined in a million years he'd reach an AI final with DLS. So go out there and just give it your best shot.

Best of luck to Portumna today. Hopefully we'll be given a good game of hurling. Signs are good with a nice dry day promised. I'd like to see a close game (in the 1st half) with Portumna running out handy enough winners in the end so as not to be scaring us. Have a very strange feeling this is going to be decided by a last minute goal. Strange dream i had last nite!

COME ON PORTUMNA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Best of luck to both teams today.

I think Portumna will win but can DLS improve so much from the last day to make a proper go of it and sneak it.I think it will be tight though until half time.Should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Looks like it's unfortunately all one-way traffic so far. Canning just played a sublime pass to set up the first goal, and has already score 0-4 himself.

22mins: Portumna 1-07 De La Salle 0-01

I'm watching it on www.tg4.tv here if anyone is looking for a stream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Another brown trousers display from the Deisemen, ye should have kept to bowing out at the semi final stage, finals just don't suit ye.

We have ourselves a new set of whipping boys.

Half-time:

Portumna 2-11 De La Salle 0-03.

Damien Hayes with 2 goals, and Canning with 0-06.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Looks like the DLS goalie was knackered from his trip up the pitch.....
    Hopefully this will put an end to these Waterford lads thinking they have the right to play in finals, two piss poor performances now within six months on the two biggest days of the GAA calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Two unbelievable pieces of skill from Joe, one a handpass to set up Damien's first goal and the second I'm still struggling to figure out how he managed to get it into his hand out the middle of the field.

C'mon Portumna :)

Another brown trousers display from the Deisemen, ye should have kept to bowing out at the semi final stage, finals just don't suit ye.

Hopefully this will put an end to these Waterford lads thinking they have the right to play in finals, two piss poor performances now within six months on the two biggest days of the GAA calendar.

Mate give it a rest. Yes, they're being outclassed by their opposition, and yes, it's a rout, but those lads are out there trying their damndest. It's easy to sit at home and criticise, and granted they're poor, but no need for the sledging.

This Portumna team has been described as the greatest club hurling team in history by a prominent member of the legendary Birr team in recent weeks, and it looks like the Kilkenny team has the ability to become the inter-county equivalent the way they're going. De La Salle are in this final on merit, the same way Waterford were last September, they're just up against a far superior outfit.

There's plenty of room here for analysis and critical opinion, but enough of the anti-Waterford trolling please.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Consider this a warning, you are trolling at the moment, do it again or continue in this manner you will be banned from forum.

Portumna = Kilkenny in club hurling terms

In fact I'd almost say they'd give KK a better game than Galway did a couple of weeks ago. The team ethic and work rate is a joy to behold.

De La Salle with a couple of early scores have at least made the scoreboard a bit more respectable, although Portumna are still tagging on a few points here and there.

44mins: Portumna 2-15 De La Salle 1-05.

Almost full time

Portumna 2-21 DLS 1-6

Full-time:

Portumna 2-24 De La Salle 1-08. Outstanding performance from the Galway men, a truly exceptional team. Congratulations.

Outstanding performance by the team

Not just depending on JC for the scores :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

As a Cork man, I feel sorry for players such as John Mullane. I would like to see him winning an all-Ireland for the good player that he is. Today though De La Salle met an opposition that were far more superior. Thats sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

teednab-el wrote: »
    As a Cork man, I feel sorry for players such as John Mullane. I would like to see him winning an all-Ireland for the good player that he is. Today though De La Salle met an opposition that were far more superior. Thats sport!

Hmmmm...really?

yeah I do, Afterall I do have respect for good players from other counties. Worse players have won All-Irelands.

You respect a player who sticks two fingers up to fans after scoring?

Mullane was marked out of it today.

What makes him more deserving of an AI than any of the DLS or Waterford lads? I'm sure they train just as hard. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Orizio wrote: »

that was 2003 all off 6 years ago jesus do you hold grudges for that long..

He stuck up his two fingers when lets be honest cork fans gave him some abuse that day..

move on

I think a player that dives and gets a player sent off is worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Can posters please stay on topic, this is a match thread, not about who deserves to win an all ireland or about John Mullane

that was 2003 all off 6 years ago jesus do you hold grudges for that long..

He stuck up his two fingers when lets be honest cork fans gave him some abuse that day..

move on

agree with you there.

Sticking up the fingers to the Cork fans as if that meant anything to them...im sure they only laughed at it..
    Afterall they jeered at everything he did that day.... says enough about the fans.

Can posters please stay on topic, this is a match thread, not about who deserves to win an all ireland or about John Mullane

Doesnt John Mullane play with De La Salle who were playing today :P :D

Scores came from everywhere on this team, even Mac at No.3 got one :D

Players shouldn't dive (Aidan O'Mahony I assume) and players shouldn't insult fans . End of. These things can never happen in GAA (for that matter I don't think fans should abuse players), and I can't respect players who bring the game into disrepute like this.

Can't say I was overly surprised at the result. Maybe beforehand the match I was nieve thinking we had a great chance, but from what I saw the first 5-10 mins it was clear the two teams were poles apart.

But I don't understand why Damien Hayes doesn't get as much praise as Joe Canning. I've been saying this for years now, he's a sensational hurler.

I know the usuals will come out with their "Waterford don't do AI finals" but there's no denying the quality of the opposition we've come up against either last September or this afternoon.

And regardless of the result, huge credit must go to DLS for their exploits the past few months. They won their first ever Waterford championship after 79 years in existence, won the Munster Championship at the first time of asking and reached an AI final.

Fair play lads.

What kind of pick do they have, what kind of area is it Deise?

It's an unusual one. DLS are one of the very small minority of clubs in the country that aren't based in a particular parish. They were formed through St.Stephens primary school in the city, and DLS College secondary school nearby to an extent, both of which are very central in the city, but their pitch and HQ is in Gracedieu out on the western side of the city past the bridge. So unlike other clubs based in certain areas, DLS has a diaspora of players from different parts of the city.

Because of their connections with the two schools, they've an excellent underage structure. But even though they reached the Waterford county final 3/4 years ago, this is the first time they ever made any real impression at senior level.

Would hurling in Waterford city be that strong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭SKYDOG

DLS were just not up to it today. portumna never got near top gear and won at a canter. Portumna forwards were outstanding again. Joe was his usually unselfish brilliant self (he will be one of the best of all time!) and Damien Hayes was class, so was Chunky (he deserved Manof the match). DLS will learn from this, agreee with the above comments, its been a great year for them.

Was very dissapointed with the ref, he really slowed down play giving frees when they were not necessary and holding up play.

Well Done Portumna!

Would hurling in Waterford city be that strong?

Unlike other counties, hurling in Waterford in the past was always dominated by the city clubs. They may not have a strong an influence now as they did in the past, (teams like Abbeyside, Ballyduff and Ardmore are now well represented on the senior panel), but there used to be times when you'd have 11-12 players on the starting 15 playing for city based clubs.

The spine of the team, players like Ken McGrath, Eoin Kelly, John Mullane and Tony Browne, all live and play in the city. Plus, by the far the two most successful clubs, Ballygunner and Mount Sion, are city clubs also. So I guess you could say there is a stronger emphasis on hurling in urban areas in Waterford compared to other counties.

Hurling in Cork is very strong in the city as well, I would assume its the same in Tipp. Anyway, thanks, the make-up of GAA in other counties awalys fascinates me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I was at the match yesterday and was supporting Portumna as they are from my home county. I was in a group with a couple of Portumna people and was surprised at the lack of satisfaction they and indeed myself got from the victory. We all agreed it would have been better to a win a close match. Probably because Galway teams don't often win by that much, we didn't know how to react. It was a good win none the less. I don't think Portumna ever left 2nd gear. Joe Canning probably created both goals, but just ever seemed to be ticking over. He is a rare breed. The bigger the game, or the challenge the better he seems to get. I wonder what are the odds on Portumna winning a treble now? If they can maintain this standard, there won't be anyone to stop them next year IMO. I think at least 9 altogether of Portumna team could make it on to the Galway panel this year going on club form. Eugene McEntee, Eoin Lynch, Leo Smyth, Chunky Hayes, Andy Smyth, Damien Hayes and Joe Canning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

CyberDave wrote: »
    I was at the match yesterday and was supporting Portumna as they are from my home county. I was in a group with a couple of Portumna people and was surprised at the lack of satisfaction they and indeed myself got from the victory. We all agreed it would have been better to a win a close match. Probably because Galway teams don't often win by that much, we didn't know how to react. .

this puzzles me. you should be delighted that the team won, i dont care about the game when my teams wins. its all about the result, winning by more that a close game means little when you look back at it. loosing by one point is as bad as 25 points.