Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3x17 - "Cold Wars"

• 24-02-2009 2:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭

I thought this episode was excellent!
    Peter really stepped up his game and actually took on the role of the hero. HRG was great in it too and it's nice to see him and Angela in cahoots. Peter shooting Danko was class and rescuing Matt was great as well. Hip hip!

What did you think? 24 votes

Fantastic
    0%
    Good
    8%
    Nervous Wreckel_tiddlero 2 votes
    Okay
    16%
    savemejebusImJohncautionertitan18 4 votes
    Bad
    45%
    Ping Chow ChiJohnKCatsmokinpotUser45701GurglehickL31mr0dJaneyMcTheAlmightyZeusScissorPaperRockDerek Coleman 11 votes
    Terrible
    29%
    EKRIUQFyshquazzyunreggdeVeNtInEocanicaPirateShampoo 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Good
    Also, really nice to see that they're resuming the old format of only concentrating on a few characters per episode. For a while there, it was leppin about the place trying to squeeze everyone in to each episode. No Claire. No Hiro. I wish every episode was like this....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Terrible
    It was a average episode, it only looked good because other episodes have been piss poor.

It almost had me liking it again intill they did this
    der der der Daphine still alive :rolleyes:

Id give it a 5 outa 10

Good
    der der der Daphine still alive :rolleyes:

Ah c'mon, that was obviously gonna happen. I mean, you could easily see that
    she got shot in the shoulder....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Bad
    That was fantastic
    except for the last 20 mins - how can it go from such a good start - i had my hopes so high and then ****ing divebomb like that?

20 mins - WTF - ye parkman start a fight with someone who you know is stronger than you when you can just lock him in a "room" -completly ****ing pointless scence.

Then a few min later the speial combat trained Noah is about to drive away - are you telling me he cant outfight ****ING PETER PETRELI? it would take someone with 1/2 Noah's skill 1 second to floor peter and then he could just drive away

Dafney is still allive - WTF does death even mean anything on this show? who was the last person who actually died? Ellie? 17 episodes ago?

Oh and 1. How can peter fly? 2. If he touched parkman he should have lost his power of flight so does that mean peter can begin ammassing powers next week? Will he have parkmans power? NO because he touched mohinder and peter does not have super strong.

I was going to give it a 7 out of 10 because of how interesting the first 20 min was but when the poll gets added (if anyone even feels they need to bother with this show tbh) il only give it a 5 out of 10

Oh another note when Mamma patrelli handed Noah the box i thought it was going to be a sample of the fomula

EDIT: ah and that bit at the very end - nouf said

im going to watch a good show that stays consistent - House

Good
    User45701 wrote: »
    Then a few min later the speial combat trained Noah is about to drive away - are you telling me he cant outfight ****ING PETER PETRELI? it would take someone with 1/2 Noah's skill 1 second to floor peter and then he could just drive away

Pretty sure the idea was Peter found HRG and then the three of him got him back inside (probably mostly Mohinder).
    Dafney is still allive - WTF does death even mean anything on this show? who was the last person who actually died? Ellie? 17 episodes ago?

Daphne got shot in the shoulder... Course she's still alive!

Oh and 1. How can peter fly? 2. If he touched parkman he should have lost his power of flight so does that mean peter can begin ammassing powers next week? Will he have parkmans power? NO because he touched mohinder and peter does not have super strong.

I reckon that means he's probably getting a better handle on his power and he's able to choose whether or not to copy others' powers when he touches them. Either that, or he didn't make direct contact with their skin. But I think the former is probably more likely.
    Oh another note when Mamma patrelli handed Noah the box i thought it was going to be a sample of the fomula

The formula is gone (thank jaysus).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭hick

Bad
    hrg is the only thing keeping this show going, it's up and down more that nickers in coppers.

Like others said was really good 20 mins poor towards the end picked up again, and then they had to ruin it with
    matt's paint on the floor, I mean in fairness did he think 10 sticks of dynamite would blow upo the city, wonder why hrg gave back the watch? assume he didn't want anything that would link him with AP. the break from hiro was indeed nice, I'm looking forward to when he grows the pony tail and starts to speak in a non squeaky voice, with hopefully less YETAHHH's to boot. Nathan is really beginning to get my goat too I have to say

Good
    hick wrote: »
    wonder why hrg gave back the watch? assume he didn't want anything that would link him with AP.

I reckon that was probably him returning the retirement gift because he's no longer retired from working with her.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Terrible
    I think I'm done with this show, this episode has confirmed that even with this series I see more bad than good in any given episode. The lack of consistency in the writing is still irritating the hell out of me, to the point where I can't be arsed any more.

To be fair, they did get some stuff right:

Noah Bennett is one of two remaining good core characters in this show, alongside Sylar. Jack Coleman seems to have a certain presence which lent an extra sheen to every scene he was in.

For that matter, the flashbacks were handled pretty nicely. The use of black and white was a nice touch, and there seemed to be a bit more flair to the direction than I necessarily expect of the show.

Unfortunately, all of that is outweighed by the bad:

Nathan's growing "oops, turns out I've actually appointed a loose cannon" thing. I call bull$%^& - Nathan was a career politician for years and no stranger to watching his back while playing several sides against each other, and yet he's dumb enough to appoint a guy who's quite clearly dangerous? (Then again, this is a character who's got daddy issues out the wazoo and who managed to get over a religious conversion in a matter of weeks :rolleyes:)

Peter's inability to either grow a pair or borrow a pair from someone else and strap 'em on. They've established how dangerous Danko is, and yet Super-Badass-Not-Emo-At-All-Any-More Peter turns up just to have a chat? Gah. He should've died at the end of series one, nothing about Peter has been interesting since. It's just been whining, a succession of bad haircuts, and the occasional disfigurement.

Matt Parkman can apparently control soldiers and manipulate them into shooting each other, except when writers don't want him to. Like, oh, when a bunch of them are about to arrest him with seemingly no escape available.

Ma Petrelli. OH GOD WHY HAS NOBODY KILLED THIS WOMAN. Seriously, she keeps manipulating people in the most pathetic ways imaginable and even the ones who realise don't do anything about it.

Mohinder Suresh - the fact that even turning into a clone of the character out of The Fly didn't make him interesting should've been a pretty big clue. Kill him off, stick him in a blender, have him go off to explore the outer galaxy. I don't care, but he's just not interesting. Oh, and that entirely contrived fight with Parkman? Bull%^&* again. I particularly like the way Parkman basically said "Yeah, we wouldn't have listened to you, but you're still to blame for all this because you didn't give us a warning that we would've ignored anyway".

Daphne still not being dead. Well that's just great. Hey, maybe we can have some more retardedly ineffectual scenes with her moaning in a terminally adolescent fashion about how she's a villain! Or maybe she could, I dunno, run so fast she breaks into an alternate universe where her character is capable of doing something interesting. I doubt it, though.

I nearly forgot about the totally original idea of having one of the show's many painting-based precogs predicting some sort of cataclysmic explosion in a major city. But clearly a cataclysmic explosion in Washington DC is absolutely different to a major explosion in New York. But hey, let's see if we can just re-tread old storylines without anyone noticing. (Hey, it worked for those members of the writing team who also write superhero comics! And I'm only half-kidding here, sadly...)

All in all, pretty poor stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

They're just rehashing the plot from series one. Somebody's painted a scene of destruction in the future, let's hope there's no time travel to prevent it :rolleyes: Anyway, I'm glad they're focusing on a small group of characters instead of throwing Hiro and Ando into every episode for comic relief.

Bad
    Pretty sure the idea was Peter found HRG and then the three of him got him back inside (probably mostly Mohinder).

Mohinder ran the compete opposte direction and parkman was on the other side of the car park, as i said noah could have flored peter (or just started the car....)
    Daphne got shot in the shoulder... Course she's still alive!

I didnt remember where she got shot

I reckon that means he's probably getting a better handle on his power and he's able to choose whether or not to copy others' powers when he touches them. Either that, or he didn't make direct contact with their skin. But I think the former is probably more likely.

pretty sure he made contact - but i suppose we will see next episode.
    The formula is gone (thank jaysus).

Ye and Noah is dead (shot in the eye) and actually im starting to forget the old episodes but how many times have we thought someone was dead or done and there back? and how many plot lines have been re-used

BTW- was it ep 17 or 18 that the guy from dasies was taking over?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Terrible
    BTW- was it ep 17 or 18 that the guy from dasies was taking over?

I seem to recall it being stated as episode 18, but the only discussion I can find suggests its going to happen around episode 20.

To be honest, I don't think even Fuller's touch can save the show at this stage, and I'm not bothering to stick around and find out.

Bad
    I think the writers should all be made watch BSG before they continue

Terrible
    I think the writers should all be made watch BSG before they continue
    Heh, I would suggest Babylon 5 but there'd be a significant risk of them having their minds completely blown :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

Okay
    are you telling me he cant outfight ****ING PETER PETRELI? it would take someone with 1/2 Noah's skill 1 second to floor peter and then he could just drive away

well in fairness Peter had guns and a grenade, doubt HRG, good as he is, can get out of a car and take peter out before peter could draw down on him.

I don't think Peter touched Mohinder at all this ep and as for parkman who knows. Interesting thing to note though is that so far we've seen Peter absorb powers from Tracy, Mohinder and Nathan right? All synthetic powers, for all we know maybe Peter can only obtain synthetic powers or maybe only those are touch transferred.

Okay
    I think the writers should all be made watch select episodes of BSG before they continue

fixed that for ya, you wouldn't want any boring admiral president styles scenes in there now would ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

Okay
    Thought it was all quite good apart from the last 10 seconds. It would be nice if they gave some manner of explanation for Matt having 2 powers now, other than
    "Oh, hey, Matt, you have 2 powers now".

Peter kicked ass in this episode.

Mohinder continues to make no sense.

Good to see Angela's up to something.

NO CLAIRE!

I'm so sick of precognition. As someone said in the last episode thread, it's gone from being prophecy to mere instructions.

Mohinder's "hold them off" seemed a bit silly.
    "I'll hold them off" = "I'll give my useful self up by going outside and taking them on away from you rather than stalling them later when they approach you"

Meh, don't see the big deal with Daphne being alive. At least they never showed her as properly dead or gave her a dying farewell or some shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Ah c'mon, that was obviously gonna happen. I mean, you could easily see that
    she got shot in the shoulder....

Hmmmmmmmm
    oleras wrote: »
    Daphne aint dead, didnt we see the future where she gets her back burned when the nuclear bomb goes off, nuclear bomb being sylar after his son was killed......??
    I really don't get why people don't get the whole changing the future buzz. Yes, we did see a future where she gets her back burned when the nuclear bomb goes off. And in that future, Knox was still alive but he's sure as **** dead now. We also saw a future where Peter is the bomb, where Peter is riding Niki (who is now dead btw), where a virus kills 98% of the earth's population etc etc etc. None of them are gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Bad
    cautioner wrote: »
    Mohinder's "hold them off" seemed a bit silly.
    "I'll hold them off" = "I'll give my useful self up by going outside and taking them on away from you rather than stalling them later when they approach you"
    For a brief second I thought he was going to pull out a gun and go out in a blaze of glory and gunfire. Alas it was not to be :(

Good
    I'm so sick of precognition. As someone said in the last episode thread, it's gone from being prophecy to mere instructions.

Agreed. And Matt's first drawing was lame as ****. "Hey, that's us... And that's a broken window behind us and something sticking in my neck... I mean, what the hell is -- ahhhhhhhhhhh!" Useful power there, chump.

I've been watching season one and **** me.... From the first episode, Isaac was painting **** that wouldn't come to fruition for AGES. They were actually thinking ahead... Now, they're going episode to episode, or sometimes scene to scene....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

That was craptacular (where's the damn poll when you need one?).

I mean seriously? Really? So the show is going to be moving away from the s**t of the previous two volumes, getting rid of time travel, etc and a handful of episodes in, here we go with the f**king "somebody painted the city exploding and we must stop it" theme again? FFS already! :mad:

So what's in store for us next episode? Are they going to have to save the cheerleader? Is Hiro going to get his powers back, travel to the future, meet his bad-ass self, bitch slap himself and sprout some nonsense about his destiny? Is Parkman going to draw him and Peter going to a drive-through McDonald's for a couple of McFlurries (at which point they will of course have to go out and do so)?

At this stage, I wouldn't even care if NBC canceled the show today and this was the last episode ever - it's way too s**ty to care any more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Terrible
    It's just getting worse, I'll still stick it out though because I've watched all the other shows so I may as well keep going but normally there was always a bounce back after a couple of crap episodes but were already a few volumes in and still no clear direction where the story line is going.Why would you spend an entire episode devoted to the interrogation of H.R.G. ? Much like Mohinder, Matt ,and Peter clearly never had a plan as what to do with their prisoner once they had him, the show seemed to fumble with where to go now.

Daphne isn’t dead after all, and with Matt their love will seem more true and we will eventually love them for it(:sick).Unfortunately, it seems like the show itself is running out of time quicker than the plot within it. If that doesn’t give the minds behind Heroes a sense of urgency, what will?

Terrible
    I think the only reason that im still watching it is just to see how much lower it can sink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Start a new show with Noah and Syler. As someone said above they're carrying the show at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Poll added.

Sorry for no clever options. I haven't had time to catch up with the series for a while.

Terrible
    I think Peter has Arthurs power. But he hasnt learnt to use it yet so he doesnt take the whole power from the target and loses it when he takes a new one.

Okay
    I think Peter has Arthurs power. But he hasnt learnt to use it yet so he doesnt take the whole power from the target and loses it when he takes a new one.

That's actually a cool idea. It could have good storyline options as you could end up with Peter as a villain working for the Gov but taking powers outright rather than imprisoning and killing heroes.

Though and this could be a big spoiler so read at your own risk
    Peter will probably die in the final ep of this volume so that might not work - the writers have said that there will be a Peter vs Sylar confrontation and that the audience probably wouldn't like the outcome http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=20148

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭drive3331

With regards to the watch
    the watch Mama Petrelli gave Noah at the start of the episode was a ordinary silver watch. The watch he gave back after saying he was ok with living with shades of grey was a gold watch. Has Noah a Midas touch power going on?

Okay
    The first flashback was in black and white. Hence the gold watch looked silver. In america at least, retirees always get given a crappy gold watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭drive3331

Thanks or that savemejebus!....i should have been paying closer attention :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Bad
    what a let down of an episode... Daphne dying was the first inkling imo that the show was starting to get serious and take the show in a better direction. Now that she has magically come back from the dead it just shows how ham fisted this show actually is.

The scene between Mohinder and Parkman was embarrasing. It was so badly written and pointless. Also, this whole "oops I forgot how to use my powers" lark is getting old fast. Parkman could of easily made it so that nobody would of seen him in the room and escaped.

Argh!!! I want this show to be good as it has so much potential, but I quickly see it going the same way as prison break. The only character I like, Sylar, is the one I'm supposed think of as the baddie. I would love him to just go in and kill of everyone of the current "heroes" as they are all insipid, stupid and spineless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Bad
    Peter will probably die in the final ep of this volume so that might not work - the writers have said that there will be a Peter vs Sylar confrontation and that the audience probably wouldn't like the outcome http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=20148
    But Peter isnt a popular character though is he? So... who'd really care if he died? They could be saying Sylar is on the way out and that would be unpopular with the audience...

Good

To be honest,
    I could actually see that working out in Peter's favour, with Sylar dying.... I'm sure alot of fans would have alot to say if that happened but I reckon it's the more likely outcome, given how famous Zachary Quinto is becoming and how much further he could easily go in the near future....

Good
    JohnK wrote: »
    But Peter isnt a popular character though is he? So... who'd really care if he died? They could be saying Sylar is on the way out and that would be unpopular with the audience...

Snap!

http://www.thrfeed.com/2009/02/low-ratings-chuck-and-heroes.html

"Heroes" (6.9 million, 3.3/8) was down 8% from its previously established settling point. Both shows placed last in their hours among the major broadcast networks.

The "Heroes" fan complaints are familiar by now. Too complex, too many character personality flip-flips, too many logic-leaping "save the world" stories. The recent "Fugitives" reboot was supposed to "save the series, save NBC Monday nights." The show's focus is more singular now (an "X-Men"-ish "mutants fighting those who seek to control them" angle) but perhaps it's not enough.

Terrible
    Sherifu wrote: »
    http://www.thrfeed.com/2009/02/low-ratings-chuck-and-heroes.html

"Heroes" (6.9 million, 3.3/8) was down 8% from its previously established settling point. Both shows placed last in their hours among the major broadcast networks.

The "Heroes" fan complaints are familiar by now. Too complex, too many character personality flip-flips, too many logic-leaping "save the world" stories. The recent "Fugitives" reboot was supposed to "save the series, save NBC Monday nights." The show's focus is more singular now (an "X-Men"-ish "mutants fighting those who seek to control them" angle) but perhaps it's not enough.

You mean how the "Fugitives" story is pretty much following the X-Men 3 story line.

The whole session is a disaster. Ive just checked out the preveiw for next week and looks like its business has usual. Looks pants tbh.

Bad
    given the way things are currently it could be canned at the end of this season

Bad
    plus does anyone else think it's annoying how the only acting skill matt has is turning his head slightly to the right and down to convey he's trying to read your mind WOOOOooooo

Terrible
    plus does anyone else think it's annoying how the only acting skill matt has is turning his head slightly to the right and down to convey he's trying to read your mind WOOOOooooo

Id hate to c his and daphnes off spawn.

You mean how the "Fugitives" story is pretty much following the X-Men 3 story line.
    I was quoting from the article.

Terrible
    Sherifu wrote: »
    I was quoting from the article.

I was agreeing with both you and the artical.

Terrible

How dare you criticise Chumpy McChump?! He's a precog - as evidenced by having his eyes routinely CGI'd away- as well as a mind-reader - as evidenced by what looks like a very minor tourette's-like tic - and if you're not careful he'll jump into the mind of someone with a gun and make them shoot you. You might be lucky and just have him repeatedly poke you in the eye as he slips into his Isaac Mendez Fanboy Mode and starts painting predictions from Volume One the future. Or maybe he'll just stand there like a f*&%ing chump and do nothing, like the waste of space he is.

Bad
    That's actually a cool idea. It could have good storyline options as you could end up with Peter as a villain working for the Gov but taking powers outright rather than imprisoning and killing heroes.

it better not be ****ing sylar who bites the bullet although as many have said he is one of the very few characters carrying the show and he might want to jump ship and not let his name be taken down with it (if thats the way its going to go)

This is just proof how far the show has sunk, back in season 1 people cared and allot of people didn't read spoilers because they didnt want to ruin the episode for themselves

Okay
    to be fair, that wasn't an episode spoiler, just a tidbit that was dropped in a q&a with the writers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I thought it was a diabolical episode. The stuff with Parkman and Mohinder really annoyed the hell out of me. Is there a more irritating character on TV than Parkman? Peter used to be cool but his good guy 'torment' if we can call it that just bugs me now. I actually laughed at the ending complete with ANOTHER painting of the future on the floor and the cheesy, up-tempo background music.

It feels like an actual chore now for me to watch this show which is usually a bad sign. Things are looking grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

Terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

thought i was average...just thinking and comparing it to the first season, it has gone down down down...with ratings and all going aswell now it could be in trouble

hopefully brian fuller can sort something out with it..when is his episodes due to air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭TheAlmightyZeus

Bad
    Piss poor episode. Heroes has been going downhill since Season 2 and it's sad to watch. It had great potential but what the hell is going on anymore? Every 5 minutes people are flipping from one side to the other.

I can't count the amount of times Sylar went from good to bad last season, Nathan wanted to give everything abilities, now he wants to lock everyone with abilities away and find a way to take away their powers.

Mohinder is a clown, he's worked for the bad guys, then the good guys and then back to the bad then he realises his mistakes and goes back to the good guys.. argh!

And of course season of Heroes wouldn't be complete with at least 10 hours of Claire and HRG fighting and making up over and over.

I'm am so sure right now that Danko will definitely have an ability, due to the fact that as soon as you get any screen time you must have a power because that's just the way the writers are going. And then we'll find out that HRG has a power too and then maybe Claire's ma. It's the way things are going. I feel like I could be a writer!

Anyway, yeh.. Heroes is a circus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

Okay
    To be fair, Villains was based on the idea of grey areas - everyone having their leaning towards good and bad, switcharoos, good people on the wrong side, etc. I think in this volume everyone's been pretty constant so far, no? Even Tracey didn't betray Peter to Nathan.

I haven't seen any flip-flopping in the last few episodes... none that I can think of?

PS I love your avatar.

Good
    To be fair, Villains was based on the idea of grey areas - everyone having their leaning towards good and bad, switcharoos, good people on the wrong side, etc. I think in this volume everyone's been pretty constant so far, no? Even Tracey didn't betray Peter to Nathan.

I haven't seen any flip-flopping in the last few episodes... none that I can think of?

PS I love your avatar.

Agreed yeah. They experimented with it in Villains but so far there are two very distinct sides and we can see where everyone stands. HRG may seem a little back and forth but that's really just cos he's playing both sides against each other to protect his own interests.

Terrible
    To be fair, Villains was a load of old bollocks.

Fixed that for you. (Yes, I know what they were going for with Villains. The idea was pretty lame to begin with, and the pathetic execution used to implement those ideas just made things worse).