Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous B*stard

• 23-02-2009 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭

Okay so yesterday I was on the M50 heading north between dundrum and firhouse. Some guy in a red pickup, probably a Hilux, was holding up the overtaking lane.
    The driving lane was empty for a considerable distance. I was the second car behind him.
    Then the driver in front of me, I think a Scenic, moved into the driving lane. He got fed up of waiting for the other driver to move so he gave up trying to overtake him.
    So I'm behind the Hilux with the driving lane empty and wanting to overtake. So I put the indicator on and give him a double flash to get his attention to please move over.
    At this point we were going about 80 KPH. He then decides to take offense at me encouraging him to use the correct lane and slams on the brakes! If it wasn't for quick reactions and good brakes he would have caused a major accident.
    I was furious! F*cking Dangerous B*stard!
    So in a temper I undertake him and drive alongside him and open my window. He actually had the cheek to give out to me saying the speed limit is 60KPH!!!! I gave him a peace of my mind and drove off.
    I couldn't believe wht had happened. First of all he was speeding himself so what kind of defense is that? Second of all holding up the overtaking lane is far more dangerous than speeding on a motorway. Finally f*cking slamming on brakes at that speed could have killed me, my passengers and caused a huge pile-up!

I seriously still can't believe it happened! Anyway just a warning if you come across this guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

s.welstead wrote: »
    Okay so yesterday I was on the M50 heading north between dundrum and firhouse. Some guy in a red pickup, probably a Hilux, was holding up the overtaking lane.
    The driving lane was empty for a considerable distance. I was the second car behind him.
    Then the driver in front of me, I think a Scenic, moved into the driving lane. He got fed up of waiting for the other driver to move so he gave up trying to overtake him.
    So I'm behind the Hilux with the driving lane empty and wanting to overtake. So I put the indicator on and give him a double flash to get his attention to please move over.
    At this point we were going about 80 KPH. He then decides to take offense at me encouraging him to use the correct lane and slams on the brakes! If it wasn't for quick reactions and good brakes he would have caused a major accident.
    I was furious! F*cking Dangerous B*stard!
    So in a temper I undertake him and drive alongside him and open my window. He actually had the cheek to give out to me saying the speed limit is 60KPH!!!! I gave him a peace of my mind and drove off.
    I couldn't believe wht had happened. First of all he was speeding himself so what kind of defense is that? Second of all holding up the overtaking lane is far more dangerous than speeding on a motorway. Finally f*cking slamming on brakes at that speed could have killed me, my passengers and caused a huge pile-up!

I seriously still can't believe it happened! Anyway just a warning if you come across this guy!

he is right though, the limit is 60 isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

That's not at all unusual, TBH - i'd always be prepared for it when flashing someone blocking the overtaking lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Did he actually brake or just press the brake down, without actually slowing down? I've seen this done to tailgaters before.

If he did indeed brake with the intention of you slamming into him it's indeed very stupid and dangerous.

http://www.m50.ie/index.php?page=88

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Plenty of fellas like that around. Best thing to do is take the reg no. and report it.

After overtaking of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Hammertime wrote: »

Hold on hold on... The over taking lane is the over taking lane full stop. If you are not passing anyone then then you should not be there. Its not a race to stay in front and if you go into the inside lane then nobody is going to follow you up the chuff flashing lights at you in there. Reason : Because you are not in the way which you would be blocking everyone else in the outside lane doing 60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Traffic watch..

1890 205 805

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Hold on hold on... The over taking lane is the over taking lane full stop. If you are not passing anyone then then you should not be there. Its not a race to stay in front and if you go into the inside lane then nobody is going to follow you up the chuff flashing lights at you in there. Reason : Because you are not in the way which you would be blocking everyone else in the outside lane doing 60.

Welcome to Irish driving skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭ZOLTAN28

Both drivers were breaking the speed limit by the sounds of things - If he was going 80 and you were trying to overtake him......

Maybe the Hilux man took it upon himself to slow the driving lane drivers down himself.

Braking like that is incredibly dangerous - so is speeding.

ZOLTAN28 wrote: »
    Both drivers were breaking the speed limit by the sounds of things - If he was going 80 and you were trying to overtake him......

Maybe the Hilux man took it upon himself to slow the driving lane drivers down himself.

I drive that section of road every day to work. There are parts between those two off ramps that you are capable of doing 100kmph, let alone 80. I know its breaking the speed limit, but dont react to it as if it was a viciously dangerous speed.

Im sure you've broken one or two speed limits in your time too.

And the Hilux driver isnt there to police theroads, its not up to him, and its none of his concern if the OP wanted to overtake him. If he didnt like it, he should have reported the OP to the Gardai, instead of trying dangerous manouvers.

I drive that section of road every day to work. There are parts between those two off ramps that you are capable of doing 100kmph, let alone 80. I know its breaking the speed limit, but dont react to it as if it was a viciously dangerous speed.

Im sure you've broken one or two speed limits in your time too.

And the Hilux driver isnt there to police theroads, its not up to him, and its none of his concern if the OP wanted to overtake him. If he didnt like it, he should have reported the OP to the Gardai, instead of trying dangerous manouvers.

Exactly, leave the policing to the police....and the speed cameras :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Saab Ed wrote: »

Sorry?

Where am I defending either of these people?

I stated that the speed limit on the road is 60.

Is this correct or not?

Sorry?

Is this correct or not?

Didnt meen to suggest you were defending them so sorry if you took it up that way. But if its 60 or 160 the Hi Lux driver should not be there unless he is passing someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Sorry?

Is this correct or not?
    I think the way you put it was a bit ambiguous. I took 'he is right though, the limit is 60 isn't it?' as support for the Hilux driver too. Glad to hear that's not what you meant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

This guy (obviously cant be 100% sure but from the sound of it and the rareness of the Hilux and northbound M50) lives near me, he is always quite impressed with my undertaking abilities, gives me a triple flash of lights in admiration everytime!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Show me one person who actually drives at 60kph on that section.
    biko wrote: »
    Did he actually brake or just press the brake down, without actually slowing down? I've seen this done to tailgaters before.

If he did indeed brake with the intention of you slamming into him it's indeed very stupid and dangerous.

http://www.m50.ie/index.php?page=88

Oh he definitely broke. I just avoided going through him by jamming on myself.
    ZOLTAN28 wrote: »

That's exactly what he did. He took it upon himself to try to police the road and made things far more dangerous by doing so.
    Also you can't just spout 'speeding is dangerous'! It's not! It's not black and white. Road conditions, type of car, weather, traffic volume....etc There's a million things to consider when determing an 'appropriate speed'. By your logic doing 51kmh in a 50 zone is dangerous, b*llsh*t!

This guy (obviously cant be 100% sure but from the sound of it and the rareness of the Hilux and northbound M50) lives near me, he is always quite impressed with my undertaking abilities, gives me a triple flash of lights in admiration everytime!:D

Sounds like the same guy I guess. Shocking to think he believes he's in the right.
    I'm assuming here your undertaking for similiar reasons to my own and not just for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Last week I was coming on to the M50 northbound at the Dundrum exit where's there's a roundabout and then a sharp incline onto the M50. I was in the left lane with cars in front of me and a van was in the right lane. the dumb git wasn't looking where he was going and didn't see that his lane was about to merge into my lane and while level with my car, without looking, or indicating he tried to swing in and nearly took the side out of my car. As soon as he made the move I accelerated to try and get away from being creamed and he slammed on his brakes, then pulled out into the lane flashing me and sticking up his fingers!

When we got out onto the Motorway, he pulled up beside me again to give me the finger but I just ignored him!

Some people are idiots - I did get his reg though and his van was plastered with stickers for sems.ie - I ended up not reporting him though as I forgot about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Sounds like the same guy I guess. Shocking to think he believes he's in the right.
    I'm assuming here your undertaking for similiar reasons to my own and not just for the sake of it.

Just for the craic of course! Nah joking, I do exactly what you do (except I flash my front fog lights as my high beams are blindingly bright) and indicate. No harsh words but seriously dirty looks from him as he follows me (now speeding up to keep up with me!) to the where we live. Happened twice, I give him the biggest smlile as he scowls driving past my place!

You know that so bad is the standard of driving on that road you can actually drive in the inside lane for most of it without having to move out of it at all to pass people. The new fast lane is the slow lane :pac:

steve06 wrote: »
    Last week I was coming on to the M50 northbound at the Dundrum exit where's there's a roundabout and then a sharp incline onto the M50. I was in the left lane with cars in front of me and a van was in the right lane. the dumb git wasn't looking where he was going and didn't see that his lane was about to merge into my lane and while level with my car, without looking, or indicating he tried to swing in and nearly took the side out of my car. As soon as he made the move I accelerated to try and get away from being creamed and he slammed on his brakes, then pulled out into the lane flashing me and sticking up his fingers!

When we got out onto the Motorway, he pulled up beside me again to give me the finger but I just ignored him!

Some people are idiots - I did get his reg though and his van was plastered with stickers for sems.ie - I ended up not reporting him though as I forgot about it!

Hmmmm exact thing happened to me and gf while she was driving a week or so ago. Very same place also. Some woman with her 'baby on board' mobile. Forced her way in front right at the last minute.

Nearly cause a biggie. Anyway we caught up to give her the 'evil stare' and she mouthed at me F*cking Pr*ck! Eh I wasn't even driving love and it was your fault! Some people!!!!

Hmmmm exact thing happened to me and gf while she was driving a week or so ago. Very same place also. Some woman with her 'baby on board' mobile. Forced her way in front right at the last minute.

Nearly cause a biggie. Anyway we caught up to give her the 'evil stare' and she mouthed at me F*cking Pr*ck! Eh I wasn't even driving love and it was your fault! Some people!!!!

You know those paint guns that James May installed on the back of the Lexus in the Police episode of Top Gear?............:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭Terra

Ireland is so full of idiot drivers, its so embarrasing....and they all think they're in the right which just makes them so ignorant.

Hey look the speed limit is set too 60 km/hr on the motor way so I'm going too save lives by hogging the overtaking lane at this speed.

Then other idiots who change lanes almost going into other cars, and don't even indicate....

It just goes on and on. Everyone trying too rebel against everyone else.

I just loved when I was in Germany, cars drove above 120km/hr most of the time...... no crashes as no one ever dared hogging the overtaking lanes...in which most were doing above 140km/hr.

They drive at the speed limit or faster....and you know what it's safe driving...as its not speed that kills it's crap driving that kills.

In france if you were too drive at the speed limit or below on the fast lane then you'd be blown out of it by every driver coming up behind you.

I guess it's just a culture problem in ireland...but its embarrasing....why oh why can't the majority of the Irish people learn too drive correctly.

Just for the craic of course! Nah joking, I do exactly what you do (except I flash my front fog lights as my high beams are blindingly bright) and indicate. No harsh words but seriously dirty looks from him as he follows me (now speeding up to keep up with me!) to the where we live. Happened twice, I give him the biggest smlile as he scowls driving past my place!

I would have thought 'fog lights' would get censored on here at this stage. :D Hmmm that's good idea, still gets their attention but doesn't cause too much distress. Might try that in future.

Terra wrote: »
    Ireland is so full of idiot drivers, its so embarrasing....and they all think they're in the right which just makes them so ignorant.

Hey look the speed limit is set too 60 km/hr on the motor way so I'm going too save lives by hogging the overtaking lane at this speed.

Then other idiots who change lanes almost going into other cars, and don't even indicate....

It just goes on and on. Everyone trying too rebel against everyone else.

I just loved when I was in Germany, cars drove above 120km/hr most of the time...... no crashes as no one ever dared hogging the overtaking lanes...in which most were doing above 140km/hr.

They drive at the speed limit or faster....and you know what it's safe driving...as its not speed that kills it's crap driving that kills.

In france if you were too drive at the speed limit or below on the fast lane then you'd be blown out of it by every driver coming up behind you.

I guess it's just a culture problem in ireland...but its embarrasing....why oh why can't the majority of the Irish people learn too drive correctly.

Bang on! I've driven in UK, Germany and US and we really pale in comparison to their standards.
    I've often felt the need to apoligise to some work mates, who are from all over Europe, for the state of our roads and drivers.

We should have mandatory repeat driving tests every 5-10 years and include motorway, parallel parking etc. in these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Show me one person who actually drives at 60kph on that section.

And if everyone else drove off a cliff would you go too? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

I just want to point something out here. Works traffic enter and exit the central median on the M50 from the overtaking lane. I've seen the lads in their Cargo vans and the like practically she-ite themselves when they've to swerve off the traffic lane onto the works lanes....let alone trying to merge onto the traffic lanes when they're done. Half the time they've some smart arse sitting on their hole because they think the 'clown in the van' is just trying to hold them up. Indicating right makes no difference as the gobdaw who's riding their arse thinks they're looking to overtake whoever's in front of them....

It's madness. Speeding on the M50 is insane - It's what makes half the people driving like idiots drive the way they do. Panic sets in and people make sudden and irrational manouvres just because they feel under threat from the dopes driving in excess of the limit - You see it every day. The speed limits on those works sections are there for a reason.

Gil_Dub wrote: »
    I just want to point something out here. Works traffic enter and exit the central median on the M50 from the overtaking lane. I've seen the lads in their Cargo vans and the like practically she-ite themselves when they've to swerve off the traffic lane onto the works lanes....let alone trying to merge onto the traffic lanes when they're done. Half the time they've some smart arse sitting on their hole because they think the 'clown in the van' is just trying to hold them up. Indicating right makes no difference as the gobdaw who's riding their arse thinks they're looking to overtake whoever's in front of them....

It's madness. Speeding on the M50 is insane - It's what makes half the people driving like idiots drive the way they do. Panic sets in and people make sudden and irrational manouvres just because they feel under threat from the dopes driving in excess of the limit - You see it every day. The speed limits on those works sections are there for a reason.

I dont disagree with you but its not the argument here. Lots of things are done wrong on our roads but the one we are focusing on here is the lane hogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

Welcome to Irish driving skills.

Note the oxymoron above ;)
    The standard of driving in Ireland leaves much to be desired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 robio

No matter what the inside lane on the motorway is for overtaking only. So you have every right to tell the lane hogger to get out of your way :-)

what he did was dangerous and you should have reported him --> 1890 205 805

steve06 wrote: »
    Last week I was coming on to the M50 northbound at the Dundrum exit where's there's a roundabout and then a sharp incline onto the M50. I was in the left lane with cars in front of me and a van was in the right lane. the dumb git wasn't looking where he was going and didn't see that his lane was about to merge into my lane and while level with my car, without looking, or indicating he tried to swing in and nearly took the side out of my car.
    Blame the ridiculous lane markings at the end of slip lanes for that one. People assume that, because the markings end before the end of the slip lane, they just merge as part of the lane they are joining. If we had proper lane markings as in the UK, Gerrmany & France for example we wouldn't have such a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭esharknz

And if everyone else drove off a cliff would you go too? :p

I do where that's the stated speed limit (I'm a foreigner and have had it nailed in that we DO NOT speed). I sometimes get flashed for doing the legal speed limit in the left hand lane.

I do agree that the left hand lane is now becoming the new 'fast' lane. Sometimes not a car in sight in the left lane - they are all tailgating each other in the right lane (using brakes a LOT). I'll drive past them (at the speed limit)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭stifz

You were both speeding.. and by your account were flashing him.. you were then just about barely able to stop when he braked... which indicates.. you were speeding, flashing and too close to the car in front.

In black and white: regardless of the lane position or the speed limit you have no right to intimidate another driver by flashing him into a alternative position so you can further increase your speed above the 20km/h your were already speeding above the limit.

I's say fine the pair of yeah for being as bad as each other.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

As we are ranting about lane hogging..... was on the M50 at the weekend.
    I came on to the m50 from the M1( city side) merged into the slow lane from the slip road no problems, after about 1km I decided to move into the fast lane to overtake a slow moving tractor.., I was watching the traffic for an appropriate apot to move over, when I seen one approach me, there was around 175 to 200 meters between these two cars, I indicated and started to move lanes, as I did the car in the fast lane behind, sped up hugely to try to stop me, now there was lots of room and I was easily in the fast lane, when he finally caught up was flashing his lights.... that sort of behaviour on the roads really P*sses me off.... lane hogging twat...

Gil_Dub wrote: »

Em I said it was yesterday, i.e. Sunday and there were no workers present.

I appreciate why the posted limit is there but what your saying doesn't apply in this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

People hogging the overtaking lane is infuriating and dangerious as if forces impatient drivers to undertake. One point though, If I am behind a lane hogger I will hang back a bit for two reasons, first so if he does break I have time to react and second so he can see me flashing and indicating in his side mirrors. If you are too close, espically with commercial van they will not see you. Never underestimate the stupidity of other road users, play it safe, you crach into him and its on your insurance.

stifz wrote: »
    You were both speeding.. and by your account were flashing him.. you were then just about barely able to stop when he braked... which indicates.. you were speeding, flashing and too close to the car in front.

In black and white: regardless of the lane position or the speed limit you have no right to intimidate another driver by flashing him into a alternative position so you can further increase your speed above the 20km/h your were already speeding above the limit.

I's say fine the pair of yeah for being as bad as each other.:o

Get off your high horse. I wasn't in any way tailgating. I flashed to get his attention as he had no clue what he was doing. Do you find it intimdating if someone gives you a courtesy flash to allow you to come out of a junction?
    If I was trying to intimidate him I would have sat on the horn and revved my engine at him.
    I had to brake hard because he did, not because I was up his ass. If I had of been tailgating there would have been an accident.

People hogging the overtaking lane is infuriating and dangerious as if forces impatient drivers to undertake. One point though, If I am behind a lane hogger I will hang back a bit for two reasons, first so if he does break I have time to react and second so he can see me flashing and indicating in his side mirrors. If you are too close, espically with commercial van they will not see you. Never underestimate the stupidity of other road users, play it safe, you crach into him and its on your insurance.

I think that's a good approach and that's what I do.

A quick point here lads. The is no such thing as a SLOW lane and a FAST lane on our motorways!!!! There is only a left land and a right hand lane. You should only be in the right hand lane to overtake - nothing more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭TheBigEvil

Sounds to me like you both should have been in the driving lane, and doing the speed limit.

I can't understand you arguing with a guy doing 80 in a 60, when you wanted to go even faster. No logic at all. You're both at fault, even worse considering you had passengers on board.

Change your own bad driving habits first before judging others.

Anyway, why is everyone always in a hurry on the motorways these days? Arrive alive rather than not at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

andrewh5 wrote: »
    A quick point here lads. The is no such thing as a SLOW lane and a FAST lane on our motorways!!!! There is only a left land and a right hand lane. You should only be in the right hand lane to overtake - nothing more!

Really? I dont think that has ever come up on this forum before :rolleyes: Would you accept that when in the overtaking lane you would be moving faster that the person you are overtaking? So relativly you lane is "faster" than the "slower" driving lane.

No I know that getting your terms wrong is a banable offence, maybe the mod could take pity on these offenders and give them a second change if they write out the line:
    "I will not offend people by using terms that everyone knows the meaning of but are not absoulty correct ever."
    100 times (no copy and paste now).:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

i'm confused. If the driving lane was empty for a considerable distance, why was the op in the overtaking lane? Also how come the "its not their job to police the roads" rule doesn't apply to people illegally using full beams / fogs to pressurise people back into the right lane

TheBigEvil wrote: »
    Sounds to me like you both should have been in the driving lane, and doing the speed limit.

I can't understand you arguing with a guy doing 80 in a 60, when you wanted to go even faster. No logic at all. You're both at fault, even worse considering you had passengers on board.

Change your own bad driving habits first before judging others.

Anyway, why is everyone always in a hurry on the motorways these days? Arrive alive rather than not at all.

The logic was that it was a motorway with two perfectly good lanes. Perfect visibility, dry and little or no traffic at that point. I felt comfortable driving at upto 90kph and the conditions easily merited it.

He has hogging the Ot lane at about 80 so I wanted to be able to make progress past him. I was not the only person to want to do this but was the only one who tried to encourage him.

So my bad habit is thinking about my speed and the conditions around me before making a choice about my speed??? Also note I do this and sometimes drive under the posted speed. Hmmm yeah I agree I'm a terrible driver! :p

ceegee wrote: »
    i'm confused. If the driving lane was empty for a considerable distance, why was the op in the overtaking lane? Also how come the "its not their job to police the roads" rule doesn't apply to people illegally using full beams / fogs to pressurise people back into the right lane

Yes the driving lane was empty up ahead. I had been in the driving lane and moved out to the overtaking lane to em I don't know...Overtake maybe??? I don't like undertaking on a two lane road so wanted to overtake the hilux driver.

Also as far as I'm aware using your indicator and a flash or two is the accepted rule for these type of scenarios. It quickly conveys what your trying to do.

So what do you do in my scenario if say the guy was doing 50kph??? Undertake him or move out to the Ot lane and try to get his attention to what your trying to do??? (I've changed the speed as the 'holier than thou' brigade will just reply with 'I don't speed')

Sorry?

Is this correct or not?

It is on that stretch of the m50, but except in heavy traffic its rare to see traffic obeying this limit.

It seems to be generally ignored, if you do decide to do 60km/h you have people queuing up behind you while everyone else wizes by you at 100km/h+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Em I said it was yesterday, i.e. Sunday and there were no workers present.

Since when did Ireland implement speed limt on a timed basis? i.e. Monday - Friday 07:00 to 19:00 the M50 will be 60kph, outside these hours it will be 100kph?

Maybe it is the way you have worded it, but it does sound like you were a little wreckless. you were traveling 1/3 more than the posted limit and wanted to drive at 50% of the posted limit and in doing so flashed someone who was already speeding. Sorry but you do sound like a wreckless driver to me.
    I appreciate why the posted limit is there but what your saying doesn't apply in this situation.
    Why?

Would you accept that when in the overtaking lane you would be moving faster that the person you are overtaking? So relativly you lane is "faster" than the "slower" driving lane.

The point I was making is that many Irish drivers seem to think it is perfectly acceptable to remain in the RH land even though the left hand lane is empty! Similarly with the middle lane on the 3 lane sections of the M50. They hog the middle lane rather than pull into the left. It is downright bloody dangerous let alone selfish and illegal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

The logic was that it was a motorway with two perfectly good lanes. Perfect visibility, dry and little or no traffic at that point. I felt comfortable driving at upto 90kph and the conditions easily merited it.

He has hogging the Ot lane at about 80 so I wanted to be able to make progress past him. I was not the only person to want to do this but was the only one who tried to encourage him.

So my bad habit is thinking about my speed and the conditions around me before making a choice about my speed??? Also note I do this and sometimes drive under the posted speed. Hmmm yeah I agree I'm a terrible driver! :p

You know, I reckon because I'm a big lad I could well handle my car at 40mg of alcohol per 100ml of breath. Let's just see how that goes for me :rolleyes: "Judge, I took everything into consideration because clearly I'm not an idiot and the law that was made for everybody doesn't take into account my circumstances" ;)

I do agree that the guy in the red pickup truck was an asshat for not using the lanes properly and for braking. You're right, it's not his job to police the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Yes the driving lane was empty up ahead. I had been in the driving lane and moved out to the overtaking lane to em I don't know...Overtake maybe??? I don't like undertaking on a two lane road so wanted to overtake the hilux driver.

Also as far as I'm aware using your indicator and a flash or two is the accepted rule for these type of scenarios. It quickly conveys what your trying to do.

So what do you do in my scenario if say the guy was doing 50kph??? Undertake him or move out to the Ot lane and try to get his attention to what your trying to do??? (I've changed the speed as the 'holier than thou' brigade will just reply with 'I don't speed')

I do understand your annoyance and the stupidity of the other driver applying his brakes, that was stupid really really stupid....
    but by your own admission you where driving illegally, and so was he, yet you only have a problem with his illegal driving....
    He was in the wrong and so where you.....
    it is legal and accpetable to undertake on a two lane carraigeway if the left hand lane is moving faster than the right hand lane traffic,
    so if you are in the left lane doing 60KPH and he is in the right hand lane doing 50KPH, it is acceptable to stay in your lane and continue with your journey, there is no need to pull out to the right hand lane and flash and indicate at the other car, that too is very very dangerous and distracting to the other driver....

also flashing lights and using indicators is not acceptable either under the rules of the road( to the best of my knowledge)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭TheBigEvil

Ok..lets dance

Here's your first mistake....
    "The logic was that it was a motorway with two perfectly good lanes. Perfect visibility, dry and little or no traffic at that point. I felt comfortable driving at upto 90kph and the conditions easily merited it."

So you condone driving 90 in a 60 beause YOU know better than the posted, lawful speed limit. Speed limits are there to save lives, they are not open for debate when your driving. I'd consider that a bad dirving habit, wouldn't you?

Here's your second mistake...

"He has hogging the Ot lane at about 80 so I wanted to be able to make progress past him. I was not the only person to want to do this but was the only one who tried to encourage him."

You are using the term "Hogging", so sounds like your emotions were starting to take over, and effecting you so much you felt you had to under-take him (which is illegal), and then continue speeding. And that "other people" wanted to do this also. So, by the sounds of it, your driving habits are based on emotion and how "other people" are driving. Not a good combination and more bad habits.

And your third mistake (a nice hatrick there)...

"So my bad habit is thinking about my speed and the conditions around me before making a choice about my speed???"

You weren't thinking about your speed. If you were you wouldn't be doing 80/90 in a 60. You would be watching your speed and the limits of the area.

You also said you had passengers on board. As driver you have the responsibility to drive with due care and attention on the roads, adhereing to the laws of the roads, and guess what, that includes the speed limits. If you had any sense of resposibility for the lives of your passengers, your life and those on the road you'd pay more attention to the speed limits.

I'm not condoning what the other driver did, but you are as bad as him. Speed kills, and not just the idiots speeding, but innocents as well.

So have a look at yourself before giving out about the other guy.

Since when did Ireland implement speed limt on a timed basis? i.e. Monday - Friday 07:00 to 19:00 the M50 will be 60kph, outside these hours it will be 100kph?

Maybe it is the way you have worded it, but it does sound like you were a little wreckless. you were traveling 1/3 more than the posted limit and wanted to drive at 50% of the posted limit and in doing so flashed someone who was already speeding. Sorry but you do sound like a wreckless driver to me.

Why?

What I was trying to explain is that those speed limits in those sections are well below what it could be. There are far more dangerous single lane roads which have higher posted limits and I would not dare go to those speeds.
    I believe those speed limits are in place to facilitate the road works, i.e. the workers and deliveries having safe access to the central median.
    There were no workers present so that's why I deemed your post not appropriate in this specific situation.