Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After Hours Dragons Den

• 23-02-2009 2:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭

OK So the economy is in the tiolet, the only thing to do is to encourage the natural entrepreneurial talent and abundance of original ideas that abounds here on AH. And it just so happens I have about 20 grand I conned out of some pensioners and am awaiting a large cash injection to my bank account from a Nigerian prince as a thank you as I am helping him to relocate his families riches out of his country.

So here is your chance, to pitch me an idea for a product and or service! If I like it, in the true spirit of the now deceased Celtic Tiger I will steal it, copyright it, and then put my money into it and run to da hills laughing madly while resting what I cannot immeaditly spend in off shore accounts.

So come on, impress me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Assisted Suicide Clinic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

In true AH fashion, how about setting up a printing company selling Yore Ma bumper stickers... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Some manner of device that will end reality TV shows once and for all.

Imagine it no more X-Factor, Britain's Got Scabies Talent, I'm a Celebrity Help Me Dance On Ice etc. etc.

The world would be a much better place and the economy would recover all by itself just from the sheer joy of not having that crap polluting our TV boxes ever frickin' day.

Give me the 20,000 and I will construct such a device!*

*Actual device may be made out of toilet roll inserts, sparkles and circuit boards from old calculators. Device may increase rather than decease the amount of reality TV on the air. Possible side effects include bloated stomach, lowering of IQ and death. Always read the label.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A bank that offers huge loans to potentially compromised buyers. It's a winner, because if it looks like going under, it can be immediately shored up with taxpayer's money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

An Vacuum cleaner with an Ipod docking station. Drown out that drone with your favourite humming tunes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

A dressing machine, and a spring powered bed. Just fling you out of the bed and into your clothes.

Also a recession remote with a mute button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

How about this idea that I came up with: Basically it is foldable legs that attach to a surf board which then converts it into an ironing board.

Think about it, your heading off on a surfing weekend and if you are like me you don't think of bring an ironing board with you, but nightmare, you discover that all you're clothes are creased and you have a hot date tonight.

Don't worry though because with my "Attachable Surf Board Legs" you can easily fit them to your board and iron away.

How about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

A joke steering wheel that goes left when you turn right, and right when you turn left.

Charco wrote: »
    How about this idea that I came up with: Basically it is foldable legs that attach to a surf board which then converts it into an ironing board.

Think about it, your heading off on a surfing weekend and if you are like me you don't think of bring an ironing board with you, but nightmare, you discover that all you're clothes are creased and you have a hot date tonight.

Don't worry though because with my "Attachable Surf Board Legs" you can easily fit them to your board and iron away.

How about it?

Try kneeling.

That will be one million euros please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

and then put my money into it and run to da hills

I always figured he was into the weird stuff alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

javaboy wrote: »
    A joke steering wheel that goes left when you turn right, and right when you turn left.
    That would work for me.
    I can't tell the difference between left and right.

Also, I have the best invention ever and I'm not telling anyone about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

i have a crazy idea to run a pipeline out to the sea from the west coast and bring in and refine the €5.4 trillion worth of oil that belongs to the Irish people and in doing so make the country recession proof

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Try kneeling.

That will be one million euros please

Are you mad? Thats all well and good on a clean surface, but if you are trying to iron your shirt on the beach it will get sand all over the sections of the shirt which are hanging off the board. Attachable legs are the way to go.

Plus for only $29.99 extra I will throw in a set of table legs which will easily convert your surf board into a dinner table, great for a romantic dinner on the beach.

Are you mad? Thats all well and good on a clean surface, but if you are trying to iron your shirt on the beach it will get sand all over the sections of the shirt which are hanging off the board. Attachable legs are the way to go.

Plus for only $29.99 extra I will throw in a set of table legs which will easily convert your surf board into a dinner table, great for a romantic dinner on the beach.

Or...You could just learn to surf on some plastic furniture...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Can we go 50/50 if I throw in my underwater electric steam-iron - the punters won't be able to resist such a combination?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Chocolate fire guards.

ejmaztec wrote:
    Can we go 50/50 if I throw in my underwater electric steam-iron - the punters won't be able to resist such a combination?

I can see where you're coming from, I don't think my customers would be ironing whilst surfing though so the underwater aspect may be unnecessary.
    Puddleduck wrote: »
    Or...You could just learn to surf on some plastic furniture...

Ooooh, good thinking. I could also design ironing boards with detachable legs so that they can be used as surf boards. Excellent, this plan is beginning to develop nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Zzippy wrote: »
    In true AH fashion, how about setting up a printing company selling Yore Ma bumper stickers... :pac:

I'd buy one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

A gravy fountain. Like a chocolate fountain but with gravy and, instead of dipping in marshmallows and strawberries, it coes with mini roast potatoes and slices of beef.

I'm marketing it towards the culchie wedding brigade. You know the type, 350 at the wedding and all craving the gravy because the beef at dinner came with a "jus" but they don't eat that fancy s**t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Hire a team of mercenaries and go capture Bin Laden.In the event of not finding him locate a look alike,a dodgy dentist and plastic surgeon.Deliver look alike's head to nearest US embassy and collect multi million dollar reward.Might want to stick it the freezer for some time to wait for the dollar to strengthen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

How about an electric sandwich

Edit: Oh we can go into business selling t-shirts that say "I know Steve the Recession" or "I F*cked Mary Harney and all I got was this curry-stained t-shirt"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'd just bring in my homemade flash grenade, homemade sunglasses, stun them, and nick the money on the table and feck off home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

How about an electric sandwich

Edit: Oh we can go into business selling t-shirts that say "I know Steve the Recession" or "I F*cked Mary Harney and all I got was this curry-stained t-shirt"

You are in the top 50 with that one:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I can see where you're coming from, I don't think my customers would be ironing whilst surfing though so the underwater aspect may be unnecessary.

You'd probably change your mind if you knew that Extreme Ironing and Surfing was going to be an olympic sport. I'll keep you posted when I hear back from the IOC. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Incandescent Lightbulb smuggling business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Waterproof teabags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Incandescent Lightbulb smuggling business

Think very carefully about your smuggling methods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Edit: Oh we can go into business selling t-shirts that say "I know Steve the Recession" or "I F*cked Mary Harney and all I got was this stretched 4XL t-shirt"

fyp

A flying alarm clock. Y'member then windy helicopter thingys you used to have as a kid? Well, one of them on a self launcher that winds up & releases for when you set the alarm. You'd have to get up and chase the flucking thing down every morning, thus ensuring you're awake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Smart Bug wrote: »
    A flying alarm clock. Y'member then windy helicopter thingys you used to have as a kid? Well, one of them on a self launcher that winds up & releases for when you set the alarm. You'd have to get up and chase the flucking thing down every morning, thus ensuring you're awake.

I have one, little late there....Unless we add a flame thrower to it...Wake up and turn it off or else the house goes down!!!

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I have one, little late there....Unless we add a flame thrower to it...Wake up and turn it off or else the house goes down!!!

It's already invented? Ah fluck it. Ok, ok...how about:

An alarm clock hardwired to a vial of deadly flesh eating bacteria, that will release onto your face if you don't get up in time

You're on to something there! However in my world when you hit the snooze button then the propellors would come out the alarm would then lift itself off the table and launch itself full tilt into the wall smashing to bits!*

*Obviously it would be a disposable alarm clock and you would need to buy 5 a week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Develop a computer monitor that has 5 lick-able areas that conform to the 5 major food groups…beery, salty, cheesey, crispy and rasherey. Then when anyone ever mentions food you can lean forward, lick the appropriate spot, taste and enjoy.
    Inter-Tastey…Web-Buds…FoodTasticO’Vision…NyomMonitor
    I’d like money AND share options please.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Something likes this already exists- Clocky. It's pretty cool but I'd given it a day before I smash it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I'm going to adopt a load of chimpanzees and train them to drive so they can then be hired out as chauffers. Who would'nt want a chimpanzee as their chauffer?

The idea is worth millions. (Well probably not but it would be great to see a load of chimps driving cars around the place)

I'm going to adopt a load of chimpanzees and train them to drive so they can then be hired out as chauffers. Who would'nt want a chimpanzee as their chauffer?

Will they also tell jokes?

00112984 wrote: »

No but I'd imagine they'll fling faeces at other drivers.

00112984 wrote: »

No but if yor give them all typewriters and leave them to it at their lunch break and wait long enough, hey presto! They will have re-written the entire works of Shakespere!

"It was the best of times, it was the blurst of times..."