Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

X MUSIC is LIVE

• 23-02-2009 2:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭

Believe it or not,the site is live

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭fitz

That's a really terrible looking site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭pinksoir

I'd have to agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Survivin' Ivan

Let the great price comparison begin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭Phoenix3

There seems to be so little on it.I know they say they will be adding stock daily.
    But HELL after waiting so long it is disappointment to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

horrid site, can only imagine how much they paid for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Survivin' Ivan

Its not that bad..I consider it to be a work in progress. However a quick price comparsion on products across several price ranges and they do not fare well...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

i don't believe it, they have a forum on the site. I suggested that, in jest, on the X Music monster thread some time ago. I wonder if I am entitled to any compensation?

I like the look of the site myself. Free delivery on items over 150.00 euro seems pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

anyone with plenty of spare time feel like doing a typical shopping trolley comparison between them and some of the usual suspects (Thomann Park :D)?

monitors, mics, guitars, fish fingers, midi controller , etc .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

old gregg wrote: »
    anyone with plenty of spare time feel like doing a typical shopping trolley comparison between them and some of the usual suspects (Thomann Park :D)?

monitors, mics, guitars, fish fingers, midi controller , etc .....

now the selection on xmusic is pretty horrendous but I'll still give them the benefit of the doubt about new products being added all the time

synths:

Clavia Nord Lead 2
    thomann : €1099
    dolphin : €1229 (with current sterling rate conversion)
    xmusic : €1399

Access Virust Ti Snow
    thomann : €1069
    dolphin : €1113
    xmusic : €1079

Access Virus Ti Keyboard
    thomann : €2280
    dolphin : €2388
    xmusic : €2299

Dave Smith Poly Evolver Keyboard
    thomann : €2199
    dolphin : n/a
    xmusic : €3100

Now these are just the synths on xmusic.ie that I have an interest in. The selection is pretty awful on xmusic compared to any music store (website) I've ever seen.

And not one of their prices could possibly be described as anything near impressive.

And the website is truly horrendous looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Oh well. Until the next great white hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Seems to me that there darned if they do and there darned if they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Fair Fex to them, they're getting there.

As a regular visitor there are noticeable improvements every time I visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Just had a look at the new site. Reminds me a bit of how the Waltons site is structered.

Saw this on the cube page ... http://xmusic.ie/product.php?productid=18181&cat=491&page=1
    "Enter your price" ... Can I just enter €1 and off I go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭raindog.promo

Search function appears to be b*lloxed. I keep getting the same results no matter what word I try and search.
    After a quick search earlier, the prices seemed alright to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Neurojazz

I'm trying the 'contact us' email... maybe i'll get a bite.... since the last 3 never got answered ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

that website is really really bad

seems like xmusic has just been dissapointment after dissapointment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭bedbugs

There's no excuse for a website this bad. And it's quite obviously a template or just a rip off of another really bad looking site.

Why didn't they employ a proper web designer? Some things aren't worth saving a few pennies on.

Looks like about 2-3 days work on a template... can understand that the stock would have taken time to sort out, but it's pretty harsh... here was my effort coded from ground up - http://ifluffy.com/

The only pain in the arse with coding these sites from the ground up is the merchant portal to the credit card companies - getting the details from the bank can be a nightmare...

By the way, nothing on that site is for sale.... it's just a project i was involved in for making a paypal shop - but you can see products clearly etc.... - nothing fancy ;)

Neurojazz wrote: »
    Looks like about 2-3 days work on a template... can understand that the stock would have taken time to sort out, but it's pretty harsh... here was my effort coded from ground up - http://ifluffy.com/

The only pain in the arse with coding these sites from the ground up is the merchant portal to the credit card companies - getting the details from the bank can be a nightmare...

By the way, nothing on that site is for sale.... it's just a project i was involved in for making a paypal shop - but you can see products clearly etc.... - nothing fancy ;)

Is a 'bargin' the same as a 'bargain'?

Yes, the very same - but the client who originally wanted the site, authorized the URL purchase ;) 'look before you leap' :)

Neurojazz wrote: »
    Yes, the very same - but the client who originally wanted the site, authorized the URL purchase ;) 'look before you leap' :)

But it's all over the site? Is that the plan?

The error was picked up way to late... The guy didn't really care, then he didn't bother about chasing up info that the webmaster needs to connect things up...

My head was so stuck into the code that i didn't even notice it. It was fun to make though.

Too bad really, as the code is stable and CMS driven. I'd used prefabs before, but i designed the management system to be used by a human ;) - some of the php shops out there (like the xmusic one) are a nightmare to code with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

DaDumTish wrote: »
    fairly standard deviations (for xmusic) from what i've seen through my random comparisons.
    laughable tbh.

ah well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

i nearly choked when i saw the price of a 414!! bloody heck lads, whats with that? i'd get a stereo pair (in a lovely flight case) for the same price!

Looking at the page.

CHARITY WORX, ooh, what's that? oh, says coming soon.
    XTV, ooh, what's that? oh, says coming soon.

This "coming soon" malarkey is bullsh!t. Why put up features before they're ready especially after the b!tching and moaning about the overlong "coming soon" status of the page itself.

It makes the company look incredibly unprofessional imo.

Just don't mention the feature until it's ready. Then it will garner more attention and if it's good will be a nice PR tool, if it's bad, it can be quietly retired. As opposed to gathering much more notice annoying people with the coming soon status and then if it is a bad feature, creating much more negative publicity with a "Jesus, after that wait, it turned out to be a pile of w@nk" commentary.

Coming Soon = Customer Apathy.

</rant>

Cue another X Music Sales Rep coming on defending the silliness. I'm sure it's not a bad store to pop in and pick up stuff but I think they have failed to do what they said was their mission statement: steal customers back from foreign cyberstores.

This is just more of the same I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 monkeyrevenge

Pretty ok site, lots room to add stuff. comments, more pics of products, maybe 360 flash views. hope they do that in time. The selection is good tho (esp to town) and like the fact that can go to the shop to try the stuff out 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Jesus, what's it gonna take to make you people happy? It's still far-and-away the best music shop in Ireland.

TelePaul wrote: »
    Jesus, what's it gonna take to make you people happy? It's still far-and-away the best music shop in Ireland.
    Like that was a difficult title to earn!

Site's coming on an awful lot, credit where it's due.

Good Point.

I don't have problems with the shop. Just the comng soon stuff on the site.

"ah, feck it, it will do" attitude may be one of the reasons customer service* (in general) in Ireland is so shoddy.

*That's not directed at Xmusic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

From the reports weve been getting from X-Music in the shop people are most impressed by the drums and hi-tech depts. I wont tell you what mummies and daddies looking for advice say about it but I guess the place isnt cut out for that kind of clientele, I'd say its size and the lack of a personal touch works against them.

Its definitely the best place in Ireland for someone who knows exactly what theyre looking for though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mattfender

The Flex site is now up and running btw

mattfender wrote: »
    The Flex site is now up and running btw

What's that Matt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 macfanatic

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Good Point.

Guess I'm going to throw another spanner in the works here.
    The plain and simple truth of the matter is that X-MusicMaker/Musician Inc, oops sorry, Roland Ireland, oops sorry, X-Music should have opened up this shop circa 2004/5. A shop of this size in a market this small was always a gamble, but one in a recession, with huge overheads, large bank loans, 15 plus staff, a fleet of jeeps, dwindling budgets (ie the website delay) and the unexpected caution shown towards them from wary suppliers was always going to make it difficult for them.
    X-Music had a blitzing media campaign, stating that their primary goal was to stop Thomann getting all the Irish business. This was going to be the future of Irish music retail and all the other shops might as well pack their bags.
    X-Music have left it too late, too big, in the wrong location (by the time the M50 roadworks are completed there maybe no shop to visit) and most of all not launching, all guns blazing, with amazing website and the store stuffed with product. Its kinda like Man City being taken over by the Arabs and wanting to compete with Man Utd and Chelsea,( except most of the cash is probably drying up already in X-Music). Thomann and the others (of greater threat) will love this challenge and life is going on for all those little music shops that X-Music have been telling you are history.
    I dont want to see any Irish business fail but I dont like arrogance either which now sees old Music Maker and Musician Inc under the one roof, which is ironic given their city centre rival history!
    Here is something for me to finish on that I havnt seen mentioned yet: the re emergence of Music Maker under new management in the coming months must be a serious set back for the boys in Ballymount. Over to ye!!!

supporter of the small music shops x

macfanatic wrote: »
    Here is something for me to finish on that I havnt seen mentioned yet: the re emergence of Music Maker under new management in the coming months must be a serious set back for the boys in Ballymount. Over to ye!!!

Shall we have a little wager on this one? Say a Grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

The new Maker manager is a top chap and if anyone can put things straight there itd be him. The only question is whether he was realistically brought in to turn things around or to just get rid of stock. Either way I dont think X-musics biggest problem is going to be a resurgent Music-Maker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Personally I think the layout and function of the site aint bad. It is the harsh blue/black colour scheme that lets it down for me.

I'm pleasantly surprised that some of the prices are almost competitive.

Also, WTF is up with the popularity of KRKs in this country? :rolleyes:

eoin5 wrote: »
    The new Maker manager is a top chap and if anyone can put things straight there itd be him. The only question is whether he was realistically brought in to turn things around or to just get rid of stock. Either way I dont think X-musics biggest problem is going to be a resurgent Music-Maker.
    I wouldn't be so sure about that just yet. If the other websites keep their prices lower than X Music, then the major turnover of internet sales that they are banking on just won't happen. Irish shop or not. Don't forget that Music Makers location has to be the most desirable in town and now that the old heads are gone, new management has to realise the abused potential of the place. Music Maker will have a brand new website too I'm sure. All they need is good staff and good business direction. If they do that then that is a major worry for X Music.
    It's important that there is not a monopoly on music retail in Ireland and it will be gear to see competition between X, MMaker and Waltons. Let the battle commence!

To be honest... i care not about the prices... compared to other digi stores... what i'll be looking from X-music is the quality of service you get from somewhere like dolphin - i've spent shedloads there and don't mind piping the cash to xmusic should they give the same level of service with returns for the few extra quid you pay for shipping into Ireland.

My biggest bane has always been with returns - dolphin basically arrange to pick up the goods all with very little fuss and return new/fixed goods fast, great service. I'd try xmusic though, and see if they maintain the service.

eoin5 wrote: »
    The new Maker manager is a top chap and if anyone can put things straight there itd be him.

So I believe and best of luck to him.

The plain and simple truth of the matter is that X-MusicMaker/Musician Inc, oops sorry, Roland Ireland, oops sorry, X-Music should have opened up this shop circa 2004/5. A shop of this size in a market this small was always a gamble, but one in a recession...

Yes, because we all saw the credit crunch coming a mile off :rolleyes:
    with huge overheads, large bank loans, dwindling budgets (ie the website delay)

Conjecture, conjectre, conjecture...
    Its kinda like Man City being taken over by the Arabs and wanting to compete with Man Utd and Chelsea,( except most of the cash is probably drying up already in X-Music).

No idea where you're getting this. You know selling products generates cash-flow, right?

It's important that there is not a monopoly on music retail in Ireland and it will be gear to see competition between X, MMaker and Waltons. Let the battle commence!

You're not serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

well i dont think the website is too bad to look at to be honest, ive seen a lot worse BUT they do need to pull their prices inline. there are some great bargains but there are some absolute stinkers (ie the 414).

i had a very bad experience with them at christmas (as some of you may remember) so i do hope they overhaul their customer service but up until then i was about 90% impressed by them (which is impressive for a new store).

i'll still go back to them and give them my money if the price is right and i know the lads faces from around various shops in the city and most are very knowledgable and dedicated..

they just really need to iron out the kinks.

No idea where you're getting this. You know selling products generates cash-flow, right?

Sorry for threading on anyone's toes! I know very well that selling products = cash flow but all I was saying is that they will have to sell a crazy amount of product to even make it a viable business in the current climate. With other
    shops and websites upping the ante, I can't see it happening. I am in the trade and know all the people and heard the figures involved to create and run
    an operation like this so I'm not talking crazy. Sorry once again for ruffling feathers!
    Btw credit crunch or not, this was always a high risk venture. It's just got a whole lot more harder now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

I wonder how much of a high risk this would actually be if done right.... How much custom do the international stores get from Irish customers? Does anyone have a figure on that? My line of thought is just working on percentages here, how much of that custom does X-music have to win over to maintain a profit?

Anybody gots some dreaded facts and figures on this kind of stuff?

Sorry for threading on anyone's toes! I know very well that selling products = cash flow but all I was saying is that they will have to sell a crazy amount of product to even make it a viable business in the current climate. With other
    shops and websites upping the ante, I can't see it happening. I am in the trade and know all the people and heard the figures involved to create and run
    an operation like this so I'm not talking crazy. Sorry once again for ruffling feathers!
    Btw credit crunch or not, this was always a high risk venture. It's just got a whole lot more harder now

You're grand, wasn't giving you a hard time. Sorry if it came across like that. Just get suspicious of people with a low post-count taking the hard line. If you know the trade, I'm sure you've seen the Guitar Centres in the US. It's a pretty interesting business model, the one-stop-shop approach. I expect that the project required one heck of a business plan to justify the financing and that there was good deal of emphasis placed on risk management. I have to say, I've only been out there a handful of times, but I was very satisfied with the level of service and the product selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭trackmixstudio

I'm inclined to agree with TPs points here.